Best 5 pubs you've been in - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Best 5 pubs you've been in

In no particular order...

1. Babbity Bowster, Merchant City, Glasgow....Cracking place, live folk music on Saturdays which is fairly decent, excellent choice of beers and ales...It's a wee bit pricey though which is probably why you'll never seen any neds in there. Had some brilliant nights in Babbitys. I also worked here as a night porter when I was a student.

2. The Doublet, Kelvinbridge, Glasgow....Lively place, looks great inside and always pretty lively. An essential stop for anyone doing a subcrawl.

3. The Scotia, Stockwell Street, Glasgow....Used to only ever go to the upstairs pool hall when I was younger but the downstairs part of the Scotia has some cracking live music. Very friendly place., met all sorts of characters in here. Beer is fairly cheap too.

4. The Granary, Shawlands, Glasgow....Easily the best bar I've been to in the southside. I believe @thewolf_1980 had this as his local a few years back.

5. The Alpen Lodge, Hope Street, Glasgow....Bit of an oddity this place, it's like some village local where time has stood still and then it's been dropped right in the centre of 21st century Glasgow, everyone in there all seemed to know each other and the whole place is decked out in 70's style Tennents advertisements. Probably not to everyones taste and wouldn't have surprised me one bit if someone had mentioned this place in the worst bars thread.

• Replies 84

My favourite pubs are my local Alans Bar in Larkhall.  Jack Daniels Bar in Motherwell when went to Motherwell games.  Bar Starka in Hamilton and love the Iron Horse before the Scotland games.  Really only 4 pubs I go too when I go out.

5 hours ago, derekfaejapan said:

In no particular order...

1. Babbity Bowster, Merchant City, Glasgow....Cracking place, live folk music on Saturdays which is fairly decent, excellent choice of beers and ales...It's a wee bit pricey though which is probably why you'll never seen any neds in there. Had some brilliant nights in Babbitys. I also worked here as a night porter when I was a student.

2. The Doublet, Kelvinbridge, Glasgow....Lively place, looks great inside and always pretty lively. An essential stop for anyone doing a subcrawl.

3. The Scotia, Stockwell Street, Glasgow....Used to only ever go to the upstairs pool hall when I was younger but the downstairs part of the Scotia has some cracking live music. Very friendly place., met all sorts of characters in here. Beer is fairly cheap too.

4. The Granary, Shawlands, Glasgow....Easily the best bar I've been to in the southside. I believe @thewolf_1980 had this as his local a few years back.

5. The Alpen Lodge, Hope Street, Glasgow....Bit of an oddity this place, it's like some village local where time has stood still and then it's been dropped right in the centre of 21st century Glasgow, everyone in there all seemed to know each other and the whole place is decked out in 70's style Tennents advertisements. Probably not to everyones taste and wouldn't have surprised me one bit if someone had mentioned this place in the worst bars thread.

Aye, one of many locals I had in Shawlands!

Good grub in there too and the last time I was in I got a coupon up for nearly 200 quid so it will always hold a special place in my heart.

I will have forgotten many, many pubs I've been in so this might be a different list on another day.

In no particular order

Teuchters, William Street, Edinburgh - good beer, nice atmosphere, rugby, and usually a dog or two. Cracking pub.

The Waterfront, San Diego - had a great few nights in here with some mates a few years ago. Great staff, great beer, free popcorn, Polish barmaid

Teague's, Gloucester - very much a rugby pub so wouldn't appeal to a lot on here, but staff and locals friendly, beer good, and welcoming to the mortally pissed up.

Voodoo rooms Edinburgh - hard to put my finger on why but I like this place a lot.

The Baillie, Edinburgh - open fire, good Sunday roast, sports pages above the urinals, tucked underground in Stockbridge.

8 minutes ago, biffer said:

I will have forgotten many, many pubs I've been in so this might be a different list on another day.

In no particular order

Teuchters, William Street, Edinburgh - good beer, nice atmosphere, rugby, and usually a dog or two. Cracking pub.

The Waterfront, San Diego - had a great few nights in here with some mates a few years ago. Great staff, great beer, free popcorn, Polish barmaid

Teague's, Gloucester - very much a rugby pub so wouldn't appeal to a lot on here, but staff and locals friendly, beer good, and welcoming to the mortally pissed up.

Voodoo rooms Edinburgh - hard to put my finger on why but I like this place a lot.

The Baillie, Edinburgh - open fire, good Sunday roast, sports pages above the urinals, tucked underground in Stockbridge.

11 hours ago, biffer said:

In no particular order

another for the Baillie here!  Sandy bells anyone?

11 hours ago, biffer said:

In no particular order

I prefer the Voodoo Rooms to the pub downstairs though I also quite like the Cask and Barrel Southside in Edinburgh.

5 hours ago, AberdeenAngus said:

Phoenix in Dundee

Marble Arch in Manchester 

Diggers in Edinburgh 

All deserve a mention in this thread. 

Lots of great memories of pubs which are no longer around or have changed too much. 

Marble Arch is a great pub. I'd go for:

U Zlateho Tygra (At The Golden Tiger), Prague - probably my favourite pub in the world. No gimmicks, just a place to drink great beer. Great Panenka photo, too.

Malt and Hops, Leith - my local, and I reckon by far and away the best pub at the shore.

Fruh am Dom, Cologne - great city, great beer, great food and an underperforming football team. Cologne has everything that a Scottish football fan wants. Fruh am Dom is so good that I still love the place, despite the fact that the owner is a Rangers fan.

La Venencia, Madrid - a proper old school sherry bar. No tipping or photography is allowed, and they write your order in chalk on the bar. It's like nowhere else I've ever been. Turns out sherry isn't as rank as I thought it would be, either!

Sheffield Tap, Sheffield - I could have gone with any of about 10 pubs in Sheffield, it's the best city for ale I've ever been to. The only problem is that I always have too many Jaipurs and end up in a state.

Interesting that the Bad Pubs thread is so much longer than this one...

• the much missed L'Attache underneath the Rutland in Edinburgh.
  • The Beer Kitchen (Innis and Gunns bar on a fast becoming gentrified Lothian Road)
  • The Kestrel Hotel, Balerno (gone but not forgotten)
  • Bridge Inn, Ratho , no finer a pint can be had.
  • White Heart Inn, Grassmarket, great little boozer with cracking live music.

7 hours ago, Dillinger said:

Partial to the Horseshoe when I'm in Glasgow. 

Found a few good boozers on away trips. Cafe De Dokter, smallest pub in Amsterdam, and Delirium in Brussels which is in Guinness records for most beers. 

Used to often go there when in A'Dam. after a Dutch friend introduced us to it.

Been in many a good pub & to be honest struggling to think of specific ones to list. One that does stand out though is The Shed, Annan. Only been whilst watching Clyde but always have a great time in there! Not to mention the weekly specials they have or when we went down for a league game & they had January sales on, what a day!

Well priced, good for watching football, ideal location & owners are brand new! 

I often go to the Three Judges in Byres road when in Glasgow. ..always lots of great and unusual beers ...

Anin England my current favourite pub is the Bhurtpore Inn near Nantwich in Cheshire. ..specialises in good curries plus has the best selection of beers I've found in a Uk pub....lots of belgian beers and beers from many other countries. ..they do their best to serve in correct brand glasses...a really friendly place..sadly no longer running their annual beer festival. ..

Bikers Beer Factory in Zagreb -  was there with a crowd of us last year on the eve of a friend's wedding. Proper music venue, Hell;'s Angels, cracking band on and beer towers at the table - loved it.

Ma Kelly's - Talbot Road Blackpool -  cheap drink , great music with DJ mixed with different singers during the night - brilliant atmosphere with people of all ages - so don't feel old in there.

This is a tough one, so many to choose from and some of the below are picked based on good times I have had in them many years ago. Sometimes it is the mates you are out with or people you meet in there that makes it a great pub rather than the venue itself.

Charlie Scott's, Copenhagen

The Boat Bar, Copenhagen (now sadly closed)

The Southern Cross, Copenhagen

The Park Bar, Glasgow

Little Creatures, Fremantle

This is a really hard one. following a club in Englands non-league I have been to many weird and wonderful little places with some fantastic pubs but i will go with some closer to home. The Jacobs and The Sparrow in Bradford.The Sportsman and The Head of Steam in Huddersfield and The Three Pidgeons  in Halifax.

2 hours ago, Flora MaDonald said:

I've always maintained England has far superior pubs to ours. If I could remember half the boozers I've been in over the years, I'd be able to contribute properly to this thread :lol:

I've lived in various parts of England and I agree with Flora especially in the wee town I now live in N Yorks having spent the previous 7 years in Cambuslang , the worst English pub beats anything Cambuslang could offer .