Toepoke Posted July 8 Posted July 8 14 hours ago, scotlad said: Maybe, maybe not... 6 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: According to the BBC Raphael Benitez hasn't ruled himself out. I stand corrected! Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 59 minutes ago, The Black Bra said: I work with a bloke who knows an ex-referee. He told him he went into the dressing room at half time and Ronaldo was having his haircut. At half-time. Could be pish… It would not surprise me if it were true. Even the Man Utd fans I know have gone off him the last few years, his Brand and ego took over from the football. 1 hour ago, Toepoke said: Martinez' performance with Wigan and Swansea are what appeals to me most, he has experience of getting limited squads to overachieve. Let's face it that's us. Re the Ronaldo business, even Roy Keane said he's unmanageable, and if there's one person who could deal with that situation it's Keane! Ronaldo would have been kept with his feet on the ground by players like Keane, Scholes and Co when he was still at United. However he is a different person nowadays, his ego has grown to an unmanageable level. Players around him must hate the circus that follows him around I doubt he respected Martinez because Martinez hasn't won much compared to the likes of Jose, Fergie or Ancellotti Quote
Saint4805 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 I used to live in Manchester and worked with a lady whose daughter used to wax Ronaldo's eyebrows every week. He is vain AF and so the half time haircut wouldn't surprise me in the slightest. I imagine after he retires his house will be a CR7 shrine and he'll probably spend most of his time watching videos of himself. He's the kind of person that has no actual friends but just hangers on and a paid entourage. Quote
kumnio Posted July 8 Posted July 8 9 hours ago, vanderark14 said: He's a crayon eater at best, I would listen to Kris Boyd before I listened to anything Merson had to say Good lord man, you've taken that too far. Far too far. Quote
Third Lanark Posted July 8 Posted July 8 6 hours ago, Hertsscot said: According to the BBC Raphael Benitez hasn't ruled himself out. And nor should we. The way some posters on here are dismissing everyone, we deserve to end up with McGlynn who will gain no respect from senior pros who play in Italy or England. If other countries no wealthier than us can afford big names then so should we. Quote
vanderark14 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 8 minutes ago, Third Lanark said: And nor should we. The way some posters on here are dismissing everyone, we deserve to end up with McGlynn who will gain no respect from senior pros who play in Italy or England. If other countries no wealthier than us can afford big names then so should we. Who do you think is a realistic appointment? Which countries are you referring to here? Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 8 Posted July 8 This is not like choosing a dream team at the start of a football season. Also it's not like a rich EPL club deciding on a new manager. This is the incompetent and penny-pinching SFA which I'd guess disqualifies us from the vast majority of people suggested on here. Look at our last few shortlists drawn up by the SFA - that will give you a better idea of our candidates - sorry that should read the SFA's candidates which will probably be a million miles away from the coach that we would choose. Quote
biffer Posted July 8 Posted July 8 On 7/7/2026 at 3:20 PM, scotlad said: 🤣 My theory about 'The Fear' is that it's a failsafe designed to deter us from ever drinking so much again! Disnae fuckin work Quote
immcinto Posted July 8 Posted July 8 8 hours ago, Hertsscot said: According to the BBC Raphael Benitez hasn't ruled himself out. You could any manager in the world if the money is right. I assume Rafa has not yet discussed finances with the SFA Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 8 Posted July 8 6 minutes ago, immcinto said: You could any manager in the world if the money is right. I assume Rafa has not yet discussed finances with the SFA I doubt he’s gave it a second thought let alone discussed it with anyone other than Jim White who was simply looking for a click bait headline Quote
thesaint Posted July 8 Posted July 8 9 hours ago, Rossm77 said: I wouldn't be against Martinez but salary wise I think he would be beyond us. I think of the Scottish Managers possibly available Alex Neill would be the best option, yes he could use is it as a further stepping stone but reality is most managers would be doing the same if they are successful. Think Alex Neill might be a good shout. Quote
Iain69 Posted July 8 Posted July 8 (edited) I was brought up in England and support Newcastle - Rafa was fantastic and is still loved by supporters. Turned a shite team into one that won promotion easily, developed some very average players into solid premier league performers and made us very hard to score against. The football isn't exciting but you don't get battered and you do nick games by staying in them against better teams. He's a control freak, drills players on his systems to within an inch of their lives but does develop players into more than the sum of their parts. Met him once in a professional setting, he's a humble guy who treats everyone with respect. He lives near me and managed his local high school team for a couple of games when he was between jobs. I would fucking love him as our manager and will drive him up to Hampden personally. Edited July 8 by Iain69 Quote
BoundaryFault Posted July 8 Posted July 8 I'd been under the impression that Benitez had heart problems, but I checked and no, but there were other lesser things. Think I'd been getting him mixed up with Houlier. (Not to mention Mr Souness, who came through similar difficulties. Now that would be a spicy appointment...) Quote
McTeeko Posted July 8 Posted July 8 45 minutes ago, BoundaryFault said: I'd been under the impression that Benitez had heart problems, but I checked and no, but there were other lesser things. Think I'd been getting him mixed up with Houlier. (Not to mention Mr Souness, who came through similar difficulties. Now that would be a spicy appointment...) I mind Houllier was tipped for us previously. Nae chance now of course, as he’s deid. Quote
scotlad Posted July 8 Posted July 8 3 hours ago, biffer said: Disnae fuckin work It does for a day or two, but then gets forgotten almost as quickly as a shite performance by a Roberto Martinez football team. 😏 Quote
runningtings Posted July 8 Posted July 8 I'd take Rafa in a heartbeat, does he really need the money at his career stage? Surely the SFA could tempt him with some of that World Cup money... Quote
scotlad Posted July 8 Posted July 8 11 hours ago, Toepoke said: Martinez' performance with Wigan and Swansea are what appeals to me most, he has experience of getting limited squads to overachieve. Let's face it that's us. Re the Ronaldo business, even Roy Keane said he's unmanageable, and if there's one person who could deal with that situation it's Keane! Could he though? 🤔 Without question, he'd let Ronaldo know exactly what he thinks of him and possibly thump him too, but would that approach work with Ronaldo? It might be fun to find out, especially the last bit. 🙂 Quote
COLT NY Posted July 8 Posted July 8 On 6/29/2026 at 6:56 AM, Toepoke said: Heard Darren Jackson on the radio yesterday touting his dream team of John Collins & Gary McAllister 🤨 I don't mind this idea at all. I think we could do a lot worse. Quote
Bobby Russell's Lovechild Posted July 8 Posted July 8 10 hours ago, Saint4805 said: I used to live in Manchester and worked with a lady whose daughter used to wax Ronaldo's eyebrows every week. He is vain AF and so the half time haircut wouldn't surprise me in the slightest. I imagine after he retires his house will be a CR7 shrine and he'll probably spend most of his time watching videos of himself. He's the kind of person that has no actual friends but just hangers on and a paid entourage. I mean, he looks at himself, at every opportunity on the big screen, during matches 🤣 Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted July 8 Posted July 8 10 hours ago, Saint4805 said: I used to live in Manchester and worked with a lady whose daughter used to wax Ronaldo's eyebrows every week. He is vain AF and so the half time haircut wouldn't surprise me in the slightest. I imagine after he retires his house will be a CR7 shrine and he'll probably spend most of his time watching videos of himself. He's the kind of person that has no actual friends but just hangers on and a paid entourage. Did you not see at the second half rehydration break they even brought a chair out for him to sit on whilst the rest of the team stood. Quote
Saint4805 Posted July 9 Posted July 9 (edited) 7 hours ago, Iain69 said: I was brought up in England and support Newcastle - Rafa was fantastic and is still loved by supporters. Turned a shite team into one that won promotion easily, developed some very average players into solid premier league performers and made us very hard to score against. The football isn't exciting but you don't get battered and you do nick games by staying in them against better teams. He's a control freak, drills players on his systems to within an inch of their lives but does develop players into more than the sum of their parts. Met him once in a professional setting, he's a humble guy who treats everyone with respect. He lives near me and managed his local high school team for a couple of games when he was between jobs. I would fucking love him as our manager and will drive him up to Hampden personally. I'm sold after reading this assuming he's interested and within budget of course. I had heard he can be frosty with his players but peak Martin O'Neil could be the same. Friendly chat one day and then blanked in the corridor the next to get in their heads. I think Unai Emery has a similar style - well drilled and insane attention to detail. Might be worth making McGinn captain for a year or two if he's used to that kind of manager and can be a conduit with the rest of the squad. Lewis VC with a view to him taking over when McGinn is past it or lacks form/fitness. No offence to Robbo but the dressing room hierarchy probably needs a shake up too. Edited July 9 by Saint4805 Quote
immcinto Posted July 9 Posted July 9 6 hours ago, Saint4805 said: I'm sold after reading this assuming he's interested and within budget of course. I had heard he can be frosty with his players but peak Martin O'Neil could be the same. Friendly chat one day and then blanked in the corridor the next to get in their heads. I think Unai Emery has a similar style - well drilled and insane attention to detail. Might be worth making McGinn captain for a year or two if he's used to that kind of manager and can be a conduit with the rest of the squad. Lewis VC with a view to him taking over when McGinn is past it or lacks form/fitness. No offence to Robbo but the dressing room hierarchy probably needs a shake up too. He would also increase the chances of convincing players with Scottish grannies to declare for us. I think it is a moot point though. Of course Rafa would manage us - for the right money. The SFA is unlikely to splash the cash. Quote
Pluto Posted July 9 Posted July 9 (edited) 13 hours ago, runningtings said: I'd take Rafa in a heartbeat, does he really need the money at his career stage? Surely the SFA could tempt him with some of that World Cup money... It was interesting listening to Sportsound at the weekend in relation to this. As apparently 2/3 of the world cup money is already gone! A third went on player/staff bonuses for qualification and another third was spent on travel, accommodation, and facilities for the team in the lead up to and during the tournament. Mind blowing! Which, if true, would mean the SFA has only got circa £3m of it left for investment in infrastructure at home... Edited July 9 by Pluto Quote
daviebee Posted July 9 Posted July 9 57 minutes ago, Pluto said: It was interesting listening to Sportsound at the weekend in relation to this. As apparently 2/3 of the world cup money is already gone! A third went on player/staff bonuses for qualification and another third was spent on travel, accommodation, and facilities for the team in the lead up to and during the tournament. Mind blowing! Which, if true, would mean the SFA has only got circa £3m of it left for investment in infrastructure at home... So, basically 2/3 of the cash was spent on having that putrid swill served up to us? That's way beyond mind-blowing. Quote