TDYER63 Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 I realise not everyone enjoys Christmas and for good reason, and even those of us who love it have things they don’t like. So I thought I would start a Room 101 thread , a bit like a Christmas edition of Get it off your Chest. Off the top of my head( as I have a day of housework ahead and a Christmas party later so dont have time to consider this much) my 3 items are : 1. Turkey - boring and tasteless. So boring I cant even add an explanation. 2. Cheap wrapping paper. Soon as you have wrapped the item your finger pokes through the paper and you either have to stick sellotape over the hole or start again. Tidy top tip : invest in half decent paper ! 3 . Childrens presents that cost you the price of a small mortgage, and you still have to spend hours putting it together. Thinking here specifically of the Barbie House and memories of sitting up till 3 am building it and covering it in stickers whilst panicking that our daughter was going to wake up . So , what would you put in ? It doesn’t have to be 3 items, just anything that annoys you. I doubt there will be enough folk taking part to do the original Room 101 ‘vote for the thing’ you dislike most , but feel free to agree or disagree with people’s choices . Quote
Hertsscot Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 1. Christmas build up starting just after Halloween 2. Christmas ending on 26 December. No, it's a season. It begins on 25 December and goes on for 12 days! I accept these are personal bug bears and apologise to anyone on the board who's had their tree up since November and is intending to take it down on Boxing Day. Quote
vanderark14 Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 1. Christmas songs. As I explained, I worked in a supermarket during my Uni days and did a lot of extra hours when Uni finished..............a constant loop of the same Classic christmas CD ruined these songs for me. I woke up during the night as I thought I could hear George Michael singing 🤣 2. The complete and total commercialisation of Christmas. It seems to go on forever nowadays and I feel like its losing its novelty. Like someone said above, it starts on the 25th and goes on from there. Quote
fringo Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 7 minutes ago, vanderark14 said: 1. Christmas songs. As I explained, I worked in a supermarket during my Uni days and did a lot of extra hours when Uni finished..............a constant loop of the same Classic christmas CD ruined these songs for me. I woke up during the night as I thought I could hear George Michael singing 🤣 2. The complete and total commercialisation of Christmas. It seems to go on forever nowadays and I feel like its losing its novelty. Like someone said above, it starts on the 25th and goes on from there. I had a similar experience with a Gloria Gaynor song causing me nightmares . At first I was afraid, then I was petrified. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 1. Folk who complain constantly about Christmas songs* whether it be pre/post December or not. You don’t hear people getting humpty about about EW&F singing about September in the middle of February 2. Alcohol. People who use Christmas as an excuse to get mortal. There’s just nae need. Whether it’s Christmas Day itself or works Christmas nights out 3. Game shows on the tele. It’s just the usual pish except it’s always celebrity versions and surprise, surprise they always seem to win since it’s for charity Quote
vanderark14 Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 1 hour ago, fringo said: I had a similar experience with a Gloria Gaynor song causing me nightmares . At first I was afraid, then I was petrified. 🤣 Quote
StirlingEgg Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 2 hours ago, fringo said: I had a similar experience with a Gloria Gaynor song causing me nightmares . At first I was afraid, then I was petrified. 😂 Quote
stocky Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 1-Football message boards filled up with posts about Christmas 😝😝 Quote
kumnio Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 6 hours ago, bonzo said: Creme eggs appearing on boxing day. Seen them on the counter in a shop yesterday. Quote
DoonTheSlope Posted December 19, 2025 Posted December 19, 2025 6 hours ago, bonzo said: Creme eggs appearing on boxing day. I was heartbroken when I got my first crème egg Easter egg. I looked forward to it for days only to nibble it open at the top and find out there wasn’t filled to the brim with the fondant cream inside it Quote
exile Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 (edited) 1. All the usual things (Christmas songs, tv ads, christmas specials/ reruns) not necessarily because they are christmassy, but they are just too bad, done too much/ too often, too soon. 2. Politicians, royals and media commentators trying to latch on to feelgood 'christmas spirit' while doing things incompatible with peace, caring for the needy, or 'goodwill to all' 3. General social pressure to do certain things, to be seen to be enjoying yourself, not just doing your own thing. In contrast, at Easter break you can do what you like or do nothing at all, without explanation. Edited December 20, 2025 by exile Quote
AlfieMoon Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 Very much personalised to my own personal hell with the in-laws. Just call me the Grinch. 1. Prawn fucking cocktail. Marie Rose sauce fucking bowfin and I’d prefer bigger prawns than wee shitey ones but happily take the hit on that one. Look at me as if I’ve got 2 heads when saying just give me plain fucking prawn before the sauce goes on. Just geez a Lentil soup like normal folk. 2. Party/board games - ram them. Much rather have a carry on wi some tunes or karaoke on the go. 3. Kings/Queens speech. Pile of pish. Never watched it in my life. Quote
TDYER63 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 12:37 PM, DoonTheSlope said: 1. Folk who complain constantly about Christmas songs* whether it be pre/post December or not. You don’t hear people getting humpty about about EW&F singing about September in the middle of February 2. Alcohol. People who use Christmas as an excuse to get mortal. There’s just nae need. Whether it’s Christmas Day itself or works Christmas nights out 3. Game shows on the tele. It’s just the usual pish except it’s always celebrity versions and surprise, surprise they always seem to win since it’s for charity 🙋♀️ guilty party here. Wouldn’t exactly say mortal but i do drink far too much on both those occasions. I am not even working any more and still managed to take part in my old works Christmas party last night. What age does it become unacceptable to be dancing on the balcony of the Buff Club at 1am ? Probably about 40 years before you reach 62 but I still managed to do it 🙄 Your 3 rd item was almost mine too but the Barbie house edged it. Quote
TDYER63 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 12:06 PM, fringo said: I had a similar experience with a Gloria Gaynor song causing me nightmares . At first I was afraid, then I was petrified. 😂 Quote
TDYER63 Posted December 20, 2025 Author Posted December 20, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 11:27 AM, C2405 said: Sellotape. Have you got a sellotape dispenser? If not they are a game changer. Cant believe for years I used to fight with the roll trying to find the start of the sellotape. Quote
phart Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 11:56 AM, vanderark14 said: 1. Christmas songs. As I explained, I worked in a supermarket during my Uni days and did a lot of extra hours when Uni finished..............a constant loop of the same Classic christmas CD ruined these songs for me. I woke up during the night as I thought I could hear George Michael singing 🤣 I was chatting to the guy at checkout in Tesco about this. He was singing the songs under his breath, i worked in poundstretchers when i was at school and they had a tape of about 12 christmas songs on continous for a month, and i'd be working 12 hours in the stockroom over the holidays and it would imprint on you. Quote
StirlingEgg Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 1) Post/delivery issues. Sent a parcel on Wed then it turned up at my house at 8am on Friday because the guy at the post office had put my sender details on the label 🙄😆 2) The mulled wine I usually like has changed and not as nice 🫥 Lower % alcohol and bit of an unpleasant aftertaste. 3) Mariah Carey singing Auld Lang Syne. Heard it for the first time yesterday 😳 Quote
Rich NATA Posted December 20, 2025 Posted December 20, 2025 Tat... Whether it be presents or crackers. I don't like people wasting money on tat. Quote
bonzo Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 12 hours ago, AlfieMoon said: Very much personalised to my own personal hell with the in-laws. Just call me the Grinch. 1. Prawn fucking cocktail. Marie Rose sauce fucking bowfin and I’d prefer bigger prawns than wee shitey ones but happily take the hit on that one. Look at me as if I’ve got 2 heads when saying just give me plain fucking prawn before the sauce goes on. Just geez a Lentil soup like normal folk. 2. Party/board games - ram them. Much rather have a carry on wi some tunes or karaoke on the go. 3. Kings/Queens speech. Pile of pish. Never watched it in my life. How can you go wrong wae salad cream and tomato sauce mixed together? Quote
vanderark14 Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 14 hours ago, phart said: I was chatting to the guy at checkout in Tesco about this. He was singing the songs under his breath, i worked in poundstretchers when i was at school and they had a tape of about 12 christmas songs on continous for a month, and i'd be working 12 hours in the stockroom over the holidays and it would imprint on you. 😆 🤣 😂 😹 Quote
AlfieMoon Posted December 21, 2025 Posted December 21, 2025 6 hours ago, bonzo said: How can you go wrong wae salad cream and tomato sauce mixed together? Careful Bonzo. I’ve never had tae block someone on here before. 😝 Quote
TDYER63 Posted December 21, 2025 Author Posted December 21, 2025 13 hours ago, StirlingEgg said: 1) Post/delivery issues. Sent a parcel on Wed then it turned up at my house at 8am on Friday because the guy at the post office had put my sender details on the label 🙄😆 2) The mulled wine I usually like has changed and not as nice 🫥 Lower % alcohol and bit of an unpleasant aftertaste. 3) Mariah Carey singing Auld Lang Syne. Heard it for the first time yesterday 😳 😂😂 All very worthy entries 👍 I have actually never heard Mariah Carey sing anything other than my favourite Christmas song right enough . I can imagine her warbling her way through Auld Lang Syne . Quote