Clyde1998 Posted July 23 Posted July 23 Just trying to think which players have a potential of being included in the squad for the Nations League and we should be keeping an eye on going into the new season. Obviously who's actually included will depend on the manager; tactics; injuries/fitness; and form. Some of these guys could play in multiple positions of course. GKs Name Age Club League Scott Bain 34 Falkirk SCO-1 Angus Gunn 30 San Jose USA-1 Liam Kelly 30 Rangers SCO-1 Jon McCracken 26 Bradford ENG-3 Robbie McCrorie 28 - - Cieran Slicker 23 Barnsley ENG-3 RBs Name Age Club League Aaron Hickey 24 Brentford ENG-1 Max Johnston 22 Derby ENG-2 Ross McCrorie 28 Rangers SCO-1 Nathan Patterson 24 Everton ENG-1 Calvin Ramsay 22 Liverpool ENG-1 LBs Name Age Club League Matthew Anderson 22 Kortrijk BEL-1 Josh Doig 24 Sassuolo ITA-1 James Penrice 27 AEK Athens GRE-1 Andy Robertson 32 Tottenham ENG-1 Kieran Tierney 29 Celtic SCO-1 CBs Name Age Club League Ibane Bowat 23 Portsmouth ENG-2 Luke Graham 22 Stoke ENG-2 Jack Hendry 31 Al-Ettifaq KSA-1 Dominic Hyam 30 Wrexham ENG-2 Scott McKenna 29 Dinamo Zagreb CRO-1 Jack Milne 23 Aberdeen SCO-1 Liam Morrison 23 QPR ENG-2 Ryan Porteous 27 LAFC USA-1 John Souttar 29 Rangers SCO-1 Stephen Welsh 26 Swansea ENG-2 CMs/DMs Name Age Club League Cameron Bragg 21 Southampton ENG-1 Connor Barron 23 Rangers SCO-1 Lewis Ferguson 26 Bologna ITA-1 Tyler Fletcher 19 Man Utd ENG-1 Billy Gilmour 25 Napoli ITA-1 Jordan Holsgrove 26 Estoril POR-1 Andy Irving 26 Sparta Prague CZE-1 Lennon Miller 19 Udinese ITA-1 Josh Mullian 23 Hibernian SCO-1 Baily Rice 19 Kilmarnock SCO-1 David Watson 21 Bolton ENG-2 Elliot Watt 26 Samsunspor TUR-1 AMs Name Age Club League Ryan Christie 31 Bournemouth ENG-1 Ryan Gauld 30 Vancouver USA-1 John McGinn 31 Aston Villa ENG-1 Scott McTominay 29 Napoli ITA-1 WFs Name Age Club League Oliver Burke 29 Union Berlin GER-1 Findlay Curtis 20 Rangers SCO-1 Ben Gannon-Doak 20 Bournemouth ENG-1 Josh McPake 24 Hearts SCO-1 Adedire Mebude 22 Rizespor TUR-1 Lewis Morgan 29 San Diego USA-1 STs Name Age Club League Che Adams 30 Torino ITA-1 Kieron Bowie 23 Hellas Verona ITA-2 Tommy Conway 23 Middlesbrough ENG-1 Lyndon Dykes 30 ~Charlton ENG-2 George Hirst 27 Ipswich ENG-1 Fraser Hornby 26 Wolfsburg GER-2 Kyle Joseph 24 Middlesbrough ENG-2 Lawrence Shankland 30 Rangers SCO-1 Barney Stewart 22 West Brom ENG-2 Ross Stewart 30 - - Oli McBurnie 30 Hull ENG-1 Robbie Ure 22 Sirius SWE-1 I make that sixty players to be whittled down to roughly twenty-six. Anyone obvious I've missed? Aside from in goal, it seems like we've got a decent amount of competition for places. Quote
BoundaryFault Posted July 23 Posted July 23 39 minutes ago, Clyde1998 said: Just trying to think which players have a potential of being included in the squad for the Nations League and we should be keeping an eye on going into the new season. Obviously who's actually included will depend on the manager; tactics; injuries/fitness; and form. Some of these guys could play in multiple positions of course. GKs Name Age Club League Scott Bain 34 Falkirk SCO-1 Angus Gunn 30 San Jose USA-1 Liam Kelly 30 Rangers SCO-1 Jon McCracken 26 Bradford ENG-3 Robbie McCrorie 28 - - Cieran Slicker 23 Barnsley ENG-3 RBs Name Age Club League Aaron Hickey 24 Brentford ENG-1 Max Johnston 22 Derby ENG-2 Ross McCrorie 28 Rangers SCO-1 Nathan Patterson 24 Everton ENG-1 Calvin Ramsay 22 Liverpool ENG-1 LBs Name Age Club League Matthew Anderson 22 Kortrijk BEL-1 Josh Doig 24 Sassuolo ITA-1 James Penrice 27 AEK Athens GRE-1 Andy Robertson 32 Tottenham ENG-1 Kieran Tierney 29 Celtic SCO-1 CBs Name Age Club League Ibane Bowat 23 Portsmouth ENG-2 Luke Graham 22 Stoke ENG-2 Jack Hendry 31 Al-Ettifaq KSA-1 Dominic Hyam 30 Wrexham ENG-2 Scott McKenna 29 Dinamo Zagreb CRO-1 Jack Milne 23 Aberdeen SCO-1 Liam Morrison 23 QPR ENG-2 Ryan Porteous 27 LAFC USA-1 John Souttar 29 Rangers SCO-1 Stephen Welsh 26 Swansea ENG-2 CMs/DMs Name Age Club League Cameron Bragg 21 Southampton ENG-1 Connor Barron 23 Rangers SCO-1 Lewis Ferguson 26 Bologna ITA-1 Tyler Fletcher 19 Man Utd ENG-1 Billy Gilmour 25 Napoli ITA-1 Jordan Holsgrove 26 Estoril POR-1 Andy Irving 26 Sparta Prague CZE-1 Lennon Miller 19 Udinese ITA-1 Josh Mullian 23 Hibernian SCO-1 Baily Rice 19 Kilmarnock SCO-1 David Watson 21 Bolton ENG-2 Elliot Watt 26 Samsunspor TUR-1 AMs Name Age Club League Ryan Christie 31 Bournemouth ENG-1 Ryan Gauld 30 Vancouver USA-1 John McGinn 31 Aston Villa ENG-1 Scott McTominay 29 Napoli ITA-1 WFs Name Age Club League Oliver Burke 29 Union Berlin GER-1 Findlay Curtis 20 Rangers SCO-1 Ben Gannon-Doak 20 Bournemouth ENG-1 Josh McPake 24 Hearts SCO-1 Adedire Mebude 22 Rizespor TUR-1 Lewis Morgan 29 San Diego USA-1 STs Name Age Club League Che Adams 30 Torino ITA-1 Kieron Bowie 23 Hellas Verona ITA-2 Tommy Conway 23 Middlesbrough ENG-1 Lyndon Dykes 30 ~Charlton ENG-2 George Hirst 27 Ipswich ENG-1 Fraser Hornby 26 Wolfsburg GER-2 Kyle Joseph 24 Middlesbrough ENG-2 Lawrence Shankland 30 Rangers SCO-1 Barney Stewart 22 West Brom ENG-2 Ross Stewart 30 - - Oli McBurnie 30 Hull ENG-1 Robbie Ure 22 Sirius SWE-1 I make that sixty players to be whittled down to roughly twenty-six. Anyone obvious I've missed? Aside from in goal, it seems like we've got a decent amount of competition for places. James Wilson didn't look like a world-beater on his appearance against Greece, but, as a cap-holder, probably ought to be included. Ben Nelson may be hoping for greater recognition in the England set-up, but then again... It's technically possible that Chris Brady could still declare for Scotland. And there was that Kevin Nisbet hat-trick last night... Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 23 Posted July 23 Ben Nelson is getting linked with epl clubs. I wonder if it's worth trying to get him in for these upcoming games. Get him tied to us for the future. Quote
csinclair Posted July 23 Posted July 23 Kristi Montgomery another young CM option. got decent minutes in the english championship last year. Colby Donovan depending how much of a look in he gets at Celtic though it looked last season like he was already ahead of Ralston in the pecking order there. Probably too soon for Emilio Lawrence but hopefully he gets another good loan spell this season. Similarly for Daniel Kelly & Gabriel Forsyth since they missed a fair bit of last season with injury but were still getting championship minutes, hopefully can kick on this season. Quote
Johnnyshaker Posted July 23 Posted July 23 I still think McLean will be around for the NL, especially if he's still starting for Norwich. Probably phased out by the time we come to qualifiers next year though. Quote
er yir macaroon Posted July 23 Posted July 23 2 hours ago, Clyde1998 said: Just trying to think which players have a potential of being included in the squad for the Nations League and we should be keeping an eye on going into the new season. Obviously who's actually included will depend on the manager; tactics; injuries/fitness; and form. Some of these guys could play in multiple positions of course. GKs Name Age Club League Scott Bain 34 Falkirk SCO-1 Angus Gunn 30 San Jose USA-1 Liam Kelly 30 Rangers SCO-1 Jon McCracken 26 Bradford ENG-3 Robbie McCrorie 28 - - Cieran Slicker 23 Barnsley ENG-3 RBs Name Age Club League Aaron Hickey 24 Brentford ENG-1 Max Johnston 22 Derby ENG-2 Ross McCrorie 28 Rangers SCO-1 Nathan Patterson 24 Everton ENG-1 Calvin Ramsay 22 Liverpool ENG-1 LBs Name Age Club League Matthew Anderson 22 Kortrijk BEL-1 Josh Doig 24 Sassuolo ITA-1 James Penrice 27 AEK Athens GRE-1 Andy Robertson 32 Tottenham ENG-1 Kieran Tierney 29 Celtic SCO-1 CBs Name Age Club League Ibane Bowat 23 Portsmouth ENG-2 Luke Graham 22 Stoke ENG-2 Jack Hendry 31 Al-Ettifaq KSA-1 Dominic Hyam 30 Wrexham ENG-2 Scott McKenna 29 Dinamo Zagreb CRO-1 Jack Milne 23 Aberdeen SCO-1 Liam Morrison 23 QPR ENG-2 Ryan Porteous 27 LAFC USA-1 John Souttar 29 Rangers SCO-1 Stephen Welsh 26 Swansea ENG-2 CMs/DMs Name Age Club League Cameron Bragg 21 Southampton ENG-1 Connor Barron 23 Rangers SCO-1 Lewis Ferguson 26 Bologna ITA-1 Tyler Fletcher 19 Man Utd ENG-1 Billy Gilmour 25 Napoli ITA-1 Jordan Holsgrove 26 Estoril POR-1 Andy Irving 26 Sparta Prague CZE-1 Lennon Miller 19 Udinese ITA-1 Josh Mullian 23 Hibernian SCO-1 Baily Rice 19 Kilmarnock SCO-1 David Watson 21 Bolton ENG-2 Elliot Watt 26 Samsunspor TUR-1 AMs Name Age Club League Ryan Christie 31 Bournemouth ENG-1 Ryan Gauld 30 Vancouver USA-1 John McGinn 31 Aston Villa ENG-1 Scott McTominay 29 Napoli ITA-1 WFs Name Age Club League Oliver Burke 29 Union Berlin GER-1 Findlay Curtis 20 Rangers SCO-1 Ben Gannon-Doak 20 Bournemouth ENG-1 Josh McPake 24 Hearts SCO-1 Adedire Mebude 22 Rizespor TUR-1 Lewis Morgan 29 San Diego USA-1 STs Name Age Club League Che Adams 30 Torino ITA-1 Kieron Bowie 23 Hellas Verona ITA-2 Tommy Conway 23 Middlesbrough ENG-1 Lyndon Dykes 30 ~Charlton ENG-2 George Hirst 27 Ipswich ENG-1 Fraser Hornby 26 Wolfsburg GER-2 Kyle Joseph 24 Middlesbrough ENG-2 Lawrence Shankland 30 Rangers SCO-1 Barney Stewart 22 West Brom ENG-2 Ross Stewart 30 - - Oli McBurnie 30 Hull ENG-1 Robbie Ure 22 Sirius SWE-1 I make that sixty players to be whittled down to roughly twenty-six. Anyone obvious I've missed? Aside from in goal, it seems like we've got a decent amount of competition for places. I think Josh Dede will emerge as a contender at right back. I also think we need to make a push for Harry Gray. Quote
bahookie Posted July 23 Posted July 23 High heid yins, Am I allowed to post this below? Transparency; its my content in the link below. If I'm breaking a rule by posting my own stuff, of course please feel free to delete & I humbly apologise. i did a series of articles over a week on what seems huge overlap between the the thread & the stuff below (judge for yourself). Hence it seems exactly on topic. I don't want to spam out the link to each individual article. This is the last in the series. https://fitba.scot/2026/07/19/who-should-be-scotland-captain-in-the-autumn-internationals/ Like I said though, delete immediately if I'm breaking a rule. @Clyde1998 You (and others in reply) defo have some players I hadn't included. Good stuff with the obviously stimulating nature of your post. Quote
theabsentee Posted July 23 Posted July 23 1 hour ago, mccaughey85 said: Ben Nelson is getting linked with epl clubs. I wonder if it's worth trying to get him in for these upcoming games. Get him tied to us for the future. Nelson, could be great, but we might need a charming new first team coach to have any chance of persuading the likes of him. Some good shouts from other posters here. Donovan might develop into a very useful player at fullback or centre back. Forsyth missed the whole of last season sadly, let's hope he comes back stronger. Lawrence looks a classy wide player, high hopes for him🙏 Binks has just been made captain of Brondby , he can't be that far away from deserving a chance. Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 23 Posted July 23 19 minutes ago, theabsentee said: Nelson, could be great, but we might need a charming new first team coach to have any chance of persuading the likes of him. Some good shouts from other posters here. Donovan might develop into a very useful player at fullback or centre back. Forsyth missed the whole of last season sadly, let's hope he comes back stronger. Lawrence looks a classy wide player, high hopes for him🙏 Binks has just been made captain of Brondby , he can't be that far away from deserving a chance. If he goes West ham then that would mean at least 1 season playing championship. That means England probably wouldn't be that interested in him but if he goes to an epl club and starts doing well then England may come calling. He's already 22 so they can't call him up to the u21s. Harry Maguire is 33 and John stones is 32. He might look at those two and think theres a possibility of getting in the England squad if he's playing epl football in the next few years. Saying England have 4 or 5 centre backs who look like they will be around for a long time. He could guarantee himself a starting spot pretty quickly if he was to switch to us. Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted July 23 Posted July 23 5 hours ago, mccaughey85 said: Ben Nelson is getting linked with epl clubs. I wonder if it's worth trying to get him in for these upcoming games. Get him tied to us for the future. Would have been a lot easier to get him pre World Cup! Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 23 Posted July 23 1 minute ago, ceudmilefailte said: Would have been a lot easier to get him pre World Cup! Yeh maybe. We can offer him the next euros though. Chances are England won't be able to him offer that. Quote
Clyde1998 Posted July 24 Author Posted July 24 22 hours ago, BoundaryFault said: James Wilson didn't look like a world-beater on his appearance against Greece, but, as a cap-holder, probably ought to be included. Ben Nelson may be hoping for greater recognition in the England set-up, but then again... It's technically possible that Chris Brady could still declare for Scotland. And there was that Kevin Nisbet hat-trick last night... James Wilson is a possibility, especially if he starts to get regular game time at Hearts or goes out on loan at a decent level. I left the lads who've not declared for us off of the list, but players like Ben Nelson; Harry Gray; Hayden Hackney; and Lewis Binks would absolutely be players to keep an eye on. Wouldn't read too much into Nisbet's hat-trick, given it was against Queen of the South. That said, if he starts the season well, he could well work himself into contention. 21 hours ago, er yir macaroon said: I think Josh Dede will emerge as a contender at right back. I also think we need to make a push for Harry Gray. Dede is certainly a potential option, although I think the upcoming Nations League campaign would be too soon for him. He'd also need to be getting regular senior football somewhere to work himself into that picture. I reckon he could well be in the U21 squad for the next round of games. 20 hours ago, bahookie said: High heid yins, Am I allowed to post this below? Transparency; its my content in the link below. If I'm breaking a rule by posting my own stuff, of course please feel free to delete & I humbly apologise. i did a series of articles over a week on what seems huge overlap between the the thread & the stuff below (judge for yourself). Hence it seems exactly on topic. I don't want to spam out the link to each individual article. This is the last in the series. https://fitba.scot/2026/07/19/who-should-be-scotland-captain-in-the-autumn-internationals/ Like I said though, delete immediately if I'm breaking a rule. I'm not sure what the official rules are, but I don't have an issue with it if it's relevant to the topic or has the potential to lead to a discussion. We're at the stage now where Andy Robertson isn't going to be a guaranteed starter, especially as Kieran Tierney looked a level above him at the World Cup (perhaps that was simply down to Robertson not playing regularly last season). I think the new manager coming in would be the ideal time to make a switch. I would say the captain should probably be someone like Lewis Ferguson going forward given he's relatively young; captains his club side; and is likely to be a regular starter for us going forward. 20 hours ago, bahookie said: @Clyde1998 You (and others in reply) defo have some players I hadn't included. Good stuff with the obviously stimulating nature of your post. Thank you. I have to say myself, the more I've looked into the potential options we have going forward, the less concerned I am about the immediate future. There are a few names people have mentioned who I hadn't considered too. I came out of the World Cup thinking we'll probably have a big drop off following Euro 2028, as players like Andy Robertson; John McGinn; etc. would be past their peak and start retiring from international football. However, it seems we've got plenty of players coming through who could come into the squad and could be of a similar level by the time those players start to retire. Quote
csinclair Posted July 24 Posted July 24 Welsh seems to be featuring heavily for Swansea in pre season so looking like he could be a starter for them this season. That's surely got to put him right in the mix with Hanley's age plus someone like Souttar looking out of the picture at Rangers. Doesn't look like Bobby Wales has featured much though, was really hoping he'd kick on this season as he looked like he had bags of potential at Killie. Quote
BoundaryFault Posted July 24 Posted July 24 Binks seemed to be inviting us to call him up before the World Cup, so I think that might be a door that's half ajar. Wouldn't think he would be a huge risk as a last 15 minutes defensive addition v. Slovenia. And Souttar seems to be a player whose star is specially likely to wax and wane. At the moment it seems to be waning, which seems to leave a space for someone to come through. Even if he has a reasonable chance of being back as a first pick by the time of the Euro campaign. (Also to note: J. Chilokoa-Mullen probably doesn't belong on the list while playing for Wigan - but if he swiftly moved up a division...) And, more generally, it's at times like this that we could have used an opening "meaningless" fixture v. Andorra (or other) at Hampden as a useful passport stamping exercise. Quote
syecosse Posted July 24 Posted July 24 4 hours ago, csinclair said: Welsh seems to be featuring heavily for Swansea in pre season so looking like he could be a starter for them this season. That's surely got to put him right in the mix with Hanley's age plus someone like Souttar looking out of the picture at Rangers. Doesn't look like Bobby Wales has featured much though, was really hoping he'd kick on this season as he looked like he had bags of potential at Killie. Some Huddersfield fans described Wales as one of the worse signings ever at the club during his lian spell last season. Quote
csinclair Posted July 25 Posted July 25 14 hours ago, syecosse said: Some Huddersfield fans described Wales as one of the worse signings ever at the club during his lian spell last season. Yeah it’s a strange one. Looked good getting regular football for Killie and his career has sort of stagnated since leaving. When he went on loan to Huddersfield the Swansea manager said he had high hopes for him and hoped he’d start this season as a part of their first team squad but the past 6 months have done nothing to help his case Quote
Malcolm Posted July 26 Posted July 26 two things strike me about this… a dearth of talent in almost every position apart from midfield. Our best players are aging and by the time of the next world our best players will be gone or at the end of their careers. feels like we will be left with the kind of squad berti vogts had to work with. Kevin kyles, robbie stockdales, etc Quote
gkm_vancouver Posted July 27 Posted July 27 On 7/23/2026 at 3:32 PM, Clyde1998 said: Just trying to think which players have a potential of being included in the squad for the Nations League and we should be keeping an eye on going into the new season. Obviously who's actually included will depend on the manager; tactics; injuries/fitness; and form. Some of these guys could play in multiple positions of course. GKs Name Age Club League Scott Bain 34 Falkirk SCO-1 Angus Gunn 30 San Jose USA-1 Liam Kelly 30 Rangers SCO-1 Jon McCracken 26 Bradford ENG-3 Robbie McCrorie 28 - - Cieran Slicker 23 Barnsley ENG-3 RBs Name Age Club League Aaron Hickey 24 Brentford ENG-1 Max Johnston 22 Derby ENG-2 Ross McCrorie 28 Rangers SCO-1 Nathan Patterson 24 Everton ENG-1 Calvin Ramsay 22 Liverpool ENG-1 LBs Name Age Club League Matthew Anderson 22 Kortrijk BEL-1 Josh Doig 24 Sassuolo ITA-1 James Penrice 27 AEK Athens GRE-1 Andy Robertson 32 Tottenham ENG-1 Kieran Tierney 29 Celtic SCO-1 CBs Name Age Club League Ibane Bowat 23 Portsmouth ENG-2 Luke Graham 22 Stoke ENG-2 Jack Hendry 31 Al-Ettifaq KSA-1 Dominic Hyam 30 Wrexham ENG-2 Scott McKenna 29 Dinamo Zagreb CRO-1 Jack Milne 23 Aberdeen SCO-1 Liam Morrison 23 QPR ENG-2 Ryan Porteous 27 LAFC USA-1 John Souttar 29 Rangers SCO-1 Stephen Welsh 26 Swansea ENG-2 CMs/DMs Name Age Club League Cameron Bragg 21 Southampton ENG-1 Connor Barron 23 Rangers SCO-1 Lewis Ferguson 26 Bologna ITA-1 Tyler Fletcher 19 Man Utd ENG-1 Billy Gilmour 25 Napoli ITA-1 Jordan Holsgrove 26 Estoril POR-1 Andy Irving 26 Sparta Prague CZE-1 Lennon Miller 19 Udinese ITA-1 Josh Mullian 23 Hibernian SCO-1 Baily Rice 19 Kilmarnock SCO-1 David Watson 21 Bolton ENG-2 Elliot Watt 26 Samsunspor TUR-1 AMs Name Age Club League Ryan Christie 31 Bournemouth ENG-1 Ryan Gauld 30 Vancouver USA-1 John McGinn 31 Aston Villa ENG-1 Scott McTominay 29 Napoli ITA-1 WFs Name Age Club League Oliver Burke 29 Union Berlin GER-1 Findlay Curtis 20 Rangers SCO-1 Ben Gannon-Doak 20 Bournemouth ENG-1 Josh McPake 24 Hearts SCO-1 Adedire Mebude 22 Rizespor TUR-1 Lewis Morgan 29 San Diego USA-1 STs Name Age Club League Che Adams 30 Torino ITA-1 Kieron Bowie 23 Hellas Verona ITA-2 Tommy Conway 23 Middlesbrough ENG-1 Lyndon Dykes 30 ~Charlton ENG-2 George Hirst 27 Ipswich ENG-1 Fraser Hornby 26 Wolfsburg GER-2 Kyle Joseph 24 Middlesbrough ENG-2 Lawrence Shankland 30 Rangers SCO-1 Barney Stewart 22 West Brom ENG-2 Ross Stewart 30 - - Oli McBurnie 30 Hull ENG-1 Robbie Ure 22 Sirius SWE-1 I make that sixty players to be whittled down to roughly twenty-six. Anyone obvious I've missed? Aside from in goal, it seems like we've got a decent amount of competition for places. After the poor performances by the team it would be good of a few of the other names on this list get a chance in the nations league games. Question is, how many will a new manager go with? It would be ironic if Lennon Miller is out MOTM and McBurnie scores the winner in our next game....🤪 Quote
er yir macaroon Posted July 27 Posted July 27 Andy Robertson with some lighthearted comments about trying to recruit Andy Gray for Scotland. No smoke without fire perhaps. Quote
Yr Alban Posted July 27 Posted July 27 On 7/23/2026 at 3:32 PM, Clyde1998 said: Just trying to think which players have a potential of being included in the squad for the Nations League and we should be keeping an eye on going into the new season. Obviously who's actually included will depend on the manager; tactics; injuries/fitness; and form. Some of these guys could play in multiple positions of course. GKs Name Age Club League Scott Bain 34 Falkirk SCO-1 Angus Gunn 30 San Jose USA-1 Liam Kelly 30 Rangers SCO-1 Jon McCracken 26 Bradford ENG-3 Robbie McCrorie 28 - - Cieran Slicker 23 Barnsley ENG-3 RBs Name Age Club League Aaron Hickey 24 Brentford ENG-1 Max Johnston 22 Derby ENG-2 Ross McCrorie 28 Rangers SCO-1 Nathan Patterson 24 Everton ENG-1 Calvin Ramsay 22 Liverpool ENG-1 LBs Name Age Club League Matthew Anderson 22 Kortrijk BEL-1 Josh Doig 24 Sassuolo ITA-1 James Penrice 27 AEK Athens GRE-1 Andy Robertson 32 Tottenham ENG-1 Kieran Tierney 29 Celtic SCO-1 CBs Name Age Club League Ibane Bowat 23 Portsmouth ENG-2 Luke Graham 22 Stoke ENG-2 Jack Hendry 31 Al-Ettifaq KSA-1 Dominic Hyam 30 Wrexham ENG-2 Scott McKenna 29 Dinamo Zagreb CRO-1 Jack Milne 23 Aberdeen SCO-1 Liam Morrison 23 QPR ENG-2 Ryan Porteous 27 LAFC USA-1 John Souttar 29 Rangers SCO-1 Stephen Welsh 26 Swansea ENG-2 CMs/DMs Name Age Club League Cameron Bragg 21 Southampton ENG-1 Connor Barron 23 Rangers SCO-1 Lewis Ferguson 26 Bologna ITA-1 Tyler Fletcher 19 Man Utd ENG-1 Billy Gilmour 25 Napoli ITA-1 Jordan Holsgrove 26 Estoril POR-1 Andy Irving 26 Sparta Prague CZE-1 Lennon Miller 19 Udinese ITA-1 Josh Mullian 23 Hibernian SCO-1 Baily Rice 19 Kilmarnock SCO-1 David Watson 21 Bolton ENG-2 Elliot Watt 26 Samsunspor TUR-1 AMs Name Age Club League Ryan Christie 31 Bournemouth ENG-1 Ryan Gauld 30 Vancouver USA-1 John McGinn 31 Aston Villa ENG-1 Scott McTominay 29 Napoli ITA-1 WFs Name Age Club League Oliver Burke 29 Union Berlin GER-1 Findlay Curtis 20 Rangers SCO-1 Ben Gannon-Doak 20 Bournemouth ENG-1 Josh McPake 24 Hearts SCO-1 Adedire Mebude 22 Rizespor TUR-1 Lewis Morgan 29 San Diego USA-1 STs Name Age Club League Che Adams 30 Torino ITA-1 Kieron Bowie 23 Hellas Verona ITA-2 Tommy Conway 23 Middlesbrough ENG-1 Lyndon Dykes 30 ~Charlton ENG-2 George Hirst 27 Ipswich ENG-1 Fraser Hornby 26 Wolfsburg GER-2 Kyle Joseph 24 Middlesbrough ENG-2 Lawrence Shankland 30 Rangers SCO-1 Barney Stewart 22 West Brom ENG-2 Ross Stewart 30 - - Oli McBurnie 30 Hull ENG-1 Robbie Ure 22 Sirius SWE-1 I make that sixty players to be whittled down to roughly twenty-six. Anyone obvious I've missed? Aside from in goal, it seems like we've got a decent amount of competition for places. From a Hearts perspective, Harry Milne for LB (one of our best players last season). James Wilson has been in recent squads and so needs included, though it’s not clear if he will get game time this year. And I haven’t given up hope of Craig Halkett getting a chance now Clarke is gone (though obviously he is injured at the moment). Quote
csinclair Posted July 27 Posted July 27 54 minutes ago, Yr Alban said: From a Hearts perspective, Harry Milne for LB (one of our best players last season). James Wilson has been in recent squads and so needs included, though it’s not clear if he will get game time this year. And I haven’t given up hope of Craig Halkett getting a chance now Clarke is gone (though obviously he is injured at the moment). I think Halkett may still get a cap or two but realistically his injury record isn’t the best and he’s older than our current defenders except for Hanley and Hendry. By the time he’s fit again we’ll have finished the nations league games and the new manager will likely have those defenders in mind for the qualifiers. If Luke Graham starts the season well then surely he’s ahead of him and Porteous has done well in MLS Quote
er yir macaroon Posted July 28 Posted July 28 I see Tyler Fletcher captained Man Utd the other day. I'm quite excited at the prospect of him and Gilmour teaming up. It might give us that ability to shift the ball quickly and accurately, something that was sorely lacking at the world cup. Quote