Worth Every Penny? - Page 2 - World Cup 2026 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

I had the absolute time of ma life !! No regrets..Β 

I ended up staying with 2 lads I had never met, one from Elgin, and one from Montrose... We shared the hotel, Ubers, taxis, and became mates forever !!Β 

I will never forget this moment in my life. I met so many Scots I lost count, some even shorter than me, can you believe it.. lol

Me and my new mates are meeting up in Scotland every year now, it wasn't just a World Cup for me, it was about meeting 2 lads I absolutely love, and will have laughs forever !!!!

BTW. The "I'm aff Tae get Blutred top" I had that made just for this World Cup, and trust me, I was !!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸΊπŸΊπŸΊπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ

Alba Gu Brath.......

FB_IMG_1782821447259.jpg

FB_IMG_1782821396049.jpg

FB_IMG_1782821432266.jpg

I even made the Scottish papers !! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸΊπŸΊπŸΊ

Screenshot_20260613-075311.png

BTW. The "I'm aff Tae get Blutred top" I had that made just for this World Cup, and trust me, I was !!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸΊπŸΊπŸΊπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ ΏπŸ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ

Alba Gu Brath.......

FB_IMG_1782821447259.jpg

FB_IMG_1782821396049.jpg

FB_IMG_1782821432266.jpg

Does your other t-shirt say β€˜Ah am aff tae get ma haircut finished?’ 🫣

Was looking out for you in Boston, but sadly didn’t bump into you. Next time 🍻

30 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Does your other t-shirt say β€˜Ah am aff tae get ma haircut finished?’ 🫣

Was looking out for you in Boston, but sadly didn’t bump into you. Next time 🍻

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Aye, some haircut, my wife hates it.. We will Defo meet pal. Great for you and your wee laddie... 🏴󠁧󠁒󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁒󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁒󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

I fly back later today after over three weeks out here in the States. Two days in New York then up to Boston by train for ten days. A flight down to Miami for five days and then a 27 hour train journey back to New York for five days.

The cost was probably in excess of Β£5,000 but to see Scotland in a World Cup fulfilled a lifetime dream and being part of it all was just utterly superb and unbelievable. The sightseeing was brilliant too.Β 

I would do it all again in a heartbeat. Trip and time of my life. Shame the football wasn't better but the memories will still with me forever.Β 

I was only at the Brazil game payed through the nose for it end up in leather seats comfy as fook. I stay up near Orlando only down in Miami for the game then back. everyone was so nice to me. I don't think I will ever forget it happy as pig in shit pity Clarke couldn't learn to manage his team better they were rottenΒ 

Two and a half weeks

Five and a half grand (all in, incl food, drink, ticket for Scotland v Haiti, five baseball games)

No regrets. Fantastic trip.

My wife, wee girl & I had 10 days in Boston, I went to both games and they went to the Morocco game only.

4 Tickets Β£2k

Flights Β£2.5k

Our share of the accommodation Β£2k

Spent about Β£1.5k otherwise.

Around Β£8k in total for the 3 of us.

Was it worth it - absolutely. The experience was priceless.

5 hours ago, DivitDad said:

My wife, wee girl & I had 10 days in Boston, I went to both games and they went to the Morocco game only.

4 Tickets Β£2k

Flights Β£2.5k

Our share of the accommodation Β£2k

Spent about Β£1.5k otherwise.

Around Β£8k in total for the 3 of us.

Was it worth it - absolutely. The experience was priceless.

Nice πŸ‘

Whilst the ticket prices were far more than we are used to:-

Β£2650 pp for 10 days, all in, for that experience, is not the eyewatering pre tournament number some would have had us believe

No one will (if they did their research) be talking about the cost looking back

Well done family DD πŸ‘

Β 

6 hours ago, biffer said:

Two and a half weeks

Five and a half grand (all in, incl food, drink, ticket for Scotland v Haiti, five baseball games)

No regrets. Fantastic trip.

Β£4.5k of the total? πŸ˜‰

20 minutes ago, Redz said:

Nice πŸ‘

Whilst the ticket prices were far more than we are used to:-

Β£2650 pp for 10 days, all in, for that experience, is not the eyewatering pre tournament number some would have had us believe

No one will (if they did their research) be talking about the cost looking back

Well done family DD πŸ‘

Β 

πŸ‘ Β If its doable, cost will never be a regret for something you are desperate to experience .Β 

Tickets - Β£1000 (mental)Β 

accommodation - Β£800

flights - Edin - Boston - miami - Orlando - Edinburgh - Β£750

Not as bad as expected.

fortune on beer right enough but that was my own choice.

On 6/29/2026 at 5:53 AM, NorthSeaToRockies said:

Now that it's all said and done, what did everyone end up spending on their trip? Any regrets, or was it all worth it?

For me, I spent three days in Boston for the Haiti match. I probably did the trip on the cheap compared to a lot of folk, as I'm based in the US, stayed with friends, and only went to the one game (Category 1 ticket through the lottery). All in, it came to around Β£750.

To see Scotland win at the World Cup and experience the atmosphere in Boston before and after the match was something I'll never forget. Looking back, it feels like money very well spent.

In the euphoria after the game, I was genuinely tempted to stay for another week and try to follow the team. In the end, though, I decided to leave as planned. I'd had an incredible few days, and I thought it was better to head home while everything was still on such a high. Looking back, I'm really glad I did - I came away with nothing but brilliant memories.

I had a similar experience as I only went to the Haiti game.Β 

I based it around a conference so got return business class flights to Denver and one week in Colorado with a hire car paid. I was only out of pocket Β£800 for the ticket, Β£550 for the hotel and Β£300 for internal flights.Β 

It worked out at less than Β£140 a day so well worth it. Rocky Mountains National Park and the Flatirons were spectacular. I also got to see a gig at the Red Rocks Amphitheatre.Β 

I didn't think I would ever see Scotland win a game at a World Cup and the in-stadium experience was the best I've ever witnessed. All together it was absolutely brilliant and I have memories that will last a lifetime. I don't think I'll ever have a trip like that again.Β