slasher Posted February 24 Posted February 24 (edited) The original trainers thread, which I think I started as well, has been archived, so hence a new yin. So, to the point……my New Balance trainers died on holiday last year (I wore them somewhere I shouldn’t have and I couldn’t salvage them). I can’t remember what number they were and they’re probably discontinued anyway. They were however the comfiest and best trainers I’ve ever had. So I’m looking to replace them again after a couple of failed attempts. I’m looking for something good for walking and moderate running but that are sexy enough for general wear. There’s quite a few new brands on the go I’ve noticed since I last looked…….so come at me with your recommendations! Edit to add, I like the look of the 574’s but I’m open to trying a different brand. Edited February 24 by slasher Quote
slasher Posted February 24 Author Posted February 24 13 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Don't get it Yeah, I’ve no idea how that Irish newspaper article became attached and then below it are two shit jokes! Bizarre. Quote
dan cake Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Do you not fancy a pair of those slip on Sketchers?, Jamie says they’re Barrie Quote
dandydunn Posted February 24 Posted February 24 About time you posted something sensible 😬 I like a trainer. Quote
McTeeko Posted February 24 Posted February 24 2 minutes ago, dandydunn said: About time you posted something sensible 😬 I like a trainer. “Think I’ll put the red Gazelles on today”. How the fuck do you know what box they’re in?!? Quote
dandydunn Posted February 24 Posted February 24 2 minutes ago, McTeeko said: “Think I’ll put the red Gazelles on today”. How the fuck do you know what box they’re in?!? They’ve got labels on them and are arranged by range, colour etc Quote
StirlingEgg Posted February 24 Posted February 24 I like 574s so as long as you don't mind unisex footwear styles then would recommend 😃 Quote
dandydunn Posted February 24 Posted February 24 If it’s comfort, I’d recommend these. New Balance 530 Adidas ZX500rs or ZX750 Asics & Saucony do comfort & running Puma V2 smash, very comfortable Diadora Titan or Camaro Special mention to Adidas Quesence, they were the start of my collection Quote
dandydunn Posted February 24 Posted February 24 These are comfy too for NB https://www.sneakinpeace.com/products/new-balance-x-stone-island-mens-made-in-usa-998-burgundy-low-top-sneakers Quote
slasher Posted February 25 Author Posted February 25 12 hours ago, dan cake said: Do you not fancy a pair of those slip on Sketchers?, Jamie says they’re Barrie Erm, that would be a no. 8 hours ago, dandydunn said: If it’s comfort, I’d recommend these. New Balance 530 Adidas ZX500rs or ZX750 Asics & Saucony do comfort & running Puma V2 smash, very comfortable Diadora Titan or Camaro Special mention to Adidas Quesence, they were the start of my collection Thanks for that Dd, that’s really helpful. Im sure I went to buy NB 530 last time but ended up with something else because they were out of stock. I’ll go to Livingston at the weekend, they’ve got NB, adidas & under armour stores as well as all the usual outlets 👍 10 hours ago, StirlingEgg said: I like 574s so as long as you don't mind unisex footwear styles then would recommend 😃 They certainly look good 👍 Quote
dandydunn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 Livingston has an adidas shop???? Oh fuck, she could be in trouble next time I drive to Livi away 🙈 Quote
McTeeko Posted February 25 Posted February 25 53 minutes ago, dandydunn said: Livingston has an adidas shop???? Oh fuck, she could be in trouble next time I drive to Livi away 🙈 Aye, it’s no great though. Loads of last seasons fitba strips and the trainers are ones they cannae sell normally. Don’t expect there to be any Originals stuff either. It’s in an outlet centre for a reason. Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted February 25 Posted February 25 12 hours ago, dandydunn said: About time you posted something sensible 😬 I like a trainer. I used to never buy anything but Adidas and have 30+ pairs but not bought a pair in a few years, quality has gone right downhill, especially in the spezials etc. Still wear them but NB/Nike/Saucony far better quality IMO now. Quote
TDYER63 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 15 hours ago, slasher said: The original trainers thread, which I think I started as well, has been archived, so hence a new yin. So, to the point……my New Balance trainers died on holiday last year (I wore them somewhere I shouldn’t have and I couldn’t salvage them). I can’t remember what number they were and they’re probably discontinued anyway. They were however the comfiest and best trainers I’ve ever had. So I’m looking to replace them again after a couple of failed attempts. I’m looking for something good for walking and moderate running but that are sexy enough for general wear. There’s quite a few new brands on the go I’ve noticed since I last looked…….so come at me with your recommendations! Edit to add, I like the look of the 574’s but I’m open to trying a different brand. I had no idea what 574’s were so googled them. They tick the ‘sexy’ box but cant see how they would be comfortable enough to run in unless it was just to escape from Parkhead , they dont look particularly cushioned . I have asics gel nimbus. They are probably not going to win you any fashion awards but they are by far the comfiest trainers I have ever had. I wouldn’t buy anything else now for exercise . Quote
McTeeko Posted February 25 Posted February 25 New Balance just strike me as auld men’s trainers. I know they’re trendy, expensive and popular, but something just doesn’t sit right with me in regards to them. You’ve got me searching them up though…… Quote
StirlingEgg Posted February 25 Posted February 25 1 minute ago, McTeeko said: New Balance just strike me as auld men’s trainers. I know they’re trendy, expensive and popular, but something just doesn’t sit right with me in regards to them. You’ve got me searching them up though…… 😐😂 The more popular they get the more trainers wander into old man/woman territory! Like the crap stiff looking versions in Sports Direct. Everyone across all age groups are wearing Adidas now, mainly Gazelles or Sambas. I don't know if that always used to happen with trends. Quote
Fairbairn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 Probably not what you're looking for but I've got a couple of pairs of Adidas SL 72's and they are the comfiest trainers I've had for ages. Also got a pair of Puma RX 737s that aren't a million miles away style wise from the NB 574s and they are also dead comfy and close to half the price. In terms of running/gym trainers, I bought a pair of Puma Nitro Velocity recently and they're probably the best running shoes I've had. Quote
dandydunn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 31 minutes ago, Fairbairn said: Probably not what you're looking for but I've got a couple of pairs of Adidas SL 72's and they are the comfiest trainers I've had for ages. Also got a pair of Puma RX 737s that aren't a million miles away style wise from the NB 574s and they are also dead comfy and close to half the price. In terms of running/gym trainers, I bought a pair of Puma Nitro Velocity recently and they're probably the best running shoes I've had. Ive been hovering over SL72 for a couple of week now, got vouchers for Xmas/birthday for adidas, but im still waiting in hope they release the Tobacco x Stone Roses collab on there. 1 hour ago, Squirrelhumper said: I used to never buy anything but Adidas and have 30+ pairs but not bought a pair in a few years, quality has gone right downhill, especially in the spezials etc. Still wear them but NB/Nike/Saucony far better quality IMO now. Would agree with the quality aspect, where as I’ve never had any issues, I’ve seen many badly stitched pairs on fb pages, usual story, highly sought after trainers and they know the can charge what they want and forget about the actual quality. Im just happy I won 7 pairs of my Spezials last year and never paid retail for them all, the resale is outrageous in some of them. Quote
dandydunn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 40 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: 😐😂 The more popular they get the more trainers wander into old man/woman territory! Like the crap stiff looking versions in Sports Direct. Everyone across all age groups are wearing Adidas now, mainly Gazelles or Sambas. I don't know if that always used to happen with trends. Handball Spezial is where it’s at now. I’ve 3 pairs and the missus has 3-4 pairs now too and loves them. Quote
StirlingEgg Posted February 25 Posted February 25 10 minutes ago, dandydunn said: Handball Spezial is where it’s at now. I’ve 3 pairs and the missus has 3-4 pairs now too and loves them. 👍 I always liked the Trimm-Trabs but don't think they're available new anymore. Quote
dandydunn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 1 hour ago, StirlingEgg said: 👍 I always liked the Trimm-Trabs but don't think they're available new anymore. Don’t think so, only got one of those and it’s the Merseyside edition, with coordinates of anfield inside, they obviously came out with Everton blue ones too. Quote
Fairbairn Posted February 25 Posted February 25 1 hour ago, dandydunn said: Handball Spezial is where it’s at now. I’ve 3 pairs and the missus has 3-4 pairs now too and loves them. I really like the Sambas, Gazelles and Spezial etc but feel they can be a bit uncomfortable and quite "flat", not offering much in the way of cushion/support. Mibbe I'm just getting old (spoiler, I'm getting old!). Got a pair of Munchen and they squeak and creak like crazy too. Also saw the white/gold Forest Hills have been reissued. Had a pair of them back in the day and loved them so will probably pick up another pair at some point! Quote