Malcolm Posted April 22 Posted April 22 4 hours ago, dan cake said: Couldn’t agree more, cringeworthy shite cant abide the teuchter shite…. If i can get football coverage and bbc london covers some scottish music they can stick the rest up their arse Quote
scotlad Posted April 23 Posted April 23 BBC Scotland have axed Michelle McManus and Len Pennie from their respective shows as part of a cost-cutting exercise. I can't see how that will save much money, to be honest, unless the former's contract includes unrestricted canteen access. 😏 Quote
Ally Bongo Posted April 23 Posted April 23 59 minutes ago, scotlad said: BBC Scotland have axed Michelle McManus and Len Pennie from their respective shows as part of a cost-cutting exercise. I can't see how that will save much money, to be honest, unless the former's contract includes unrestricted canteen access. 😏 Both Pro Independence Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 23 Posted April 23 1 hour ago, Ally Bongo said: Both Pro Independence Of course it’s all politically motivated in the wonderful world of Ally Bongo You’re no half posting some takes on here lately Quote
vanderark14 Posted April 23 Posted April 23 Football focus has been ditched today I haven't watched it in years but I've heard it was a terrible show nowdays Quote
fringo Posted April 23 Posted April 23 1 hour ago, vanderark14 said: Football focus has been ditched today I haven't watched it in years but I've heard it was a terrible show nowdays Sad in a way but seems to have had it's day. I've watched since I was a kid but much less so in recent years. Mostly recorded it in last 10 years and sometimes watched it later at my leisure or didn't bother and deleted it. With so much other football coverage it diminished its importance. End of an era but won't impact my life. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted April 23 Posted April 23 33 minutes ago, fringo said: Sad in a way but seems to have had it's day. I've watched since I was a kid but much less so in recent years. Mostly recorded it in last 10 years and sometimes watched it later at my leisure or didn't bother and deleted it. With so much other football coverage it diminished its importance. End of an era but won't impact my life. DEI box ticking it would seem Quote
Saint4805 Posted April 24 Posted April 24 (edited) People don't need to watch Football Focus to get match previews like in the past - they can get that information online via their own Youtube fan channels, apps and websites - it's pretty redundant now. That plus the fact that the BBC is too woke and politically correct for many people's liking. Most of the presenters and pundits will tow the line and just come out with boring soundbites and cliches. I'm no fan of Lineker but the BBC cancelling him because he criticised a few Tories on Twitter says it all about them as a right wing establishment organisation. Edited April 24 by Saint4805 Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 24 Posted April 24 40 minutes ago, Saint4805 said: People don't need to watch Football Focus to get match previews like in the past - they can get that information online via their own Youtube fan channels, apps and websites - it's pretty redundant now. That plus the fact that the BBC is too woke and politically correct for many people's liking. Most of the presenters and pundits will tow the line and just come out with boring soundbites and cliches. I'm no fan of Lineker but the BBC cancelling him because he criticised a few Tories on Twitter says it all about them as a right wing establishment organisation. It had been on a massive decline since Ray Stubbs left. I’m surprised it’s lasted as long as it has. So much so I didn’t even know it was still on the go until it got canned Quote
Toepoke Posted April 24 Posted April 24 (edited) 11 hours ago, fringo said: Sad in a way but seems to have had it's day. I've watched since I was a kid but much less so in recent years. Mostly recorded it in last 10 years and sometimes watched it later at my leisure or didn't bother and deleted it. With so much other football coverage it diminished its importance. End of an era but won't impact my life. Absolutely this. Football Focus then switching over to On The Ball (rebranded as Saint & Greavsie) was an essential start to Saturday afternoon back in the day. The only time I think I actively watched FF in recent years was to see what they said after the Denmark game, but there had been so much better content on YouTube etc. it was barely worthwhile. Edited April 24 by Toepoke Quote
scotlad Posted April 24 Posted April 24 28 minutes ago, Toepoke said: Absolutely this. Football Focus then switching over to On The Ball (rebranded as Saint & Greavsie) was an essential start to Saturday afternoon back in the day. The only time I think I actively watched FF in recent years was to see what they said after the Denmark game, but there had been so much better content on YouTube etc. it was barely worthwhile. Aye, it was essential viewing 25+ years ago but with the satellite stations and social media it's ended up looking like almost archaic. Like others have said, it's amazing it's lasted until now. Quote
Saint4805 Posted April 24 Posted April 24 I'm not sure whatever they replace it with is going to get more views. 12pm on Saturday isn't really prime time viewing for anything other than live sport as people tend to be out and about doing stuff on a Saturday. They seem to have Sunday morning reserved for politics programmes Saturday night for pish like Strictly. Quote
ThistleWhistle Posted April 24 Posted April 24 2 hours ago, Toepoke said: Absolutely this. Football Focus then switching over to On The Ball (rebranded as Saint & Greavsie) was an essential start to Saturday afternoon back in the day. The only time I think I actively watched FF in recent years was to see what they said after the Denmark game, but there had been so much better content on YouTube etc. it was barely worthwhile. YouTube has been a total game changer and watching BBC & Sky try to copy it is cringeworthy stuff Wee one has watched football stuff on it for about 5 years and at the start there was loads of knobheads basically bragging about getting dear seats/ hospitality at the big boys. There was a Spanish fella who got his mate tickets for the biggest game of the season but in the cheap seats. He on the other hand was over a grand on the hospitality package. His seat ended up being in the rafters with absolutely no atmosphere. His mate ended up with the nutters and when a last minute winner went in it was absolute carnage! Around then there was more and more ‘content’ going to random local clubs and trying to fit in with their support. I honestly think this is why the youngsters are into the Ultra stuff and there seems a bit less glory hunting. Our 9 aside ko is early Sunday as between the two teams 15 kids are going the Dundee derby Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted May 13 Posted May 13 On 4/18/2026 at 12:23 PM, DoonTheSlope said: Race around the world the Traitors are performative pish The birthday caird Pish interview segments “I’m doing this because I want to find peace within myself” Naw yer no you’re dain it for a free holiday and the chance to win a few quid The one show is a magazine show so covers a huge big genre of topics so it’s only natural that every episode won’t capture everyone every night. However when it covers a topic that one is interested it’s really interesting I watched the first episode of the latest series last night because they were supposed to be going to Istanbul and I’m heading there myself soon There was one young guy making up pieces for him and his travel mate and he said that if he buys a bottle of sauce it’s going to take his daily food budget up to £1.80. Fuck off. Just FUCK. OFF. Why the fuck do they need to carry those huge gigantic rucksacks for? A couple of legwears, handful of tops, a fleece and a waterproof is all they need. They don’t need to worry about chargers etc since technology gadgets are not permitted as part of the challenge As has been said before… performative pish Quote