GaryWood34 Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 (edited) Right, we have all moaned about all sorts the last few weeks. This is the place for positivity only. The happy place. Get emotional.. Get happy, Get mad, Anything goes. What does it mean to you? to your family? Your plans? Your countdown? Your buzz? What you most excited for? Will you cry? Anything at all! No rules. Watching at home or going to the States, all welcome. Cmon Scotland. Edited December 19, 2025 by GaryWood34 Quote
supersub Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 The buzz and mingling with the Brazil fans, hearing the samba drums first hand before celebrating qualification to the last 32 Only if successful in SSC allocation though. Quote
supersub Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 17 minutes ago, supersub said: Made some brilliant memories in Germany with my two sons and hoping to do the same in Miami. Edited December 20, 2025 by supersub Quote
Craig Fae Hamilton Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 This actually means so much to Me. Son is 20, loves the Scotland. Going to a World Cup to watch Scotland has been my dream for a long, long time. There is nobody else on the planet i'd rather share this trip with. I've not done the Maths but my 50th Scotland Away game might co-incide with this World Cup too! Quote
GaryWood34 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 Quite looking forward to seeing certain Brazilians on Miami beach… Quote
McTeeko Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 39 minutes ago, GaryWood34 said: Quite looking forward to seeing certain Brazilians on Miami beach… Aye, and I’ve heard the lassies are pretty hot too! 🔥 Good thread by the way Gary! Need to get the feel-good factor back in the lead up 👍🏼🏴 Quote
NSIGN Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 13 hours ago, GaryWood34 said: Right, we have all moaned about all sorts the last few weeks. This is the place for positivity only. The happy place. Get emotional.. Get happy, Get mad, Anything goes. What does it mean to you? to your family? Your plans? Your countdown? Your buzz? What you most excited for? Will you cry? Anything at all! No rules. Watching at home or going to the States, all welcome. Cmon Scotland. I was born and raised in England. My Dad (a Glaswegian and massive Celtic fan) made it clear to me anything was forgivable other than supporting England. He would rather i joined a flute band and played for Rangers than ever support the three lions. Sadly for me being a Scotland fan in England has meant 43 years of having the piss taken out of me at school and then work. I’ve had to see all my mates go off to World cups time after time while I’ve been sat at home willing their team to lose. Going to Germany was amazing and a life long dream but the World Cup and it being in America makes it so much bigger. I’m genuinely ticking the days off on a calendar. I had an uncle who went to Argentina in 78. He never mentioned how much it cost, he never spoke about the Peru result. He only ever spoke about the Adventure, the fans and Archie Gemmills goal. I know ticket prices are a rip off, I know hotels are mental but don’t lose sight of the fact this is once in a lifetime and you will remember it for the rest of your life. We are going to be able to tell our grandkids about the time we went to America, Watched Scotland lose to Haiti, see Scott Mctominay score the best goal of all time to beat Morrocco and how we then got a Heroic draw against Brazil to put us into the knockout stages for the first time. we then beat the English 5-0 in the last 32 and Trump ends the tournament early and gives us the cup to stop the Mexicans winning it in New York. Quote
GaryWood34 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 4 hours ago, McTeeko said: Aye, and I’ve heard the lassies are pretty hot too! 🔥 Good thread by the way Gary! Need to get the feel-good factor back in the lead up 👍🏼🏴 Haha.. Hopefully we are smiling wider than the last time we seen each other. 4-0 down in Munich! Quote
GaryWood34 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 2 hours ago, NSIGN said: I was born and raised in England. My Dad (a Glaswegian and massive Celtic fan) made it clear to me anything was forgivable other than supporting England. He would rather i joined a flute band and played for Rangers than ever support the three lions. Sadly for me being a Scotland fan in England has meant 43 years of having the piss taken out of me at school and then work. I’ve had to see all my mates go off to World cups time after time while I’ve been sat at home willing their team to lose. Going to Germany was amazing and a life long dream but the World Cup and it being in America makes it so much bigger. I’m genuinely ticking the days off on a calendar. I had an uncle who went to Argentina in 78. He never mentioned how much it cost, he never spoke about the Peru result. He only ever spoke about the Adventure, the fans and Archie Gemmills goal. I know ticket prices are a rip off, I know hotels are mental but don’t lose sight of the fact this is once in a lifetime and you will remember it for the rest of your life. We are going to be able to tell our grandkids about the time we went to America, Watched Scotland lose to Haiti, see Scott Mctominay score the best goal of all time to beat Morrocco and how we then got a Heroic draw against Brazil to put us into the knockout stages for the first time. we then beat the English 5-0 in the last 32 and Trump ends the tournament early and gives us the cup to stop the Mexicans winning it in New York. What a superb post. It does seem it’s got gradually bigger as times gone on with this group of players. Euro20 I was at all 3 games with Wembley being the pinnacle. Euro24 as above attended all 3 and was outstanding for so many reasons with the obvious real lows. But this feels so much bigger. The way we qualified should carry us on an upward trajectory until match day 1 and beyond. Edited December 20, 2025 by GaryWood34 Quote
dan cake Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 Really looking forward to spending 16 days with my mates indulging in my favourite pastimes of watching Scotland, travelling, live music and alcohol. One of our mainstays can’t travel at present so it’s brought home just how important and precious doing the things you enjoy are, will worry about the financial cost afterwards Quote
ScotlandHandyAndy Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 We've been doing away trips for 20 odd years in the hope that one day we'd get to a World Cup - and finally it's happened. If Germany is anything to go by, it'll be some party over there. Can't wait. Quote
McTeeko Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 1 hour ago, dan cake said: Really looking forward to spending 16 days with my mates indulging in my favourite pastimes of watching Scotland, travelling, live music and alcohol. One of our mainstays can’t travel at present so it’s brought home just how important and precious doing the things you enjoy are, will worry about the financial cost afterwards I’ll echo this too. Cannae wait! Aye the Euros were good, particularly Germany, but the World Cup is completely different and so much bigger. And aye it’s going to cost plenty, but you said something last week that I thought was brilliant - ‘I’m no interested in being the richest man in the cemetery’. When you’re lying on your death bed at 85 or whatever, the things you’ll look back on are things like this, no how much money you had saved up 30/40 years previously 🏴 Quote
Dave78 Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 I was like a kid at Christmas for about a week after the Denmark game. FIFA succeeded in taking a bit of the wind oot my sails with all their shite, so this thread is the perfect tonic! 6 hours ago, NSIGN said: We are going to be able to tell our grandkids about the time we went to America, Watched Scotland lose to Haiti, see Scott Mctominay score the best goal of all time to beat Morrocco and how we then got a Heroic draw against Brazil to put us into the knockout stages for the first time. we then beat the English 5-0 in the last 32 and Trump ends the tournament early and gives us the cup to stop the Mexicans winning it in New York. Haha, love this! Quote
Bristolhibby Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 7 hours ago, NSIGN said: I was born and raised in England. My Dad (a Glaswegian and massive Celtic fan) made it clear to me anything was forgivable other than supporting England. He would rather i joined a flute band and played for Rangers than ever support the three lions. Sadly for me being a Scotland fan in England has meant 43 years of having the piss taken out of me at school and then work. I’ve had to see all my mates go off to World cups time after time while I’ve been sat at home willing their team to lose. Going to Germany was amazing and a life long dream but the World Cup and it being in America makes it so much bigger. I’m genuinely ticking the days off on a calendar. I had an uncle who went to Argentina in 78. He never mentioned how much it cost, he never spoke about the Peru result. He only ever spoke about the Adventure, the fans and Archie Gemmills goal. I know ticket prices are a rip off, I know hotels are mental but don’t lose sight of the fact this is once in a lifetime and you will remember it for the rest of your life. We are going to be able to tell our grandkids about the time we went to America, Watched Scotland lose to Haiti, see Scott Mctominay score the best goal of all time to beat Morrocco and how we then got a Heroic draw against Brazil to put us into the knockout stages for the first time. we then beat the English 5-0 in the last 32 and Trump ends the tournament early and gives us the cup to stop the Mexicans winning it in New York. I’m 45 but in the same boat (Hibs and Edinburgh as opposed to Glasgow and Celtic). Been following Scotland for over 20 years. This is the payoff for all the Tom Kite we have had to endure over the years. Germany was brilliant. This will be next level. Plus getting to go to Boston, New York and Miami. Superb! The planning, the flights, the routes, hire cars, hotels, baseball games, the food, the craic. Cannot wait. 11th June we drive to Heathrow. Less than 6 months to go. J Quote
GLOSTA Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 First ever time in New York. Return to Boston for first time since 1993. Going to Cape Cod. First time seeing Miami and Fort Lauderdale. The tension, hope and excitement. Bumping into pals amd acquaintances from Scotland games over many years. My first home game was Norn Iron 1971 and remember seeing Brazil ar Hampden in 1973. My first away game was Wrexham 1977. The second, Wembley a week later. I was only 15 and brought a hook from the goal post and a bit of the centre circle home. Was in Cardiff the night Jock Stein died. Never had the resources to go to a WC. After a long break my return to away games was the Faroe Islands 2002. Man, that was a low point and many more followed, e.g. 4-6-0 in Prague. So, I am excited beyond belief. Been using a chunk of my pension to make every competive game in last 3 campaigns in anticipation of qualifying. And yes, I do think we can get out of a tough group and them every game is a cup final. Get lntae them Quote
SeaCowe Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 9 hours ago, NSIGN said: I was born and raised in England. My Dad (a Glaswegian and massive Celtic fan) made it clear to me anything was forgivable other than supporting England. He would rather i joined a flute band and played for Rangers than ever support the three lions. Sadly for me being a Scotland fan in England has meant 43 years of having the piss taken out of me at school and then work. I’ve had to see all my mates go off to World cups time after time while I’ve been sat at home willing their team to lose. Going to Germany was amazing and a life long dream but the World Cup and it being in America makes it so much bigger. I’m genuinely ticking the days off on a calendar. I had an uncle who went to Argentina in 78. He never mentioned how much it cost, he never spoke about the Peru result. He only ever spoke about the Adventure, the fans and Archie Gemmills goal. I know ticket prices are a rip off, I know hotels are mental but don’t lose sight of the fact this is once in a lifetime and you will remember it for the rest of your life. We are going to be able to tell our grandkids about the time we went to America, Watched Scotland lose to Haiti, see Scott Mctominay score the best goal of all time to beat Morrocco and how we then got a Heroic draw against Brazil to put us into the knockout stages for the first time. we then beat the English 5-0 in the last 32 and Trump ends the tournament early and gives us the cup to stop the Mexicans winning it in New York. Great post mate & I can so relate. Born in Scotland but 10 months later my dad’s job took us to South England where I been based since. Just turned 40 and as yourself, have had the constant piss taken out of me since I can remember. Obviously followed in my family's footsteps as it was a nonnegotiable to not support the thistle. They watched many games at Hampden whilst growing up when attendances were over the 100k mark. I still love hearing the stories. I fondly remember the 98 WC and us all watching the games in the lounge but never expected at 12 years old, it would take us this long to be back. The Denmark game was something else but getting over the line, is something I’ll never forget & I still can’t believe how it all unfolded. Just superb! Tops were off running around the lounge & I woke the kids up 😂 I’ve booked flights and a place to stay for the first two games in Boston. Would love to do more but just grateful to be able to do this. Am travelling solo and this will be my first experience with the TA. I just thought, bollocks to it, I’m booking it & the rest will take care of itself. Ticking the days off here too. I told my wife I’m going to head over but haven’t yet mentioned the small fact that it’s all booked. Going to be interesting but we march on 😂 Love sports and love Scotland & follow all our national sides. I follow the same club my dad did. Played rugby as I was better at it than football and over the years have watched 16 Scottish Rugby games across World Cups and 6 Nations & no joke, we’ve lost every single time. The experiences I’ve had though have been brilliant and I was at that QF WC game at Twickenham vs Australia when that ridiculous call was made late on. I sat there knowing I could get SF tickets through my English mates due to them being knocked out the tournament but seconds later that nonsense happened. In May 2024 things got a bit hairy. I somehow got Pneumonia and a lung infection at the same time (fully recovered thankfully). How, I’ve no idea and it still makes no sense but I just knew that when we qualified I had to go and couldn’t miss out. If you want to do something and can make it work, why not hey! My old man isn’t with us anymore but I know he’ll be enjoying the WC with his whisky and like us all, just so bloody happy we’re back at a WC! Quote
Dave78 Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 28 minutes ago, SeaCowe said: I’ve booked flights and a place to stay for the first two games in Boston. Would love to do more but just grateful to be able to do this. Am travelling solo and this will be my first experience with the TA. I just thought, bollocks to it, I’m booking it & the rest will take care of itself. Ticking the days off here too. You'll be made more than welcome fella! 28 minutes ago, SeaCowe said: I told my wife I’m going to head over but haven’t yet mentioned the small fact that it’s all booked. Going to be interesting but we march on 😂 Love sports and love Scotland & follow all our national sides. I follow the same club my dad did. Played rugby as I was better at it than football and over the years have watched 16 Scottish Rugby games across World Cups and 6 Nations & no joke, we’ve lost every single time. The experiences I’ve had though have been brilliant and I was at that QF WC game at Twickenham vs Australia when that ridiculous call was made late on. I sat there knowing I could get SF tickets through my English mates due to them being knocked out the tournament but seconds later that nonsense happened. Still pisses me off that 28 minutes ago, SeaCowe said: In May 2024 things got a bit hairy. I somehow got Pneumonia and a lung infection at the same time (fully recovered thankfully). How, I’ve no idea and it still makes no sense but I just knew that when we qualified I had to go and couldn’t miss out. If you want to do something and can make it work, why not hey! Hah, i got pneumonia on a Scotland away trip in Amsterdam. Like you i've also no idea how. Wasn't even drinking that hard as i was with the missus. Quote
Orraloon Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 18 hours ago, SeaCowe said: Love sports and love Scotland & follow all our national sides. I follow the same club my dad did. Played rugby as I was better at it than football and over the years have watched 16 Scottish Rugby games across World Cups and 6 Nations & no joke, we’ve lost every single time. The experiences I’ve had though have been brilliant and I was at that QF WC game at Twickenham vs Australia when that ridiculous call was made late on. I sat there knowing I could get SF tickets through my English mates due to them being knocked out the tournament but seconds later that nonsense happened. I'll buy you a pint, if you agree to stay in the pub to watch the Scotland games. 😉 Quote
WeeJohnny Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 Also in the same boat. Scotland daft. Travelled to daft places to see games (Khazakhstan and Maldova still live in my mind as truelly silly). Have lived in England for 27 years. Two 20 something boys and English wife (not her fault) all scotland daft. Did Germany for the euros for two weeks with best pal since school but have changed my mind and not going for group stages thi time as just too complicated and the appeal of taking my boys to my heart's home in Broughty Ferry to watch the matches in a pub with my pals has a lot of attraction (and a bit cheaper!). Will consider doing a daft trip if we get past the group. On that note thought Steve Clarke was so sound saying not to get in too unaffordable debt. No doubt a lot of us (inc me) have and will again following Scotland but good thing to say. Gary - as someone else said....cheers for starting this thread. Ive just read it over a pint in a Cambridgeshire village pub and some of the posts brought a lump to my throat. Real feelgood thread at this time of year ! And as for looking forward to the Brazilians on Miami Beach ! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Quote
WeeJohnny Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 21 hours ago, Bristolhibby said: I’m 45 but in the same boat (Hibs and Edinburgh as opposed to Glasgow and Celtic). Been following Scotland for over 20 years. This is the payoff for all the Tom Kite we have had to endure over the years. Germany was brilliant. This will be next level. Plus getting to go to Boston, New York and Miami. Superb! The planning, the flights, the routes, hire cars, hotels, baseball games, the food, the craic. Cannot wait. 11th June we drive to Heathrow. Less than 6 months to go. J Quote
WeeJohnny Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 Havnae quite got this thingbof attaching the previous post as a quote to the reply. Probably the pint and being 60 ! Quote
NorthSeaToRockies Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 Apologies in advance for being a bit sappy, but nearly every second thought I have just now is about next summer. I’m turning 30 next year, and I’ve never known Scotland at a World Cup — it’s always felt like something just out of reach for my generation. My first Scotland match was Belarus in 2005, travelling down with my Granny and Granda. We lost, but I was completely hooked. From then on it became a wee family tradition. Those days mean far more to me now than I ever realised at the time. My first full SSC campaign was that heartbreakingly close 2008 qualification — the joy of Caldwell against France followed by the pain of those last minutes against Italy. Then came the years of almosts, some Euros but still no World Cup, life taking me abroad to the US, and sadly my Granda passing away. He was the one who gave me my love of football. This year I finally made it home after five years, and by chance my trip overlapped with the Greece match at Hampden. Without a second thought I bought two tickets and asked my Granny if she wanted to go, for old times’ sake. It wasn’t a classic, but we got the win and one more night at Hampden together — and I know she’s still over the moon she got to be there again. Then Denmark. I still don’t think I’ve come down from that high. Scotland are going to the World Cup — in my backyard — and I still can’t quite believe it. I booked my flight to Boston for the Haiti match as soon as I could. Ticket or not, I’m just so happy that I’ll finally get to see my country at a World Cup, and that I’ll be there for it. I know I’ll be choked up during Flower of Scotland when all those memories come flooding back. Quote
SeaCowe Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 4 hours ago, Orraloon said: I'll buy you a pint, if you agree to stay in the pub to watch the Scotland games. 😉 100% mate….only way I won’t be will be if my cat 3 ballot application comes in 😂 For some stupid reason I have a feeling one of the two games I’m there for will come in. Quote
SeaCowe Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 37 minutes ago, NorthSeaToRockies said: Apologies in advance for being a bit sappy, but nearly every second thought I have just now is about next summer. I’m turning 30 next year, and I’ve never known Scotland at a World Cup — it’s always felt like something just out of reach for my generation. My first Scotland match was Belarus in 2005, travelling down with my Granny and Granda. We lost, but I was completely hooked. From then on it became a wee family tradition. Those days mean far more to me now than I ever realised at the time. My first full SSC campaign was that heartbreakingly close 2008 qualification — the joy of Caldwell against France followed by the pain of those last minutes against Italy. Then came the years of almosts, some Euros but still no World Cup, life taking me abroad to the US, and sadly my Granda passing away. He was the one who gave me my love of football. This year I finally made it home after five years, and by chance my trip overlapped with the Greece match at Hampden. Without a second thought I bought two tickets and asked my Granny if she wanted to go, for old times’ sake. It wasn’t a classic, but we got the win and one more night at Hampden together — and I know she’s still over the moon she got to be there again. Then Denmark. I still don’t think I’ve come down from that high. Scotland are going to the World Cup — in my backyard — and I still can’t quite believe it. I booked my flight to Boston for the Haiti match as soon as I could. Ticket or not, I’m just so happy that I’ll finally get to see my country at a World Cup, and that I’ll be there for it. I know I’ll be choked up during Flower of Scotland when all those memories come flooding back. With you on that one mate Quote
KENTTA Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 5 hours ago, WeeJohnny said: Havnae quite got this thingbof attaching the previous post as a quote to the reply. Probably the pint and being 60 ! Well done Wee johnny. Just found out how do do it. Cheers Quote