Hertsscot Posted April 17 Posted April 17 (edited) So the BBC is planning to save £500 million https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cyv11lryv7ro Any ideas on where these cuts should be made? Edited April 17 by Hertsscot Quote
kumnio Posted April 17 Posted April 17 James Cook Glenn Campbell Gary Robertson Theres three for starters. Quote
exile Posted April 17 Posted April 17 Well aside from the usual gripes of BBC impartiality bias and licence extortion fee... I'm sure there must be lots of shows especially imports that are duplicated by other broadcasters and there is no need for a 'public service' broadcaster to provide them. I say 'especially imports' because why spend 'our' money on overseas shows we can get via other means, perhaps they should invest more in indigenous shows and talent, that no-one else would be investing in. And what about the internet services, like web news and sport, which duplicates what newspapers and sports sites provide, much for free. Do we really need a extortion licence fee to pay for those? Although I use BBC as a news source for football (more regularly than watching BBC tv!), I am not sure it is really worth adding to the licence extortion fee payer's burden to pay for. Quote
Saint4805 Posted April 18 Posted April 18 53 minutes ago, Orraloon said: I assumed the topic title was a spelling mistake. 😂 Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 18 Posted April 18 (edited) A view from the terrace Inside Glasgow central Pakky Bonnar Race around the world Attenborough Traitors Derek “he’s a plehr by the way” Ferguson Match of the day and sportscene with presenters. All that is a 15-30 minute slot showing highlights. As proven when Linekar got suspended and his mates spat the dummy Any celebrity special quiz show Chic Young Edited April 18 by DoonTheSlope Quote
Reidster78 Posted April 18 Posted April 18 Race around the world and Traitors are great telly. Can the one show. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 18 Posted April 18 4 minutes ago, Reidster78 said: Race around the world and Traitors are great telly. Can the one show. Race around the world the Traitors are performative pish The birthday caird Pish interview segments “I’m doing this because I want to find peace within myself” Naw yer no you’re dain it for a free holiday and the chance to win a few quid The one show is a magazine show so covers a huge big genre of topics so it’s only natural that every episode won’t capture everyone every night. However when it covers a topic that one is interested it’s really interesting Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 18 Posted April 18 How could I forget the killer dillers… Comic relief and children in need. Terry Wogan getting weighed in each year to present it b’fuck Quote
Hertsscot Posted April 18 Author Posted April 18 Maybe they could do it as a reality show. Just line up pundits, reporters, presenters and/or programmes etc and let the public vote Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 18 Posted April 18 1 minute ago, Hertsscot said: Maybe they could do it as a reality show. Just line up pundits, reporters, presenters and/or programmes etc and let the public vote Like man o man with Chris Tarrant Aye they could push them into a lava pool instead of a swimming pool though Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 19 Posted April 19 That’s yer man Kheredine Idessane under investigation for choring soup out the BBC canteen Some have been accusing him of being a soup taker for years… 🙃 Quote
fringo Posted April 19 Posted April 19 On 4/18/2026 at 7:56 AM, Orraloon said: I assumed the topic title was a spelling mistake. 🤣🤣🤣 Quote
vanderark14 Posted April 20 Posted April 20 On 4/18/2026 at 7:56 AM, Orraloon said: I assumed the topic title was a spelling mistake. 🤣 Quote
vanderark14 Posted April 20 Posted April 20 On 4/17/2026 at 8:35 PM, Hertsscot said: So the BBC is planning to save £500 million https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cyv11lryv7ro Any ideas on where these cuts should be made? Bin match of the day, money saved instantly Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 20 Posted April 20 I’d scrap presenters, commentators and pundits on football programmes Quote
duncan II Posted April 20 Posted April 20 Agree with you 100% on reality tv pish like Race Around Yhe World. Awful stuff. I hate seeing "real" people on these kind of shows. They're not real people in actuality, they're performative, selfie-generation, self-obsessed, self-possessed, greedy arseholes. Every one of them. Awful people. Also agree that pundits and commentators are not needed, certainly not co-commentators. And presenters on big money - crazy. Gonna stop agreeing with you now cos, at the end of the day, you're Doon The Slope and you have mental opinions on other stuff. 😀 Quote
Saint4805 Posted April 21 Posted April 21 We can't be far off replacing TV presenters, commentators and pundits with AI. Just let an AI Hazel Irvine present everything. They'll probably be able to bring dead commentators back to life and have them commentate on games too. Quote
fringo Posted April 21 Posted April 21 1 hour ago, Saint4805 said: We can't be far off replacing TV presenters, commentators and pundits with AI. Just let an AI Hazel Irvine present everything. They'll probably be able to bring dead commentators back to life and have them commentate on games too. I always thought Dougie Donnelly was AI ? Quote
StirlingEgg Posted April 21 Posted April 21 Just now, fringo said: I always thought Dougie Donnelly was AI ? 😂 I think he was when he did those Sterling Tillicoultry adverts. There was always a red fuzzy line round him. "Are you really there Dougie?" Quote
fringo Posted April 21 Posted April 21 4 hours ago, StirlingEgg said: 😂 I think he was when he did those Sterling Tillicoultry adverts. There was always a red fuzzy line round him. "Are you really there Dougie?" 😄 Quote
Malcolm Posted April 21 Posted April 21 Easy, scrap all regional stations like bbc scotland and bbc wales. Prob save that in those alone. Quote
Grim Jim Posted April 21 Posted April 21 6 hours ago, Malcolm said: Easy, scrap all regional stations like bbc scotland and bbc wales. Prob save that in those alone. You don't know why England spends money on them? Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 22 Posted April 22 Serie A on Alba. Sending somebody over to Italy each week to stand pitch side It beggars belief Quote
dan cake Posted April 22 Posted April 22 On 4/21/2026 at 3:38 PM, Malcolm said: Easy, scrap all regional stations like bbc scotland and bbc wales. Prob save that in those alone. Couldn’t agree more, cringeworthy shite Quote