Is Donald Trump's Campaign A Spoof? - Page 176 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Is Donald Trump's Campaign A Spoof?

6 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Ok.  What in American poiliics DIRECTY affects Scotland?  Prepared to listen.

Here’s an example. 

Depending on who is in the WH will drive a very different sort of trade deal between the UK and the US. If Biden wins, then it will impact on the trade deal between the UK and the EU in particular wrt the GFA and border in Ireland. 

All of this directly impacts Scotland as part of the UK and has ramifications for any future Indy referendum. 

1 minute ago, aaid said:

Here’s an example. 

Depending on who is in the WH will drive a very different sort of trade deal between the UK and the US. If Biden wins, then it will impact on the trade deal between the UK and the EU in particular wrt the GFA and border in Ireland. 

All of this directly impacts Scotland as part of the UK and has ramifications for any future Indy referendum. 

And do you really think that whoever gets in America will have an impact on trade deals with our  country?    We can stand on our own two feet and will deal on our terms.  You really think that Biden and Trump will decide on the trade deals for Scotland?  They are interested only in their own country (as they should be).  Time we got our own house in order before commenting on another country.  What about the Chinese elections?  India, Russia?  When we get our independence we will deal with that.

5 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

And do you really think that whoever gets in America will have an impact on trade deals with our  country?    We can stand on our own two feet and will deal on our terms.  You really think that Biden and Trump will decide on the trade deals for Scotland?  They are interested only in their own country (as they should be).  Time we got our own house in order before commenting on another country.  What about the Chinese elections?  India, Russia?  When we get our independence we will deal with that.

This is how it plays out.  

The Democrats have said that the UK can forget about a trade deal with the US if it impacts on the GFA. 

Since the UKG is banking heavily on a US deal to ameliorate the impacts of Brexit that will mean the shape of the deal they do with the EU will require an open border on the island of Ireland  , ie an open land border between the UK and the EU.

That then impacts on arguments over the likely border arrangements between the rUK and an independent Scotland in a future referendum.

Thats the realpolitik at play here  

28 minutes ago, aaid said:

Trump is like Neil Lennon in claiming the title before all the games have been played whereas Biden is Ann Budge saying the season needs to be played to a conclusion. Meanwhile somewhere in Washington DC an email from Michigan with their results is sitting in a spam folder.  

'Help us Neil Doncaster - you're our only hope!' 

2 minutes ago, aaid said:

This is how it plays out.  

The Democrats have said that the UK can forget about a trade deal with the US if it impacts on the GFA. 

Since the UKG is banking heavily on a US deal to ameliorate the impacts of Brexit that will mean the shape of the deal they do with the EU will require an open border on the island of Ireland  , ie an open land border between the UK and the EU.

That then impacts on arguments over the likely border arrangements between the rUK and an independent Scotland in a future referendum.

Thats the realpolitik at play here  

Aye.  If yer granny had baws she would be your grandfather.  I have taught International Economics for almost 30 years.  If you had to have all the world economists hand to hand throughout the world they still would not reach a conclusion.  The deal the UK (or hopefully Scotland) will take place no matter who is in charge of the Whitehouse.  Where else are they going to get Stornoway Black Pudding from?

7 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Aye.  If yer granny had baws she would be your grandfather.  I have taught International Economics for almost 30 years.  If you had to have all the world economists hand to hand throughout the world they still would not reach a conclusion.  The deal the UK (or hopefully Scotland) will take place no matter who is in charge of the Whitehouse.  Where else are they going to get Stornoway Black Pudding from?

God help your students if that’s true. 

2 hours ago, phart said:

Still all those mail in ballots to count, this election is unique in that factor.

Sure Trump may win, all those poll porpagandists talking shit lol, but it's not done yet.

Whatever happens that 90% chance of Biden victory estimate is going be fascinating again to see where the polling went pear-shaped.  The turnout is the biggest since 1900 too at about 70%.

Google has Biden 12,000 behind in Michigan but 10% of the vote still to count and is down as a 60% chance of winning as the outstanding votes could potentially be heavily in his favour.  With c.500k votes to go it'll be squeaky bum time all around.

Biden is just ahead in Nevada and Oddscheck has him as 1/8 there.  That states interesting in itself as Eureka County has about 1,000 voters and 90% voted Trump!  Looks like the c.10% left to be counted in the counties where Vegas and Reno are will see him home.  

He's 1/12 to take Wisconsin too but again its tight with only winning by 21k and c.160k votes left to count.  

Think that would get him to 270 and Bidon is 3/10 on so looks like he'll do it but whatever happens the season finale for 2020 is shaping up to be a belter.  

The other thing is the Democrats seem to have done pretty crap from a Senator perspective so it'll be interesting to see how that gets analysed.   

4 minutes ago, phart said:

Some latest counts now mail ballots getting counted in.

That is really interesting.  How is North Korea getting on with the forthcoming election?  Nothing to do with Scotland but interesting.  If we took more care of running our own country rather than worry about others we would do fine.  

Just now, ThistleWhistle said:

Whatever happens that 90% chance of Biden victory estimate is going be fascinating again to see where the polling went pear-shaped.  The turnout is the biggest since 1900 too at about 70%.

Google has Biden 12,000 behind in Michigan but 10% of the vote still to count and is down as a 60% chance of winning as the outstanding votes could potentially be heavily in his favour.  With c.500k votes to go it'll be squeaky bum time all around.

Biden is just ahead in Nevada and Oddscheck has him as 1/8 there.  That states interesting in itself as Eureka County has about 1,000 voters and 90% voted Trump!  Looks like the c.10% left to be counted in the counties where Vegas and Reno are will see him home.  

He's 1/12 to take Wisconsin too but again its tight with only winning by 21k and c.160k votes left to count.  

Think that would get him to 270 and Bidon is 3/10 on so looks like he'll do it but whatever happens the season finale for 2020 is shaping up to be a belter.  

The other thing is the Democrats seem to have done pretty crap from a Senator perspective so it'll be interesting to see how that gets analysed.   

Fascinating. Get Arnie as president.  He was a greater actor that Ronald.  Loonies.

Can this cunt not fuck off to visit his dead dad in football related, and not ruin another thread FFS. For someone who has taught law, economics, international trade, he cant even remember what annoying personality to use half the time.

The USAs entire system needs overhauled, its pretty much a failed state.

1 minute ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Outwith Florida, everything was in the margin of error so far it seems. I think Biden is favourite to win.

The mail in ballots are generally overwhelmingly democrat like 70/30. In Michigan it seems like it's Detroit left to count which is pretty Democrat. Some States allow ballots to be counted if postmarked by election day up till Friday so the counting can't stop till then.

The senate has been bad for the Democrats.

The real fun begins IF Biden gets to the projected 270 and then all the shenaningans come in from there. A nice wee shit show. Then they have surging Covid in the background to punctuate all that.

May you live in interesting times :D

1 minute ago, kumnio said:

Can this cunt not fuck off to visit his dead dad in football related, and not ruin another thread FFS. For someone who has taught law, economics, international trade, he cant even remember what annoying personality to use half the time.

Just ignore him he is a narcissist who is starved for attention, been crying out like a new born bird for it last couple of days judging by the threads. Going to put him on ignore and remove him from my reality.

3 minutes ago, kumnio said:

I can't prove it but I suspect that rolling pish is a mate or a relation of one of the mods. 

There's no other explanation for how he's lasted so long.

4 minutes ago, phart said:

Just ignore him he is a narcissist who is starved for attention, been crying out like a new born bird for it last couple of days judging by the threads. Going to put him on ignore and remove him from my reality.

Ive had the arse on ignore for months, its all aaids fault for quoting him. 😂

I agree that he must be a mod, or a mate, he offers nothing but annoyance.

Edited by kumnio

6 minutes ago, kumnio said:

Nice words about my dad.

Detroit reporting they wont be finished counting till 9pm their time. So nothing concrete in Michigan till then. PA will still be counting till Friday so can't say anything there.

Trump is certainly great at outperforming in elections, he has that clutch gene to use US Parlance. Got to give it to him. All the shit happening with Covid could have sunk folk, yet he is making this competitive as hell, still in with a chance.