stocky Posted July 21 Posted July 21 I saw Scotland win a game at a world cup. I was there with my two teenage sons. It will always be memorable for me for this. Quote
BryanBlessed Posted July 21 Posted July 21 Good memories of being at the Haiti game but that's about it. The negatives far outweighed the positives: Weather, rip-off prices, înconsistent refereeing, blatant corruption, a lot of boring games in the latter stages and the whole tournament seemed too long. Quote
runningtings Posted July 21 Posted July 21 Haiti game was a definite high, Morocco leaves me frustrated now that I have thought on it and Brazil was just a disaster. The stadiums were incredible as was the whole experience actually at the games. As for the World Cup as a whole, I wasn't really paying much attention to other games when in the US. Once I was back I enjoyed some of the games but most of the knockouts were absolutely dire and I'd agree that the whole thing just went on too long. Can't say that the full experience for us was great, the transport infrastructure was really poor for example. However, the best thing for me was the people, as has been said elsewhere we were so lucky to end up in Boston for 2 games and Miami for 1, the Americans and fans from other countries we met was the highlight for me and everything I had hoped it would be. Quote
Dodger Posted July 21 Posted July 21 19 hours ago, er yir macaroon said: I can guarantee if we had a teenage world class centre half there is zero chance he would have played at the world cup. That he now has a winners medal is something that I hope some of our coaches have a wee think about. We haven't produced a world class centre half in about 40 years, never mind a teenage one. You can't play them if they don't exist. Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 21 Author Posted July 21 The more I think about this world cup, the more I dislike it and thats despite Scotland being there. IMO fans should not ignore how that world cup will be perceived by FIFA, they will see it as a success and they will see it as licence to ramp up the commercial side again in four years. I hope I am wrong and this was only because the yanks were involved The WC was always something to look forward to unlike the complete joke which is the CL but this world cup was on another level. Quote
bahookie Posted July 21 Posted July 21 (edited) 1 hour ago, vanderark14 said: The more I think about this world cup, the more I dislike it and thats despite Scotland being there. IMO fans should not ignore how that world cup will be perceived by FIFA, they will see it as a success and they will see it as licence to ramp up the commercial side again in four years. I hope I am wrong and this was only because the yanks were involved The WC was always something to look forward to unlike the complete joke which is the CL but this world cup was on another level. To supplement your observation, I am quietly confident FIFA's KPIs for World Cup 2026 will be the likes of Profit & Return on Investment. Do FIFA still keep the books closed? UEFA also given they're also HQed in Switz? Edited July 21 by bahookie fix typo Quote
er yir macaroon Posted July 21 Posted July 21 1 hour ago, vanderark14 said: The more I think about this world cup, the more I dislike it and thats despite Scotland being there. IMO fans should not ignore how that world cup will be perceived by FIFA, they will see it as a success and they will see it as licence to ramp up the commercial side again in four years. I hope I am wrong and this was only because the yanks were involved The WC was always something to look forward to unlike the complete joke which is the CL but this world cup was on another level. The World Cup like football in general needs to be given back to the fans. The problem is if there's too much heat on Fifa the clubs would try and seize the moment and try to get rid of it altogether. The clubs hate international football. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 21 Posted July 21 A Wikipedia page has been created on World Cup 2026 controversies. 19,000 words in length 🤣 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_2026_FIFA_World_Cup_controversies Quote
Saint4805 Posted July 22 Posted July 22 (edited) Most of the good things about the WC weren't down to FIFA or the American Govt/organisers and could have easily been achieved or surpassed under a different governing body in a different host country. I can't stress enough how much I despise this corrupt organisation and it's baldy corrupt egotistical leader. The Balogun red card reversal, treatment of the Iranian players and certain African referees were all absolutely outrageous. That's just the tip of the iceberg. If the house of cards ever falls and a new breakaway governing body formed, it'll be a truly glorious day. Edited July 22 by Saint4805 Quote
Souness Posted July 22 Posted July 22 Incredible trip There with my pals Incredible memories Drank bars dry Met some cool people Incredible stadiums No hassle in or out of the games Top-notch scran Invited to a box by Brazilians Had a pint with Ronaldinho Coned my way down the West Coast Much success Quote
TDYER63 Posted July 22 Posted July 22 As an observer from home it was an ok watch , nothing more, if Scotland hadnt been in it I think I would have been a bit fed up by the end. The controversies and ridiculous shows were a big negative, I didn’t enjoy the hydration breaks much either. Anyone who believes that politics and sport arent connected needs their heid examined. Blatant corruption yet the needle returns to the start of the song and we all sing along like before. I have absolutely no regrets about not going. If anything I feel my decision vindicated. I have had brilliant memories following Scotland , none of them blemished by the shit we are now seeing . Sadly I think its the future. Money talks and moreso in the world we currently live. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted July 22 Posted July 22 1 hour ago, vanderark14 said: 🤣🤣🤣 Think she must have been meaning the racist element within Argentina - which there is/was for decades - and is widely known Even the MSM were running stories about why there were no black players in the Argentina team compared to the likes of Brazil Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 22 Posted July 22 On 7/20/2026 at 3:05 PM, Ally Bongo said: It was all a bit meh A complete rip off from start to finish and how the fuck FIFA wont be investigated is mind blowing - even telling stadia vendors that they couldn't charge their own prices and had to up them massively in line with FIFA guidelines The kick off times for those in Europe were also pish I would not be unhappy if we just had the Euros every two years where we know how to organise tournaments for fans Regarding a rip off. Ticket prices, stadium kiosks, official fan zone kiosks and merchandise yes but it wasn’t FIFA setting prices at $75 to get to Foxborough or pricing hotels at $500 a night or $15 a beer Your gripe about the kick off times is nothing but sheer ignorance and arrogance. The world’s round, son. You can’t expect the whole world to cater to a European time zone to you. It’s the WORLD Cup not the GMT cup As for the Euros - the organisation in Germany was lamentable at best. Munich and Cologne in particular If it was up to me then the Paris Olympic committee should be sounded out for Euro28. Now that was professionally organised Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 22 Posted July 22 2 hours ago, Ally Bongo said: Think she must have been meaning the racist element within Argentina - which there is/was for decades - and is widely known Even the MSM were running stories about why there were no black players in the Argentina team compared to the likes of Brazil For years prior to the war in Ukraine there was many double page spreads and panorama specials on how much of a racist and intolerant country Ukraine was All Of a sudden it became the bastion of unity, tolerance and a country which had no ills whatsoever The MSM are agenda driven. Take little notice and do your own research Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 22 Posted July 22 For those complaining about hydration breaks. Joe Harte I believe it was explained it perfectly In stadiums where heat was in the 30s it was a requirement so to maintain a level playing field all matches had to comply as if they didn’t have a break some teams would have been given a tactical advantage by receiving instructions. It’s really as simple as that Damned if they do. Damned if they don’t Quote
adamntg Posted July 22 Posted July 22 On 7/21/2026 at 12:09 PM, runningtings said: Haiti game was a definite high, Morocco leaves me frustrated now that I have thought on it and Brazil was just a disaster. The stadiums were incredible as was the whole experience actually at the games. As for the World Cup as a whole, I wasn't really paying much attention to other games when in the US. Once I was back I enjoyed some of the games but most of the knockouts were absolutely dire and I'd agree that the whole thing just went on too long. Can't say that the full experience for us was great, the transport infrastructure was really poor for example. However, the best thing for me was the people, as has been said elsewhere we were so lucky to end up in Boston for 2 games and Miami for 1, the Americans and fans from other countries we met was the highlight for me and everything I had hoped it would be. Any of the others Scots you met up to much? ❓🤨 Quote
runningtings Posted July 22 Posted July 22 23 minutes ago, adamntg said: Any of the others Scots you met up to much? ❓🤨 One or 2 were no bad, even the guy who fell asleep on the bus on the way to the stadium in Miami and spilled a beer all down me. Quote
runningtings Posted July 22 Posted July 22 58 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: For those complaining about hydration breaks. Joe Harte I believe it was explained it perfectly In stadiums where heat was in the 30s it was a requirement so to maintain a level playing field all matches had to comply as if they didn’t have a break some teams would have been given a tactical advantage by receiving instructions. It’s really as simple as that Damned if they do. Damned if they don’t Get out of here with your reasonable explanations, don't you realise this is the internet. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 22 Posted July 22 (edited) 1 hour ago, DoonTheSlope said: Regarding a rip off. Ticket prices, stadium kiosks, official fan zone kiosks and merchandise yes but it wasn’t FIFA setting prices at $75 to get to Foxborough or pricing hotels at $500 a night or $15 a beer Your gripe about the kick off times is nothing but sheer ignorance and arrogance. The world’s round, son. You can’t expect the whole world to cater to a European time zone to you. It’s the WORLD Cup not the GMT cup As for the Euros - the organisation in Germany was lamentable at best. Munich and Cologne in particular If it was up to me then the Paris Olympic committee should be sounded out for Euro28. Now that was professionally organised The train cost to Foxborough was FIFA's fault. The transport companies were promised a cash injection from FIFA to help fund transport but they reneged on that promise a few months before and to recoup their losses the only option transport companies had was to bump up the ticket prices. Out with travel to World Cup matches the transport costs were very cheap on public transport. And just look to Euro 24 under UEFA - free train travel across Germany if you had a match ticket. The difference between FIFA and UEFA right there. Edited July 22 by Caledonian Craig Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 22 Author Posted July 22 The hydration breaks could've been done within 1 minute, no need for a 3 minute break and huddle to discuss tactics. Quick drink and get on with it, the other problem was they were then used for commercial gain. Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 22 Author Posted July 22 53 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: The train cost to Foxborough was FIFA's fault. The transport companies were promised a cash injection from FIFA to help fund transport but they reneged on that promise a few months before and to recoup their losses the only option transport companies had was to bump up the ticket prices. Out with travel to World Cup matches the transport costs were very cheap on public transport. And just look to Euro 24 under UEFA - free train travel across Germany if you had a match ticket. The difference between FIFA and UEFA right there. I'm not going to praise UEFA too much, they destroyed European competition with CL. They are the lesser of two evils FIFA are a disgrace, makes me vomit when I hear them say football is for everyone, total nonsense nowadays. Quote
adamntg Posted July 22 Posted July 22 2 hours ago, runningtings said: One or 2 were no bad, even the guy who fell asleep on the bus on the way to the stadium in Miami and spilled a beer all down me. I’m sure it was the heat. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 22 Posted July 22 2 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said: The train cost to Foxborough was FIFA's fault. The transport companies were promised a cash injection from FIFA to help fund transport but they reneged on that promise a few months before and to recoup their losses the only option transport companies had was to bump up the ticket prices. Out with travel to World Cup matches the transport costs were very cheap on public transport. And just look to Euro 24 under UEFA - free train travel across Germany if you had a match ticket. The difference between FIFA and UEFA right there. It wasn’t free train travel across Germany with a match ticket. Thats just not true. Good luck getting from Berlin to Cologne on an ICE train with your match brief. It was only free on the local transport network For the record that wasn’t even down to UEFA. That’s common practice in Germany if you hold a valid match brief. At the time there was a €45(?) monthly ticket you could use on all local transport across. However after a few days it became clear to see why it was so cheap The trains were less than satisfactory across Germany. I’d happily have paid a premium if the trains even turned up, went a full journey and just generally provided a better customer experience Quote