🎶Andy Burnhams A Wanker…🎶 - Page 2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On the dress code thing, I don’t really think it’s a big  issue . Many offices and white collar type jobs have moved to casual clothing which I think is a good thing.
For 40 yrs working in a bank I had to go to work in smart clothes and heels, men in the office had to wear a suit and tie . The last few years went from relaxing the rules for a dress down day, to full blown casual clothes after Covid. I witnessed absolutely no productivity difference in folk wearing casual clothes. Even client visits have changed, allowing relaxed trousers and casual shirt. 

I would expect him to wear a suit at top level meetings but I really dont see a problem being more relaxed in the HOC. That place seriously needs brought into the 21st century as it is. 

• Replies 68

Andy, too northern and working class to be wearing suits. He's just one of the lads: casual, loves footie, loves a pint on a Saturday afternoon.

If people actually buy into this pathetically desperate marketing campaign they should have their voting right denied.

8 minutes ago, RanelaghScot said:

Andy, too northern and working class to be wearing suits. He's just one of the lads: casual, loves footie, loves a pint on a Saturday afternoon.

If people actually buy into this pathetically desperate marketing campaign they should have their voting right denied.

Ee bah gum!! It all flat caps and whippets for our working class hero Andy 

31 minutes ago, RanelaghScot said:

For the avoidance of doubt, not having a problem with easing a stiff dress code does not mean I buy into his campaign 🙂

20 hours ago, TDYER63 said:

On the dress code thing, I don’t really think it’s a big  issue . Many offices and white collar type jobs have moved to casual clothing which I think is a good thing.
For 40 yrs working in a bank I had to go to work in smart clothes and heels, men in the office had to wear a suit and tie . The last few years went from relaxing the rules for a dress down day, to full blown casual clothes after Covid. I witnessed absolutely no productivity difference in folk wearing casual clothes. Even client visits have changed, allowing relaxed trousers and casual shirt. 

I would expect him to wear a suit at top level meetings but I really dont see a problem being more relaxed in the HOC. That place seriously needs brought into the 21st century as it is. 

I don't think the whole suit and tie thing is necessary, especially if you're working 'back of house', but personally I always felt a bit more professional when I went into the office in a shirt and trousers than I did 'dressed down'.

It also meant when I got home the shirt got slung in the wash basket, the trousers hung up, and the jeans and t-shirt went on; thus work was put away and it was time to relax. The thought of kicking around in the same clothes all day doesn't appeal to me at all.

I also think if you're meeting someone in a professional setting it's only respectful to dress to a certain standard. I'm with the auld yin here:

Posted (edited)
59 minutes ago, scotlad said:

I don't think the whole suit and tie thing is necessary, especially if you're working 'back of house', but personally I always felt a bit more professional when I went into the office in a shirt and trousers than I did 'dressed down'.

It also meant when I got home the shirt got slung in the wash basket, the trousers hung up, and the jeans and t-shirt went on; thus work was put away and it was time to relax. The thought of kicking around in the same clothes all day doesn't appeal to me at all.

I also think if you're meeting someone in a professional setting it's only respectful to dress to a certain standard. I'm with the auld yin here:

😆 I LOVE Curb your Enthusiasm, but I personally dont agree with  that old guy. I think the operative word here is ‘old’. Shirt and ties are an old tradition,  you don’t need to be dressed up like a kipper to do your job properly. I cant imagine the high heid yins in all these modern tech companies turn up to work in shirts and ties , though I could be wrong.

I do absolutely agree with you though on the getting home from work and changing into different clothes. There is a definite positive mental adjustment goes on when discarding ‘work’ clothes for ‘home’ clothes. Kicking off high heels was the ultimate ‘thank fuck that day is over ‘ 😁

Its probably just a personal thing about dress code but I  have to be honest and say I used to feel a bit conspicuous traipsing round factories in a dress or suit , you could actually feel the workers thinking’ thats  those damn bankers in again’ .
Probably something to do with us being bankers right enough rather than what we were wearing 🙄

11 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

Not really he went to a state school then Cambridge and didn't read PPE and/or went to a private school which is the usual route. 

There hasn't been a Cambridge PM in 89 years, since Baldwin. 

It's 14-1 Oxford to Cambridge in that time-frame. 

Cambridge churns out Nobel Laureates as opposed to UK Prime ministers.

Don't get your UK political commentary from a Facebook short of an American comedian on a light entertainment panel show. 

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, phart said:

Not really he went to a state school then Cambridge and didn't read PPE and/or went to a private school which is the usual route. 

There hasn't been a Cambridge PM in 89 years, since Baldwin. 

It's 14-1 Oxford to Cambridge in that time-frame. 

Cambridge churns out Nobel Laureates as opposed to UK Prime ministers.

Don't get your UK political commentary from a Facebook short of an American comedian on a light entertainment panel show. 

Lighten the fuck up min

16 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

Lighten the fuck up min

In a thread full of posts of people accusing him of not being working class, having privilege etc the first person to point out his actual background is the one who gets sworn at. 

Really good tory / reform style posting from a whole load of people on the thread, well done chaps. Nigel will be delighted. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, biffer said:

In a thread full of posts of people accusing him of not being working class, having privilege etc the first person to point out his actual background is the one who gets sworn at. 

Really good tory / reform style posting from a whole load of people on the thread, well done chaps. Nigel will be delighted. 

You need lighten up too and I am far from a tory or reform voter. It seems people can't post anything without being accused of being right or left or a supporter of a particular party

There won't be an apology from me on this either because I am bored of Phart acting pompous as fuck when they engage with me,  especially when they don't have the balls to discuss football because its outside of their comfort zone and they might just end up being wrong

Nigel Farage's Tartan Army.

No wonder this place is a ghost town.

Let's see if you're still laughing and having a great time when Reform exit the ECHR, scrap workers rights, lower the minimum wage, make abortion illegal, introduce Tariffs, create ICE and build concentration camps, scrap welfare for the disabled and scrap the NHS.

Meanwhile, giving billions to their foreign billionaire donors and being a stooge to Putin and Trump.

Enjoy reading about the rape survivor who got fired for falling pregnant and then was forced to give birth.

But hey, voting to have other people suffer is fun, isn't it?

Till you realise you've signed away your human rights.

Imagine storming Normandy just for your grandkids to vote for fascists 80 years later.

https://www.theguardian.com/news/ng-interactive/2025/dec/28/of-course-he-abused-pupils-ex-dulwich-teacher-speaks-out-about-farage-racism-claims

Out of every member on this message board, and going by their posts,  there are probably only 3 that are candidates for potential reform voters 

On 7/23/2026 at 10:48 AM, biffer said:

Outside of the lab fact-checking isn't an endearing activity. Brandolini's law makes it a part time activity, but I try and chip in where I can. 

Just now, Ally Bongo said:

Out of every member on this message board, and going by their posts,  there are probably only 3 that are candidates for potential reform voters 

That's from your vantage point. Others are obviously seeing it differently.

Although I think a lot of folk aren't reform voters, however they are susceptible to social media, well to be honest we all are. So the biggest users are most at risk. Reform are running on the already established culture war and so when those culture war talking points get posted here they are identified as reform. 

You notice titbits from "anti-woke" social media. A good example is Nolan's new film will be shit, raking in hundreds of millions and critically acclaimed last time i saw it had 97% on rotten tomatoes audience score as well. Only folk saying that were anti-woke folk like critical drinker and cause it had Elliot page and a black Helen of Troy. A black Helen of Troy is what perhaps the most influential film-maker of all time Orson Welles did in 1950.  If you're going to make content about films you should know your history instead of leveraging culture wars for engagement just be a competent critic.

But yeah I don't think that translates into voting for Reform they just have an overlap with them on certain issues. 

8 minutes ago, phart said:

You notice titbits from "anti-woke" social media. 

I was judging it on the posts demanding concentration camps and shooting up immigrant boats ! 

Just now, Ally Bongo said:

I was judging it on the posts demanding concentration camps and shooting up immigrant boats ! 

Yeah that's a lot more concrete examples I had forgotten about the mass murder policies of i'm not a bigot i just attach no value to their life Malcolm.