UEFA 2028..... - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

15 minutes ago, Silversand said:

Good question "Will everyone with an SSC membership get Scotland tickets for Hampden if we qualify for Euro 2028" presume the answer is No, so will be a scramble for tickets. 

If it's anything like WC 26 then heaven help us.

10k for each team so in short no. Currently 11k+ on 12 points or more and 18k+ on 10 points or more so there'll be some disappointed people.

• Replies 88

Posted (edited)
43 minutes ago, Johnnyshaker said:

10k for each team so in short no. Currently 11k+ on 12 points or more and 18k+ on 10 points or more so there'll be some disappointed people.

Could possibly divvy it up a bit, say 19+ points guaranteed 3 games, 13 to 18 points = 2 games, 10 to 12 points = 1 game.

Edit - mind you I'm not sure how that could be coordinated with UEFA's sales window! 

52 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Could possibly divvy it up a bit, say 19+ points guaranteed 3 games, 13 to 18 points = 2 games, 10 to 12 points = 1 game.

Edit - mind you I'm not sure how that could be coordinated with UEFA's sales window! 

Aye right.  This 18 pointer says naw. 

3 hours ago, Silversand said:

Good question "Will everyone with an SSC membership get Scotland tickets for Hampden if we qualify for Euro 2028" presume the answer is No, so will be a scramble for tickets. 

If it's anything like WC 26 then heaven help us.

No. It’s not a “home” game

2 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Starting the pish swirling early I see 😉

The elite will spewing

22 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Starting the pish swirling early I see 😉

The elite will spewing

We do not concern ourselves with these petty ticket squabbles. 

2 hours ago, Bzzzz said:

We do not concern ourselves with these petty ticket squabbles. 

Ticket debates usually ruffle a few feathers. Some feathers are bigger than others though it has to be said

The bigger the feather the bigger the…

15 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

The bigger the feather the bigger the…

Indeed. 🤣

On 7/10/2026 at 11:35 AM, Yosemite Sam said:

Hampden advantage didn't really help us much in Euro 2020, the only point we got was when we weren't there

Not really a fair comparison. I was there for both games and at 25% capacity it was hard to generate an atmosphere. A full house for our opening game with probably 35k- 40k Scottish fans should be electric!

On 7/13/2026 at 3:38 PM, Toepoke said:

Gotta love the fact the World Cup is still ongoing and we're already debating SSC points and the fairest way to split the allocation for a tournament we have yet to qualify for!

For me, UEFA got it right in Germany, so I'm glad to see a similar model being used for 2028. Around 10,000 tickets for the Supporters Club feels fair enough, even if hosting the tournament makes that number seem frustratingly small. Add in roughly 20,000 for general sale and it strikes me as a pretty balanced approach.

On 7/15/2026 at 11:31 AM, rOsCo2 said:

Not really a fair comparison. I was there for both games and at 25% capacity it was hard to generate an atmosphere. A full house for our opening game with probably 35k- 40k Scottish fans should be electric!

I suppose that's fair. Still, playing all our games at Hampden will dilute the feel of a tournament for me though

On 7/15/2026 at 11:31 AM, rOsCo2 said:

I'll be very pleasantly surprised if there are 35-40k Scottish fans at any of our games, with 10,000 tickets being given to each competing nation and the change in the timing of ticket sales.  Hope I'm wrong, naturally.

On 7/15/2026 at 11:37 AM, rOsCo2 said:

Gotta love the fact the World Cup is still ongoing and we're already debating SSC points and the fairest way to split the allocation for a tournament we have yet to qualify for!

For me, UEFA got it right in Germany, so I'm glad to see a similar model being used for 2028. Around 10,000 tickets for the Supporters Club feels fair enough, even if hosting the tournament makes that number seem frustratingly small. Add in roughly 20,000 for general sale and it strikes me as a pretty balanced approach.

I thought as a host you get more tickets. I’d sell all those tickets through the SSC. No need for a “local” UEFA run sale. Random Ballot for the rest. 

On 7/18/2026 at 2:42 PM, Yosemite Sam said:

I suppose that's fair. Still, playing all our games at Hampden will dilute the feel of a tournament for me though

Agree, but as a co host I expect the benefit of being at home and being a top seed in the group draws.

If England can engineer it to be at Wembley all the way through to the final I don’t see why we can’t / won’t do the same. 

Think it's a bit ridiculous Wembley is hosting both semis as well as the final. Surely they should have been at 2 out of Hampden, Principality and Aviva

If England were to qualify, win the group and then go all the way to the final then every game except their opener (Man City) and first knockout (Newcastle) would be at Wembley 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Bristolhibby said:

I thought as a host you get more tickets. I’d sell all those tickets through the SSC. No need for a “local” UEFA run sale. Random Ballot for the rest. 

I’m not aware or hosts getting any extra tickets. Maybe UEFA do some sort of local weighting in the ballot but I’m not sure. 

1 hour ago, csinclair said:

Think it's a bit ridiculous Wembley is hosting both semis as well as the final. Surely they should have been at 2 out of Hampden, Principality and Aviva

If England were to qualify, win the group and then go all the way to the final then every game except their opener (Man City) and first knockout (Newcastle) would be at Wembley 

Totally agree. 2 semis should be split between the venues you’ve mentioned. 

Even if they couldn’t justify Hampden or Aviva for a semi based on capacity - it should defo be Cardiff and Man City. Just no reason for Wembley to get the semis. 

Edited by AlfieMoon
Posted (edited)
6 hours ago, Bristolhibby said:

Agree, but as a co host I expect the benefit of being at home and being a top seed in the group draws.

If England can engineer it to be at Wembley all the way through to the final I don’t see why we can’t / won’t do the same. 

Apparently we won't be top seeds in the group, just top position in the table for the draw. Fuckin sucks, we could be the first hosts to not benefit from automatic top seeding!

Edited by Yosemite Sam
4 hours ago, Yosemite Sam said:

Apparently we won't be top seeds in the group, just top position in the table for the draw. Fuckin sucks, we could be the first hosts to not benefit from automatic top seeding!

TBH that's how it should've been done at the World Cup, we'd then have avoided having two top 10 teams in our group.

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Toepoke said:

TBH that's how it should've been done at the World Cup, we'd then have avoided having two top 10 teams in our group.

A totally unseeded draw would be epic, imo, fuck this favouring the bigger/host teams shite

Edited by Yosemite Sam
On 7/20/2026 at 11:19 PM, Contrarian said:

I'll be very pleasantly surprised if there are 35-40k Scottish fans at any of our games, with 10,000 tickets being given to each competing nation and the change in the timing of ticket sales.  Hope I'm wrong, naturally.

I think there were about 30k Scottish fans at the Haiti game.

On 7/22/2026 at 2:46 PM, adamntg said:

I think there were about 30k Scottish fans at the Haiti game.

The stadium took 20k more people

On 7/21/2026 at 2:01 PM, csinclair said:

I think it’s a great idea that. The travelling fans who actually attend games will know well in advance where they stand and what plans they need to put in place should their team make it to the latter stages

Also less travelling for those in attendance too which can only be a good thing

33 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I think it’s a great idea that. The travelling fans who actually attend games will know well in advance where they stand and what plans they need to put in place should their team make it to the latter stages

Also less travelling for those in attendance too which can only be a good thing

They would also know in advance if Hampden was a semi final venue !! I think it's total fuckin bollocks that Wemberley hosts both semis !!! And as a previous poster stated, that is a massive advantage to engerland should they get there !!