Old Nightclubs/pubs You Used To Haunt - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Old Nightclubs/pubs You Used To Haunt

For the size of the place Kilmarnock had some amount of clubs on the go when I started going out there, all open til 4am at the time.

Parkers, Vickys, Charlie Browns, Box 2, Nelsons....there must be others I can't recall...

Mid-80s was a really good night out in Killie. Was never overly fussed with Parkers but I thought Charlie Browns was brilliant.

As you said, all open until 4 at the weekend. Used to be a bit disorienting falling out onto John Finnie St in the summer when it was light.

In Aberdeen in the 80s as a callow youth:

The Hawthorn Bar

Ferryhill House

Ma Cameron's

The Dutch Mill

The Machar

Cafe Ici - popular in the 80s

Gabriel's - ditto

Ritzy

Henry J Beans - specialised in smelling of vomit

In the 90s and after:

Ferryhill House

The Bond Bar

Cocky Hunters

Cafe Society

Smart Alex

Oh Henry's

The Globe

Under the Hammer

The Blue Lamp

The Howff

O'Donoghue's

O'Neill's

The College

Babylon

In Edinburgh:

The Melville

Bert's Bar

Teuchters

Star Bar

The Baillie

The Antiquary

Barony Bar

The Wally Dug

The Cumberland

Fibber Magees

The Guildford Arms

Milne's

Harry's Bar

Fingers Piano Bar

Nowadays:

Still Ferryhill House/The Globe but very rarely...

Edited by neilser

Edinburgh - about 7-10 years ago:

Liquid rooms on a Wednesday used to be class, went here about a year ago at 1am and there were about 15 people in there. we used to queue for 30-45 mins to get in.

Cav (actually called lava/ignite) - upstairs cheesy floor. Havent been back since I developed a taste in music, beer and women.

Stereo/whatever it was called after - a solid option on a Tuesday night

Never went to many clubs as a customer but worked in lots of them. Good times. Went to the Velvet a Rooms a few times when I was at college and apart from getting lost every time I came back from the toilets I liked it. Can't remember what type of music it was though. Nowadays I like Club Noir nights at O2.

Tiger Tim at the Hamilton Palace on a Thursday night...

Used to be buses from Ayrshire that would do trips to the Hamilton Palace (seem to recall once a month from Saltcoats train station there would be a bus that would take you through and back for that.)

Ended up in 'the moon' once when I moved to Glasgow.

What a place :lol:

Always mind the guy on sauchiehall street shouting 'come to the moon'

That's a blast from that past! When used to go out in Glasgow with mates there was one guy who would always pull a right huffy if we did not go there.

I remember kid Creole and the coconuts and also Marie Wilson, i used to drink Schlitz lager in there thinking i was the bees knees!

Big Country apparently played it also

I doubt many here will know the place but Ricky's Bar (ex-Waggon & Horses) near the Huddersfield ground closed down last week. I've been drinking pre-match in there for 35 years, bought my lad his first pre-match pop, shandy, underage & legal pints in there. In fact I bought some of my own first underage pints in there.

It was, shall we say, not one of the town's more salubrious establishments as a quick Google Street View will show, but I'm devastated :(

Ended up in 'the moon' once when I moved to Glasgow.

What a place :lol:

Always mind the guy on sauchiehall street shouting 'come to the moon'

Honourable mention to Strathclyde Union and there 12 hour Tuesday's where it was 99p all drinks. Usually couldn't remember the second half of champions league football in there

I met a really drunk Aberdeen player in there once. Was blootered with his shirt all ripped and bouncing off the walls. Can mind his name for the life of me though. Had really hairy hands and might have played for Raith or Falkirk.

I doubt many here will know the place but Ricky's Bar (ex-Waggon & Horses) near the Huddersfield ground closed down last week. I've been drinking pre-match in there for 35 years, bought my lad his first pre-match pop, shandy, underage & legal pints in there. In fact I bought some of my own first underage pints in there.

It was, shall we say, not one of the town's more salubrious establishments as a quick Google Street View will show, but I'm devastated :(

Was in Ricky's earlier this year. Ricky a large slightly camp fellow. Roughest looking strippers I seen for a while.

Late 70s Glasgow was Alhambra bar and then Savoy dancing. I worked on the theory that with so many females I could

play the numbers game.. Hardest bouncers to pass when pished though, they lined up on both sides as we walked towards entrance.

Mention also for Doune Castle in Shawlands and Shawlands hotel.

Was in Ricky's earlier this year. Ricky a large slightly camp fellow. Roughest looking strippers I seen for a while.

That would have been the perfect TripAdvisor review!

Ricky was actually the first openly gay man I ever knew; quite brave really running a pub (along with his partner) in that part of town in the early 1980s.

Late 70s Glasgow was Alhambra bar and then Savoy dancing. I worked on the theory that with so many females I could

play the numbers game.. Hardest bouncers to pass when pished though, they lined up on both sides as we walked towards entrance.

Mention also for Doune Castle in Shawlands and Shawlands hotel.

Did the Doune Castle eventually become an O'Neill's (then Stube - no idea what it's called now)?

Tiger Tim at the Hamilton Palace on a Thursday night...

Most of 5th and 6th year at our school went there on a Thursday night. In fact everyone I ever spoke to in there on a Thursday night was still at school, or facing a mid-life crisis.

( I should add, I was too, I wasn't 30 or anything! :lol: )

We would also go to Bar Yava in Hamilton, was always shooty in to pull in there, the clientele was even younger in there!

In Glasgow.

The shack and trash that both burned down. Loved the shack, was there Thursday and Saturday through uni, was a bit classier than the garage. Tuesday's in Trash was an interesting night, as it was a mix of students, footballers and wannabe WAGS.

(Bizarrely got turned away from there once as it was "students only", but the guy interrupted his student only patter to let Bobo Balde in. :lol: )

Archaos was some place, so loud! late 90s it was quite cool, but then went quite neddy, I like my dance music, so always liked it.

Been in the place across the road under about 10 different guises, think it was Planet peach when we first went, always a bit of a last resort.

Went through a spell early 2000s where everyone was into Rnb and wanted to be black, there was a place up at Charing Cross end of sauchiehall street, velvet rooms I'm sure it was called.

Only other one I can think of that's no longer there was Destiny, it sounded like a great idea, but was full of neds, again, I liked dance music, but it attracts the neds.

The Hoochie in Edinburgh was always the biz but the best 'club' by far that Edinburgh or any other city anywhere in the world has ever seen was the Gassedallweekendo. The name speaks for itself hence why the Sun newspaper tried to get a reporter inside every week and why a certain high court judge tried to have it banned.

RIP.

You would know it as The Village, now The James Tassie.

Another favourite was The Newlands Hotel which became flats.

Ta - was reading that it was a Stakis place and it was a cellar-type pub (?), which made me think O'Neill's / Stube as you walked down a set of stairs when entering from Kilmarnock Road. Once spent a pleasant Saturday afternoon in TJT with Mod Admin Flure and Wolfie (think Grumpy Auld Git was a chef in there for a while).

Spent a few Friday / Saturday nights in the Newlands Hotel - there was also Rosco's (think it was latterly Magenta - now a gym?).

I'm getting all nostalgic for Shawlands in the 1990s now :cry: - some good times.

Edited by Charlie Endell

there was also Rosco's (think it was latterly Magenta - now a gym?).

Cheers! I was trying to remember the name of that gaff - Roscos of course. I think you've got the wrong colour though, it became Indigo.

You could also take your life in your hands in the Marlborough before it became the Shed....

Cheers! I was trying to remember the name of that gaff - Roscos of course. I think you've got the wrong colour though, it became Indigo.

You could also take your life in your hands in the Marlborough before it became the Shed....

:lol::ok:

I only went to the Marlborough once :yikes3: - it was almost empty and they had some lassie dancing in a cage.

Edited by Charlie Endell

You would know it as The Village, now The James Tassie.

Another favourite was The Newlands Hotel which became flats.

Aye Shawlands was always a good alternative to the town.

Loved the Village & it's basement bar which was called Rosie O'Grady's i think

And i'm sure the Newlands hotel was also known as J J Booths ?