Neil Oliver History Of Scotland - Page 3 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Neil Oliver History Of Scotland

On 9/6/2018 at 3:56 PM, neilser said:

He was on Simon Mayo/Jo Whiley’s show tonight on Radio 2 promoting his book on the history of Britain in 100 places. Didn’t hear all of it but he was pushing the line that the British Isles are essentially all one place, on the basis that one side of a national border looks much the same as the other side. A bizarre and remarkably simplistic angle for a historian to take that could be applied anywhere else in the world - Greece and Turkey? - and takes no account of history. He ended up with a tortuous story about believing in yourselves and standing on your own feet, but which was clearly a Brit Nat parable rather than in favour of Scottish nationalism. The guy’s fairly odd...

He’s obviously a Hun. He has that heid for a Hun tae. Ain that looks like it’s tain a slathering o’ lard oot o’ the fryer tae run through it’s hair. 

Not sure if there's demand for a History thread, till then need to rely on Neil Oliver thread. Anyway... 

Ancient Scotland’s Picts developed writing system as early as 1,700 years ago

https://www.zmescience.com/science/archaeology/pict-writing-system-04233/

... but "Until a Pictish ‘Rosetta Stone‘ is discovered, we’ll just have to settle with marveling at these monumental forms of communication."

43 minutes ago, exile said:

Not sure if there's demand for a History thread, till then need to rely on Neil Oliver thread. Anyway... 

Ancient Scotland’s Picts developed writing system as early as 1,700 years ago

https://www.zmescience.com/science/archaeology/pict-writing-system-04233/

... but "Until a Pictish ‘Rosetta Stone‘ is discovered, we’ll just have to settle with marveling at these monumental forms of communication."

Always facinated me and there is so much to discover regarding the picts, i know the lad gordon noble whom( head of the project) is a few year older than me, he says that we haven’t even touched the tip of the iceberg