Big Ramy 1314 Posted July 6 Posted July 6 Just googled it and it said there will be 51 matches played.. Only Hampden is mentioned as the only venue in Scotland to be used.. Any idea how many matches will be played at Hampden? I believe we also have to qualify correct ? Interesting that Wales and Ireland will be involved.. Seems engerland will host most of the matches from what I read. Early doors so don't know if this info is reliable.. How many nations qualify?? Just starting to plan for it and start putting money away every month for this. Hope to fuck we qualify as I have family in Glasgow I can stay with... Have to start saving now as Mrs.Ramy coming with me...$$$$😂😂 Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 6 Posted July 6 1 hour ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Just googled it and it said there will be 51 matches played.. Only Hampden is mentioned as the only venue in Scotland to be used.. Any idea how many matches will be played at Hampden? I believe we also have to qualify correct ? Interesting that Wales and Ireland will be involved.. Seems engerland will host most of the matches from what I read. Early doors so don't know if this info is reliable.. How many nations qualify?? Just starting to plan for it and start putting money away every month for this. Hope to fuck we qualify as I have family in Glasgow I can stay with... Have to start saving now as Mrs.Ramy coming with me...$$$$😂😂 Too many. It should be Murrayfield, Ibrox or Parkhead which is hosting the matches. Or alternatively a new stadium When you look at stadiums in the Euro 2020 edition and proposed venues for 2028 all modern state of the art aesthetically pleasing stadiums that showed Hampden up as being an old, decrepit, tired looking shite hole Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 6 Posted July 6 2 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Just googled it and it said there will be 51 matches played.. Only Hampden is mentioned as the only venue in Scotland to be used.. Any idea how many matches will be played at Hampden? I believe we also have to qualify correct ? Interesting that Wales and Ireland will be involved.. Seems engerland will host most of the matches from what I read. Early doors so don't know if this info is reliable.. How many nations qualify?? Just starting to plan for it and start putting money away every month for this. Hope to fuck we qualify as I have family in Glasgow I can stay with... Have to start saving now as Mrs.Ramy coming with me...$$$$😂😂 It's only Hampden hosting matches in Scotland. I think, off the top of my head, it is six matches in total being played there. And it is 24 teams qualifying. Quote
Johnnyshaker Posted July 6 Posted July 6 Aye 4 group games, an R16 and a QF are at Hampden. If we qualify we'll be group F (slot F1) and will play our group games at Hampden on 13th, 17th & 21st of June. Quote
Rossm77 Posted July 6 Posted July 6 6 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Just googled it and it said there will be 51 matches played.. Only Hampden is mentioned as the only venue in Scotland to be used.. Any idea how many matches will be played at Hampden? I believe we also have to qualify correct ? Interesting that Wales and Ireland will be involved.. Seems engerland will host most of the matches from what I read. Early doors so don't know if this info is reliable.. How many nations qualify?? Just starting to plan for it and start putting money away every month for this. Hope to fuck we qualify as I have family in Glasgow I can stay with... Have to start saving now as Mrs.Ramy coming with me...$$$$😂😂 Yeah, we have to go through qualifying, as do all 4 nations. The 2 automatic spots are being held back for any of the 4 that don't qualify automatically. So in reality we need 2 of the other three to do that if we somehow don't. If more than 2 don't then it goes to qualifying ranking. We can't draw each other in qualifying either. Qualifying is 12 groups of 4 or 5 with the group winners and 8 best runners up. Play off spots are the determined by how many automatic spots are given the the host nations. So play off spots will be anything between 2 and 4. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 6 Posted July 6 (edited) You've got to assume England will stroll qualification, so it will just need one of us, Ireland or Wales to make it too for all the hosts to qualify. More cynically, we'd just need to finish with a better record than Rep of Ireland or Wales to guarantee qualifying. Edited July 6 by Toepoke Quote
Bzzzz Posted July 6 Posted July 6 4 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: Too many. It should be Murrayfield, Ibrox or Parkhead which is hosting the matches. Or alternatively a new stadium When you look at stadiums in the Euro 2020 edition and proposed venues for 2028 all modern state of the art aesthetically pleasing stadiums that showed Hampden up as being an old, decrepit, tired looking shite hole Hampden Park is THE historic stadium in European fitba and no matter how much we WANT it upgraded or rebuilt we still need to be protective and proud of it, it's our home and on it's day it's difficult to imagine an atmosphere that can touch it. The problem we have is that football in Scotland is kept in a cupboard, in a basement of an Old Firm old boy's club. Nobody is interested in significant change and whilst that exists we will continue to languish in abject mediocrity. We ALL want a big lovely shiny new modern stadium but the simple fact is we ain't going to get one, England got theirs, Wales got theirs, Ireland can do what they want as they're independent, we are not and we won't get the funding to do it because no matter what there will ALWAYS be a political barrier there to stop it. Maybe if we had control of our own money, like Ireland does, then we could just get on with it because we ALL know we want and need it as much as we do a restructure of the game. These Euros are, IMO, a pile of shite as they will just be "England's" Euros (when they shouldn't be ANYWHERE NEAR hosting another tournament/final after the disgrace of 2020) and we ALL know idiot politicians will be wanking on about "british" pish. We should have said "no", but then that would be cutting our noses off to spite our face... wouldn't it? Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted July 6 Author Posted July 6 11 hours ago, Toepoke said: You've got to assume England will stroll qualification, so it will just need one of us, Ireland or Wales to make it too for all the hosts to qualify. More cynically, we'd just need to finish with a better record than Rep of Ireland or Wales to guarantee qualifying. I like this !! 🏴😂 Quote
bdgsct Posted July 6 Posted July 6 12 hours ago, Toepoke said: You've got to assume England will stroll qualification, so it will just need one of us, Ireland or Wales to make it too for all the hosts to qualify. More cynically, we'd just need to finish with a better record than Rep of Ireland or Wales to guarantee qualifying. Qualifying pots decided by NL finishing places. I think we probably want Wales to finish in the top 3 of their NL group. That would leave them in pot 1 and difficult to see them finishing outside the qualification positions from there. Probably want ROI to end up in pot 3 and screw up their qualifying as a saver in case we also blow it. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 On 7/6/2026 at 8:40 AM, Johnnyshaker said: Aye 4 group games, an R16 and a QF are at Hampden. If we qualify we'll be group F (slot F1) and will play our group games at Hampden on 13th, 17th & 21st of June. Was looking at the Wikipedia page there and Northern Ireland will be top seeds in Group D, but don't receive the qualification privileges of the other four. Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 1 hour ago, Toepoke said: Was looking at the Wikipedia page there and Northern Ireland will be top seeds in Group D, but don't receive the qualification privileges of the other four. Are they receiving that as a token gesture because they aren't getting to be a host? Quite a good token gesture tbf. Gives them a much better chance of qualifying. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 30 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said: Are they receiving that as a token gesture because they aren't getting to be a host? Quite a good token gesture tbf. Gives them a much better chance of qualifying. Possibly, they are hosting the draw 😀 I guess it also ensures the GB and Ireland teams are kept apart if all qualify. Pot 2 will clearly be stronger on average. Nobody will want to be third or fourth seed in England's group. Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Toepoke said: Possibly, they are hosting the draw 😀 I guess it also ensures the GB and Ireland teams are kept apart if all qualify. Pot 2 will clearly be stronger on average. Nobody will want to be third or fourth seed in England's group. Are we talking about the qualifying groups or the tournament groups? That would mean 5 teams getting pot 1 status, 4 of which aren't usually pot 1 teams so that will make pot 2 alot tougher. Edited July 8 by mccaughey85 Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 (edited) 16 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said: Are we talking about the qualifying groups or the tournament groups? That would mean 5 teams getting pot 1 status, 4 of which aren't usually pot 1 teams so that will make pot 2 alot tougher. The tournament. Northern Ireland have been allocated a Pot 1 slot at the finals should they qualify, but will be Pot 2 or 3 for the qualifiers. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2028_qualifying Edited July 8 by Toepoke Quote
AlfieMoon Posted July 8 Posted July 8 2 minutes ago, Toepoke said: The tournament. Northern Ireland have been allocated a Pot 1 slot at the finals should they qualify, but will be Pot 2 or 3 for the qualifiers. That’s pretty ridiculous. The World Cup has shown how this skews things and it’s only going to be worse in the euros and next WC. Quote
Malcolm Posted July 8 Posted July 8 On 7/6/2026 at 9:30 PM, Big Ramy 1314 said: I like this !! 🏴😂 i would like scotland, England and Wales to qualify. I don’t care about Ireland. Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 7 minutes ago, Toepoke said: The tournament. Northern Ireland have been allocated a Pot 1 slot at the finals should they qualify, but will be Pot 2 or 3 for the qualifiers. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2028_qualifying Ok cheers. Scotland being a pot 1 team at a tournament would be a massive boost for our chances of getting out the groups. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 2 minutes ago, AlfieMoon said: That’s pretty ridiculous. The World Cup has shown how this skews things and it’s only going to be worse in the euros and next WC. Possibly, although it could benefit us so I won't look in the gift horse's mouth. I don't think the impact at the Euros will be too great, there's a chance one of the hosts won't qualify which would likely leave England, France and Spain in Pot 1 who are currently Europe's strongest three by a distance. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 6 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said: Ok cheers. Scotland being a pot 1 team at a tournament would be a massive boost for our chances of getting out the groups. Yep, three games at Hampden too. What could possibly go wrong? 🙈 Quote
mccaughey85 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 2 minutes ago, Toepoke said: Yep, three games at Hampden too. What could possibly go wrong? 🙈 If we fail to out the groups then it really is time to pack it in and try a different sport. The next manager will be under alot of pressure to deliver given those advantages we are going to have. Quote
Orraloon Posted July 8 Posted July 8 Thought I would move this question here so that it's in the right topic. Would we need to go through the playoffs if two of the other hosts qualify automatically? Or, would we just be given one of the two available host places? Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 (edited) 3 hours ago, Orraloon said: Thought I would move this question here so that it's in the right topic. Would we need to go through the playoffs if two of the other hosts qualify automatically? Or, would we just be given one of the two available host places? I'll move the answer here too then 🤪 If two other hosts qualify we are sorted, no need to play off. If only one or zero hosts qualify via the groups, the hosts are ranked based on their group performances. In the case of zero hosts making it, the best two will qualify automatically. The remaining two will either go into the playoffs or be eliminated altogether, depending on how they did in their own groups. Edited July 8 by Toepoke Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 You could have the bizarre scenario where, for example, Scotland rank higher than Wales and get a qualification slot despite missing out on a playoff place via their group, whereas Wales had done enough to reach the playoffs. Quote
Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 Ripped straight from UEFA:- UEFA EURO 2028 – Qualification system The UEFA Executive Committee has confirmed the qualification format for UEFA EURO 2028, to be held across nine venues in the UK and Ireland with 24 participating teams. As in the current 2024-26 European Qualifiers, twelve qualifying groups will be formed of four or five teams. Hosts England, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, and Wales will also participate in qualifying, drawn into separate groups. The 12 group winners and 8 best runners-up (20 teams) will advance directly to the EURO 2028 final tournament. Two spots in the final tournament will be reserved for the two best ranked host nations who are not qualified as group winners or best runners-up after the completion of the qualifying group stage. The remaining spots will be assigned via play-offs between the remaining runners-up in the qualifying groups and the best ranked 2026-27 UEFA Nations League non-qualified group winners. Depending on the number of spots used by the host nations, the number of final tournament spots decided by play-offs may vary between two and four, in one of the three following scenarios: • Both reserved qualifying slots for the hosts used: Eight teams compete in two paths for two final tournament spots, with single-leg semi-finals and finals. • One reserved qualifying slot for the hosts used: Twelve teams compete in three paths for three final tournament spots, with single-leg semi-finals and finals. • No reserved qualifying slot for the hosts used: Eight teams contest four home-and-away play-off ties, with the winners advancing to the final tournament. Quote
StirlingEgg Posted July 9 Posted July 9 On 7/6/2026 at 10:07 AM, Bzzzz said: Hampden Park is THE historic stadium in European fitba and no matter how much we WANT it upgraded or rebuilt we still need to be protective and proud of it, it's our home and on it's day it's difficult to imagine an atmosphere that can touch it. The problem we have is that football in Scotland is kept in a cupboard, in a basement of an Old Firm old boy's club. Nobody is interested in significant change and whilst that exists we will continue to languish in abject mediocrity. We ALL want a big lovely shiny new modern stadium but the simple fact is we ain't going to get one, England got theirs, Wales got theirs, Ireland can do what they want as they're independent, we are not and we won't get the funding to do it because no matter what there will ALWAYS be a political barrier there to stop it. Maybe if we had control of our own money, like Ireland does, then we could just get on with it because we ALL know we want and need it as much as we do a restructure of the game. These Euros are, IMO, a pile of shite as they will just be "England's" Euros (when they shouldn't be ANYWHERE NEAR hosting another tournament/final after the disgrace of 2020) and we ALL know idiot politicians will be wanking on about "british" pish. We should have said "no", but then that would be cutting our noses off to spite our face... wouldn't it? 👍 Quote