Allison Street, Govanhill, Glasgow - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Allison Street, Govanhill, Glasgow

:shocked::shocked: What a fckn shithole :shocked::shocked:

Romanians floating about every corner & the local junkies walking about like zombies, what happened to the place? was a great wee area growing up (born in Preston Street) 1965-1975.

Not a fckn policeman / woman to be seen anywhere !!

That Is All.

• Replies 144

Romanians floating about every corner & the local junkies walking about like zombies, what happened to the place? was a great wee area growing up (born in Preston Street) 1965-1975.

That Is All.

I think they are mainly Slovak Roma.

Why did you need a police officer? were you the victim of a crime?

This is very interesting. A big flat old style overlooking Queens park is still 200k'ish. This about 50m's away from Glasgow City Council's Govanhill 'experiment'. These old grand flats overlooking QP are about to crash because Govanhill has been turned into a ghetto.

If I owned one of these (now) hugely overpriced QP properties I would sue GSC form now to the end of time. They have willingly turned a segment of historical Glasgow into a sleezey slum and they should be held accountable. Glasgow city council are scum. Get them to .

That Is All.

Pure hyperbolic nonsense.

Allison Street is a pretty intimidating place to drive down at night so I can see where the OP is coming from. Street corners are full of wee neds who cross the road in front of moving cars, presumably to try and prompt a reaction.

House prices there are about 30-40 grand cheaper than a few hundred yards away as well, ostensibly for the same house.

Allison Street is a pretty intimidating place to drive down at night so I can see where the OP is coming from. Street corners are full of wee neds who cross the road in front of moving cars, presumably to try and prompt a reaction.

House prices there are about 30-40 grand cheaper than a few hundred yards away as well, ostensibly for the same house.

Aye, I was in the Titwood after the Germany and Poland games - made sure I got the last train home on both occasions (from Pollokshields West) - wouldn't even wait for a bus on Vicky Road at that time of night - if I'd had to hoof it I'd have gone via Shawlands.

A lassie in my work lives there - had to downgrade her car to an old banger as her previous one was constantly getting vandalised.

I also know someone that has done house clearances down there - some of the stories would turn your stomach - people shitting in closes and just chucking rubbish out the back window.

Edited by Charlie Endell

Govanhell.

Designated a "high risk" area by Greater Glasgow NHS due to multiple cultures, peoples, child mistreatment, overcrowding and poverty.

Plus the obsession with Govanhill Baths and reopening is maddening. It's passed its sell by date with modern facility 10 mins away in Gorbals.

Brutal.

It's a shame for the area but as has been said the place is s shit hole, The Roma gypsies are selling their kids for sex and basically go around stealing stuff, I left to move to Kings Park as was assaulted by about 12 of them just at the corner of langside road and Allison street. used to love living there but even when we go to the Curry shop I love in Victoria road it looks a scary place and so glad I moved my family out

This is very interesting. A big flat old style overlooking Queens park is still 200k'ish. This about 50m's away from Glasgow City Council's Govanhill 'experiment'. These old grand flats overlooking QP are about to crash because Govanhill has been turned into a ghetto.

If I owned one of these (now) hugely overpriced QP properties I would sue GSC form now to the end of time. They have willingly turned a segment of historical Glasgow into a sleezey slum and they should be held accountable. Glasgow city council are scum. Get them to .

What exactly was the experiment?

...to place a community of immigrants into a inner city area rather than dispersing throughout multiple areas / schemes ?

I think they are mainly Slovak Roma.

Why did you need a police officer? were you the victim of a crime?

No not at all - i'm a big boy.

My reference to the police (i should have made myself clearer) was the shear number of Romas standing about the streets & street corners, i'm sure if that was a bunch of local lads then plod would be all over them like a rash.

Some of the stories I have heard from people who still live there are sickening, real shame was a great wee place to grow up in the 1970's.

I think GHA is trying to disperse them, unfortunately this will mean areas like Kingspark which has a high number of landlord held properties will see an influx. Its not where the Roma mob live that matters because it doesnt matter, theyll turn wherever they go to shite.

What exactly was the experiment?

...to place a community of immigrants into a inner city area rather than dispersing throughout multiple areas / schemes ?

Not sure now. It was discussed on here a while ago and I recall someone said they put a heap of folk into the area in one go. If true I'd be raging if owned a flat there, prices have plummeted it seems like.

I lost £23000 selling mine. Was happy to take the hit just to get out of there. Place is a shithole and the council couldn`t care less.

That is a real bummer. Should not be losing money like that on a house normally. If it was down to GCC dumping a shit load of folk there I am surprised no has ever sued them. A class action type thing with some ambulance chasing lawyer kunts going after them. When you think of the shit they make folk go through to get planning permission for tiny things it would be staggering if they were behind this massive downward change to an entire area.

What exactly would you sue them for though? If you buy a house, there's lots of different external factors that could contribute to your house price going up our down, that's just the way it is.

In saying that, the council have certainly failed in properly integrating the Roma community in particular. By lumping a whole load of one type of community in one area, it becomes much easier for that community to socialise amongst themselves and not become accustomed to certain things we would consider normal, but I don't blame them for that, that is the councils fault as outlined above.

The real problem mind you is the private landlords of Govanhill. They have taken in hundreds of the Roma community into their flats with the exorbitant rents being paid by the government through housing benefit straight into their bank accounts. As such you have a situation where the landlords don't live there, they have no attachment to the area and have no incentive to ensure the backcourt and closes are of an acceptable standard, which is why a lot of these areas are in total squalor. They get their money at the end of the month and that's that.

Things are slowly changing however and I think new powers and funding is being given to housing associations and the council to buy out these landlords. That is the main factor which will turn around Places like Allison Street.