Qualification in 3rd Place - World Cup 2026 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Onward Travel Plans if we Qualify in 3rd. We would either play in Mexico City, Boston or NY.

My calculations, so could be wrong..... show us having a 70% chance to play in Boston if we finish 3rd and Qualify. What they do is look at the permutations of which teams qualify from which Groups in 3rd place and set the Teams destination for the Last 32 accordingly. If you look at the FIFA Match Schedule, for Last 32 Games, 3C will only ever be listed for Boston, Mexico City or New York.

There are 330 Permutations dependant on which Groups make up the Top 8 3rd Place finishers. 97 of them we fo to Mexico City to play Winner Group A, 231 we head back to Boston to play Winner Group E, and, only 2 outcomes mean we go to NY to play Winner Group I.

(29%) 97 1A (Mexico/Denmark)
(70%) 231 1E (Germany)
(0.6%) 2 1I (France/Norway)

Finish 2nd we head to Monterrey. 1st and it's Houston.

We are well over budget on our trip so it's Boston or bust for us! We fly back from Toronto. The prices of flights are going through the roof even for Internal Flights now. I dread to think what they will be a couple of days before you want to travel! So i've just booked MIA-BOS on 28th June. Looking at the costs to get to Mexico are eye watering. Topping the group is unlikely.

The reason I say is Spirit Airlines have released a flight today from MIA to BOS. It's not cheap but is the cheapest flight going. So if anybody is thinking about going this route, I would think about booking pronto! https://www.spirit.com/

One Way Flights are all Priced at $239. Ours Depart 1.26PM

Cheapest Alternative is £319 for a Direct Flight. Or, £190 for a 12 Hour in-direct flight that Departs at a shit time (5.50am)

Hopefully this maybe help somebody!

• Replies 55

5 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Personally I hope it's not Boston as I'm due to be watching Neil Young in Bellahouston Park at the exact same time!

I’ve been a Scotland fan long enough to suspect you will be watching Neil Young with the Scotland team no longer rocking in the free world (apologies for the pessimism) 

1 hour ago, NSIGN said:

I’ve been a Scotland fan long enough to suspect you will be watching Neil Young with the Scotland team no longer rocking in the free world (apologies for the pessimism) 

Absolutely understandable, I've long since realised the folly of making post group stage plans for Scotland!

35 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Absolutely understandable, I've long since realised the folly of making post group stage plans for Scotland!

My plans for the Last 32 in this World Cup are made out of Financial constraint. They are not made out of expectation! LOL

Seriously, one wrong travel decision at this World Cup and you be costing yourselg £100's easily!

I discounted both Mexico Last 32's as unaffordable. I could have kept Houston in for winning the Group but discounted it on the basis that it's unlikely and the costs to get there plus travel onwards to Toronto where we come home from would be too expensive to book at short notice. It left Boston as the only doable Last 32 for us.

So, we will go and support Scotland to the Max, and enjoy the atmosphere in Boston for the Last 32 game regardless who is playing. But if Scotland do end up there then we are in bus travel distance to the Last 16 in Phile and the QF back in Boston. That's me dreaming! More realistically, we are in striking distance of the Canadian Border where our next Digs are!

1 hour ago, Craig Fae Hamilton said:

My plans for the Last 32 in this World Cup are made out of Financial constraint. They are not made out of expectation! LOL

Seriously, one wrong travel decision at this World Cup and you be costing yourselg £100's easily!

I discounted both Mexico Last 32's as unaffordable. I could have kept Houston in for winning the Group but discounted it on the basis that it's unlikely and the costs to get there plus travel onwards to Toronto where we come home from would be too expensive to book at short notice. It left Boston as the only doable Last 32 for us.

So, we will go and support Scotland to the Max, and enjoy the atmosphere in Boston for the Last 32 game regardless who is playing. But if Scotland do end up there then we are in bus travel distance to the Last 16 in Phile and the QF back in Boston. That's me dreaming! More realistically, we are in striking distance of the Canadian Border where our next Digs are!

Excellent planning, as long as you've got a contingency!

At France 98 we planned to stay for the last 16, which would have most likely been v Italy in Marseille. In the end we were so scunnered after the Morocco game we headed south to the Med, away from football altogether, and had a great few days on the Cote d'Azur 🌞

Ironically we passed the Morocco team bus on the Autoroute south and TBF they looked even more gutted than we did.

We’ve covered the last 32 and the potential last 16 games (last 16 aye right lol) accommodation and ticket wise. If it’s Houston Boston or New Jersey last 32 should manage transport wise! If it’s Monterrey or Mexico City we’ll see! 

58 minutes ago, macwomble said:

We’ve covered the last 32 and the potential last 16 games (last 16 aye right lol) accommodation and ticket wise. If it’s Houston Boston or New Jersey last 32 should manage transport wise! If it’s Monterrey or Mexico City we’ll see! 

Yeah, I have NY covered too but chances of that are almost non-existent: 0.6%

Anyone giving the group games a miss and heading over for knockouts?

The glory hunter in me was thinking about it (for two rounds)😐

A bit of me is wishing I did.   Cheaper (apart from tickets) and easier to travel?

7 minutes ago, Grim Jim said:

Anyone giving the group games a miss and heading over for knockouts?

The glory hunter in me was thinking about it (for two rounds)😐

A bit of me is wishing I did.   Cheaper (apart from tickets) and easier to travel?

Nope 🤣

Aside from the fact we maybe not get through. You could be going there for 1 game. Although doing all Group Games is not cheap, I think it probably comes in at a much lower cost per game attended?

I have 23 nights booked in the USA so far...coming back on 5th July.

Got a cheap Airbnb in North Jersey.

Will hopefully get to last 32 and last 16..

Just booked a return train today from NYC to Boston for the last 32 game - out 29th back 30th...only 113 dollars...and full refund for cancellation!!

If we we win that and get to Philadelphia for the last 16, I can get a bus to Philly from my digs..

That would definitely be my desired bracket rather than heading to Mexico or Houston...🤞🤞

39 minutes ago, saintsparky said:

I have 23 nights booked in the USA so far...coming back on 5th July.

Got a cheap Airbnb in North Jersey.

Will hopefully get to last 32 and last 16..

Just booked a return train today from NYC to Boston for the last 32 game - out 29th back 30th...only 113 dollars...and full refund for cancellation!!

If we we win that and get to Philadelphia for the last 16, I can get a bus to Philly from my digs..

That would definitely be my desired bracket rather than heading to Mexico or Houston...🤞🤞

I'd be interested in doing a hired car share for Boston to Phile is we do make it that far!

We are 4 Weeks, 12th June to 10th July and fly back Toronto.

A mad rush for flights for any knockout stage we might get to... except 3rd place in the group when we've only a vague idea where we might play, so even madder.

Here's hoping anyway!

6 hours ago, Craig Fae Hamilton said:

I'd be interested in doing a hired car share for Boston to Phile is we do make it that far!

We are 4 Weeks, 12th June to 10th July and fly back Toronto.

Hamilton, Ontario?

7 hours ago, Scotty CTA said:

Hamilton, Ontario?

We go as far as Niagra Falls. Basically Buffalo on US side of border if dropping off a car. Then will get picked up and taken to other side of border Fort Erie. Sure you could get onward travel from there?

Hired car could do that Journey. Only problem is if we actually qualified for the QF then that would be back in Boston on the 9th!

You do understand we appear to be pure fucking mental talking about Scotland in Last 16 and QF of a World Cup! 😅

10 hours ago, Craig Fae Hamilton said:

You do understand we appear to be pure fucking mental talking about Scotland in Last 16 and QF of a World Cup! 😅

Nah, we were last 16 in '74 and '78. 😉

53 minutes ago, Craig Fae Hamilton said:

I had to go and check, and WOW............just fucking WOW!

I never knew only 16 teams participated in the Finals. AMAZED! 

Only 8 teams at the Euros the first time we qualified for them.

12 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

The first World Cup we qualified for (and withdrew from) in 1950, ended up only having 13 teams.

Is that the one where India withdrew because FIFA wouldn't let them play in bare feet?