Big Ramy 1314 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 This was his third cap for Scotland. Who is it, who did Scotland play, what year, and what was the score ?? Trying to make it a wee bit more challenging. ππ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted January 24 Author Posted January 24 Just now, Big Ramy 1314 said: This was his third cap for Scotland. Who is it, who did Scotland play, what year, and what was the score ?? Trying to make it a wee bit more challenging. ππ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Well done Ramy ya eedjit !! ππππ Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 (edited) Β 11 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: This was his third cap for Scotland. Who is it, who did Scotland play, what year, and what was the score ?? Trying to make it a wee bit more challenging. ππ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Frank McGarvey? Edited January 24 by exile Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted January 24 Author Posted January 24 4 hours ago, exile said: Β Frank McGarvey? Correct sir !!Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώπ΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Anyone remember this guy?Β Captained a top flight English league side. Won the FA Cup. Won Turkish League and Cup. Never played a competitive first team match in the Scottish Football League. Played for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted January 24 Author Posted January 24 31 minutes ago, exile said: Anyone remember this guy?Β Captained a top flight English league side. Won the FA Cup. Won Turkish League and Cup. Never played a competitive first team match in the Scottish Football League. Played for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Asa Hartford ? Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Just now, Big Ramy 1314 said: Asa Hartford ? Good shout, but no... Yes, Hartford played in English 1st Division, but won English League Cup (his team won FA Cup but he did't play). His stint overseas was Fort Lauderdale rather than Turkey. True, he didn't play in Scottlsh League, did play for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted January 24 Author Posted January 24 6 minutes ago, exile said: Good shout, but no... Yes, Hartford played in English 1st Division, but won English League Cup (his team won FA Cup but he did't play). His stint overseas was Fort Lauderdale rather than Turkey. True, he didn't play in Scottlsh League, did play for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ I tried.. π Quote
fringo Posted January 24 Posted January 24 55 minutes ago, exile said: Anyone remember this guy?Β Captained a top flight English league side. Won the FA Cup. Won Turkish League and Cup. Never played a competitive first team match in the Scottish Football League. Played for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Got me stumped too. Which Brazil game ? '74 or '82 ? Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 (edited) 7 minutes ago, fringo said: Got me stumped too. Which Brazil game ? '74 or '82 ? Ha ha, figuring out the year is part of the challenge!Β π Edited January 24 by exile Quote
McTeeko Posted January 24 Posted January 24 1 hour ago, exile said: Anyone remember this guy?Β Captained a top flight English league side. Won the FA Cup. Won Turkish League and Cup. Never played a competitive first team match in the Scottish Football League. Played for Scotland against Brazil.Β π΄σ §σ ’σ ³σ £σ ΄σ Ώ Ian Wilson Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 (edited) 6 minutes ago, McTeeko said: Ian Wilson π Very good! I would never have got it, unless I had looked it all up! Was on the books at Aberdeen and Dundee. Played for Elgin then signed by Leicester City.Β Won FA Cup with Everton, won honours withΒ BeΕiktaΕ (picture from that era). 5 caps for Scotland, including playing Brazil in front of 41 thousand at Hampden in 1987.Β Β Edited January 24 by exile Quote
fringo Posted January 24 Posted January 24 8 minutes ago, exile said: π Very good! I would never have got it, unless I had looked it all up! Was on the books at Aberdeen and Dundee. Played for Elgin then signed by Leicester City.Β Won FA Cup with Everton, won honours withΒ BeΕiktaΕ (picture from that era). 5 caps for Scotland, including playing Brazil in front of 41 thousand at Hampden in 1987.Β Β I don't recall him at all and slight curve ball that he playedn v Brazil (whichΒ don't recall either) so I assumedΒ it was a WC matchΒ π According to Wiki though Everton lost that 1989 FAΒ cup final 3-2 to Liverpool. Quote
McTeeko Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Aye he never won the FA Cup with Everton (my English team growing up). Cultured left foot, bald heid.Β Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 13 minutes ago, fringo said: I don't recall him at all and slight curve ball that he playedn v Brazil (whichΒ don't recall either) so I assumedΒ it was a WC matchΒ π According to Wiki though Everton lost that 1989 FAΒ cup final 3-2 to Liverpool. Yes I struggled to recall him and yes, I thought Brazil a good curve ball Sorry I misread the stats, you are right, defeat to Liverpool not defeat of Liverpool. The perils of dealing too much info. Quote
fringo Posted January 24 Posted January 24 4 minutes ago, exile said: Yes I struggled to recall him and yes, I thought Brazil a good curve ball Sorry I misread the stats, you are right, defeat to Liverpool not defeat of Liverpool. The perils of dealing too much info. Great quiz question though but very tough and good spot by McTeeko.Β Quote
fringo Posted January 24 Posted January 24 PS. I think Ramy's questions are more my levelΒ π Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Β 4 minutes ago, fringo said: Great quiz question though but very tough and good spot by McTeeko.Β π 4 minutes ago, fringo said: PS. I think Ramy's questions are more my levelΒ π Me too π Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 An easier one. A club highlight was scoringΒ in Champions League against eventual winners. His international career lasted less than a week. He scored on his first start for Scotland...Β but then didn't play for us again. Quote
McTeeko Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Played against Lithuania at Hampden. We won 3-0. Hutchison scored after a Burchill penalty miss rebound, Colin Cameron got his first Scotland goal.Β Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 5 minutes ago, McTeeko said: Gary McSwegan. πΒ Correct! Quote
exile Posted January 24 Posted January 24 (edited) OK, one final one.Β Scotland international scores on his debut - 'took down a cross, spun and fired...'. Only plays one other full international for us. Clue for era: Gordon in goal for us that day.Β π Edited January 24 by exile Quote
McTeeko Posted January 24 Posted January 24 (edited) Educated guess here as no 100% sure - David Clarkson? Away to Czech Republic in a summer friendly? Edited January 24 by McTeeko Quote
stocky Posted January 24 Posted January 24 29 minutes ago, McTeeko said: Educated guess here as no 100% sure - David Clarkson? Away to Czech Republic in a summer friendly? You are quite good at this game mcteeko, but can you name this 1 cap wonder.π€π Quote