ceudmilefailte Posted June 13 Posted June 13 3 hours ago, biffer said: It's like fight club. If you need to say you're the best, you're not. Getting fight club and game of thrones mixed up I think. Quote
TunnocksTeaCakes Posted June 13 Posted June 13 19 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: This is peak Celtic level of self felating Are you in Boston? Have you seen the fans here ? Have you heard where and how they got here? Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 hour ago, TunnocksTeaCakes said: Are you in Boston? No 1 hour ago, TunnocksTeaCakes said: Have you seen the fans here ? No 1 hour ago, TunnocksTeaCakes said: Have you heard where and how they got here? No Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 13 Posted June 13 4 hours ago, Goozay said: What I found weird/novel was the amount of fans that left the ground in Athens when we went three-nil down. Just a weird reaction, especially when the bars stay open till 5 in the morning. If you think it’s weird/novel that fans left the ground early wait until you hear about a team of players from Edinburgh who recently done the same!! Quote
WeeJohnny Posted June 13 Posted June 13 19 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said: Checking the Denmark score in Greece on my phone was my best mobile experience ever. am I imagining did the team come back out to do the same. One of the funniest times at a footie match. I took my 23 year old son to that game. We are in the home end. We are losing and these loons behind us are (as I think) taking the p1ss and mocking as laughing. Im trying to keep the heid (my son watching me get redder and redder) but I eventually couldnt hold it in amy longer. Turned round to them (all blokes in late teens / twenties) 'ok your beating us but there's no need to gloat and take the p1ss". One of them in immaculate very polite English says "no no no, you dont understand.....have you seen the score'. "Yes I know the fecking score there's the fecking scoreboard so stop taking the p1ss". Son absolutely mortified. "No the score of the Denmark game" and shows me his phone. Wee Johnny W totally mortified. Son in hysterics. Quote
Goozay Posted June 13 Posted June 13 6 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: If you think it’s weird/novel that fans left the ground early wait until you hear about a team of players from Edinburgh who recently done the same!! This is the World Cup thread. Let it go. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 13 Posted June 13 23 minutes ago, Goozay said: This is the World Cup thread. Let it go. This is the World Cup thread. Save that for the movies and this board needs tunes threads Quote
fraz65 Posted June 13 Posted June 13 On 6/12/2026 at 7:13 AM, ceudmilefailte said: In answer to the original question, probably the Netherlands. Or the Argentinians. Quote
fringo Posted June 13 Posted June 13 https://www.facebook.com/reel/1547352823415694 Boston Police doing keepy ups with Scotland fans. Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted June 13 Posted June 13 6 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Just a Scotland pin. That’s honesty for you. Don’t believe there’s as many countries in the world as some Glengarries Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted June 13 Posted June 13 23 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said: Just a Scotland pin. That’s honesty for you. Don’t believe there’s as many countries in the world as some Glengarries I have 2 on the other side of my Glengarry mate.. There was one old fella in the pub here in Boston. His entire Glengarry was covered, even the tail. I dinnae know how he can even list his fuckin hied 😂😂😂😂 Quote
NE TA in the weeg Posted June 14 Posted June 14 I thought the atmosphere was pretty good last night, until the nerves kicked in around 65 minutes. I was as guilty as any other supporter by that point, I'd got nervous and wasn't joining in every song. The rendition of Flower of Scotland was an all-timer, though, there'll be video clips of that shown for years to come. Quote
fringo Posted June 14 Posted June 14 (edited) 16 minutes ago, NE TA in the weeg said: I thought the atmosphere was pretty good last night, until the nerves kicked in around 65 minutes. I was as guilty as any other supporter by that point, I'd got nervous and wasn't joining in every song. The rendition of Flower of Scotland was an all-timer, though, there'll be video clips of that shown for years to come. I'm at home and watched on TV. Flower of Scotland sounded superb. https://www.facebook.com/reel/1400918828538805 Edited June 14 by fringo Quote
fringo Posted June 14 Posted June 14 Loch Lomond https://www.facebook.com/reel/1573829994198219 Quote
PA5 JAG Posted June 14 Author Posted June 14 9 hours ago, NE TA in the weeg said: I thought the atmosphere was pretty good last night, until the nerves kicked in around 65 minutes. I was as guilty as any other supporter by that point, I'd got nervous and wasn't joining in every song. The rendition of Flower of Scotland was an all-timer, though, there'll be video clips of that shown for years to come. hard to get singing periods where match got nervy and bitty, plus after hours of mess gettin to stadium, the water breaks. Fans very mixed in our section n round about quite a lot of young kids, Haitians, Americans but FOS and the postmatch we were incredible and great at times during. I think in next 2 matches the boys will get the higher gears going at times. we're winning ugly sometimes these days n phuk it better than glorious failure. Plus feel we're due a performance against a big team Quote
PA5 JAG Posted June 14 Author Posted June 14 (edited) On 6/13/2026 at 10:51 AM, WeeJohnny said: One of the funniest times at a footie match. I took my 23 year old son to that game. We are in the home end. We are losing and these loons behind us are (as I think) taking the p1ss and mocking as laughing. Im trying to keep the heid (my son watching me get redder and redder) but I eventually couldnt hold it in amy longer. Turned round to them (all blokes in late teens / twenties) 'ok your beating us but there's no need to gloat and take the p1ss". One of them in immaculate very polite English says "no no no, you dont understand.....have you seen the score'. "Yes I know the fecking score there's the fecking scoreboard so stop taking the p1ss". Son absolutely mortified. "No the score of the Denmark game" and shows me his phone. Wee Johnny W totally mortified. Son in hysterics. "The SSC completely condemns the actions of one of its senior members, being held in a Greek jail accused of unjustly chinning several young home fans" 😂😂😂 Edited June 14 by PA5 JAG Quote
Boston Football Gal Posted June 18 Posted June 18 (edited) Yes! TA is the best! We love you TA! - A love letter from Boston Scotland fans' World Cup takeover lands Boston a new sister city Mayor Michelle Wu is establishing a partnership with Glasgow, formalizing collaboration between the two cites. By Marc Fortier and Asher Klein • Published June 18, 2026 • Updated 4 hours ago https://www.nbcboston.com/news/local/its-official-boston-and-scotland-are-getting-hitched/3967449/ “After a whirlwind World Cup romance, Boston and the city of Glasgow, Scotland, are getting hitched. Scottish fans have descended on Boston over the past week during the World Cup, drinking Boston pubs dry and marching to Red Sox games at Fenway Park. They've also been credited with bringing positive vibes to the city, and their stories have been shared in countless social media posts. Now, Boston is cementing that relationship by coming sister cities with the biggest city in Scotland, Glasgow. Mayor Michelle Wu announced the partnership with Glasgow at -- naturally -- The Haven, a Scottish restaurant located at a brewery complex in Jamaica Plain that's been a focal point for celebrations for the Scotland soccer fan group known as the Tartan Army. "We are both cities that are champions of arts and culture and innovation but also are willing to fight for it," Wu said. Wearing a pink Scotland jersey, she signed documents kicking off the sister city process while chanting a Tartan Army chant that's been ringing out around the Boston area: "No Scotland, no party." And the members of the Tartan Army adapted the chant, to "No Wu, no party." Edited June 18 by Boston Football Gal Quote
vanderark14 Posted June 19 Posted June 19 The only criticism I have of the scotland support is we are not angry enough when things go really shit. However, The support have been great ambassadors for the country so far and this world cup probably has more eyes on it than previous world cups. Glengarrys aren't for me and probably kilts aren't for me unless at a wedding nowadays but I wouldn't describe it as a "riddy" or "embarrassing" anymore, especially when you see the reaction of the host country and the media. Its now time for the team to repay this loyalty Quote
biffer Posted June 19 Posted June 19 2 hours ago, vanderark14 said: The only criticism I have of the scotland support is we are not angry enough when things go really shit. However, The support have been great ambassadors for the country so far and this world cup probably has more eyes on it than previous world cups. Glengarrys aren't for me and probably kilts aren't for me unless at a wedding nowadays but I wouldn't describe it as a "riddy" or "embarrassing" anymore, especially when you see the reaction of the host country and the media. Its now time for the team to repay this loyalty Life's too short to be that angry. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 19 Posted June 19 (edited) 8 hours ago, vanderark14 said: The only criticism I have of the scotland support is we are not angry enough when things go really shit. However, The support have been great ambassadors for the country so far and this world cup probably has more eyes on it than previous world cups. Glengarrys aren't for me and probably kilts aren't for me unless at a wedding nowadays but I wouldn't describe it as a "riddy" or "embarrassing" anymore, especially when you see the reaction of the host country and the media. Its now time for the team to repay this loyalty When fans do raise concerns and get angry at the team for being shite or when the perform poorly you and that other antagonistic waluper (that I don’t give the satisfaction of ever naming or replying to) are the first to criticise them Cosgrove summed the TA up perfectly years ago when he said words to the affect it was akin to a stag do on a fancy dress He was completely vindicated after the Gib game in Faro. Knocked out on a wimper 3 days prior and spent the entire game singing no Scotland no party with a bit of Erasure thrown in here and there for good measure and then staying back to applaud the team after another abject failure of a campaign Edited June 19 by DoonTheSlope Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted June 19 Posted June 19 10 hours ago, vanderark14 said: The only criticism I have of the scotland support is we are not angry enough when things go really shit. However, The support have been great ambassadors for the country so far and this world cup probably has more eyes on it than previous world cups. Glengarrys aren't for me and probably kilts aren't for me unless at a wedding nowadays but I wouldn't describe it as a "riddy" or "embarrassing" anymore, especially when you see the reaction of the host country and the media. Its now time for the team to repay this loyalty Some supporters have set the bar so low it’s impossible to fail. Quote