Worth Every Penny? - World Cup 2026 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Now that it's all said and done, what did everyone end up spending on their trip? Any regrets, or was it all worth it?

For me, I spent three days in Boston for the Haiti match. I probably did the trip on the cheap compared to a lot of folk, as I'm based in the US, stayed with friends, and only went to the one game (Category 1 ticket through the lottery). All in, it came to around £750.

To see Scotland win at the World Cup and experience the atmosphere in Boston before and after the match was something I'll never forget. Looking back, it feels like money very well spent.

In the euphoria after the game, I was genuinely tempted to stay for another week and try to follow the team. In the end, though, I decided to leave as planned. I'd had an incredible few days, and I thought it was better to head home while everything was still on such a high. Looking back, I'm really glad I did - I came away with nothing but brilliant memories.

3 minutes ago, NorthSeaToRockies said:

Now that it's all said and done, what did everyone end up spending on their trip? Any regrets, or was it all worth it?

For me, I spent three days in Boston for the Haiti match. I probably did the trip on the cheap compared to a lot of folk, as I'm based in the US, stayed with friends, and only went to the one game (Category 1 ticket through the lottery). All in, it came to around £750.

To see Scotland win at the World Cup and experience the atmosphere in Boston before and after the match was something I'll never forget. Looking back, it feels like money very well spent.

In the euphoria after the game, I was genuinely tempted to stay for another week and try to follow the team. In the end, though, I decided to leave as planned. I'd had an incredible few days, and I thought it was better to head home while everything was still on such a high. Looking back, I'm really glad I did - I came away with nothing but brilliant memories.

Was in Boston for Haiti game  and spent around £3500  in total 😀 my trip was the best money I have ever spent the memories will live with me forever: 

Best dad and lad trip ever! 😃

Laddie is 14 and is at that perfect age to appreciate it all and to leave a lasting memory. His first time in US too. Sixteen days in total. Four nights in Boston, four nights in NYC (where I flew the wife over to join us for those four nights so she could at least be part of it), two nights in Providence, five nights in Fort Lauderdale.

Attended our three games.

Hosts were brilliant, atmosphere was unreal, weather great!

Times Square in NY was a highlight with the mix of fans all there, as was the two TA cruises we did.

Would have been better had we progressed obviously, but if I knew what I know now, about how good it would be despite going out early, and how much it would all cost, I’d do it all again 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Posted (edited)

I was in Providence and Fort Lauderdale, both way cheaper than Edinburgh. Only time I felt ripped off (financially and otherwise) was inside the stadiums 

Edited by dan cake
59 minutes ago, dan cake said:

I was in Providence and Fort Lauderdale, both way cheaper than Edinburgh. Only time I felt ripped off (financially and otherwise) was inside the stadiums 

To be honest even inside the stadiums a great choice of food and good ice cold beer with next to no queues is worth a premium. 

Only penny spent I regret was the one at Inverness bus station which lead to me having to get a taxi to Ullapool. How  the heck you can get lost at Inverness bus station is beyond me. 

Yep - that was fucking class. Loved every minute of it. I did pay more than I ever have for a game of football to be at the Panama v Ghana game, which was a bit shit, but even then that was a class night with the Ghanaians. 

Worth every penny for me, had a great experience and would do it all over again.

Only went to Boston for the first game. If I could have swung it work wise I'd have stayed for the 2nd but it wasn't a possibility.

Absolutely worth every penny and cent spent and as others have said, I would do it all again. 

Booked flights to Toronto and back last July never expecting Scotland to qualify. Was hoping to use my mate's house in Toronto as a base to travel west,  so when they did qualify it changed everything. 

Got tickets for all three games from a FIFA sale last November (had to pay for the England supporting girlfriend too) then hastily booked flights and accomodation at hyped up prices. 

Decided to let my Toronto based mate and his Scottish son have our Morocco tickets, but our trip to Boston for the Haiti game and Miami for Brazil were what memories are made of, including a cancelled flight back from Boston. 

Was at Italia 90 as a young lad and never thought I would see Scotland at the World Cup again, so to do so cannot be put into words. Great to see fans of all ages, especially the kids skipping school, wish my dad had taken me to Germany 74. 

To the lad on Boston Common Coach no2 who put the tunes on, Feed the World on the trip back after the Haiti game is my abiding memory of the whole trip. Aleays disliked that song, but it was so out of place and bizarre it just seemed perfect for such a joyous bus back. I love it now and keep playing my video of it. 

12 minutes ago, Gavowl said:

To the lad on Boston Common Coach no2 who put the tunes on, Feed the World on the trip back after the Haiti game is my abiding memory of the whole trip. Aleays disliked that song, but it was so out of place and bizarre it just seemed perfect for such a joyous bus back. I love it now and keep playing my video of it. 

It’s always the wee things like that, that stick in your mind the most. The school bus convoy was unforgettable, as was the Boston cop doing keepie-uppies. Loads will pop into my heid later when I think back.

For me it was the unfurling of our flag on the pitch before the Haiti game. Got a wee lump in my throat at that minute 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

I attended the first 2 games in Boston and stayed in NYC for 4 nights between games.  Spent just under £2,300 all in for 10 nights away which included tickets, food and drink, it definitely helped that I'm not a big drinker these days.

47 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

It’s always the wee things like that, that stick in your mind the most. The school bus convoy was unforgettable, as was the Boston cop doing keepie-uppies. Loads will pop into my heid later when I think back.

For me it was the unfurling of our flag on the pitch before the Haiti game. Got a wee lump in my throat at that minute 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Exactly this. National anthem did for me too. Would also love to think that my dad and grandad knew I was there. 

I was only eligible for a Brazil ticket which I got but my mate didn’t get one.

The way it worked out I’m glad we rejigged our plans and only went to Boston for 6 days ( 5 nights )to the Morocco game instead. 

I sold my Brazil ticket for £535 ($700) what I’d paid for it, and we got 2 Morocco Tickets in Section 240 above Scotland support for £1380 off FIFA Re-Sale. 2 Return Flights Edinburgh- Philadelphia- Boston £ 1320  Sheraton Back Bay 5 nights £595 room only. They were doing 5 nights for price of 4 so got 2 nights using Marriott Points I had, 1 night free, and paid for 2 nights. 

So £1650 each before eating, drinking, Baseball, Boat Trip, Rally Bus etc. 

Will definitely go back to Boston again, thought it was a great city. Worth it for the time we had irrespective of the result. 

Posted (edited)
12 hours ago, McTeeko said:

Laddie is 14 and is at that perfect age to appreciate it all and to leave a lasting memory. His first time in US too. Sixteen days in total. Four nights in Boston, four nights in NYC (where I flew the wife over to join us for those four nights so she could at least be part of it), two nights in Providence, five nights in Fort Lauderdale.

Attended our three games.

Hosts were brilliant, atmosphere was unreal, weather great!

Times Square in NY was a highlight with the mix of fans all there, as was the two TA cruises we did.

Would have been better had we progressed obviously, but if I knew what I know now, about how good it would be despite going out early, and how much it would all cost, I’d do it all again 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

This👆🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿😎

I went with my boys (14+17) 

A trip of a lifetime.

To see Scotland win a game at the world cup was worth going alone 

But the memories of going and traveling around the USA, with my sons will live with me,and hopefully them forever.

The Tartan army Trips/ marches in Boston and NYC were amazing.

Especially the boat trip in NYC, our highlight, where I met @mcteeko and another few friends.

We hired a car and drove from Montreal, highlight of that was driving over the Brooklyn Bridge with Stevie Wonder blasting out of the stereo on a very warm day.

The boys were just at the right age to appreciate and enjoy every moment.

It was phenomenal , haven't worked out the cost yet, awaiting the cc bill.....

12 hours ago, McTeeko said:

He's a fine young man...........Furra Jambo 😉

There's footage online posted from someone on the riverbank as we cruised Fort Lauderdale

I sent it on WhatsApp to CM, so I'm sure he'll pop it over if asked - If not, DM me your mobile number here and I'll send it

Good to meet you 👍

Posted (edited)

Providence for Morocco & Fort Lauderdale for Brazil - 10 days

Flights, Hotels, Transfers, Amtrak, TA Cruise, School Bus and Spending costs were more than reasonable

We 'treated' ourselves for the Brazil ticket, and spent £425 on the Morocco one - Both at FV 

Magical off the pitch, but underwhelming on it - We were hoping to be in Mexico City right now!

But yeah, sure, I'd do it all again in a heartbeat.......

Edited by Redz
1 hour ago, Redz said:

He's a fine young man...........Furra Jambo 😉

There's footage online posted from someone on the riverbank as we cruised Fort Lauderdale

I sent it on WhatsApp to CM, so I'm sure he'll pop it over if asked - If not, DM me your mobile number here and I'll send it

Good to meet you 👍

Seen it! Think it was Monica who posted it on her social media. Looked great from the riverbank!

Good to meet you too for the first time, as well as Ormond again, @stocky and sons again and @Clootie Dumpling who introduced himself at the Brazil game.

Still got a big daft smile on my face thinking back to it all, but totally fucked off with events on the pitch.

25 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Seen it! Think it was Monica who posted it on her social media. Looked great from the riverbank!

Good to meet you too for the first time, as well as Ormond again, @stocky and sons again and @Clootie Dumpling who introduced himself at the Brazil game.

Still got a big daft smile on my face thinking back to it all, but totally fucked off with events on the pitch.

@Toepoke too! Sorry man, good to meet you too!!👍🏼

with tickets for both Boston games and a cheeky upgrade on the flights, best part of $6k.  At France98 my wife was 6 months pregnant with my Son, so him being there with pals who went to France with me was very special.

Highlights for me were the yellow school bus journeys, Fenway Park for the Scottish night and just Boston and its people itself.  Dont think we could have had a better city for a 2 game stay.

Worth every penny!

58 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Excellent and agreed 👍 

17 hours ago, McTeeko said:

@Toepoke too! Sorry man, good to meet you too!!👍🏼

And yersel, thanks for taking the photo it's a cracker 😀

I think the New York boat cruise was the highlight, absolutely brilliant experience, quite emotional at times too. My missus has certainly enjoyed going viral doing the Slosh 😂

The whole trip was great, different from previous tournaments being there with the full family but so good to be with them and other TA pals, also hooking up with North American relations, visiting some for the first time.

Cost wise it was a wedge (although a lot less than having to replace a motor when we got back 🤦) but the biggest outlay was on accommodation which was paid up in advance. Used airmiles for the flights which helped too.

An incredible ten days and definitely worth every penny 🙂

Nobody will say they regret the trip, the TA have this ability to ignore the football element and make sure they have a great time

An amazing trip!

Highlights for me were, dancing with strangers in Boston Common, gate crashing a wedding, the ‘party in the park’ in Providence, tailgating and fan-zones at Foxborough, the anthems, celebrating a goal, the stadium, a mad night out where we ended up with a random Argentinian, a Norwegian chick and one of the camera crew at the Gillette in our company and just the general warmth and fun of Boston.

Not so great, the beer, especially that Sam Adam’s muck, not for me. Also for a nation of servers who rely on tips you’d have thought the customer service might have been better at times. Sorry I missed the boat party, it looked great but time was too tight.

Overall though it really was worth every coin. There were random acts of fun and kindness on the part of both locals and the TA that will live long in the memory!

Hopefully we don’t have to wait 28 years on the next yin and of course finally give a better account of ourselves on the pitch!

Worked it all out yesterday, just a tad over £9k! For me and my just turned 16 year old son at all three games. Although his grandparents contributed £2.5k for his trip so it ended up costing me about £6.5k.

Yes it was worth it. 

I don't actually think I'd have gone, certainly not to all three, if I'd thought it was going to cost that much. Back in December 2025 I thought I could probably do it for £5k - £6k. Didn't initially expect to stay in Boston itself but ended up doing so which mean the budget for a 8 nights there went up by about £800. Flights were about £600 more than I initially budgeted too. Hadn't initially considered the cost of actual transport to the games which between trains in Boston and bus in Miami ended up being over $200 each. Travel insurance was much more expensive to the US than expected too. And of course my hope of spending roughly £100 per day on food and drink in the US was underestimated by about 50%!

I stayed with a friend in Florida for 3 nights which saved costs too but if that hadn't been available we simply wouldn't have gone to the 3rd game so I'd have paid less. I don't in any way regret going to the Brazil game but I certainly enjoyed the two game Boston leg miles more than the Miami game. 

I was in France in 1998 so it's been a long time and the chance to share the experience with my son before he's too old and wants to go with his mates instead and before I'm too old to actually deal with it was too good to miss. Absolutely worth it.