McTeeko Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 hour ago, Super_Scotlandfan said: I quite like the ‘passionate well respected younger former Scotland player’ as long as there is well thought out No2 and backroom staff. That’s the last thing we want. Someone who has grown up with the ‘too wee, too pish, too poor’ mentality that’s driven into the Scottish psyche. Has to be foreign. Ange, Bilic, Hjulmand. Any of them would excite me. Quote
Robbo `81 Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 hour ago, BryanBlessed said: There has been a lot of criticism that our team don't look properly coached sl I don't know if anyone from Clarke's team should be promoted. A valid point Quote
exile Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 minute ago, McTeeko said: That’s the last thing we want. Someone who has grown up with the ‘too wee, too pish, too poor’ mentality that’s driven into the Scottish psyche. Has to be foreign. Ange, Bilic, Hjulmand. Any of them would excite me. It reminds me of what has been said at this world cup, that the US manager (Argentinian, Pochettino) and Canada manager (Marsch, American) have both been credited with getting a better mentality out of their players, to see themselves differently and achieve more than they did before. Time will tell... Quote
slasher Posted June 28 Posted June 28 We definitely need to look outside the usual gene pool. Another lazy appointment won’t cut it. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 28 Posted June 28 53 minutes ago, onthe45 said: That’s just a cliche that fans throw around, when they want a particular manager sacked. See also, ‘No Plan B’, ‘Taken the team as far as they can take them’, etc. On the flip side when you get a manager with a questionable background the cliche of ‘aye but they were a basket case’ thrown in Quote
duncan II Posted June 28 Posted June 28 28 minutes ago, McTeeko said: That’s the last thing we want. Someone who has grown up with the ‘too wee, too pish, too poor’ mentality that’s driven into the Scottish psyche. Has to be foreign. Ange, Bilic, Hjulmand. Any of them would excite me. I agree totally with this. Any of the above would be good. Id also quite like an Italian or South American, who could coach us how to defend and have us well versed in the dark arts! Quote
biffer Posted June 28 Posted June 28 My main concern is I don’t want a manager who has the ‘this is my system and I need players to fit into it’ attitude. It’s the most common reason for managers to fail at international level imo. You have to be a good coach with a broad understanding of the game and the tactical flexibility to make the most of the players you have available. Seems obvious but it doesn’t always work out like that. Quote
syecosse Posted June 28 Posted June 28 Not sure if anyone has said it but will probably be looking at the amazing job Scot Gemmill has done and appoint him, how he has still been in the job since 2016 i will never know. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 minute ago, syecosse said: Not sure if anyone has said it but will probably be looking at the amazing job Scot Gemmill has done and appoint him, how he has still been in the job since 2016 i will never know. His faither? Quote
er yir macaroon Posted June 28 Posted June 28 I'd like Neil McCann to back up his words by proving that the players are technically good enough. Quote
immcinto Posted June 28 Posted June 28 46 minutes ago, exile said: It reminds me of what has been said at this world cup, that the US manager (Argentinian, Pochettino) and Canada manager (Marsch, American) have both been credited with getting a better mentality out of their players, to see themselves differently and achieve more than they did before. Time will tell... Australia through to knockouts again. Amazing what a bit of positive attitude can do to St Mirren and Livingston players. Quote
BoundaryFault Posted June 28 Posted June 28 3 minutes ago, er yir macaroon said: I'd like Neil McCann to back up his words by proving that the players are technically good enough. Here's someone who says that they are: Quote
immcinto Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 hour ago, Saint4805 said: Carlo Ancelotti reunited with Big Dunc as his assistant. Back to reality, still Hjulmand for me. +1 Hjulmand. SFA just need to double the salary. Gemmill it is then. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 28 Posted June 28 3 minutes ago, immcinto said: Australia through to knockouts again. Amazing what a bit of positive attitude can do to St Mirren and Livingston players. Aye but they don’t have to face the likes of France, Germany, Spain or England to qualify Another tiresome cliche that’s often trotted out when someone compares us to Australia Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 28 Posted June 28 3 minutes ago, BoundaryFault said: Here's someone who says that they are: The Scottish Will Still Quote
immcinto Posted June 28 Posted June 28 41 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: Aye but they don’t have to face the likes of France, Germany, Spain or England to qualify Neither did Scotland. Are you saying the squad was still tired from the previous year's qualifying campaign? Quote
biffer Posted June 28 Posted June 28 50 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: Aye but they don’t have to face the likes of France, Germany, Spain or England to qualify Another tiresome cliche that’s often trotted out when someone compares us to Australia Australia had to play Japan and Saudi. By ranking that’s about the same as us playing Denmark and Greece. Quote
Tartan blood Posted June 28 Posted June 28 58 minutes ago, er yir macaroon said: I'd like Neil McCann to back up his words by proving that the players are technically good enough. He did a good job with Kilmarnock. I know nothing else of his credentials, but he talks a good game and is a passionate Scotland fan... Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted June 28 Posted June 28 Well I wouldn't want Moyes. His punditry at Euro 24 says it all. He basically had no alternative/team selection/solutions as to what unfolded there and did not think any thing different could have been done. Not for me but I can see others clambering for him. Probably, too many against it but I would not be against Gordon Strachan getting another shot at it with a better pool of players now than he had last time. Plus he is available but has been out of the game for some time. It's far too soon for the likes of Neil McCann but he could be one for the future. I would have gone for massively unpopular (not sure why) Derek McInnes but now at Rangers so no chance of that. If we go down the foreign route I'd prefer it to be a man who has very good knowledge and experience of the Scottish game. Quote
0Neils40yarder Posted June 28 Posted June 28 8 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: Well I wouldn't want Moyes. His punditry at Euro 24 says it all. He basically had no alternative/team selection/solutions as to what unfolded there and did not think any thing different could have been done. Not for me but I can see others clambering for him. Probably, too many against it but I would not be against Gordon Strachan getting another shot at it with a better pool of players now than he had last time. Plus he is available but has been out of the game for some time. It's far too soon for the likes of Neil McCann but he could be one for the future. I would have gone for massively unpopular (not sure why) Derek McInnes but now at Rangers so no chance of that. If we go down the foreign route I'd prefer it to be a man who has very good knowledge and experience of the Scottish game. Im not for one second saying McCann should even be a contender...but why do you say its too soon? Also, why does a foreign manager have to have experience of the Scottish game? Quote
Super_Scotlandfan Posted June 28 Posted June 28 1 hour ago, McTeeko said: That’s the last thing we want. Someone who has grown up with the ‘too wee, too pish, too poor’ mentality that’s driven into the Scottish psyche. Has to be foreign. Ange, Bilic, Hjulmand. Any of them would excite me. Strachan thought this but the vast majority of recent, current players and young managers don’t. It would be mental if they did. I’m thinking the exact opposite of what you think I am suggesting. A Scottish manager that the players are inspired by. Backed up with modern back room staff. That said, if we can’t get that, clearly a foreign manager would be totally acceptable. Quote
TDYER63 Posted June 28 Posted June 28 My concern is that Clarke’s resignation may have caught the SFA off guard and they just rush in and play eeny meeny miney mo with the list of usual suspects. Quote
Lion Rampant Posted June 28 Posted June 28 For me there's not one Scottish manager out there who will come in and do a better job. Maybe someone like Ange or Hjulmand would make some improvements and keep us at the tournaments and maybe make us take the next step. Only time will tell. I'm really sceptical that a change in manager will improve anything,hopefully I'm wrong on that. Quote
RanelaghScot Posted June 28 Posted June 28 I'd be looking to get someone foreign in, do a Motherwell Askou type appointment at international level. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted June 28 Posted June 28 30 minutes ago, 0Neils40yarder said: Im not for one second saying McCann should even be a contender...but why do you say its too soon? Also, why does a foreign manager have to have experience of the Scottish game? I just feel he lack managerial experience at this time. But I suppose you could counter that with how well Craig Bellamy has done at Wales with very little experience. I think it would be very advantageous for him to know a lot about players available to him and the nature of the game played in Scotland to realise the differences between it and international football. Always felt Vogts struggled because of that primarily. Quote