jailender Posted March 22 Posted March 22 What is the point of these chancers? Seems to me that anyone can con 1000s of gullible folk to line their pockets. Quote
bonzo Posted March 23 Posted March 23 6 hours ago, jailender said: What is the point of these chancers? Seems to me that anyone can con 1000s of gullible folk to line their pockets. Modern day snake oil salesmen, thriving off people who don't have the ability to think for themselves. Quote
RDFH64 Posted March 23 Posted March 23 2 hours ago, bonzo said: Modern day snake oil salesmen, thriving off people who don't have the ability to think for themselves. 100% correct. It’s getting scary how many people nowadays can’t think for themselves & believe everything they see or hear online. Then there’s all these warnings about weather (hot, wet, windy or cold) broadcast to scare the shit out of the masses. We’re becoming a bunch of zombies following all the bullshit broadcast to make us totally dependent on our controllers, we are doomed. Sorry for the doom & gloom but it is Monday morning 🤪 Quote
TDYER63 Posted March 23 Posted March 23 😂 I cant see much support for them in a board mainly dominated by baby boomers and gen x posters. Cant say I care much for the idea but I just see them as modern day marketing . They are a by product of modern forms of communication to the masses. I am not frequently on any of the sites that use them like instagram or tiktok so dont really have much involvement with them. Quote
Saint4805 Posted March 23 Posted March 23 Terminology is important here. For example all YouTubers aren't necessarily influencers, at least not by design. I wouldn't call travel vloggers influencers. While people like Tate are clearly sinister scumbags, platforms like YouTube offer an alternative media platform for people to make a living that they wouldn't otherwise be able to make. My understanding is that mainstream media is rotten to the core and very hard to break into. It rarely promotes people based on merit and other than some token box ticking DEI hires, you have to be very well connected or a nepo baby to get anywhere. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted March 23 Posted March 23 I don’t get it myself but you can’t argue with the impact they’ve had on certain things Ive been eating baked tatties with different toppings for 40 years but since people started filming themselves selling them baked tatties are everywhere now and are all the rage Before that it was pistachio, Dubai chocolate and before that it was gin that was all the rage Quote
RDFH64 Posted March 23 Posted March 23 1 hour ago, TDYER63 said: 😂 I cant see much support for them in a board mainly dominated by baby boomers and gen x posters. Cant say I care much for the idea but I just see them as modern day marketing . They are a by product of modern forms of communication to the masses. I am not frequently on any of the sites that use them like instagram or tiktok so dont really have much involvement with them. They’re not just online tho, every second tv programme is full of them 😵💫 Quote
Ally Bongo Posted March 23 Posted March 23 Have to admit i did laugh when an influencer called G K Barry was invited onto the ITV Cheltenham coverage Twatter was awash asking who the goalkeeper was Quote
TDYER63 Posted March 23 Posted March 23 34 minutes ago, RDFH64 said: They’re not just online tho, every second tv programme is full of them 😵💫 I have to be honest and say I rarely watch normal tv these days , i just tend to watch box set type shows and films , and never watch anything that might involve influencers. Its more to do with my age than anything else right enough , they just don’t interest me. It is actually possible to avoid all that stuff but it does mean keeping your viewing to a limited source which is probably a bit insular. Quote
Malcolm Posted March 23 Posted March 23 I watch the news, some music documentaries and some sports. The rest is utter drivel. I do watch old shows on bbc archive such as arena, world in action, etc. I try and tell my daughters that they will rot their brains if the watch love island. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted March 23 Posted March 23 12 hours ago, jailender said: What is the point of these chancers? Seems to me that anyone can con 1000s of gullible folk to line their pockets. Shouldn’t this be in the TA Specific section about the SFA? Quote
dan cake Posted March 23 Posted March 23 50 minutes ago, TDYER63 said: I have to be honest and say I rarely watch normal tv these days , i just tend to watch box set type shows and films , and never watch anything that might involve influencers. Its more to do with my age than anything else right enough , they just don’t interest me. It is actually possible to avoid all that stuff but it does mean keeping your viewing to a limited source which is probably a bit insular. Aye, they’re only there if you let them be there. Turn the tv off put the phone away etc Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted March 23 Posted March 23 4 hours ago, dan cake said: Aye, they’re only there if you let them be there. Turn the tv off put the phone away etc I barely watch the tele now Ill put pointless on when I get in then STV news for some background as I’m making the tea. I’ll watch the one show then I’m starting to think about getting my piece ready for the next day and getting myself to bed to watch YouTube The teles pish. Even at Christmas and on a Sunday I’ll find myself watching UK Gold Quote
McTeeko Posted March 23 Posted March 23 7 hours ago, RDFH64 said: They’re not just online tho, every second tv programme is full of them 😵💫 I binned Sky Sports over a year ago due to not only the fitba being boring pish, the ‘analysis’ was done by some unknown (at least in my world) YouTube fuckface instead of Graeme Souness or Thierry Henry. Quote
scotlad Posted March 24 Posted March 24 On 3/23/2026 at 12:37 PM, DoonTheSlope said: Shouldn’t this be in the TA Specific section about the SFA? 😂 Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted March 24 Posted March 24 23 hours ago, McTeeko said: I binned Sky Sports over a year ago due to not only the fitba being boring pish, the ‘analysis’ was done by some unknown (at least in my world) YouTube fuckface instead of Graeme Souness or Thierry Henry. They got rid of the whole panel apart from one because they were too male, pale and stale but kept Paul Merson because of his “protected characteristic” Matt Le Tissier got punted because he wouldn’t cow-tow to the Black Lives Matter grift Quote
phart Posted March 25 Posted March 25 and Covid he was still getting gigs after he refused to wear the BLM badge but it dried up after his social media posts about covid and all that. His BLM stance was against the way it was organised and various political aspects as opposed to against fighting agaisnt racism. Which while contrarian of the zeitgeist and ofc would get zealots frothing at the mouth, not a big deal. You get the same shit when someone doesn't want to wear a poppy. His covid stuff was just scientifically illiterate and innumerate though. So maybe an excuse or another straw on the camels back. Great player would fail every science exam ever devised. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted July 15 Posted July 15 This boy has been queuing overnight in Edinburgh for a baked tattie and the shop still had 3 hours till it opened. Look at the queue all the way up Lothian Road Somebody really needs to explain to me like I’m a 3 year old what the sudden fascination with baked tatties is all of a sudden Everywhere you go it’s baked tattie this and baked tattie that and shops and vans popping up all over the place Quote
Hertsscot Posted July 15 Posted July 15 I'll pass on that one. It's not like they're difficult to make at home. Quote
phart Posted July 15 Posted July 15 I've just had one for my lunch, made it myself. I would say we're all influenced by something external. Just have a look at the direct pipeline from social media to here. Quote
dan cake Posted July 18 Posted July 18 I’m I right in thinking the two cunts that took the traffic cone to Boston weren’t even there in the first place? If so utter cock wombles Quote
shaddypeekey Posted July 20 Posted July 20 On 7/18/2026 at 1:38 AM, dan cake said: I’m I right in thinking the two cunts that took the traffic cone to Boston weren’t even there in the first place? If so utter cock wombles Am I the only one who thinks taking a traffic cone to Boston is cringey as fuck? They do look like a pair of fuds. Is the one with the moustache the same boy who does Scotlands best homes? Quote
dan cake Posted July 20 Posted July 20 1 hour ago, shaddypeekey said: Am I the only one who thinks taking a traffic cone to Boston is cringey as fuck? They do look like a pair of fuds. Is the one with the moustache the same boy who does Scotlands best homes? He is and it was Quote