England WC Winners Trade Off? - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Posted (edited)

Would we trade the pain (embarrassment?) of England winning the WC this time, if it meant 'we' (The SFA / SPFL) got our shit together and planned for the future correctly?

From the top down: Dinosaurs replaced, aggressive fwd thinking NT Manager, league reconstruction, quotas, summer football, financial caps, TV deal renegotiated, split revenue, jurassic behaviours in the bin......

*Apologies if referenced elsewhere, I just haven't seen it

Edited by Redz

I don't see how the 2 are related to be honest. Inevitably England will win something at some point, I am far more concerned about us improving and doing better at tournaments.

6 minutes ago, Redz said:

Would we trade the pain (embarrassment?) of England winning the WC this time, if it meant 'we' (The SFA / SPFL) got our shit together and planned for the future correctly?

From the top down: Dinosaurs replaced, aggressive fwd thinking NT Manager, league reconstruction, quotas, summer football, financial caps, TV deal renegotiated, split revenue, jurassic behaviours in the bin......

*Apologies if referenced elsewhere, I just haven't seen it

I think a more interesting scenario would be us getting out the groups of this world cup but England winning it.

I would happily make that deal. Saying that I have never been that bothered about England winning. Not saying I would like it but I don't actively support their opponents like alot of Scots do.

14 minutes ago, runningtings said:

I don't see how the 2 are related to be honest. Inevitably England will win something at some point, I am far more concerned about us improving and doing better at tournaments.

I agree, mostly - I was simply trying to highlight the 'what would it take?' 

Using England as an example in this instance is accurate and balanced in my view

17 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said:

I think a more interesting scenario would be us getting out the groups of this world cup but England winning it.

I would happily make that deal. Saying that I have never been that bothered about England winning. Not saying I would like it but I don't actively support their opponents like alot of Scots do.

Personally, I've reconciled that now too

I guess what I'm trying to say is how low do we go before ignoring the required change?

9 minutes ago, daviebee said:

I wouldn't. Not a fkin chance. Getting that rammed down our throats non-stop until the sun becomes a red giant? Fck that.

.....and for the greater good, Davie?

10 minutes ago, daviebee said:

I wouldn't. Not a fkin chance. Getting that rammed down our throats non-stop until the sun becomes a red giant? Fck that.

If it moved many Scots towards voting for and actively pushing for independence who aren't just now I'd take it.

5 minutes ago, Redz said:

.....and for the greater good, Davie?

You'd have to offer me independence for that. Then I wouldn't give a rat's arse whether they won or not. But a simple upturn in our fitba team's fortunes? Not enough by a long way.

6 minutes ago, daviebee said:

You'd have to offer me independence for that. Then I wouldn't give a rat's arse whether they won or not. But a simple upturn in our fitba team's fortunes? Not enough by a long way.

Fair point 👍

Sporting confidence breeds national confidence, though, surely?

Regardless, we'll get there eventually mucker....

11 minutes ago, kumnio said:

Id take them winning, if it meant the UK ceased to exist.

As Trump says, build the wall.

That too 👍

7 minutes ago, Redz said:

Personally, I've reconciled that now too

I guess what I'm trying to say is how low do we go before ignoring the required change?

I would like to see indoor football pitches like they have in Iceland. 

I would also set up more indoor football games for young kids in our large towns and cities. I would have a 5 a side football pitch in every scheme in Glasgow and a coach who runs small games everyday after school.

Playing outside in Scotland isnt always great for development imo. It's wet, windy, muddy and cold. Theres no wonder warmer countries produce good players because it's enjoyable playing football in good weather.

Alot of kids are losing out on that close ball control you get from playing in the streets or small games everyday. When I was growing up we played in concrete shelters that were in our school. Obviously playing on concrete isn't good for you but we played on grass everyday as well and we did it day and night. We were constantly playing with a ball at our feet. I think Ian cathro developed box football(?I think) to counter this problem but I don't how widespread it became.

Maybe bringing in the Dutch or other experts to rip our game up and start again would be a good idea but I thought we did that with the performance schools.

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

If it moved many Scots towards voting for and actively pushing for independence who aren't just now I'd take it.

Yep - A very welcome add on 👍

Edited by Redz
1 minute ago, mccaughey85 said:

I would like to see indoor football pitches like they have in Iceland. 

I would also set up more indoor football games for young kids in our large towns and cities. I would have a 5 a side football pitch in every scheme in Glasgow and a coach who runs small games everyday after school.

Playing outside in Scotland isnt always great for development imo. It's wet, windy, muddy and cold. Theres no wonder warmer countries produce good players because it's enjoyable playing football in good weather.

Alot of kids are losing out on that close ball control you get from playing in the streets or small games everyday. When I was growing up we played in concrete shelters that were in our school. Obviously playing on concrete isn't good for you but we played on grass everyday as well and we did it day and night. We were constantly playing with a ball at our feet. I think Ian cathro developed box football(?I think) to counter this problem but I don't how widespread it became.

Maybe bringing in the Dutch or other experts to rip our game up and start again would be a good idea but I thought we did that with the performance schools.

Yep! 

It's  a closed shop right now, though

Something has to give in order for 'them' to open the fkr

Radical forward thinking change across a number of levels has to be forced

Not quite sure how thats done, however....

12 minutes ago, Redz said:

Fair point 👍

Sporting confidence breeds national confidence, though, surely?

Regardless, we'll get there eventually mucker....

Might well be the other way round? Huge problem with an inferiority complex in our country anyway. I'm delighted to see how well Norway are doing but part of me feels gutted by it too.

15 minutes ago, daviebee said:

Might well be the other way round? Huge problem with an inferiority complex in our country anyway. I'm delighted to see how well Norway are doing but part of me feels gutted by it too.

Maybe

Aye, our humongous chip requires lancing 

Off topic, slightly - Being told constantly that this is as good as it gets for us is unacceptable 

I would take having our own tv channels and not having our national team and national conversation viewed through lens of another country (no problem with individuals as invited guests).

3 hours ago, exile said:

I would take having our own tv channels and not having our national team and national conversation viewed through lens of another country (no problem with individuals as invited guests).

This.

One thing that particularly annoyed we was before the Brazil game where they had Lucas Leiva as a pundit on and Kelly Cates turned to him at one point and said something along the lines of "sorry this has been a bit Scotland centric Lucas, we'll be focusing on Brazil soon". I mean, it bloody should be Scotland centric, that's the whole point surely.

But as you say, it was a Scotland game through an English lens.

I don't tend to watch the build up to England games on STV or BBC, and I could possibly we well off here, but I struggle to imagine them having a pundit from an opposing team there and if they did they'd definitely not apologise for the coverage being England centric.

22 minutes ago, Lion Rampant said:

This.

One thing that particularly annoyed we was before the Brazil game where they had Lucas Leiva as a pundit on and Kelly Cates turned to him at one point and said something along the lines of "sorry this has been a bit Scotland centric Lucas, we'll be focusing on Brazil soon". I mean, it bloody should be Scotland centric, that's the whole point surely.

But as you say, it was a Scotland game through an English lens.

I don't tend to watch the build up to England games on STV or BBC, and I could possibly we well off here, but I struggle to imagine them having a pundit from an opposing team there and if they did they'd definitely not apologise for the coverage being England centric.

They absolutely do not have a pundit from the opposition when they are playing, but Scotland, every fuckin time! Pisses me right off, we're clearly just an afterthought to the fu#kers

We will get a bank holiday if they win it. That's our lot. They'll probably pick a day when it's pishing doon in Scotland just to rub it in.

There is no upside to these arrogant fuckers winning it. Just another 60 years of them harping on about it at every opportunity. 

14 hours ago, mccaughey85 said:

Ask again in 28 years. 

I have resigned myself to them winning it sooner rather than later. They have the players now IMO, some within the SFA would probably congratulate them

5 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

I have resigned myself to them winning it sooner rather than later. They have the players now IMO, some within the SFA would probably congratulate them

I have too.

They should be winning something too.

They've got the richest clubs; the most money to pour into youth development; the richest national FA; the highest standard of league system in the world; etc.

If they reach it this time, they would've had a relatively easy path to the final: Croatia; Ghana; Panama; DR Congo; Mexico; Norway; Argentina or Switzerland. Norway are arguably the best of that bunch of countries right now.