PA5 JAG Posted June 11 Posted June 11 (edited) *Wrote while listening to the start of Born Slippy on repeat * The World Cup chance we’ve dreamed of since childhood. We want Scotland through the group. We expect 100% from the players, on and off the park. Absolute focus on the objective. Total effort and smart decisions. Do we really match that? Some struggle to support when its going wrong. Others drink too much. Numb. Arms folded. Natural feelings cripple, or booze comedown. Some folk absolutely blootered... Or lost voices from singing prematch. Pointless, but u live and learn) Crucial qualifiers, play offs, tournaments. A few silent, crossed-arms... it spreads. 'We all say we'd give anything for Scotland to reach the knockouts... But are we giving everything?' Let's give the team support that blows the oppo's minds! 3 games to write history. 2 performances or 1 last gasp comeback might do. Nothing. Else. Matters. Those in the stadium are crucial. We might tip the balance! The squad are young men (mostly!). Under the cosh? Give them belief. Help them dig deeper. We fight. Go to the well again. And again. Failing vs. faster fitter players in the heat? Down by two? If it's looking bad, no matter what let’s give what we ask of the them. We're all together and it's not over yet. One to tell the grandkids, the TA helped swing it? Give the person beside you positivity. Give it everything. One objective. Choose love and belief. TA to the players!!! I'd walk a million miles, for one knockout round THEN we party. We can do this Scotland!! [If this comes across right, spread the msg. If not, say it better Feel daft posting, did it need said? phook it, worth a try. PS: Aye, sometimes folk go quiet from nerves, jetlag, frustrations etc. Totally. Can’t stop feelings coming. But we can control our run up to the match. We can do even better. Spent a fortune, sacrificed time, wages, family events, god knows else. Trekked across the world, slept in shcheizerholes… We all want to party. But let’s let rip AFTER the match. Party as hard as we pheckin like then!! 😀 ] Edited June 12 by PA5 JAG typos and PS Quote
glasgow jock Posted June 12 Posted June 12 (edited) There was a time when we where our national football teams 12th man - those days are long gone IMO Too many attention seeking twats in our support (these days), we all know the ones !! Edited June 12 by glasgow jock Quote
Orraloon Posted June 12 Posted June 12 Too many folk watching the game through their phones. I think some of them forget they are actually at the game. Folk used to miss goals because they were away for a pish or left the pub a wee bit too late. Nowadays loads of folk miss goals because they are too busy messaging their pals. Their pals might also miss it because they are too bust reading it. Put your phones away while the game is going. Your typing thumbs won't wither away if you don't use them for 45 minutes. Although each half is now closer to an hour with all the fannying aboot that goes on. Far too long for the attention span of anybody under 30. Mind you, at the WC the game is split into American style quarters, so you only have to put the phone away for 30 minutes at a time, before the next commercial break comes round. Try it out. You might just realise that your world doesn't fall apart if you don't look at a phone screen for a whole 30 minutes. Quote
ThistleWhistle Posted June 12 Posted June 12 If we’re shite again this tournament surely the reaction has to be different from last time where it just seemed to be accepted and everyone had a lovely wee jolly despite the football anyway. Quote
WeeJohnny Posted June 12 Posted June 12 Totally understand the sentiment behind this thread. Im 61 and apart from my family supporting Scotland is everything. Ive done it through all the years. Thick and thin. Some absolute daft places like khasakhstan. Zagreb where we were confused as we won (Snoddy) and didnt know what to do next as it was so unusual. In the last few years ive got depressed by the doom mongers. Take and enjoy where we are. We have a team and manager giving their all for each other, us fans and the country. Ok I know the Euros were hard going (spent two weeks there) but am I glad we qualified?....you bet. We have to remember we have a small squad of talented players the best ones at the euros were fecked before they started after the season for their clubs. Some, including a pal or two, sit folded arms from the start of a game and feels like they will almost revel if we fail. We cant really - we made it. To be fair and honest. I once did stop backing a scotland manager (even wrote to the paper). Anyone remember Bertie Vogts. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 12 Posted June 12 1 hour ago, glasgow jock said: There was a time when we where our national football teams 12th man - those days are long gone IMO Too many attention seeking twats in our support (these days), we all know the ones !! Correct. The shortbread tin mentality Short of sounding like the tartan army fashion polis here but it could be 25+ degrees in the likes of Spain and Portugal and you’ll still have the look at me brigade wrapped up in their piper jaikets The bigger the feather the bigger the arsehole Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 12 Posted June 12 12 minutes ago, ThistleWhistle said: If we’re shite again this tournament surely the reaction has to be different from last time where it just seemed to be accepted and everyone had a lovely wee jolly despite the football anyway. Some of us didn’t and still haven’t accepted it yet we’re constantly maligned for being disappointed in being served up inept and abject dugshite Quote
glasgow jock Posted June 12 Posted June 12 47 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: Correct. The shortbread tin mentality Short of sounding like the tartan army fashion polis here but it could be 25+ degrees in the likes of Spain and Portugal and you’ll still have the look at me brigade wrapped up in their piper jaikets The bigger the feather the bigger the arsehole I concur 100% & don't forget the hunners of badges on the Glengarry 🤣, absolute Riddy as far as i'm concerned, however each to their own Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted June 12 Posted June 12 In answer to the original question, probably the Netherlands. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 12 Posted June 12 2 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said: In answer to the original question, probably the Netherlands. Are the oranje army still on the go? Quote
WeeJohnny Posted June 12 Posted June 12 QED (in response to the original post and subsequent). Each of course to their own views. Quote
PA5 JAG Posted June 12 Author Posted June 12 I hear you all, and some valid comments/observations on replies. Btw, editing crashed on me yesterday, and I couldn’t then re-edit. E.g. was meant to say “Singing too much, too loud, two hours prematch. A mistake me and mates have definitely made!” And also, that it's often only a minority disengage during games or get too drunk, and hopefully just a noticeable but even tinier minority who get negative. I wasnae saying we’re bad generally. Phenomenal support at times! No saying we’re the best either, as one reply seemed to interpret it? 😊 No judgement or criticism from me. We all have our own experiences, scars and perspectives of supporting Scotland. Plus life stresses. Some folk will be on phones to loved ones that couldn’t be in the ground. Re: negative reactions, for some it’s not deliberate or even conscious. For some it's maybe frustration or anger with other, deeper roots. Just as example, If life dealt you a schhite hand as a child, or who knows what psychological things you didn’t choose. Or stuff we feel we can’t event tell our best mates. Some of us don’t have many mates 😊:D. Nobodies perfect, we’re all flawed. Just like our players, berating others no good to anyone - positive action and leading by example needed. Anyhow. Things like chants that most/everyone feel they can get behind when the football is pash, or the phones, or the few getting paralytic... change takes time. Hence wiz just saying we can prob all find something we can do better prematch. As individuals, families, groups of pals. So that during games we’re giving the players absolutely everything, and the lift they need during the tough times, not the good times. Even a few percent, multiplied by thousands of fans , is huge. We get one shot at this. Why has the font changed FFS!? Quote
PA5 JAG Posted June 12 Author Posted June 12 1 hour ago, ceudmilefailte said: In answer to the original question, probably the Netherlands. Fair shout pal. Some of the organised LATAM and eastern european countries have support sections that seem incredible at times. Or Japan? Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted June 12 Posted June 12 5 hours ago, Orraloon said: Too many folk watching the game through their phones. I think some of them forget they are actually at the game. Folk used to miss goals because they were away for a pish or left the pub a wee bit too late. Nowadays loads of folk miss goals because they are too busy messaging their pals. Their pals might also miss it because they are too bust reading it. Put your phones away while the game is going. Your typing thumbs won't wither away if you don't use them for 45 minutes. Although each half is now closer to an hour with all the fannying aboot that goes on. Far too long for the attention span of anybody under 30. Mind you, at the WC the game is split into American style quarters, so you only have to put the phone away for 30 minutes at a time, before the next commercial break comes round. Try it out. You might just realise that your world doesn't fall apart if you don't look at a phone screen for a whole 30 minutes. Checking the Denmark score in Greece on my phone was my best mobile experience ever. am I imagining did the team come back out to do the same. Quote
Orraloon Posted June 12 Posted June 12 5 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said: Checking the Denmark score in Greece on my phone was my best mobile experience ever. am I imagining did the team come back out to do the same. OK. there are exceptions to every rule. 😂 I'll let you off with that one. 😉 Quote
TDYER63 Posted June 12 Posted June 12 8 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said: In answer to the original question, probably the Netherlands. In terms of noise and originality , definitely. In terms of away fans turning up in numbers, even in times of absolute shiteyness , it has to be Scotland. Unfortunately at home games, there was more enthusiasm in shiteyness times than now. Denmark game aside. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 12 Posted June 12 12 minutes ago, TDYER63 said: In terms of noise and originality , definitely. In terms of away fans turning up in numbers, even in times of absolute shiteyness , it has to be Scotland. Unfortunately at home games, there was more enthusiasm in shiteyness times than now. Denmark game aside. 💅🏻 💅🏻 💅🏻 Quote
biffer Posted June 12 Posted June 12 It's like fight club. If you need to say you're the best, you're not. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted June 12 Posted June 12 5 minutes ago, biffer said: It's like fight club. If you need to say you're the best, you're not. Agreed. There’ll be 47 other fanbases across the pond saying the same Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted June 12 Posted June 12 2 hours ago, TDYER63 said: In terms of noise and originality , definitely. In terms of away fans turning up in numbers, even in times of absolute shiteyness , it has to be Scotland. Unfortunately at home games, there was more enthusiasm in shiteyness times than now. Denmark game aside. Pretty much spot on there. Although there wasn’t much enthusiasm when Costa Rica won at Hampden. But a support that makes the effort to get round the world the way we have despite the fact we’re not very good at the game is pretty impressive Quote
Goozay Posted June 12 Posted June 12 What I found weird/novel was the amount of fans that left the ground in Athens when we went three-nil down. Just a weird reaction, especially when the bars stay open till 5 in the morning. Quote