Trainers - Page 2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Used to wear NB 574 for work as I'm on my feet all day and they're very comfy but they're hard to get in my size 13. Now wear Adidas run 60 which are pretty similar  to 574.

For the dancing 😆 I've got a couple of pairs of Onitsuka Tigers Mexico 66 and a pair of Adidas Japan both of which are the comfiest trainers I've ever had.

• Replies 63

10 minutes ago, bonzo said:

For the dancing 😆 I've got a couple of pairs of Onitsuka Tigers Mexico 66

I've got a dark brown pair of them on top of the wardrope that i have hardly worn since i bought them about 10 year ago from M&M direct for about £30 

I see they are now £150 for a pair lol - which is a farce 

As for size 13 - Are you OddBod from Carry on Screaming ? 

I thought my 10-11 feet were big !

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, dan cake said:

I struggle to interact with people who wear sketchers, have they just given up on life? 

Aye

I have a pair of skechers, shit for long walks and that mind. Kicking about up and down to my grans easy mode though

5 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

I really like the Sambas, Gazelles and Spezial etc but feel they can be a bit uncomfortable and quite "flat", not offering much in the way of cushion/support.  Mibbe I'm just getting old (spoiler, I'm getting old!).  Got a pair of Munchen and they squeak and creak like crazy too.

Also saw the white/gold Forest Hills have been reissued.  Had a pair of them back in the day and loved them so will probably pick up another pair at some point!

I’ve been really disappointed with my last couple of pairs of Adidas. They still look good but as Squirrelhumper says the quality isn’t the same, especially the Sambas. The padding around the ankle and tongue doesn’t seem to be what it used to be. It would put me off buying them again unless I really couldn’t resist the look.

3 minutes ago, phart said:

Aye

I have a pair of skechers, shit for long walks and that mind. Kicking about up and down to my grans easy mode though

Gaun the Skecher auld team! 😂

3 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

I've got a dark brown pair of them on top of the wardrope that i have hardly worn since i bought them about 10 year ago from M&M direct for about £30 

I see they are now £150 for a pair lol - which is a farce 

As for size 13 - Are you OddBod from Carry on Screaming ? 

I thought my 10-11 feet were big !

🤣🤣🤣 if only I had that much hair. 

3 hours ago, slasher said:

Gaun the Skecher auld team! 😂

I forgot to say they are the slip on ones as well. I can't even argue against Dan Cake.

48 minutes ago, phart said:

I forgot to say they are the slip on ones as well. I can't even argue against Dan Cake.

One “step” away from Crocs 🙄 

9 hours ago, dan cake said:

One “step” away from Crocs 🙄 

Nah that's a step too far. I've never considered Crocs.

On 2/25/2026 at 10:31 AM, McTeeko said:

New Balance just strike me as auld men’s trainers. I know they’re trendy, expensive and popular, but something just doesn’t sit right with me in regards to them. 

You’ve got me searching them up though……

That's how i view a lot of Adidas now. 

Especially when you see those hideous Scotland Gazelles/Celtic Spezial versions 

23 hours ago, StirlingEgg said:

👍 I always liked the Trimm-Trabs but don't think they're available new anymore. 

Proper trainers, as were the original forrest hills. 

The re-releases no so much. 

2 hours ago, StirlingEgg said:

Fine for weans or working in a mortuary but that's it 😄

2 hours ago, dan cake said:

De rigueur for fat female American tourists 

Ahem. Worn in Germany by a certain Scottish 9 st 10 wummin….

IMG_0563.thumb.jpeg.1e59c0656fb6f730bb05b7c980494c07.jpeg

21 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

Also saw the white/gold Forest Hills have been reissued.  Had a pair of them back in the day and loved them so will probably pick up another pair at some point!

I've a pair from 20 odd years ago and still decent. The re-leases aren't great, the soles were never great but these look a lot worse. 

18 hours ago, dan cake said:

I struggle to interact with people who wear sketchers, have they just given up on life? 

Matt Fitzpatrick is sponsored by them. If ever a golfer suited that sponsor! 

18 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I've a pair from 20 odd years ago and still decent. The re-leases aren't great, the soles were never great but these look a lot worse. 

Aye that's when I had mine.  Bizarrely remember it as I had them when I was in South Africa when the 2006 World Cup was on.  And remember driving through a town called Forest Hills while wearing them! 🤯😆 

4 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Matt Fitzpatrick is sponsored by them. If ever a golfer suited that sponsor! 

All golfers are boring that’s why they dress like clowns

On 2/25/2026 at 10:31 AM, McTeeko said:

New Balance just strike me as auld men’s trainers. I know they’re trendy, expensive and popular, but something just doesn’t sit right with me in regards to them. 

You’ve got me searching them up though……

Too much plastic around the heel imo 

On 2/25/2026 at 12:57 PM, Fairbairn said:

I really like the Sambas, Gazelles and Spezial etc but feel they can be a bit uncomfortable and quite "flat", not offering much in the way of cushion/support.  Mibbe I'm just getting old (spoiler, I'm getting old!).  Got a pair of Munchen and they squeak and creak like crazy too.

I got a pair of Sambas for the Euros in Germany and they squeaked and creaked like crazy as well. A good slaigering with dubbin cured them.

3 hours ago, dan cake said:

All golfers are boring that’s why they dress like clowns

Oi

I’m currently browsing Gazelle & Sambas for the new season.