Hertsscot Posted March 27 Posted March 27 I don't think we've got a thread open on tomorrow's game. Looking forward to seeing Japan as I've never seen them live. Should be a good test. In terms of what I hope we get, it's is no injuries and a good performance. Bit of game time for Miller, Patterson would be good. Quote
JECK Posted March 27 Posted March 27 Not got the best feeling going into this game tbh. We’ve been quite bad under SC in these types of fixtures - NI and Iceland at home spring to mind. Even though it’s valuable build up time we just never seem to get up for it. We will be interesting to see how we approach it - formation/system patterns of play etc. Quote
Johnnyshaker Posted March 27 Posted March 27 (edited) Japan will be a good test. I hope he finds the right balance with the starting line up. I'd like to see Hyam and Miller start, then McCrorie, Conway and Curtis to get a decent chunk of the second half at least. I've a feeling Gunn will play 90 mins but Bain deserves a shot (at least a half across the two games). Nothing against the guy but it'd be very disappointing if Ralston starts. The main thing for me with friendlies is that you've got to learn or develop a few things so whilst the result is important, it's more about seeing what works and what doesn't. Edited March 27 by Johnnyshaker Quote
davidrw Posted March 27 Posted March 27 Japan are always an interesting side to watch, very organized and disciplined with quick transitions. It should be a useful test for Scotland, especially in terms of defensive shape and fitness. Agree on giving players like Miller and Patterson some minutes, as these matches are ideal for building depth and assessing options. Quote
er yir macaroon Posted March 27 Posted March 27 I can see us losing 1-3 or the like. No big deal if we learn something from it and it works out for the finals. I’d be more confident in a competitive game against them. Quote
Tartan blood Posted March 27 Posted March 27 1 hour ago, er yir macaroon said: I can see us losing 1-3 or the like. No big deal if we learn something from it and it works out for the finals. I’d be more confident in a competitive game against them. I'll take that weird feeling we all got after getting beat off Netherlands. I.e a superb performance but then shipped goals after making too many substitutions. We learned a lot in that game, without taking too much of a confidence blow. I'm curious as to what Clarke intends to do at right back. You'd imagine he'll only take 1 out of the 3 to the world cup, assuming Hickey is fit. I suspect he really wants to take Patterson, but needs to have a proper look at him to make sure he hasn't lost it. Quote
Guest Scot1 Posted March 27 Posted March 27 (edited) I don’t think I’m alone in thinking that Clarke would’ve used these two friendlies to predominantly look at new/fringe players to add depth to the squad for the World Cup. There’s a couple in the squad, which is good, but it’s mainly our “usual” squad with a couple of exceptions. So what I’m hoping for, and hopefully this is why Clarke has picked this squad since it’s a squad that’s not very experimental, that will be very similar to the squad going to the World Cup Im hoping that Clarke, the coaches, analysts etc will have looked at our qualifying games and identified and are going to address the weak areas of our game. In particular I’d be looking at the 2 games against Greece and the games against Belarus and Denmark at Hampden. In my opinion the poor performances in these games share a common characteristic. And in my opinion it’s the Midfield. I think that’s pretty obvious. In the Belarus game, it was the wrong personnel and shape. Ferguson and Christie both missed out due to suspensions. It was a 4/2/3/1 with McLean and Gilmour as the 2 deep sitting midfielders with McTominay playing in front of them. I just don’t think Gilmour and McLean have the workrate, athleticism, physicality to play together and I don’t think we can afford to play with just 2 central midfielders, I think we need 3. I think we need to play 4/3/3 or 4/5/1 without the ball. The other games our 2 main problems, in my opinion were: 1 struggling against a high press. Playing out from the back. 2 composure from our midfielders, in particular Christie, McGinn and McTominay when picking up possession in our own half, at the edge of our own box. They invariably hold onto the ball too long, try to do too much and lose possession leading to us being camped in our own box and struggling to get out of our own half. How do we remedy this, we play 1 touch football, 2 touches maximum, in our own half. So that’s what I’d like to see in these 2 friendlies. Not seen Japan play in a while but they were always a high tempo, pressing team. So tomorrow is the perfect opportunity to get the players to try and play through a high press. Edited March 27 by Scot1 Quote
Ally Bongo Posted March 27 Posted March 27 Get your money on us getting a right chasing off Japan Quote
DesiScotsman Posted March 27 Posted March 27 Looking forward to the game and hoping to see the likes of Curtis, Hyam, Irving, Conway, Miller & Bain get some game time. Reckon the Japanese will be far too strong for us. FT Prediction: Scotland 2-4 Japan Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted March 27 Posted March 27 20 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Get your money on us getting a right chasing off Japan That's the spirit. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted March 27 Posted March 27 20 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said: That's the spirit. A bit of realism doesn't hurt ... Quote
kumnio Posted March 27 Posted March 27 Just read that the last home friendly that we won was beating Denmark in 2016, an entire decade ago. Is that right 🤔 Quote
Texas Pete Posted March 27 Posted March 27 5 minutes ago, kumnio said: Just read that the last home friendly that we won was beating Denmark in 2016, an entire decade ago. Is that right 🤔 Yeah that’s correct but I think we’ve only played 10 since then and a good few of them have been against big teams like Portugal and Netherlands although a few have been against pish teams as well like NI, Iceland and England. 😂 I don’t really care about our friendly record to be honest but it would be good to get a win tomorrow I suppose. A winning run and the mentality which comes from that would be ideal ahead of the World Cup. Quote
kumnio Posted March 27 Posted March 27 16 minutes ago, Texas Pete said: Yeah that’s correct but I think we’ve only played 10 since then and a good few of them have been against big teams like Portugal and Netherlands although a few have been against pish teams as well like NI, Iceland and England. 😂 I don’t really care about our friendly record to be honest but it would be good to get a win tomorrow I suppose. A winning run and the mentality which comes from that would be ideal ahead of the World Cup. I tried to think of someone that we had beat at Hampden, but was struggling. Finland, NI and Iceland were all disappointing to say the least. Not exactly confident of beating Japan tomorrow, although I think they are usually a very good side. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted March 27 Posted March 27 51 minutes ago, kumnio said: Just read that the last home friendly that we won was beating Denmark in 2016, an entire decade ago. Is that right 🤔 A championship John McGinn leading Scotland to a 1-0 win with a MOM performance Im sure it was Matt Ritchie that scored Quote
Tartan blood Posted March 28 Posted March 28 Clarke saying his selection will raise a few eyebrows. I'm wondering if that means Curtis will get a start. Maybe Patterson, Hyam, Conway? Can't see him making so many wholesale changes, but surely that comment means at least 1 or 2 curveballs. Quote
bdgsct Posted March 28 Posted March 28 1 minute ago, Tartan blood said: Clarke saying his selection will raise a few eyebrows. I'm wondering if that means Curtis will get a start. Maybe Patterson, Hyam, Conway? Can't see him making so many wholesale changes, but surely that comment means at least 1 or 2 curveballs. I expect that comment means he will rest a few big names. Japan likely to do the same before playing England first team on Tuesday. McTominay and Mcginn have played a lot since returning from injury. Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted March 28 Posted March 28 13 hours ago, Texas Pete said: Yeah that’s correct but I think we’ve only played 10 since then and a good few of them have been against big teams like Portugal and Netherlands although a few have been against pish teams as well like NI, Iceland and England. 😂 I don’t really care about our friendly record to be honest but it would be good to get a win tomorrow I suppose. A winning run and the mentality which comes from that would be ideal ahead of the World Cup. Do you go to the friendlies? Quote
Tartan blood Posted March 28 Posted March 28 38 minutes ago, bdgsct said: I expect that comment means he will rest a few big names. Japan likely to do the same before playing England first team on Tuesday. McTominay and Mcginn have played a lot since returning from injury. You'd imagine that would mean Hanley will also be sitting out since he has only just got back from injury as well. McT (67) and McGinn (83) are probably quite conscious of their cap count, so I'm sure they'll make an appearance, even if they don't start. McT is 2 caps away from the top 10 of all time. And McGinn probably has his sights on getting into triple figures. Quote
Burj_Alba Posted March 28 Posted March 28 33 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said: Do you go to the friendlies? Thank God for the Nations League, it has got rid of most of these meaningless friendlies, our record in NL is not too shabby, friendlies record is terrible. Quote
StirlingEgg Posted March 28 Posted March 28 Booked the Alishan for before the match and getting the train at lunchtime so hoping it's a nice wee day oot 🙂 Quote
ceudmilefailte Posted March 28 Posted March 28 2 hours ago, Burj_Alba said: Thank God for the Nations League, it has got rid of most of these meaningless friendlies, our record in NL is not too shabby, friendlies record is terrible. 100% obviously more competitive games mean improvement in the team hence qualification to tournaments leading to more meaningful games. Quote
Texas Pete Posted March 28 Posted March 28 3 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said: Do you go to the friendlies? Most of them. The ones at Hampden anyway. Why do you ask? Quote
Texas Pete Posted March 28 Posted March 28 3 hours ago, Burj_Alba said: Thank God for the Nations League, it has got rid of most of these meaningless friendlies, our record in NL is not too shabby, friendlies record is terrible. Agreed but our record in friendlies doesn’t really matter as long as we learn something. Friendlies should be for trying new things. Any manager who tries to win a friendly at all costs without experimenting with new players or tactics etc. needs a boot in the baws. I suppose there are exceptions like games against England and the like but does it really matter if we beat Japan today? I’d rather Clarke tried some different things and we lost than treating the game like one we have to win. Quote
mariokempes Posted March 28 Posted March 28 Stirling Albion 🤝 Japan Football Did you know... Stirling Albion FC were the first professional British football team to visit Japan! 🏴🇯🇵 Scotland's upcoming friendly against Japan marks 6⃣0⃣ years since the Binos travelled to the Far East. Quote