romanticscot Posted February 4 Posted February 4 I saw this and it got me thinking that Scotland has produced some top-drawer defenders over the years. Who do you think is our best ever defender and why? Some names for thoughts - McQueen, Hendry, McLeish, Miller, Billy McNeil, Wilie Miller, Jardine, Hansen, Maurice Ross. Pace, awareness, bravery, positioning, communication, work ethic, passion, adaptability etc. Quote
fringo Posted February 4 Posted February 4 Hard to say but there's one you haven't mentioned that might be in contention and that's Danny McGrain. World class. Also maybe John Greig ? Quote
fringo Posted February 4 Posted February 4 11 minutes ago, romanticscot said: I saw this and it got me thinking that Scotland has produced some top-drawer defenders over the years. Who do you think is our best ever defender and why? Some names for thoughts - McQueen, Hendry, McLeish, Miller, Billy McNeil, Wilie Miller, Jardine, Hansen, Maurice Ross. Pace, awareness, bravery, positioning, communication, work ethic, passion, adaptability etc. 🤣🤣🤣 just noticed you said Maurice Ross. 😆 Quote
noctonjock Posted February 4 Posted February 4 That's a hard one . Not sure about Maurice Ross . All others were very good. Also Kenny Burns, Martin Buchan , Tom Forsyth Quote
Saint4805 Posted February 4 Posted February 4 Surely Richard Gough is in the mix. Dominant in the air in both boxes. Colin Hendry at his peak was quick, brave and hard as nails with so many crucial blocks and tackles. Quote
Burj_Alba Posted February 4 Posted February 4 To me Martin Buchan is the best Rolls Royce defender of all time. Brillian player, cultured, great passing and deceptively an exceptionally strong tackler. Quote
Orraloon Posted February 4 Posted February 4 Others from an earlier era would be Ronnie McKinnon and George Connelly. Although Connelly played mostly in midfield he was also a top class defender. If it hadn't been for his personal issues which ended his top class career early, Jock Stein thought he could have gone on to be as good as Beckenbauer. He certainly was a real classy player. Quote
Orraloon Posted February 4 Posted February 4 6 hours ago, fringo said: 🤣🤣🤣 just noticed you said Maurice Ross. 😆 I started to suspect he was taking the piss when he got to Hansen, then Maurice Ross just confirmed that. 😂 Quote
fringo Posted February 4 Posted February 4 3 minutes ago, Orraloon said: I started to suspect he was taking the piss when he got to Hansen, then Maurice Ross just confirmed that. 😂 It was sneaked in beautifully 😄 Quote
6ft2eysablue Posted February 4 Posted February 4 6 hours ago, noctonjock said: That's a hard one . Not sure about Maurice Ross . All others were very good. Also Kenny Burns, Martin Buchan , Tom Forsyth Tom Forsyths tackle v the auld enemy in '76 never to be forgotten. Stevie Nicol deserves a mention Quote
runningtings Posted February 4 Posted February 4 Miller and Willie Miller? I'll go Millie Willer. Quote
Toepoke Posted February 4 Posted February 4 14 minutes ago, 6ft2eysablue said: Stevie Nicol deserves a mention Not for his shooting 😖 Quote
Orraloon Posted February 4 Posted February 4 24 minutes ago, runningtings said: Miller and Willie Miller? I'll go Millie Willer. Three Willie Millers have played for Scotland, and not in the "Two Andy Gorams" sense. 😂 Quote
mccaughey85 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 If we are talking about centre backs then McLeish, miller, McNeill, Hendry, Gough would be the main contenders. Quote
GHfaeGTA Posted February 5 Posted February 5 11 hours ago, mccaughey85 said: If we are talking about centre backs then McLeish, miller, McNeill, Hendry, Gough would be the main contenders. Gough couldn’t get a game at CB at Tannadice. Was a very good right back. Even Gough says David Narey was best defender he played with Quote
GHfaeGTA Posted February 5 Posted February 5 16 hours ago, er yir macaroon said: Gough and Narey would be on my list. 👍 Quote
Craig Fae Hamilton Posted February 5 Posted February 5 Willie Miller for me. Honestly. Colin Hendry close 2nd. Quote
Orraloon Posted February 5 Posted February 5 22 minutes ago, GHfaeGTA said: Gough couldn’t get a game at CB at Tannadice. Was a very good right back. Even Gough says David Narey was best defender he played with Gough and Narey were very different defenders. Gough would more likely be competing for Hegarty's place, but Jim McLean wasn't going to break up that partnership until he had to. Gough was probably meaning that Narey was the best defender other than himself. 😂 Quote
vanderark14 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 Hard to say, I saw a bit of Willie Miller and Mcliesh as a youngster. The older blokes in my family say Narey, Jardine, McNeil and Miller were our best, not in that order just they were the best Quote
er yir macaroon Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, GHfaeGTA said: Gough couldn’t get a game at CB at Tannadice. Was a very good right back. Even Gough says David Narey was best defender he played with Gough was a very young player when at right back. Hegarty and Narey were an experienced pairing. So Gough got his first team minutes under his belt and then went to Spurs where he quickly became team captain at centre half. Narey and Gough were both cracking players but quite different. Quote
6ft2eysablue Posted February 5 Posted February 5 14 hours ago, Toepoke said: Not for his shooting 😖 Defenders defend first and foremost. A few listed couldn't hit a cow on the erse with a banjo Quote
Burj_Alba Posted February 5 Posted February 5 30 minutes ago, 6ft2eysablue said: Defenders defend first and foremost. A few listed couldn't hit a cow on the erse with a banjo What, even from half a yard from the goal line? Quote