Daz1982 Posted November 12, 2014 Posted November 12, 2014 I had a paralysis dream where I work up and in a panic I reach to the door handle and my hand goes through the handle. I then woke up with a start. I get up to get a drink and the same thing happens, hand goes through the door handle. Again I wake up with a start. I'm now bricking it that I'm still in the dream, eventually sneak over to the door and to my relief I'm actually awake. Apparently people who see ghosts and aliens are having these type of vivid near real dreams. J Yes, I have experienced that too. So desperate to awake, finally think you have but then realise you are still dreaming!! Absolute nightmare!....pardon the pun! Quote
Daz1982 Posted November 12, 2014 Posted November 12, 2014 You are interesting! I have a sleep paralysis story but WTF did the goblin look like, best recollection please? And what happened with the 'thought you were dead' experience? (Death is not be shied away from.) Not sure if goblin describes it best. I could only see the head and shoulders of the figure, remember the head was really large and his (think it was a he) face was disfigured. I cant really remember any more details, wouldn't say he looked evil but he made me feel very uneasy. During my second episode I was lying face down on my bed. Again I got up and walked around my bedroom, nothing too freaky happened this time. Then I realised (thought) I was dreaming and could not wake up. I panicked and I remember thinking.....have I just died in my sleep! Just as I thought that I could feel my heart beating against the mattress, I was very relieved but could still not wake up. As someone else mentioned, during an episode you can 'wake' up many times before you actually do. Quote
Armchair Bob Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 For decades I've been having a recurring dream about an entire area of Stirling that doesn't actually exist: a network of streets full of high sandstone buildings that, in the dream exist between Dumbarton Road and the Back Walk. It's so consistent I could draw it or map it, and it's so convincing that it feels as if it should exist, but can't. Yeah I get that a lot. You are in a place but it looks completely different to the real place. Tenement blocks in the countryside, detailed streets of cities that not the real streets, etc. Quote
Armchair Bob Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 I used to get chase dreams a lot in my early teens. Loved them, as at that time in my life they were the only time I felt in control, free. Life is simple in chase dreams, run or be captured. Sometimes if I eluded capture for a while my parents would pop up and beg me to hand myself in to the authorities which would rile me and sap my ability to think straight. Don't think it needs much of a psychologist to work out what they were about. Quote
aljay Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 (edited) I'm on a plane that's is struggling to get any height and ends up having to fly between buildings, under tree branches and electric pylons. It's always a large passenger plane. More often than not the pilot somehow concedes we are in trouble. For some reason I see the scenery out of the front of the plane? Frighteningly vivid with me often realising this is it......I'm on those flights with you.Also, recognise the circular "waking from a dream but still asleep" situations. It's bizarre to be unable to wake yourself out of it. Edited November 13, 2014 by aljay Quote
Fairbairn Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 There's 2 I have quite frequently. In the first I'll be talking and feel something gritty in my mouth. I'll try to spit it out and then realise it's my teeth that are crumbling. I'll keep spitting and spitting but no matter how much I still can't clear my mouth of crumbled teeth. In the second I'm always running and for whatever reason jumping over obstacles on the way, puddles, small walls etc. The jumps get longer and higher each time until I'm almost sort of flying and in the dream I love that sensation. Eventually though I'll be jumping so long and high that I kind of lose control and start almost floating away, trying to grab on to anything to get me back down to earth. I always do but there's always a sense of panic that I'm not going to manage it and just keep floating away. Quote
Fairbairn Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 This is EXACTLY the experience I have had twice or maybe three times I think but probably more that I have forgotten. Have not had it for a while now. Last time I was sure someone was standing next to the bed, I got myself mentally ready to spin around and turn on the light and when I went for it, completely paralysed, could not even open my eyelids or move an arm. Felt like I was wide awake and shitting myself. Very intense feeling of fear that someone was in the room. Not sure how long it lasted. I had an experience on Christmas day maybe about 15 years ago. I dozed off on the couch and when I woke up I could hear my Dad and Brother chatting and the TV in the background. I just lay there with my eyes open listening to them talk pish and then went to join in the conversation. When I tried to talk I couldn't and when i tried to sit up or move I couldn't either. Literally the only part of my body I could move were my eyelids and it's really hard to attract peoples attention by blinking! This went on for what seemed like ages with me getting more and more panicked in my head but unable to do anything about. I eventually must have fell asleep again and when I woke this time everything was normal. I told my Dad and Brother what happened and there immediate reaction was that I was dreaming however when I told them what i'd heard them talking about they had had that conversation. It was really, really freaky and thankfully has never happened again, Quote
Scunnered Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 speaking of vivid dreams, has anybody here ever had an experience with sleep paralysis?......now that IS scary sh1t!! it has only happened to me on four occasions but I remember each one vividly, really hard to explain, each time has been slightly different. during an episode it is always hard to tell if you are dreaming or not. for example the first time it happened to me I got out of bed and began to walk around my bedroom, looked out the window, it was sunny outside and there was a horrible looking goblin type creature looking back at me. part of me knew I was only dreaming as it was night and should be dark outside but it was extremely difficult to get a sense of reality. it went on for what felt like forever before I finally woke up, it was absolutely terrifying! On another occasion, I actually thought I might be dead but I was lying face down and could feel my heart thumping against the mattress, so this reassured me. Like I say, it's difficult to explain. All I know is that I will be happy if I never have to experience it again. I'm Narcoleptic and have Sleep Paralysis about 4 times a night, usually 3 times when falling asleep and once when waking up. I've had it since I was a kid and learned to actually enjoy the experience... Now I'm an adult I've lost some of the control I had over the experience and it's back to being frequently terrifying Quote
KTA Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 There's 2 I have quite frequently. In the first I'll be talking and feel something gritty in my mouth. I'll try to spit it out and then realise it's my teeth that are crumbling. I'll keep spitting and spitting but no matter how much I still can't clear my mouth of crumbled teeth. I've had the exact same crumbling teeth dream for about 40 years !!! I heard it meant insecurity ? My other recurring dream is I've killed someone years ago and buried them in a shallow grave. Builders are now digging in the area and are about to discover it or the police have already found it and I'm shitting it that I'm going to get caught. Hope it IS only a dream ha ha ! Quote
Fairbairn Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 I've had the exact same crumbling teeth dream for about 40 years !!! I heard it meant insecurity ? My other recurring dream is I've killed someone years ago and buried them in a shallow grave. Builders are now digging in the area and are about to discover it or the police have already found it and I'm shitting it that I'm going to get caught. Hope it IS only a dream ha ha ! I heard anxiety but who knows. I dreamed last night that I got a girl from work pregnant at the Christmas party. The entire work ostracised me and the wife and family disowned me. It was really horrible and I was so relieved when I woke up. Needles to say i didn't tell the wife and I'll be removing my name from the Christmas party list later! Quote
Orraloon Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 I heard anxiety but who knows. I dreamed last night that I got a girl from work pregnant at the Christmas party. The entire work ostracised me and the wife and family disowned me. It was really horrible and I was so relieved when I woke up. Needles to say i didn't tell the wife and I'll be removing my name from the Christmas party list later! Have you got a photo of the burd? I'm guessing she's hot. Quote
Orraloon Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 My other recurring dream is I've killed someone years ago and buried them in a shallow grave. Builders are now digging in the area and are about to discover it or the police have already found it and I'm shitting it that I'm going to get caught. Hope it IS only a dream ha ha ! I think that one might come from watching too much Scoobydoo? Quote
Fairbairn Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 Have you got a photo of the burd? I'm guessing she's hot. She most certainly is!! Quote
Orraloon Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 She most certainly is!! You are probably safe enough going to the Xmas party then. Quote
Charlie Endell Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 My old dug (she died in 1994) keeps 'visiting' me in my dreams - that's the only recurring one I have. Quote
Fairbairn Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 You are probably safe enough going to the Xmas party then. Given that she's about 16 years younger than me that is an unfortunately accurate statement! Quote
Holty Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 Yeah I know my way around a chase dream and you are right. You ever get the fight dream where you can only punch in slow motion? Wow...... Never gave it much thought but I have had the slow punch dream all my life since I was a wee boy, frustrating as f@ck!!! Quote
Armchair Bob Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 Yeah I know my way around a chase dream and you are right. You ever get the fight dream where you can only punch in slow motion? Never had the slow punch dream. Used to have lots of dreams about monsters as a wee boy. However they were happy dreams, other people in the dream may have been afraid but I always killed the monster. Quote
ErsatzThistle Posted November 13, 2014 Author Posted November 13, 2014 My old dug (she died in 1994) keeps 'visiting' me in my dreams - that's the only recurring one I have. Once in a blue moon that happens with me too. Only it's our old cats I see. About once a year my Grandad, who died fifteen years ago, will make a special guest appearance in my dreams. Always the same. He's wearing his East Ren council janitor's outfit, slowly chewing on a Yorkie bar, he never makes a move or says a word, he just hangs around silently in whatever situation I'm in. I like it when a departed loved one appears in a dream. Leaves you with a nice, warm, fuzzy feeling when you wake up Quote
Tartan Eagle Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 (edited) When I was about 15, I had a golf ball marker that was blue with a white bird on it, and one night it featured in a vivid chase dream - a variation on a theme where I was bring pursued without ever knowing why. In this one, an axeman was after me and I was holding whatever it was he wanted in my hand. After an epic chase I was exhausted and dived into an empty warehouse. He was very close behind me now. I heard him follow me into the warehouse but I could see light under a door in the distance. I made a dash for it but fell over some crates. Suddenly he was over me. As he raised the axe, I opened my clenched fist - it was holding the blue golf ball marker with the white bird. I looked back at him as he started to drop the axe. I woke up in a sweat (aye, with a fever?) and my hand was clenched tight. I was so terrified that I didn't want to open my hand to see what was in it. I was breathing heavily as I eventually plucked up the courage and relaxed. There was, of course, nothing in it but a few white feathers. (Ok, I made up the last five words!). Edited November 13, 2014 by Tartan Eagle Quote
flynnyboy Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 This is EXACTLY the experience I have had twice or maybe three times I think but probably more that I have forgotten. Have not had it for a while now. Last time I was sure someone was standing next to the bed, I got myself mentally ready to spin around and turn on the light and when I went for it, completely paralysed, could not even open my eyelids or move an arm. Felt like I was wide awake and shitting myself. Very intense feeling of fear that someone was in the room. Not sure how long it lasted. Used to get sleep paralysis quite regularly. Scared the utter sh1t out me each time. Had to go to the docs to get sleeping tablets because I was that scared of going to sleep. Every time it was someone entering the room and then standing over me. On occasion they would try and choke me. You feel completely awake but can not move a muscle and when the choking happened you can't breath. When you eventually snap free out it/wake up it is extraordinarily frightening because it seems so real. I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy and rarely ever discuss it for fear of triggering my brain into its return. Give me a shit scary nightmare over that any day of the week. Quote
ErsatzThistle Posted November 13, 2014 Author Posted November 13, 2014 Once in a while I've experienced a quite strange sensation in my slumbers. Quite simply, I've woke up during the night for a minute or two, went back to sleep, woke up for another minute or two, went back to sleep, (repeat five times over) and all within a short space of time. When it happened I could breathe perfectly fine and my eyes were half open, I felt a strong urge to move my arms or legs but could only seem to do it very, very slowly or not at all. I'll then fully wake up with a jolt, my arms flailing everywhere. Is that sleep paralysis or something entirely different ? Not recurring dreams but two particularly macabre and darkly comic ones I remember from years gone by were: Being on a strange jungle planet with my pals from school, where we are being pursued by these big white, furry monsters with huge sharp teeth (like the snow monster from the beginning of The Empire Strikes Back). Anyway, the lads were almost safe and sound back at the spaceship (a modified McGills bus) but they needed a diversion to escape these bloodthirsty critters. So I heroically leapt out of my hiding place and allowed myself to be gored by this big, ravenous beast which tore my chest out with it's massive sword like teeth ! At that I woke up and found myself clawing after my own chest. And the one were I was an evil ..... Being in high school and a war starts. We see this huge mushroom cloud from a nuclear blast in the distance and everyone runs around in a massive panic. Conventional missiles then start dropping, one of my mates trips over his own fücking shoelaces and is atomised by an explosion. Walls start falling down on top of people and for some reason I'm the only one who keeps his cool. I calmly make my way to the brand new bomb shelter the school had conveniently just installed that day and shut the door. People then start hammering away at the door demanding to get in but I ignore their frantic cries and put my feet up. Quote
flynnyboy Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 that is quite a scary post flynnyboy. It was not like I was dreaming before hand either. I felt like I 'awoke' with an internal jolt almost because there was a noise, a 'creaking' or something audible and instantly I knew there was some intruder in the room... and quite close, almost standing over me. From that moment a few seconds pass while you steel yourself for action and then discover you can do nothing... And then after a period of deep fear...you somehow fall back asleep again. Yeah that's how it happened for me mostly, but always eventually woke, but on occasion it progressed into what I described above. It's fecking terrifying mate. I have done a fair bit of research into it as you would and it seems to occur when things are pretty shitty and your head is all over the place. I genuinely believe that it is the cause of most "ghost" sightings. Had the Internet/educated docs not been available for an explanation I would have been convinced it was an evil spirit or similar. Anyways I'm not gonna discuss it further so I apologise in advance. I really don't wanna think about it so close to bed time... Quote
Big Col Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 i went through a phase of having the 'naked in public' recurring dream. The plot was usually the same, I'd be stranded somewhere familiar but with no clothes on and I'd have to try and get home without being spotted. Kinda on the same subject - know how if you've been sleeping on your arm it goes dead and when you wake up it takes about 30secs to come back to life? One time I somehow managed to get 2 dead arms and the alarm goes off but with 2 dead arms I cant move. I just had to lie there laughing at the ridiculous situation - with the alarm bleeping away - until the feeling came back into my arms. Quote
Daz1982 Posted November 13, 2014 Posted November 13, 2014 I think that one might come from watching too much Scoobydoo?[/quote I have had that shallow grave one quite ac few times too, scary stuff! Never know who I have killed but know that I am about to be caught! Quote