Morton v Aberdeen - Page 2 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Morton v Aberdeen

• Replies 130

13 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

In my experience, police at low risk fixtures like the game on Saturday are going out their way to justify their presence.

It may be down to clubs like Motherwell, Patrick thistle and stmirren trialling police free fixtures? Must be a killer for the overtime pot.

I take your point about behaving, and I think the boys that set off smoke bombs etc do themselves no favours, as they give justification.

2 incidents that immediately spring to mind are the league cup game at Cappielow last season where the police reaction to a 1 man 15 second pitch invasion was what I'd expect for a credible terrorist threat. I have genuinely never seen as many police appear in my life.

Another was where they "kettled" a group of kids at St mirren park for no apparent reason (a smoke bomb had been set off in a different area of the stand, but there were adults in that section). Our game had a minimal police presence, but Rangers had an early KO at Ibrox that had not long finished, so a lot of police at a loose end it seemed.

They were doing police free matches in Aberdeen until the police force was centralised in Glasgow. Once this was done there were police everywhere.

4 minutes ago, deecie said:

Comprehensive 2-1 victory for the Famous. Would have been 10-1 if not for the heroics of young Micheal Rose. 

Allegedly Ayr were denied a stonewall penalty!

I'm split on this one tbf. Morton wouldn't let us forget it if they got to a final.... but it would still be nice to see them do something for a change. Not won a major trophy since 1922 :lol:

this is where we differ in opinion, I don't believe they do this to spite football fans.

if fans behaved it wouldn't be required. If they have increased the police presence for Saturday its over zealous because the chances of trouble are very low, Sunday....................well thats a different story

I disagree, football fans are an easy target and have been for a number of years.

The nonsense that comes out of their mouths prior to a Celtic - The Rangers game would make anyone think that Glasgow is a ing war zone. On Sunday, their will be folk that will be inebriated and may partake in arseholes like behaviour who should be dealt with accordingly, however, it's nowhere near as bad as it used to be despite The Police's narrative. 

I understand that their presence is required at big games throughout the country but there is no doubt they revel in being the centre of attention themselves and making as difficult as possible to enjoy the game.

1 minute ago, Mox said:

I disagree, football fans are an easy target and have been for a number of years.

The nonsense that comes out of their mouths prior to a Celtic - The Rangers game would make anyone think that Glasgow is a ing war zone. On Sunday, their will be folk that will be inebriated and may partake in arseholes like behaviour who should be dealt with accordingly, however, it's nowhere near as bad as it used to be despite The Police's narrative. 

I understand that their presence is required at big games throughout the country but there is no doubt they revel in being the centre of attention themselves and making as difficult as possible to enjoy the game.

maybe its no where near as bad because of the police presence..................

I wouldn't give them that much credit. It's 2016, Celtic and Rangers fans socialise together, they work together, God forbid they regularly marry each other now. 

Anyway, should be two decent games, Dons to win2-1 and Celtic 2-1.

Looking forward to tomorrow's game. Hope we perform to our capabilities, if we do, we should win. 

Very apprehensive about our recent Hampden record though. Can't remember the last time we won there? Semi-final vs Hibs in 2000, maybe? 

2 minutes ago, Parklife said:

Looking forward to tomorrow's game. Hope we perform to our capabilities, if we do, we should win. 

Very apprehensive about our recent Hampden record though. Can't remember the last time we won there? Semi-final vs Hibs in 2000, maybe? 

Aye Hibs was the last so I've never seen us win there.

Results since:

0-2 Celtic LCF 99/00
0-4 Rangers SCF 99/00
3-4 QoS SCSF 07/08
0-4 Celtic SCSF 10/11
1-2 Hibs SCSF 11/12
1-2 Dun Utd LCSF 14/15

Can obviously blame the Rolling Stones for not allowing us to break the Hampden hoodoo against Queen's Park.

22 minutes ago, Mox said:

I wouldn't give them that much credit. It's 2016, Celtic and Rangers fans socialise together, they work together, God forbid they regularly marry each other now. 

Anyway, should be two decent games, Dons to win2-1 and Celtic 2-1.

they've always socialised together outwith Glasgow

22 minutes ago, Stewart_Aberdeen said:

Results since:

0-2 Celtic LCF 99/00
0-4 Rangers SCF 99/00
3-4 QoS SCSF 07/08
0-4 Celtic SCSF 10/11
1-2 Hibs SCSF 11/12
1-2 Dun Utd LCSF 14/15

Can obviously blame the Rolling Stones for not allowing us to break the Hampden hoodoo against Queen's Park.

18-5 on aggregate.

Can see us pulling it back against Morton.

I've not seen BT Sport advertise this game once, why on earth is it on TV and in the middle of the night!?

Anyway, hopefully a win at Hampden at last but if we must lose can it at least be 1-0 in a game where their goalie has hunners of saves - still can't believe the 4-3 QoS debacle actually happened!

29 minutes ago, Stewart_Aberdeen said:

Results since:

0-2 Celtic LCF 99/00
0-4 Rangers SCF 99/00
3-4 QoS SCSF 07/08
0-4 Celtic SCSF 10/11
1-2 Hibs SCSF 11/12
1-2 Dun Utd LCSF 14/15

Celtic beat us 4-1 in the LCSF 2010/2011 as well

Just now, Squirrelhumper said:

You insinuated that Celtic and Rangers fans only have issues with each other in Glasgow.

You've obviously never been about Scotland much.

No I didn't, I said they socialise with each other in other places and from my experiences they have always been able to, its just that some of them are bat shit crazy and hate everything to do with the other.

Anyway this is besides the point, Mox thinks the police do this to antagonise fans where I don't think they do. Most fans outside the OF don't need heavy policing