Hertsscot Posted January 27 Posted January 27 N. Ireland proposing to bring in new laws for younger drivers. As a semi-retired school teacher it's a subject close to me heart as I know too many pupils I'd taught having their lives cut short due to crashes. As Head of PSHEE for a long time I made sure that all students aged 15-18 got lessons about driving. The N.Ireland proposals are below but I'd be interested in people's thoughts, whether they think they're a good thing or not. The proposals include: A mandatory minimum learning period of six months before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test A programme of training which must be completed and recorded in a logbook before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test An increase in the restriction period from the current 12 months to 24 months, requiring new drivers to display a plate on the vehicle for two years after receiving a full licence A period of six months with night-time driving restrictions for new drivers under 24 Age-related night-time passenger restrictions for newly qualified drivers, with exemption for immediate family members. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted January 27 Posted January 27 Looks like nanny state gone rogue Learning early and gaining confidence is the key Quote
RDFH64 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Hertsscot said: N. Ireland proposing to bring in new laws for younger drivers. As a semi-retired school teacher it's a subject close to me heart as I know too many pupils I'd taught having their lives cut short due to crashes. As Head of PSHEE for a long time I made sure that all students aged 15-18 got lessons about driving. The N.Ireland proposals are below but I'd be interested in people's thoughts, whether they think they're a good thing or not. The proposals include: A mandatory minimum learning period of six months before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test A programme of training which must be completed and recorded in a logbook before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test An increase in the restriction period from the current 12 months to 24 months, requiring new drivers to display a plate on the vehicle for two years after receiving a full licence A period of six months with night-time driving restrictions for new drivers under 24 Age-related night-time passenger restrictions for newly qualified drivers, with exemption for immediate family members. As a parent who’s suffered the heartache of this it can’t come quickly enough 👍 Quote
Hertsscot Posted January 27 Author Posted January 27 19 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Looks like nanny state gone rogue Learning early and gaining confidence is the key Confidence is important, but with young drivers over confidence comes with a heavy price. Quote
kumnio Posted January 27 Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Hertsscot said: A mandatory minimum learning period of six months before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test A programme of training which must be completed and recorded in a logbook before a learner driver can undertake their practical driving test An increase in the restriction period from the current 12 months to 24 months, requiring new drivers to display a plate on the vehicle for two years after receiving a full licence A period of six months with night-time driving restrictions for new drivers under 2. Age-related night-time passenger restrictions for newly qualified drivers, with exemption for immediate family members. Fair enough IMO. A parent can sign off, so seems a stupid waste of time. Dont see any advantage in displaying a badge, let alone for a longer time. Quite a few caveats in it according to the BBC article. Might stop a very limited number of drivers from doing something daft, but many would just ignore it. Drivers between the ages of 17-23 are 3 times more likely to have a serious accident than drivers outwith that age group apparently. Not sure that legislating will help, Id think better training would be more suitable. The UK always ranks in the top ten safest countries for road accidents and incidents anyway. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted January 27 Posted January 27 When i was younger there were always outlets to give you a grounding Even things as basic as The Grand Prix at Blackpool Pleasure Beach where you get to drive a car with an acccelerator and a brake - even though it doesnt do above 10mph and you are on a railed track Then there was Go Karts - They were everywhere including Blackpool when i was a boy Not to mention riding your own bike on the main road every now and then Don't think kids do many of these things and they get their learning from Forza Horizon and GTA Quote
Hertsscot Posted January 27 Author Posted January 27 1 hour ago, kumnio said: Not sure that legislating will help, Id think better training would be more suitable. The UK always ranks in the top ten safest countries for road accidents and incidents anyway. You're right the UK is one of the safer places worldwide and significant progress has been made over the years but there's still unnecessary desths and life changing injuries.What would you like to see under 'better training'? 3 things reduce deaths and injuries: engineering, enforcement and education. I did, for a couple of years manage to get in a driving school to give all our year 11s (S4/5) a chance behind the wheel but the main thing we tried to stress was attitude. Accidents are more likely to happen due to inexperience but with some youngsters they're accidents waiting to happen. Quote
kumnio Posted January 27 Posted January 27 (edited) 1 hour ago, Hertsscot said: You're right the UK is one of the safer places worldwide and significant progress has been made over the years but there's still unnecessary desths and life changing injuries.What would you like to see under 'better training'? 3 things reduce deaths and injuries: engineering, enforcement and education. I did, for a couple of years manage to get in a driving school to give all our year 11s (S4/5) a chance behind the wheel but the main thing we tried to stress was attitude. Accidents are more likely to happen due to inexperience but with some youngsters they're accidents waiting to happen. Granted its been a wee while since I passed my test.... Drivers should be taken on more dual carriage ways, driving at speed to get used to it, toward the end of their learning process obviously. Should also be taken out into the countryside to experience it. I was driving around Dundee, rarely on the main dual carriage way, nor taken literally 10 minutes drive into the countryside which is a very different style of drive. Lessons should be spread across the days and also time of day IMO. I think that the training should be about experiencing more environments and style of driving, as opposed to just giving you what you need to pass the test. I think the highway code needs updating, the stopping distances quoted are just comical. I remember thinking that if they lie about a simple distance, what else of this is nonsense. This financial year, 8 out of 31 deaths of driver and passengers have been 16-24 so far. Last financial year it was 8 out of 39, the year before it was 6 out of 29. It does seem to be getting slightly worse. However, looking at the data, the issue seems to be people being killed on rural roads in NI, with 11 deaths in the city against 39 in the countryside so far. Last year was 16 against 42, the year before that was 11 to 44. IMO, this is a training issue, if kids are only taught to drive about at 30mph in built up areas, then as soon as they experience new conditions and environments, things will go wrong. I typed the first few paragraphs before reading the data, on NI accidents, happy to proven right at times... Edited January 27 by kumnio Quote
StirlingEgg Posted January 27 Posted January 27 3 hours ago, RDFH64 said: As a parent who’s suffered the heartache of this it can’t come quickly enough 👍 Very sorry to hear this @RDFH64. It must be very difficult every time there is a similar tragedy in the news. Quote
Hertsscot Posted January 27 Author Posted January 27 7 minutes ago, kumnio said: Granted its been a wee while since I passed my test.... Drivers should be taken on more dual carriage ways, driving at speed to get used to it, toward the end of their learning process obviously. Should also be taken out into the countryside to experience it. I was driving around Dundee, rarely on the main dual carriage way, nor taken literally 10 minutes drive into the countryside which is a very different style of drive. Lessons should be spread across the days and also time of day IMO. I think that the training should be about experiencing more environments and style of driving, as opposed to just giving you what you need to pass the test. I think the highway code needs updating, the stopping distances quoted are just comical. I remember thinking that if they lie about a simple distance, what else of this is nonsense. This financial year, 8 out of 31 deaths of driver and passengers have been 16-24 so far. Last financial year it was 8 out of 39, the year before it was 6 out of 29. It does seem to be getting slightly worse. However, looking at the data, the issue seems to be people being killed on rural roads in NI, with 11 deaths in the city against 39 in the countryside so far. Last year was 16 against 42, the year before that was 11 to 44. IMO, this is a training issue, if kids are only taught to drive about at 30mph in built up areas, then as soon as they experience new conditions and environments, things will go wrong. I typed the first few paragraphs before reading the data, on NI accidents, happy to proven right at times... I think you're right about different types of roads and conditions. Driving at night is particularly difficult and that's why there has been talk about restricting younger drivers during those hours. Rural roads are nuts. I always thought it crazy that there'd be a 30 or 40 mile limit on a nice straight urban road then turn off to the narrow twisty country lanes where and you could do 60! I wonder whether in future there might be some greater use of computer technology/AI to supplement lessons and/or real life conditions. Quote
Och Aye Posted January 27 Posted January 27 3 hours ago, Hertsscot said: Confidence is important, but with young drivers over confidence comes with a heavy price. Age is definitely just a number at that time of life. Some folk are ready as a teenager some are definitely NOT. Quote
Och Aye Posted January 27 Posted January 27 3 hours ago, RDFH64 said: As a parent who’s suffered the heartache of this it can’t come quickly enough 👍 So sorry to hear this. Quote
TDYER63 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 32 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: I think you're right about different types of roads and conditions. Driving at night is particularly difficult and that's why there has been talk about restricting younger drivers during those hours. Rural roads are nuts. I always thought it crazy that there'd be a 30 or 40 mile limit on a nice straight urban road then turn off to the narrow twisty country lanes where and you could do 60! I wonder whether in future there might be some greater use of computer technology/AI to supplement lessons and/or real life conditions. Its not just young drivers that could do with more experience driving on rural roads and at night, but thats a different conversation. From what I could see the night time restrictions are from 11pm-6 am , so young drivers will still be driving in the dark in the winter months in the earlier part of the evening. I think they must be restricting the number of passengers from 11pm - 6 am to avoid new young drivers ending up with umpteen drunk pals in their car , which could cause a distraction to them. Even if the driver is completely sober the distraction must cause problems, so I agree with this rule. If I have interpreted it correctly of course. Quote
TDYER63 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 49 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: Very sorry to hear this @RDFH64. It must be very difficult every time there is a similar tragedy in the news. 👍 Quote
kumnio Posted January 27 Posted January 27 Over 50s should resit their test, then again at 60, and every decade going forward. Quote
RDFH64 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 50 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: Very sorry to hear this @RDFH64. It must be very difficult every time there is a similar tragedy in the news. Aye it is, really feel it for their families knowing what ahead of them.😢 Quote
TDYER63 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 11 minutes ago, kumnio said: Over 50s should resit their test, then again at 60, and every decade going forward. That would be one way of getting folk to use public transport more ! Quote
McTeeko Posted January 27 Posted January 27 Bad accident last August on the Fort William to Mallaig road where three teenage laddies lost their life. The dad of one of them was in the news just a couple of days ago trying to bring in similar laws here to what is proposed in NI for younger drivers. https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/heartbroken-scots-dad-calls-driving-36610418 Quote
TDYER63 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 9 minutes ago, McTeeko said: Bad accident last August on the Fort William to Mallaig road where three teenage laddies lost their life. The dad of one of them was in the news just a couple of days ago trying to bring in similar laws here to what is proposed in NI for younger drivers. https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/heartbroken-scots-dad-calls-driving-36610418 I am trying to work out why NI can bring in rules and Scotland needs UK government approval. I must be missing something? Quote
Hertsscot Posted January 27 Author Posted January 27 (edited) 30 minutes ago, TDYER63 said: I am trying to work out why NI can bring in rules and Scotland needs UK government approval. I must be missing something? I didn't realise we did. Maybe it's because we share a land border? But then again drink driving rules are different. Edited January 27 by Hertsscot Quote
TDYER63 Posted January 27 Posted January 27 20 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: I didn't realise we did. Maybe it's because we share a land border? But then again drink driving rules are different. Seems they have their own agency for certain things. If you can believe AI 😁 Quote
Ally Bongo Posted January 27 Posted January 27 There are always videos of vehicle accidents on social media - usually from eastern europe and the USA Teenagers should be made to watch them to learn the consequences of arsehole behaviour and bad luck - instead of months of theory Quote
Hertsscot Posted January 27 Author Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Ally Bongo said: There are always videos of vehicle accidents on social media - usually from eastern europe and the USA Teenagers should be made to watch them to learn the consequences of arsehole behaviour and bad luck - instead of months of theory The theoretical stuff should include that. Basic car maintenance might be useful as well, e.g checking tyre tread and why that's important from a safety point of view. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted January 27 Posted January 27 5 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: The theoretical stuff should include that. Basic car maintenance might be useful as well, e.g checking tyre tread and why that's important from a safety point of view. Not to mention the amount it costs for servicing and repairs etc Quote
kumnio Posted January 27 Posted January 27 1 hour ago, Ally Bongo said: Not to mention the amount it costs for servicing and repairs etc Will the boys and girls get sent to different rooms for that bit Quote