Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 I posted this question years ago I think, but times change, new members, and we get older.. So here is the question. What is your favorite or preferred pint these days? I was on Strongbow cider for years, before that , there was a Scottish Pub here in Ottawa that served Tartan Special, loved it... So I quit drinking for a good while, but now I enjoy the occasional pint, and I must say that I only ever have the one kind.. I good pint of Guinness !! I just love it. Think before I drank for the effect, and misses the taste half the time😉, but I truely appreciate a good pint of Guinness now !! So what about Yee's, what is your pleasure, seeing there is so much more selection now, I Cannae keep up !!! Quote
bonzo Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 You might have at least "split the G" 😁 Love a good Guinness also Belhaven Black. Cider my go to is Aspall Lager just now is kronenberg Enjoy a pint of Export when you can get it. Basically I'd drink pish through a shity cloot 😆 Quote
dan cake Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 None I only drink for affect , would rather have a coffee or a water tbh Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 25, 2025 Author Posted December 25, 2025 2 hours ago, bonzo said: You might have at least "split the G" 😁 Love a good Guinness also Belhaven Black. Cider my go to is Aspall Lager just now is kronenberg Enjoy a pint of Export when you can get it. Basical I'd drink pish through a shity cloot 😆 Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 25, 2025 Author Posted December 25, 2025 2 hours ago, bonzo said: You might have at least "split the G" 😁 Love a good Guinness also Belhaven Black. Cider my go to is Aspall Lager just now is kronenberg Enjoy a pint of Export when you can get it. Basically I'd drink pish through a shity cloot 😆 Been in Canada too long mate. What does "Split The G" mean 😂 Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 An ice cold pint of Graham’s whole milk Like DC if in the rare occurrence I ever drink these days it’s for the affect Quote
bonzo Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 1 hour ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Been in Canada too long mate. What does "Split The G" mean 😂 Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 25, 2025 Author Posted December 25, 2025 4 minutes ago, bonzo said: Oh I like that pal !! Give that a belt the Morra. Annual football day at the pub !! 😀🍺🍺🍺 Quote
Torrymolinos Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 Merry Christmas, Tennants for me. (And Guinness) i'm 62 so Xmas for me in my youth was watch my dad and uncles drink Skol, Kestrel, Tennants with the lassies pics on the tinnies and McEwans export. Quote
bonzo Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 35 minutes ago, Torrymolinos said: Merry Christmas, Tennants for me. (And Guinness) i'm 62 so Xmas for me in my youth was watch my dad and uncles drink Skol, Kestrel, Tennants with the lassies pics on the tinnies and McEwans export. Kestrel super was a sair wan up there with special brew and tennents super. Quote
Torrymolinos Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 37 minutes ago, bonzo said: Kestrel super was a sair wan up there with special brew and tennents super. Especially if ye were like my Da and nivver put it in the fridge. Gads Quote
Torrymolinos Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 3 minutes ago, Torrymolinos said: Especially if ye were like my Da and nivver put it in the fridge. Gads Wisna the super, it wis this een Quote
bonzo Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 25 minutes ago, Torrymolinos said: Wisna the super, it wis this een 3 for a £1 😆 Quote
bonzo Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 5 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said: Oh I like that pal !! Give that a belt the Morra. Annual football day at the pub !! 😀🍺🍺🍺 Remember, we need video evidence 😬 Quote
scotlad Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 2 hours ago, Torrymolinos said: Merry Christmas, Tennants for me. (And Guinness) i'm 62 so Xmas for me in my youth was watch my dad and uncles drink Skol, Kestrel, Tennants with the lassies pics on the tinnies and McEwans export. "Skol, Skol, Skol, Skol..." 🎶 Some people sneer at Tennants but a well kept, well poured pint of Tennants is as perfectly decent lager. They've a special edition Pilsner version out at the moment, which is nothing like the newts pish version they brought out in the '90s (if anyone remembers it!), it's actually a very decent attempt at a proper Bavarian Pilsner. The lassies on the cans were unfortunately before my time though (wasn't that one Carol Smillie's first modelling gigs?). Cheers and Happy Christmas all! 🍻 Quote
scotlad Posted December 25, 2025 Posted December 25, 2025 1 hour ago, Torrymolinos said: Wisna the super, it wis this een 😄 I've no seen that anywhere for about 20 years! Quote
Grim Jim Posted December 26, 2025 Posted December 26, 2025 Happy Christmas folks! Probably McEwan's 80/-, but hardly find it on draught these days. A lot of pubs don't do a heavy at all, so if I have to resort to lager, Tenant's is fine. Lager is just lager (most of the time). I'd rather try whatever guest ales a pub has. Favourite so far was a chocolate coconut stout, but can't remember the brewery 😣 Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 26, 2025 Author Posted December 26, 2025 Forgot to mention. If I don't fancy a Guinness, I love a pint of Shocktop, don't know if you get it in Scotland. And of course, don't mind a pint of tennents when I'm mad with it mood !! 😂😂 Quote
Big Ramy 1314 Posted December 26, 2025 Author Posted December 26, 2025 Haha. Remember ma wee mum telling me she drank this in the 60's... I tried it, it's boggin..😂 Quote
Dave78 Posted December 27, 2025 Posted December 27, 2025 On 12/26/2025 at 12:53 PM, Malcolm said: moeretti would be my choice. Of course you do! That's a very Malcolm beer On 12/26/2025 at 1:06 PM, Big Ramy 1314 said: Haha. Remember ma wee mum telling me she drank this in the 60's... I tried it, it's boggin..😂 My local used to sell it on draught. Was good stuff, and over a euro cheaper than yer Irish standard - Heineken. They replaced the Tuborg with Becks as their 'cheapo option' and it's even better Quote
Rich NATA Posted December 29, 2025 Posted December 29, 2025 On 12/27/2025 at 10:04 PM, Dave78 said: They replaced the Tuborg with Becks as their 'cheapo option' and it's even better Becks or Becks Vier? Becks is my favourite beer. It's unique and I can't think of anything remotely similar to it, but I can't remember the last time I ever saw it on tap. Probably when Scotland played in Bremen in 1999. #1 Beer - Becks #1 Cider - Angry Orchard or maybe Thistley Cross. Quote
Ally Bongo Posted December 29, 2025 Posted December 29, 2025 1 hour ago, Rich NATA said: Becks or Becks Vier? Becks is my favourite beer. It's unique and I can't think of anything remotely similar to it, but I can't remember the last time I ever saw it on tap. Probably when Scotland played in Bremen in 1999. #1 Beer - Becks #1 Cider - Angry Orchard or maybe Thistley Cross. I don't know how anyone can get past the smell of it One of my pals used to drink bottles of becks all the time on holiday and i could only take it if was freezing cold Maybe it's just me as i'm not a fan of bottled lager at all Quote
Rich NATA Posted December 29, 2025 Posted December 29, 2025 13 hours ago, Ally Bongo said: I don't know how anyone can get past the smell of it One of my pals used to drink bottles of becks all the time on holiday and i could only take it if was freezing cold Maybe it's just me as i'm not a fan of bottled lager at all Well, I'm convinced an ice-cold Becks tastes better from the bottle. Nothing else like it. Quote