The Very Sexy Happy World Cup Thread - Page 2 - World Cup 2026 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

6 hours ago, WeeJohnny said:

Also in the same boat. Scotland daft. Travelled to daft places to see games (Khazakhstan and Maldova still live in my mind as truelly silly). Have lived in England for 27 years. Two 20 something boys and English wife (not her fault) all scotland daft. Did Germany for the euros for two weeks with best pal since school but have changed my mind and not going for group stages thi time as just too complicated and the appeal of taking my boys to my heart's home in Broughty Ferry to watch the matches in a pub with my pals has a lot of attraction (and a bit cheaper!). Will consider doing a daft trip if we get past the group. On that note thought Steve Clarke was so sound saying not to get in too unaffordable debt. No doubt a lot of us (inc me) have and will again following Scotland but good thing to say. 

Gary - as someone else said....cheers for starting this thread. Ive just read it over a pint in a Cambridgeshire village pub and some of the posts brought a lump to my throat. Real feelgood thread at this time of year ! And as for looking forward to the Brazilians on Miami Beach ! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Brilliant stuff mate, love that. The pubs are going to be superb - especially the locals (the videos from the Denmark game in the smaller bars were the best)

I’ll see you and the family for the semi final in Dallas / Atlanta! all of us riddled with Steve Clarke debt 😉 

• Replies 91

4 hours ago, NorthSeaToRockies said:

Apologies in advance for being a bit sappy, but nearly every second thought I have just now is about next summer. I’m turning 30 next year, and I’ve never known Scotland at a World Cup — it’s always felt like something just out of reach for my generation.

My first Scotland match was Belarus in 2005, travelling down with my Granny and Granda. We lost, but I was completely hooked. From then on it became a wee family tradition. Those days mean far more to me now than I ever realised at the time.

My first full SSC campaign was that heartbreakingly close 2008 qualification — the joy of Caldwell against France followed by the pain of those last minutes against Italy. Then came the years of almosts, some Euros but still no World Cup, life taking me abroad to the US, and sadly my Granda passing away. He was the one who gave me my love of football.

This year I finally made it home after five years, and by chance my trip overlapped with the Greece match at Hampden. Without a second thought I bought two tickets and asked my Granny if she wanted to go, for old times’ sake. It wasn’t a classic, but we got the win and one more night at Hampden together — and I know she’s still over the moon she got to be there again.

Then Denmark. I still don’t think I’ve come down from that high. Scotland are going to the World Cup — in my backyard — and I still can’t quite believe it. I booked my flight to Boston for the Haiti match as soon as I could. Ticket or not, I’m just so happy that I’ll finally get to see my country at a World Cup, and that I’ll be there for it. I know I’ll be choked up during Flower of Scotland when all those memories come flooding back.

Must feel like fate. Belarus essentially getting us qualification this time around. 

Happy to see this thread as the place is just littered with ticket threads, which at the same time is unsurprising & understandable with nothing secure on that front so far.

I was only 6 years old when we last played on the big stage back in 1998. Was too young to remember anything properly about it other than my dad & uncle being disappointed with that Morocco result that officially eliminated us. Been too long but it is time now to exact revenge! Denmark game still gives me goosebumps. Hampden hasn't produced an atmosphere and roar like that for a long time. Proper 12th man & the players fed off it. This will be my first World Cup. I went to the Euros in Germany last summer attending all 3 games & absolutley loved it. Said it to the missus that this tops the honeymoon, which did not go down too well with her 😂! World Cup will be on a different scale I imagine which just further makes you excited. It's an expensive trip no doubt but you only live once and it's not guaranteed that we will qualify again. This could be my only chance of having the opportunity of going to watch my nation play at a World Cup & I simply don't want to miss it, especially after a 28 year hiatus.

Booked my accomodation in both cities with free cancellation when the venues were confirmed the day after the draw but still to do the flights as want to see if I'm succesful in the SSC ballot for all 3 games. On 13 points so hoping that will be enough but I suppose will find out on February 5th (day after my birthday so that will be some birthday surprise right there 🙂). Will properly get everything booked and sorted with the flights then. Did my ESTA last week which got approved same day so therefore only match tickets & flights left on the checklist.

13 hours ago, DesiScotsman said:

Happy to see this thread as the place is just littered with ticket threads, which at the same time is unsurprising & understandable with nothing secure on that front so far.

I was only 6 years old when we last played on the big stage back in 1998. Was too young to remember anything properly about it other than my dad & uncle being disappointed with that Morocco result that officially eliminated us. Been too long but it is time now to exact revenge! Denmark game still gives me goosebumps. Hampden hasn't produced an atmosphere and roar like that for a long time. Proper 12th man & the players fed off it. This will be my first World Cup. I went to the Euros in Germany last summer attending all 3 games & absolutley loved it. Said it to the missus that this tops the honeymoon, which did not go down too well with her 😂! World Cup will be on a different scale I imagine which just further makes you excited. It's an expensive trip no doubt but you only live once and it's not guaranteed that we will qualify again. This could be my only chance of having the opportunity of going to watch my nation play at a World Cup & I simply don't want to miss it, especially after a 28 year hiatus.

Booked my accomodation in both cities with free cancellation when the venues were confirmed the day after the draw but still to do the flights as want to see if I'm succesful in the SSC ballot for all 3 games. On 13 points so hoping that will be enough but I suppose will find out on February 5th (day after my birthday so that will be some birthday surprise right there 🙂). Will properly get everything booked and sorted with the flights then. Did my ESTA last week which got approved same day so therefore only match tickets & flights left on the checklist.

Thing was, even if we had beaten Morocco it would t have mattered because Brazil unexpectedly lost to Norway.

I remember the Moroccan's faces going from jubilation to despondency as the news of the Brazil defeat filtered through.

That would have been an even more gutting way to get eliminated. 4 points and going home. 

1 hour ago, Bristolhibby said:

Thing was, even if we had beaten Morocco it would t have mattered because Brazil unexpectedly lost to Norway.

I remember the Moroccan's faces going from jubilation to despondency as the news of the Brazil defeat filtered through.

That would have been an even more gutting way to get eliminated. 4 points and going home. 

Kind of like us in 1978, recording one of the greatest results in your history then it still not being enough.

On 12/21/2025 at 6:42 PM, NorthSeaToRockies said:

This year I finally made it home after five years, and by chance my trip overlapped with the Greece match at Hampden. Without a second thought I bought two tickets and asked my Granny if she wanted to go, for old times’ sake. It wasn’t a classic, but we got the win and one more night at Hampden together — and I know she’s still over the moon she got to be there again.

What a wonderful paragraph to read!  The sort of thing that reminds you why we put ourselves through all of this.

21 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Kind of like us in 1978, recording one of the greatest results in your history then it still not being enough.

Morocco did at least go on to greater glory in the years since - maybe it'll be our turn next year...?

We were at the Greece away game (the one before the glorious Denmark game!). We were in the Greek end and losing 3-0 and I am getting increasingly hacked off with these young Greek guys behind us taking what I thought was the pi$$ laughing away at presumably us losing. Eventually I had had enough and turned round to give them death stares. One caught on and said, "no you don't understand.....look" He showed me the score from the Denmark Belarus game ! At that point Belarus were leading - that was a long last few minutes. Felt a complete heel as they were all really happy for us !!!     

I went to the world cups in 1990 and 1998.  The trips were amazing and I could write a book on the adventures I had (might need to miss out a few of the dodgy things that went on), so I can't wait for the USA.  BTW I paid £75 in 1990 for a ticket to the Brazil game and £100 in 1998 for the Norway game - so in today's money not a huge amount less than what FIFA are asking (I still don't approve of these).

My best mate from school emigrated to San Jose c.30 years ago and we've always planned on doing something together state-side ... this is it!

Also, my big bruv lives in Ontario and has just acquired a van to fit-out as a RV fit for a road-trip.

I'm in the throes of mapping out my month's holiday ... it has been challenging to get it organised ... California, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, New York, Florida and Oregon 🤪

I'll be indulging in fitba, baseball, athletics, RV road trip, fishing, camping, aircraft and military stuff, wineries ... and the stuff I won't know about until I'm there.

I plan on making this a once-only experience, filled with special moments and memories. Scotland performing well would just light candle on my cake! 🤞

2 hours ago, Stubedo said:

My best mate from school emigrated to San Jose c.30 years ago and we've always planned on doing something together state-side ... this is it!

Also, my big bruv lives in Ontario and has just acquired a van to fit-out as a RV fit for a road-trip.

I'm in the throes of mapping out my month's holiday ... it has been challenging to get it organised ... California, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, New York, Florida and Oregon 🤪

I'll be indulging in fitba, baseball, athletics, RV road trip, fishing, camping, aircraft and military stuff, wineries ... and the stuff I won't know about until I'm there.

I plan on making this a once-only experience, filled with special moments and memories. Scotland performing well would just light candle on my cake! 🤞

Other than the Athletics....it sounds THE BOMB!

Me, a 4 Week Trip with my Son. Boston, NY, Boston, Miami, Boston, maybe Phile and Toronto.

#BringItOn

I booked flights and accommodation for a week in Boston with the family as soon as the draw was made.

After some deliberation with the missus we decided to extend the trip to spend a few days in New York, and I was eventually able to rearrange the flights accordingly (spent most of a Saturday on the phone to BA 😖).

Kept it quiet from the girls until Xmas Day when they opened a NYC tour guide as the Pogues played on the stereo. Their reaction was a hoot, a dream come true for them 😃

Just went down a YouTube hole watching Euro24 videos from Germany.

Obviously the fans stole the show but so many moments on the pitch that almost qualified us. 

Hitting the post from 3 yards v Switzerland and a chance for Robertson in the dying minutes. 

If we had won that game we would have gotten the draw v Hungary to qualify. 
Even in the Hungary game Callum Macgregor has a glorious chance in the 97th minute to qualify us. 

Really hopeful we take those moments at the World Cup. 

Dykes and Doak being fit is huge.

McTominay is a new man and even better.

You then chuck in the way we qualified and you have to believe we are going to do it. 

I love that everyone is planning culture. 

Boston - I’ll do the Sam Adams brewery tour (it’s a phenomenal dark beer that tasted nothing like USA beer).

I’ll also do the Fenway Park tour. Phenomenal stadium. 

Miami I just plan on being a lazy beer drinking animal. I’ll book a pool party, nights out downtown, beach during the day, I’ll check out the fan zone and might go to Uruguay v Cape Verde if it’s cheap cheap. 

1 hour ago, GaryWood34 said:

I love that everyone is planning culture. 

Boston - I’ll do the Sam Adams brewery tour (it’s a phenomenal dark beer that tasted nothing like USA beer).

I’ll also do the Fenway Park tour. Phenomenal stadium. 

Miami I just plan on being a lazy beer drinking animal. I’ll book a pool party, nights out downtown, beach during the day, I’ll check out the fan zone and might go to Uruguay v Cape Verde if it’s cheap cheap. 

I'm travelling to Key West, day after the Morocco march, for 3 nights R&R, before getting a Greyhound bus back up to the madness in Miami.

We're jumping in a hire car after the Morocco match and driving down to Miami. No itinerary yet, but gonna be ace!  Thinking of stopping in some small hick town motels overnight, and taking over the local bar lol

10 minutes ago, shaddypeekey said:

We're jumping in a hire car after the Morocco match and driving down to Miami. No itinerary yet, but gonna be ace!  Thinking of stopping in some small hick town motels overnight, and taking over the local bar lol

That sounds absolutely class

13 minutes ago, shaddypeekey said:

That DOES sound class! I wouldn’t book anything. Just go with it and whatever happens, happens! 😆🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Jumping into the very sexy happy World Cup thread now that the dust is (temporarily) settling on the ticket chat. 

I cannae wait! 

Always thought that US/Mexico/Canada would be brilliant for the tartan army in the World Cup and one we’d really not want to miss out on.  

Despite all the shenanigans going on over there and so on,  it’s going to be memories of lifetime for folk. 

@shaddypeekey Road trip sounds amazing. I’d love to have done similar. The thought has crossed my mind if we get through to R32 in 2nd place or 1st (don’t laugh 😆) ,  driving up from Miami round through New Orleans could be epic. All going to be a bit chaotic if we get that far and I need to see what my mates are doing as I’m just trying to fit in with pals here and there. My missus is coming to Boston for the first game and then I’m on my tod after that so still trying to work plans.  

Really fancy a few of the things others have mentioned already. Sam Adam’s brewery, got tix for the Red Sox already but might do tour another day if recommended. Prob go to a Marlins game in Miami as well.  

One thing I’m humming and hawing about is maybe doing a skydive over there. Done a couple of solo jumps in Scotland but never a tandem for higher altitude and free fall. Some options for that around Boston/Providence and Miami but some not so straightforward without a car. The most scenic option for it looks like Key West but is a fair drive south from Miami. Will decide near the time. 

Great thread !!

I am 57, and never seen Scotland play in a major tournament, so this will.be special, and the fact I love in Ottawa, Canada now, it's a dream really !

Don't have a ticket, but I went ahead and booked a flight to Boston for the Haiti match, don't even have any hotel, digs booked. 

I'm saying that I'm looking forward to meeting up with the Tartan Army and having a few beers. I've been on this board over 20 years, so will be great to meet as many of you as I can ..

Bottom line, I'm a proud Scotsman, and this is a once in a lifetime trip, my wife was the one who booked my flight, so it's happening...

Over the next few weeks or months I'll sort out my accomodation, and get familiar with the Boston landscape so hopefully I don't get lost 😂😂..

Alba Gu Brath....🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Aye that sounds class, just wandering into a small town bar and having a great wee night. 

Plus if something terrible happens we can sell his post to Netflix for the documentary

Great thread !!

I am 57, and never seen Scotland play in a major tournament, so this will.be special, and the fact I love in Ottawa, Canada now, it's a dream really !

Don't have a ticket, but I went ahead and booked a flight to Boston for the Haiti match, don't even have any hotel, digs booked. 

I'm saying that I'm looking forward to meeting up with the Tartan Army and having a few beers. I've been on this board over 20 years, so will be great to meet as many of you as I can ..

Bottom line, I'm a proud Scotsman, and this is a once in a lifetime trip, my wife was the one who booked my flight, so it's happening...

Over the next few weeks or months I'll sort out my accomodation, and get familiar with the Boston landscape so hopefully I don't get lost 😂😂..

Alba Gu Brath....🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Is Billy travelling down?

On 1/6/2026 at 5:22 AM, GaryWood34 said:

Just went down a YouTube hole watching Euro24 videos from Germany.

Obviously the fans stole the show but so many moments on the pitch that almost qualified us. 

Hitting the post from 3 yards v Switzerland and a chance for Robertson in the dying minutes. 

If we had won that game we would have gotten the draw v Hungary to qualify. 
Even in the Hungary game Callum Macgregor has a glorious chance in the 97th minute to qualify us. 

Really hopeful we take those moments at the World Cup. 

Dykes and Doak being fit is huge.

McTominay is a new man and even better.

You then chuck in the way we qualified and you have to believe we are going to do it. 

and the Penalty Armstrong didnt get vs Hungary. Still cant believe that didnt go to VAR