Transfers, Rumours and Delusional Pish 2016/17/18 - Page 300 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Transfers, Rumours and Delusional Pish 2016/17/18

3 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Football is all about scoring goals ma pal.  Its a simple game.  This has been coached out of our young laddies for too long.  The proof is always in the pudding.

Ok so why not play with 10 forwards then? Surely any team who did that would be unbeatable.

Just now, Diamond Scot said:

Ok so why not play with 10 forwards then? Surely any team who did that would be unbeatable.

Aye.  So play with none then like Levein did and made us the laughing stock of the world.  And as for the earlier comment about Dalglish eating pies and putting on 2 stone during the summer.  Really?

1 hour ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Aye.  So play with none then like Levein did and made us the laughing stock of the world.  And as for the earlier comment about Dalglish eating pies and putting on 2 stone during the summer.  Really?

Managers all over the world have played with no strikers or the false 9. Problem is Levein did it with players who could never pull it off. That was his mistake.

Players in the 80s and early 90s reguarly put on weight during the summer. Their diets were horrible during the season and training was pre-historic compared to nowadays. So going back to everything that was done when we last quaified is just plain daft.

One of Scotlands biggest problems is being stuck in our ways. Closed off to new ideas or change. 

12 hours ago, Diamond Scot said:

Managers all over the world have played with no strikers or the false 9. Problem is Levein did it with players who could never pull it off. That was his mistake.

Players in the 80s and early 90s reguarly put on weight during the summer. Their diets were horrible during the season and training was pre-historic compared to nowadays. So going back to everything that was done when we last quaified is just plain daft.

One of Scotlands biggest problems is being stuck in our ways. Closed off to new ideas or change. 

With all respect DS.  Putting the ball in the net is not a new idea.  Rangers are a great example.  They played a lot of lovely football this/last season.  Passed teams off the park but couldn't score.  Alex McLeish had an interview on some channel a couple of weeks ago.  He spoke about Gaurdiola.  And Guardiola admitted that sometimes you have to play the ball long and nearer the goals.  Not just tippy tappy.  That was where Rangers fell down after January.  They beat Celtic because Celtic opened up and Rangers played better on the day.  But most sides Rangers or Celtic play sit really tight and wait for an opportunity.  Celtic managed this better than Rangers.  I am all for new ideas but putting the ball in the net is the main GOAL!!  There.  Tuesday morning rant over!!

2 hours ago, Rolling hIlls said:

With all respect DS.  Putting the ball in the net is not a new idea.  Rangers are a great example.  They played a lot of lovely football this/last season.  Passed teams off the park but couldn't score.  Alex McLeish had an interview on some channel a couple of weeks ago.  He spoke about Gaurdiola.  And Guardiola admitted that sometimes you have to play the ball long and nearer the goals.  Not just tippy tappy.  That was where Rangers fell down after January.  They beat Celtic because Celtic opened up and Rangers played better on the day.  But most sides Rangers or Celtic play sit really tight and wait for an opportunity.  Celtic managed this better than Rangers.  I am all for new ideas but putting the ball in the net is the main GOAL!!  There.  Tuesday morning rant over!!

As I said previously, the only time id go 2 up top is with a big target man. What the point of going long with Defoe and Morelos? Neither are particularly strong in the air. Wouldnt it be better to have more creative players in the team to break down the opposition.

Rangers had lots of possession and lassed the ball about but it was mainly in front of the opponents. Players like Haginand Aribo need to play in CM instead of guys like Kamara and to a certain extent Davis or Arfield. 

More often than not Rangers went with 3 from 4 out of Jack, Davis, Kamara and Arfield. I wouldnt class any of them as attacking midfielders and only really Arfield offers any kind of goal threat. 

20 hours ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Laughing stock of the world? Behave. As if anybody takes note or gives a shit about the Scotland national side other than us.

1 hour ago, Tartan_McCole said:

Laughing stock of the world? Behave. As if anybody takes note or gives a shit about the Scotland national side other than us.

I wish I could find the quote from either a dutch player or brazilian.  Cant mind which.  Said they were terrified of playing Scotland in those days.  Or am I making this up?  Either way, Scotland used to go head to head.  Not sit back.  Just met 3 of my under 18's at park.  They will not ever sit back.  They will attack.  From the first minute.

13 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

Rangers have signed Jon McLaughlin on a free from Sunderland . Decent signing as a back up with Foderingham away and presumably McCrorie will go out on loan again to get first team experience. 

I suspect you may have called Rangers' thoughts here correctly. This is why they won't best Celtic next season. Plodding on with McGregor, who, if he isn't already, is definitely approaching washed status. His angry man act will cost your team at least 6-7 points next season too so if Rangers are actually serious about challenging for the title they should be looking for a new first choice keeper instead of just replacing one backup with another (presuming they don't believe McCrorie is ready for their first team). 

1 hour ago, morrie21 said:

I suspect you may have called Rangers' thoughts here correctly. This is why they won't best Celtic next season. Plodding on with McGregor, who, if he isn't already, is definitely approaching washed status. His angry man act will cost your team at least 6-7 points next season too so if Rangers are actually serious about challenging for the title they should be looking for a new first choice keeper instead of just replacing one backup with another (presuming they don't believe McCrorie is ready for their first team). 

I'm not sure I agree with that.  McGregor is clearly closer to the end of his career than the start however his overall form for us coming back has been excellent.  I agree his temper is an issue and will probably see him booked more often than he should be however I can't, off the top of my head, think of any time in the last 2 years that has cost us points.  I'd definitely say he saved us more points/games last year than he cost us.  He'd probably still be Scotland number one if he hadn't retired.

13 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

It not send alarm bells that you are signing players that you cannot afford to pay?

No, Aberdeen said they could only sign him if he agreed to the same wage cut as everyone else, he chose to play for nothing instead. I’d say there was a big difference, if he didn’t accept the terms on offer, he wouldn’t be here. Simple really. 

16 minutes ago, dandydunn said:

No, Aberdeen said they could only sign him if he agreed to the same wage cut as everyone else, he chose to play for nothing instead. I’d say there was a big difference, if he didn’t accept the terms on offer, he wouldn’t be here. Simple really. 

Seems strange that you would defer a wage for a year then get absolutely hammered with tax? when you get a double wage next year? 

13 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Seems strange that you would defer a wage for a year then get absolutely hammered with tax? when you get a double wage next year? 

It’s not something I would personally be able to offer an employer, but if he made a couple of million £ the last 3 years at Celtic, it’s maybe not such a big issue for him. It seems he wants a regular game and is willing to sacrifice for the best of the club rather so he can be where he’s comfortable. 

There’s been a few things about him going about since he left, such as donating his signing in fee to the afcct, refunding everyone that had a new shirt with his name and number on and most recently that he had seen that a child had their bike stolen on Twitter, found out the address and sent a new one to the bairns house. 

He just seems like a genuinely nice person, rather than the arseholes that we normally hear about in a football team, unfortunately, the good stories are never newsworthy for our media. 

2 minutes ago, dandydunn said:

It’s not something I would personally be able to offer an employer, but if he made a couple of million £ the last 3 years at Celtic, it’s maybe not such a big issue for him. It seems he wants a regular game and is willing to sacrifice for the best of the club rather so he can be where he’s comfortable. 

There’s been a few things about him going about since he left, such as donating his signing in fee to the afcct, refunding everyone that had a new shirt with his name and number on and most recently that he had seen that a child had their bike stolen on Twitter, found out the address and sent a new one to the bairns house. 

He just seems like a genuinely nice person, rather than the arseholes that we normally hear about in a football team, unfortunately, the good stories are never newsworthy for our media. 

Fair enough - good on the lad.

The deal for Forster was fee agreed and the player happy with the financials. Looks like he's pulled the plug himself after being offered a shot at making himself first choice down there. Disappointing but there are plenty of decent (probably) cheaper alternatives out there 🙅‍♂️