Thoughts on the 2026 World Cup - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

1 minute ago, DoonTheSlope said:

It wasn’t free train travel across Germany with a match ticket. Thats just not true. Good luck getting from Berlin to Cologne on an ICE train with your match brief. It was only free on the local transport network

For the record that wasn’t even down to UEFA. That’s common practice in Germany if you hold a valid match brief. At the time there was a €45(?) monthly ticket you could use on all local transport across. However after a few days it became clear to see why it was so cheap 

The trains were less than satisfactory across Germany. I’d happily have paid a premium if the trains even turned up, went a full journey and just generally provided a better customer experience 

Well you had a different experience to me. And take it from me the Fox borough train was by no means a bed of roses with trains running without Aircon in temps into the 90s.

And to argue free trains are worse than a $75 one just makes no sense whatsoever.

• Replies 123

1 minute ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Well you had a different experience to me. And take it from me the Fox borough train was by no means a bed of roses with trains running without Aircon in temps into the 90s.

And to argue free trains are worse than a $75 one just makes no sense whatsoever.

If a $75 train turns up or even completes it’s fully intended route gets you to and from the match then obviously it’s better than a “free” alternative which wasn’t even remotely reliable 

The german trains/trams weren’t immune from the lack of air conditioning either

34 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

If a $75 train turns up or even completes it’s fully intended route gets you to and from the match then obviously it’s better than a “free” alternative which wasn’t even remotely reliable 

The german trains/trams weren’t immune from the lack of air conditioning either

Any chance you can give the Euros chat a miss? You went, we get it. You chose not to go to the World Cup, your choice, we get it. Most who travelled had the best time, you weren't there, that's on you. Aye but when ah went the the euros the transport system......we get it. You missed a great time, move on.

2 minutes ago, Prentice said:

Any chance you can give the Euros chat a miss? You went, we get it. You chose not to go to the World Cup, your choice, we get it. Most who travelled had the best time, you weren't there, that's on you. Aye but when ah went the the euros the transport system......we get it. You missed a great time, move on.

I never brought the Euros up. I was responding to a post replying to me. You’d have noticed that if you had the attention span to read through and understand a thread though 

7 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I never brought the Euros up. I was responding to a post replying to me. You’d have noticed that if you had the attention span to read through and understand a thread though 

Sadly you mentioned the German trains/trams in the post I responded to. There are many other threads about the WC where you tried to shoehorn your life in. You missed out, your choice, move on and get a grip.

That’s how chat and debate works. Not happy? Don’t read the thread. Move on and get a grip 

1 minute ago, DoonTheSlope said:

That’s how chat and debate works. Not happy? Don’t read the thread. Move on and get a grip 

No, it's posting for sake of posting. But its fine. You got called out and you didn't like it, you need to move on. You missed Scotland at a world cup, but that's ok, you need to move on from that too, just like you said you had no regrets about not going, keep with that. I'll continue to read and post whatever I see fit, according to board rules, so if you don't like it then block or have a wee look inside yourself.

7 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

13 posts in 20 years and on here giving orders to people on how the board should be utilised FFS! 

Giving orders? Get a grip of yourself.

1 minute ago, Prentice said:

No, it's posting for sake of posting. But its fine. You got called out and you didn't like it, you need to move on. You missed Scotland at a world cup, but that's ok, you need to move on from that too, just like you said you had no regrets about not going, keep with that. I'll continue to read and post whatever I see fit, according to board rules, so if you don't like it then block or have a wee look inside yourself.

Likewise

Likewise. However it would appear you don’t need to look inside yourself as your head already seems to be so far up your own farter

Just now, DoonTheSlope said:

Likewise

Likewise. However it would appear you don’t need to look inside yourself as your head already seems to be so far up your own farter

Is my posting count more satisfactory for you now I've added a couple? Did you feel emasculated you when you realised I'd had 13 posts in 20 years, is that why you mentioned it and reacted so badly you had to make a different post about about it? 

I do look inside myself, not as often as I should though. You mention my farter, different strokes for different folks. Enjoy.

Just to lighten the mood I'd like to gloat again that I did once get a free ICE train.

Didn't realise back at the Dortmund game (a while ago), that the freebie didn't apply to those trains and just got on.   Had a lovely, fast chilled-out wheecht back to Dusseldorf, and nobody stopped us.

Still feel guilty 😇

1 minute ago, Prentice said:

Is my posting count more satisfactory for you now I've added a couple? Did you feel emasculated you when you realised I'd had 13 posts in 20 years, is that why you mentioned it and reacted so badly you had to make a different post about about it? 

I do look inside myself, not as often as I should though. You mention my farter, different strokes for different folks. Enjoy.

No need to tread on homophobic territory 

2 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

No need to tread on homophobic territory 

You wanted to bring my farter into things, now becry homophonic territory. Desperate.  

6 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Textbook projection

Do you always need the last word? Or do you just always need? Drop me a PM if you wish and we can go forever if you wish.

3 minutes ago, Prentice said:

Do you always need the last word? Or do you just always need? Drop me a PM if you wish and we can go forever if you wish.

Likewise

20 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

So, thoughts on the world cup?🤣

From what I seen I enjoyed it. I didn’t think it was better than 2018 but better than 2022

1 hour ago, Grim Jim said:

Just to lighten the mood I'd like to gloat again that I did once get a free ICE train.

Didn't realise back at the Dortmund game (a while ago), that the freebie didn't apply to those trains and just got on.   Had a lovely, fast chilled-out wheecht back to Dusseldorf, and nobody stopped us.

Still feel guilty 😇

I never paid for one train I was on at the Euro’s and I never had match tickets, travelled on 3 ICE trains anaw. Not something I’d usually do but one of my party never pays on trains/trams and has always got away with it so I thought fuck it and done the same. The volume of people made it unlikely you’d get caught, haven’t done it since tho 

4 minutes ago, dan cake said:

What a fucking car crash this has become, usual suspect 

I've got him on ignore 

He knows i've got him on ignore 

Yet he still quotes my posts with his antagonistic gaslighting pish

Just now, Ally Bongo said:

I've got him on ignore 

Iv got half the board on ignore 😀

Posted (edited)

If you went to the Euros and the World Cup, then you'll agree the World Cup was miles better.

If you only got to the Euros, then sorry to hear, you missed out big time.

Edited by Souness
27 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

I've got him on ignore 

I’m one of the original members of this board, member no 150 back in the very early 2000s, don’t post a lot but like to read, have to say the 3 who are at it are pushing me close to but have never ever put anyone on ignore, but very close to doing so, no 1, the antagonistic kunt followed by poster M and lastly the fake SNP poster from the NE.