DoonTheSlope Posted July 18 Posted July 18 Anyone else hear Off The Ball this afternoon? Cosgrove said he’d heard that there was unrest behind the scenes and that all was not as well as it seemed and that there had been some animosity within the squad Anyone else heard anything? Quote
McTeeko Posted July 18 Posted July 18 32 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: Anyone else hear Off The Ball this afternoon? Cosgrove said he’d heard that there was unrest behind the scenes and that all was not as well as it seemed and that there had been some animosity within the squad Anyone else heard anything? Aye. I’ve heard something. But as much as it could be true, it could be utter pish too. Quote
slasher Posted July 18 Posted July 18 2 minutes ago, McTeeko said: Aye. I’ve heard something. But as much as it could be true, it could be utter pish too. Well don’t be shy, do share……. otherwise what was the point of your post @McTeeko? Quote
McTeeko Posted July 18 Posted July 18 25 minutes ago, slasher said: Well don’t be shy, do share……. otherwise what was the point of your post @McTeeko? Nah. The story seemed pish to me in all honesty. But DTS only asked if anyone had heard anything, so I said aye. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted July 19 Posted July 19 7 minutes ago, Souness said: The guys are glad Steveo is gone. Why would that be unrest ? Quote
immcinto Posted July 19 Posted July 19 5 hours ago, McTeeko said: Nah. The story seemed pish to me in all honesty. But DTS only asked if anyone had heard anything, so I said aye. He meant "anything other than the OTB radio comments". Quote
McTeeko Posted July 19 Posted July 19 It was just a story from a friend of a friend of a friend thing (so right away I’m thinking ‘Aye, ok then’). Players unhappy they felt they were being held back after Morocco game, senior players asked Clarke for a meeting so they could air their grievances. Wanted to go for it more v Brazil hence the more attacking line-up. Clarke reluctantly agreed. I assume that’s the ‘unrest’ part. That was it really. Might be true, might no be. Quote
BryanBlessed Posted July 19 Posted July 19 It wouldn't surprise me at all but OTB also claimed that Lennon Miller had been causing problems and I've yet to see any evidence for that. Players being picked because 'they're good around the camp' or because they did well five years ago plus players being undroppable, no matter what they do, is a recipe for disaster. It was clear in most of qualifyîng that players weren't following instructions or that there were no instructions. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 19 Posted July 19 1 hour ago, McTeeko said: It was just a story from a friend of a friend of a friend thing (so right away I’m thinking ‘Aye, ok then’). Players unhappy they felt they were being held back after Morocco game, senior players asked Clarke for a meeting so they could air their grievances. Wanted to go for it more v Brazil hence the more attacking line-up. Clarke reluctantly agreed. I assume that’s the ‘unrest’ part. That was it really. Might be true, might no be. I would say a great chance it being true. Remember that Clarke openly said players had been in touch with him post-Euros unhappy with the way we set-up and attacked (or lack of). Think that may of been Robertson. That being the case I could definitely see this being true and being a reason for Clarke's resignation. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 19 Posted July 19 9 minutes ago, BryanBlessed said: It wouldn't surprise me at all but OTB also claimed that Lennon Miller had been causing problems and I've yet to see any evidence for that. Players being picked because 'they're good around the camp' or because they did well five years ago plus players being undroppable, no matter what they do, is a recipe for disaster. It was clear in most of qualifyîng that players weren't following instructions or that there were no instructions. You can trace the unrest back to the fall-out from the last Euros. Quote
immcinto Posted July 19 Posted July 19 10 minutes ago, BryanBlessed said: It wouldn't surprise me at all but OTB also claimed that Lennon Miller had been causing problems and I've yet to see any evidence for that. Players being picked because 'they're good around the camp' or because they did well five years ago plus players being undroppable, no matter what they do, is a recipe for disaster. It was clear in most of qualifyîng that players weren't following instructions or that there were no instructions. Miller caused problems by claiming that he would be Scotland's best player. In other countries they would make you captain with that level of self belief Quote
immcinto Posted July 19 Posted July 19 5 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: I would say a great chance it being true. Remember that Clarke openly said players had been in touch with him post-Euros unhappy with the way we set-up and attacked (or lack of). Think that may of been Robertson. That being the case I could definitely see this being true and being a reason for Clarke's resignation. That's not the main reason for his resignation. Every other coach quit or was fired if they didn't meet expectations - after the first game in Tunisia's case. I think SC has a sense of pride and he would have been a laughing stock if he had stayed on. I doubt the SFA would have minded though Quote
BryanBlessed Posted July 19 Posted July 19 6 minutes ago, immcinto said: Miller caused problems by claiming that he would be Scotland's best player. In other countries they would make you captain with that level of self belief He was in squads after that. We have a small talent pool and a lot of players are over 30 so we can't afford to ignore players like Miller and even McBurnie. I actually suspect some of the senior players to be more of a problem as it looks like they have too much power Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 19 Author Posted July 19 28 minutes ago, immcinto said: Miller caused problems by claiming that he would be Scotland's best player. In other countries they would make you captain with that level of self belief Exactly. The complete wrong yin John Carver went into a press conference and made a huge song and dance about it claiming that he’ll learn from making such comments There was also talk on here of the “senior players” having Clarkes ear. I’m only putting 2 and 2 together here but I reckon a few of those “senior players” maybe had their noses put out of joint Quote
Bobby Russell's Lovechild Posted July 19 Posted July 19 It was evident in a lot of matches that Clarke didn't trust his players and set them up to defend. That must rub some of them up the wrong way, considering some of the clubs they play for Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 19 Posted July 19 1 hour ago, immcinto said: Miller caused problems by claiming that he would be Scotland's best player. In other countries they would make you captain with that level of self belief Which countries have made an 18 year old captain for showing that level of self belief? Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 19 Posted July 19 2 hours ago, McTeeko said: It was just a story from a friend of a friend of a friend thing (so right away I’m thinking ‘Aye, ok then’). Players unhappy they felt they were being held back after Morocco game, senior players asked Clarke for a meeting so they could air their grievances. Wanted to go for it more v Brazil hence the more attacking line-up. Clarke reluctantly agreed. I assume that’s the ‘unrest’ part. That was it really. Might be true, might no be. It's plausible Quote
0Neils40yarder Posted July 19 Posted July 19 1 hour ago, BryanBlessed said: He was in squads after that. We have a small talent pool and a lot of players are over 30 so we can't afford to ignore players like Miller and even McBurnie. I actually suspect some of the senior players to be more of a problem as it looks like they have too much power Clarkes own ego and stubbornness got in the way of him picking the best players at his disposal...an absolute tube Quote
bdgsct Posted July 19 Posted July 19 1 hour ago, BryanBlessed said: It was clear in most of qualifyîng that players weren't following instructions or that there were no instructions Been saying this for a while. 1 hour ago, BryanBlessed said: Players being picked because 'they're good around the camp' or because they did well five years ago plus players being undroppable, no matter what they do, is a recipe for disaster. It's fine if performances and results are good. As soon as it goes bad, you get the fringe players turning against the Clarke loyalists who are the biggest beneficieries. Even within the regulars group you got the feeling that those publicly supporting Clarke were doing so recognising it to be generally good for morale rather than genuinely believing it - it was a bit of a cult mentality. McTominay probably showed his frustration on the pitch more than anyone else during qualifying - notable that he didn't do any interviews during the world cup. Quote
bdgsct Posted July 19 Posted July 19 11 hours ago, Souness said: The guys are glad Steveo is gone. If true, I'd expect a decent reaction in the NL if the shackles are considered to be off. We should get a good idea of where we are after that group. Right now we know we are a lot worse than Brazil and Morrocco and better than Haiti but there are a few levels in between. Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 19 Posted July 19 Any fall out must've been during the world cup because they were all on board and complimenting Clarke after his Denmark speech. Quote
immcinto Posted July 19 Posted July 19 43 minutes ago, vanderark14 said: Which countries have made an 18 year old captain for showing that level of self belief? My point is your self belief would be seen as an inspiration to others to back yourself. Certainty a future leader once experienced. Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 19 Posted July 19 Just now, immcinto said: My point is your self belief would be seen as an inspiration to others to back yourself. Certainty a future leader once experienced. Sometimes that self belief would be seen as inspiration but there is a fine line between self belief and arrogance, the latter never goes down well unless you are a special talent Quote