slasher Posted April 11 Posted April 11 Are you one? If you are, know this. You're a cunt and you will never be anything else. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted April 12 Posted April 12 I wonder if there is anyway the SSC could track down who this is and kick them out of the SSC. Somehow I doubt it as argument would be they are playing the system to FIFA's tune. Quote
dan cake Posted April 12 Posted April 12 6 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said: I wonder if there is anyway the SSC could track down who this is and kick them out of the SSC. Somehow I doubt it as argument would be they are playing the system to FIFA's tune. Aye, supply and demand. Might be someone that’s had to cancel their trip and is just looking to claw back money for lost from flights/digs etc Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted April 12 Posted April 12 11 minutes ago, dan cake said: Aye, supply and demand. Might be someone that’s had to cancel their trip and is just looking to claw back money for lost from flights/digs etc In theory travel insurance should be in place in that case. Wasn’t too bothered about this but looking back my daughter was on 12points so border line for tickets. I would say the Supporters Club in some way should do something to address the matter as the only reason to join now is for tickets for away games. Even for home games unless you want a season ticket there is no guarantee of a decent seat , in fact unless you are prepared to gamble you will likely end up in awful seats. Quote
Silversand Posted April 12 Posted April 12 3 hours ago, kumnio said: Nobody will pay $6000 to see Scotland v Morocco surely. You can buy hospitality for Scotland Morocco for $3350 so you'd think that would be the ceiling. Quote
supersub Posted April 12 Posted April 12 FIFA promote what is effectively legalised touting but surely SSC should be in some sort of position to investigate. Totally sickening if SSC member has bought tickets to sell for profit with no intention of going, especially when SSC state that PMA tickets could not be transferred or sold. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted April 12 Posted April 12 5 hours ago, supersub said: FIFA promote what is effectively legalised touting but surely SSC should be in some sort of position to investigate. Totally sickening if SSC member has bought tickets to sell for profit with no intention of going, especially when SSC state that PMA tickets could not be transferred or sold. Spot on. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 12 Posted April 12 5 hours ago, supersub said: FIFA promote what is effectively legalised touting but surely SSC should be in some sort of position to investigate. Totally sickening if SSC member has bought tickets to sell for profit with no intention of going, especially when SSC state that PMA tickets could not be transferred or sold. The SSC are communicating misinformation then because clearly they can be transferred or sold. And they are As Mr Cake says above it could be someone who’s can no longer go to the states after having confirming their arrangements and are trying to minimise their losses. It could also be someone who is at it Either way one things for sure they aren’t doing anything wrong Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted April 12 Posted April 12 17 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: The SSC are communicating misinformation then because clearly they can be transferred or sold. And they are As Mr Cake says above it could be someone who’s can no longer go to the states after having confirming their arrangements and are trying to minimise their losses. It could also be someone who is at it Either way one things for sure they aren’t doing anything wrong Well it depends how you look at it. I am in SSC but got nothing with 13 points and had to get my tickets at over-inflated prices. Now I may have a Morocco ticket too many but if I sell it on I won't sell it for more than I paid to a Scotland fan. It's all about ethics. Quote
slasher Posted April 12 Author Posted April 12 14 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: Well it depends how you look at it. I am in SSC but got nothing with 13 points and had to get my tickets at over-inflated prices. Now I may have a Morocco ticket too many but if I sell it on I won't sell it for more than I paid to a Scotland fan. It's all about ethics. Correct, DTS doesn’t have any. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 12 Posted April 12 22 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: Well it depends how you look at it. I am in SSC but got nothing with 13 points and had to get my tickets at over-inflated prices. Now I may have a Morocco ticket too many but if I sell it on I won't sell it for more than I paid to a Scotland fan. It's all about ethics. FIFA supersedes the SSC. It’s their T&Cs which matter and as a result the person who has sold the ticket can do so with a clear conscience knowing they aren’t doing anything wrong You’re ploughing money into FIFA and supporting the very thing you’re claiming to be against yet you want to talk about ethics? Don’t make me laugh Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted April 12 Posted April 12 2 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: FIFA supersedes the SSC. It’s their T&Cs which matter and as a result the person who has sold the ticket can do so with a clear conscience knowing they aren’t doing anything wrong You’re ploughing money into FIFA and supporting the very thing you’re claiming to be against yet you want to talk about ethics? Don’t make me laugh You are one confused person. It's like a soldier who fought in World War 2. They weren't doing it for love of war but as a sense of duty if you will. I am going to the World Cup not for any love of FIFA but to support my country. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 12 Posted April 12 6 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said: You are one confused person. It's like a soldier who fought in World War 2. They weren't doing it for love of war but as a sense of duty if you will. I am going to the World Cup not for any love of FIFA but to support my country. Comparing a man going to war with going to the World Cup. Deary fuck You’re not going to support your country. You’re going to support a football team who just happen to represent your country You could always stand by the courage of your convictions and not go to the World Cup Gary Neville 2.0 FFS Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 12 Posted April 12 27 minutes ago, slasher said: Correct, DTS doesn’t have any. You’re chomping at the bit to go the World Cup and ploughing money into FIFA so like CC you’re supporting what you claim to despise yet you have the gaul to bring other peoples ethics into question Quote
slasher Posted April 12 Author Posted April 12 12 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: FIFA supersedes the SSC. It’s their T&Cs which matter and as a result the person who has sold the ticket can do so with a clear conscience knowing they aren’t doing anything wrong You’re ploughing money into FIFA and supporting the very thing you’re claiming to be against yet you want to talk about ethics? Don’t make me laugh FIFA have zero control over how the SFA run their supporters club. The SFA could easily have taken a stance against touting but they haven’t. In fact I’m not sure they have spoken up about how fans are being ripped off at all. At this point I’m not sure what the SSC is for or what it stands for. Nothing it seems. A guy on here recently told me he’s not in the SSC anymore. If he wants to go to a game he just buys off a 3rd party website. He ends up not really out of pocket by not having to go to pish like vs Japan the other week. He might just be on to something and if the SFA don’t figure out a way to make the SSC actually mean something more may follow his lead! Quote
slasher Posted April 12 Author Posted April 12 5 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said: You’re chomping at the bit to go the World Cup and ploughing money into FIFA so like CC you’re supporting what you claim to despise yet you have the gaul to bring other peoples ethics into question Don’t act like principles have anything to do with you not going. Quote
Caledonian Craig Posted April 13 Posted April 13 3 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: You’re chomping at the bit to go the World Cup and ploughing money into FIFA so like CC you’re supporting what you claim to despise yet you have the gaul to bring other peoples ethics into question Away Tae fuck eh? This is about a Scotland supporter in the SSC looking to sell tickets he has hoovered up from another fellow supporter. This has sod all to stances on FIFA this about a Scotland supporter actually acting worse than FIFA judging by what he is asking for the ticket. And he is actively looking to make big bucks from a fellow countryman. To you thats fine yet you claim you have principles. Quote
Malcolm Posted April 13 Posted April 13 it’s like many things in life when there is scarcity, people try and make the best profit for themselves. The scarcity has been created by fifa, they are the ones that have caused this type of behaviour, not the ticket seller. as soon as I saw how the whole set up was unfolding I decided I was out (also my pal who I have been going to Scotland games with for 30 something years was not going so it became a fairly easy decision to not try and get tickets). in the end it’s a few football matches, not life and death and I am really a peace with not going. This just confirms my decision and I am looking forward to watching on tv. interestingly, this year I have opted not to take the season ticket at Hampden. Partly as the games are at shitty times but also because I feel my love of going to national game waning. What’s the point of supporting the team all the way through qualifying if you can’t get a ticket to the ball. It’s scunnered me. however if it was me personally, I would have sold at face value. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 13 Posted April 13 12 hours ago, slasher said: FIFA have zero control over how the SFA run their supporters club The SFA/SSC have zero input into the terms and conditions of how FIFA sell their tickets 12 hours ago, slasher said: The SFA could easily have taken a stance against touting but they haven’t. In fact I’m not sure they have spoken up about how fans are being ripped off at all Agreed. As a members club the SSC and the SFA should have put on record its disdain of ticket prices 12 hours ago, slasher said: At this point I’m not sure what the SSC is for or what it stands for. Nothing it seems Agreed. I can’t remember when we renewed. It wasn’t Christmas there so assuming it was December 2024 I’ve purchased 1 ticket where it was a sell out ie. Denmark. After this membership period expires I’m out. It seems our subs are being used to subsidise the handling of Scottish cup and league cup tickets going by a post on here sometime ago 12 hours ago, slasher said: A guy on here recently told me he’s not in the SSC anymore. If he wants to go to a game he just buys off a 3rd party website. He ends up not really out of pocket by not having to go to pish like vs Japan the other week. That’s a no brainer. In Germany I got the Germany and Hungary games out the ballot for between £450-£650 each and the Switzerland game for around the £400 mark. That saved me spending hundreds of pounds per trip on travelling to the likes Georgia, Norway, Spain and Cyprus to secure much sought after ‘points’. More importantly it saved me from wasting holidays at work to travel back to places I’d already been(Cyprus excluded). If I still have the appetite come 2028 I’ll likely to the same 12 hours ago, slasher said: He might just be on to something and if the SFA don’t figure out a way to make the SSC actually mean something more may follow his lead! The SSC is long overdue a massive overhaul. The way it treats its members with contempt is disgusting. It was only recently someone on here got a row via a very abrupt email for chasing up an unanswered email. A card holding member paying their bi-annual dues should at the very least receive some respect Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 13 Posted April 13 12 hours ago, slasher said: Don’t act like principles have anything to do with you not going. That’s a very bold yet inaccurate assumption you’ve made there Ticket prices and organisation is one small part. I’ve never been to the USA and have never ever had any desire to visit either. When I do visit though I won’t have my schedule dictated around a group overpaid primadonas going through the motions Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 13 Posted April 13 8 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said: Away Tae fuck eh? This is about a Scotland supporter in the SSC looking to sell tickets he has hoovered up from another fellow supporter. This has sod all to stances on FIFA this about a Scotland supporter actually acting worse than FIFA judging by what he is asking for the ticket. And he is actively looking to make big bucks from a fellow countryman. To you thats fine yet you claim you have principles. The Scotland supporter in the SSC is acting in accordance with the T&Cs FIFA have set out and you as a consumer of over inflated tickets have only ratified their sales model even further If you want to use wild analogy’s like your going to war one then it’s like going to a fancy restaurant and ordering the steak tartare then jumping on social media to complain that it was raw. You knew what you were getting Suck it up big boy and get on with it and enjoy your trip to the World Cup or stand by the courage of your convictions, make a stand and sleep soundly with your credibility intact Instead you’ve hypocritically chosen to feed the monster and are supporting the very thing you’re claiming to be against then came on a message board throwing a tantrum like a petulant child calling other peoples viewpoints into question Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted April 13 Posted April 13 14 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: The SSC are communicating misinformation then because clearly they can be transferred or sold. And they are As Mr Cake says above it could be someone who’s can no longer go to the states after having confirming their arrangements and are trying to minimise their losses. It could also be someone who is at it Either way one things for sure they aren’t doing anything wrong Might not be doing anything wrong by the ticket T&C's but they are a cunt. Which is probably why you think they are doing nothing wrong ripping off follow fans. They don't need $7500 to cover flights/hotels for this mythical trip they've had to cancel Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted April 13 Posted April 13 1 hour ago, Squirrelhumper said: Might not be doing anything wrong by the ticket T&C's but they are a cunt. Which is probably why you think they are doing nothing wrong ripping off follow fans. They don't need $7500 to cover flights/hotels for this mythical trip they've had to cancel And as sure as night follows day the boards very own blowhard pipes in I was only agreeing with DanCake that someone has maybe had a change in circumstances. Loss of employment perhaps and they’re looking for some security to pay the mortgage and feed their family. Maybe it’s somebody who’s selling one match to claw back some cash because they’re going the other match/es or having followed the team for years to gain the points looking for a bit of recompense There’s a whole host of reason why somebody could be punting their match brief I also went on to say it could be someone who is at the ham and looking for a quick buck. But hey you conveniently chose to ignore that part so you could carry on your tradition of saying white when I say black Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted April 13 Posted April 13 3 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said: That’s a very bold yet inaccurate assumption you’ve made there Ticket prices and organisation is one small part. I’ve never been to the USA and have never ever had any desire to visit either. When I do visit though I won’t have my schedule dictated around a group overpaid primadonas going through the motions I'm amazed that Trumps number 1 fan boy on here has no desire to go to America. Quote