European Competitions 26/27 - Page 4 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

• Replies 189

2 hours ago, Diamond Scot said:

Looking at Hearts likely route to european football I think its highly unlikely they achieve that.

I still think they will comfortably finish 3rd in the league though.

Biggest thing will be mentality. Will be interesting to see if they have retained any of the must win attitude they had last season or if they revert to the non OF thing of accepting draws when behind in games etc

I still don't see how anyone can be so sure about who will finish third such is the unpredictability of 3rd place to 12th

43 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

I still don't see how anyone can be so sure about who will finish third such is the unpredictability of 3rd place to 12th

The only thing that confidently be predicted is that if Hibs, Hearts or Motherwell qualify outright for Europe then there is little chance that either of those three teams finish third

History has shown that teams outwith the Old Firm struggle with the demands of a Thursday - Sunday schedule 

58 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

The only thing that confidently be predicted is that if Hibs, Hearts or Motherwell qualify outright for Europe then there is little chance that either of those three teams finish third

History has shown that teams outwith the Old Firm struggle with the demands of a Thursday - Sunday schedule 

I wouldn't say that's restricted to outside the Old Firm.  In recent years when Rangers were doing well in Europe we were finishing miles off it in the league.  Celtic have been pishing the league but barely making a dent in Europe.  None of our teams seem to be able to compete successfully on both fronts.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I’d prefer Hibs to get knocked out as soon as possible, playing absolute nobodies of European football for the next couple of months does fuck all for me. Would much rather we put our energy into trying to attain the league cup (only 4 wins required), Sundays are bad enough and as far as I’m concerned Thursdays are Top of the Pops and bath night 

Edited by dan cake
4 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

Hearts were significantly better than the majortity of non OF teams last season. The closest to them was Motherwell who like Hearts have lost their manager and their best players. However I think Motherwells form had more to do with the manager and the sold players than Hearts. I also get more confidence from Hearts recruitment.

Hibs imo havent done much and will be worse than last season. Aberdeen will no doubt be better than last season but I havent seen anything in them to suggest they will finish 3rd

As I said, the biggest thing Hearts had last year was mentality. If they have been able to keep most of that then thats where my confidence comes from.

They just seem like a stable well run club on and off the park atm.

1 hour ago, dan cake said:

I’d prefer Hibs to get knocked out as soon as possible, playing absolute nobodies of European football for the next couple of months does fuck all for me. Would much rather we put our energy into trying to attain the league cup (only 4 wins required), Sundays are bad enough and as far as I’m concerned Thursdays are Top of the Pops and bath night 

😄

18 minutes ago, Diamond Scot said:

Hearts were significantly better than the majortity of non OF teams last season. The closest to them was Motherwell who like Hearts have lost their manager and their best players. However I think Motherwells form had more to do with the manager and the sold players than Hearts. I also get more confidence from Hearts recruitment.

Hibs imo havent done much and will be worse than last season. Aberdeen will no doubt be better than last season but I havent seen anything in them to suggest they will finish 3rd

As I said, the biggest thing Hearts had last year was mentality. If they have been able to keep most of that then thats where my confidence comes from.

They just seem like a stable well run club on and off the park atm.

Hearts have just been pumped horsed 6 nil on aggregate and Aberdeen have played against lower league teams, not sure how anyone can judge either side on these games. I am not saying Aberdeen or Hibs will, I am saying its almost impossible to tell yet

10 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

Hearts have just been pumped horsed 6 nil on aggregate and Aberdeen have played against lower league teams, not sure how anyone can judge either side on these games. I am not saying Aberdeen or Hibs will, I am saying its almost impossible to tell yet

Sturm Graz will be far superior to any side that Hearts have faced since the beginning of last season

8 hours ago, slasher said:

You mean the tie we won 3-1 on aggregate, that one?

Aye that one, 3-1 against the mighty Red Imps, good recovery after 1st leg humiliation 👍

1 hour ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Sturm Graz will be far superior to any side that Hearts have faced since the beginning of last season

Sturm Graz are pish. Even our shambling outfit beat them last October!

32 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

Aye that one, 3-1 against the mighty Red Imps, good recovery after 1st leg humiliation 👍

Aye that’s right, it’s two legs in Europe. You might not remember, it’s been a while since the sheepworriers were in it 🤔

4 hours ago, dan cake said:

😅  TOTP is Fridays now, though, isn't it?

2 hours ago, Diamond Scot said:

It will be interesting to see how those two clubs recover. Motherwell seem to be aiming to keep the same system albeit with different personnel; as for Hearts, I am not sure what they are attempting, did their new manager guy say expect exciting chaos or something?

52 minutes ago, slasher said:

Aye that’s right, it’s two legs in Europe. You might not remember, it’s been a while since the sheepworriers were in it 🤔

7 months is a while?

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, exile said:

Maybe about 15 years ago!

Unless you’re watching the old ones on BBC4 right enough. Even then half of those aren’t allowed on the tele nowadays 🥴

Just checked. It was 20 years ago tomorrow since the last regular episode of TOTP aired
7 minutes ago, exile said:

and sharing a bath with my brother would be extremely creepy given we’re both in our 50s now 

Just now, DoonTheSlope said:

Maybe about 15 years ago!

Unless you’re watching the old ones on BBC4 right enough. Even then half of those aren’t allowed on the tele nowadays 🥴

Yes I meant the old ones on BBC4. As you say, the ones that don't feature uncle Jimmy or other dodgy uncles.

4 minutes ago, exile said:

Yes I meant the old ones on BBC4. As you say, the ones that don't feature uncle Jimmy or other dodgy uncles.

I still miss TOTP2 on channel 2 with Steve Wright

How did John Peele manage to go under the radar and is still revered?

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I still miss TOTP2 on channel 2 with Steve Wright

How did John Peele manage to go under the radar and is still revered?

Knew where the bodies were buried, the BBCs Epstein. Not sure he’s revered tho, the John Peel stage at Glastonbury was renamed/cancelled 

Edited by dan cake
2 hours ago, dandydunn said:

7 months is a while?

You’re right, they’re actually weaker than when we played them 👍

5 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

Because the starting positon isnt last week. We have all of last season and then what has happened since, incomings and outgoings etc to take into account.

Is it almost impossible to say who will finish higher out of Celtic and Dundee because neither have kicked a ball yet this season? Of course its not.

Hearts have retained the majority of the team that finished 2nd last season. Some of those that they have lost, look to have been replaced with similar quality. Others maybe not so much. In addition its likely that their new manager wont be as good in his 1st year in Scotland as McInnes so I think they wont be as good as last season but ive seen nothing in the other teams to suggest they will improve significantly on last season.

Taking Aberdeen for example.  What business have they done whether it be in the summer or replacing the manager and what he has shown that suggests they will make up 40 points on Hearts from last season. Literally half the points total. Even if Hearts arent as good as I suspect they would need to fall off a cliff and Aberdeen have a remarkable turnaround for them to finish above.

Thats not to say Aberdeen wont beat Hearts at the weekend. Hearts have a horrible record away to Aberdeen and I think they might have a slowish start.

3 hours ago, exile said:

It will be interesting to see how those two clubs recover. Motherwell seem to be aiming to keep the same system albeit with different personnel; as for Hearts, I am not sure what they are attempting, did their new manager guy say expect exciting chaos or something?

From what ive seen they are much more open than last year. Despite not scoring against Graz they did look good going forward at times albeit without the end product.

Its hard to see Braga doing aswell this year but if any of the new guys hit the ground running then they should be fine. 

This year will be a big test on the JTA model. They have moved out some guys for profits and brought in players without the benefit of McInnes input in terms of suitability to Scottish football.

Im not convinced any teams will bid decent money for Braga but even if they could get £5 million for him then it gives the model real momentum. Especially if they can keep getting results on the pitch.

4 hours ago, slasher said:

When your mob have 2 of these 🌟 🌟 on their shirts you can play the Europe big baws 🏆🇮🇩🏆 🇮🇩

1 hour ago, RDFH64 said:

When your mob have 2 of these 🌟 🌟 on their shirts you can play the Europe big baws 🏆🇮🇩🏆 🇮🇩

Yes, your mob have 2 Silver medals, but we have the Gold Medal....

We also have more trophies in our cabinet than you have seats at Pittodrie !!!! 😎