Who is not going? - Page 3 - World Cup 2026 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

16 minutes ago, fringo said:

If Tdyer can't make it and you charge reasonable lodgings I might come. Can you cook ? 😁

Plenty of eateries within walking distance which will be mainly used for breakfast 

After that eating is cheating until kebab before bed 

• Replies 82

2 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

Plenty of eateries within walking distance which will be mainly used for breakfast 

After that eating is cheating until kebab before bed 

Fair points. 😄

16 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Decided to go with Benidorm instead from Sat 13th June to Wed 1st July 

I've been to two World Cups and am now at the age where an adventure would just be an ordeal 

I would have to be guaranteed a ticket, be situated in the centre of the city where the game is and have someone organise me transport to the stadium and back - I used to do this thankless task myself 

Paying mega bucks to stay half an hour from Boston is not ideal 

Not to mention i would probably need to fly from anywhere other than Glasgow 

Paid £2200 for two of us to go to Benidorm - includes swanky apartment in great location, supermarket next door. two toilets and two bedrooms 

Flights from Glasgow with Easyjet and insurance paid for 

Would have been double that to get to Boston and then also fork out spending money 

Tdyer you can come if you want 

😁 Ally that is the nicest offer anyone has made me on here. The only offer I might add , but still the nicest one. 

Sadly I need to decline. I have been to Benidorm once and have never quite recovered . Suppose I shouldnt have waited till I was 60 to make my virgin voyage 😁

@fringo , get your joke book packed, you’re in ! 

3 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

😁 Ally that is the nicest offer anyone has made me on here. The only offer I might add , but still the nicest one. 

Sadly I need to decline. I have been to Benidorm once and have never quite recovered . Suppose I shouldnt have waited till I was 60 to make my virgin voyage 😁

@fringo , get your joke book packed, you’re in ! 

😂😂😂

17 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Paid £2200 for two of us to go to Benidorm - includes swanky apartment in great location, supermarket next door. two toilets and two bedrooms 

One for pishin’ and shitin’ in and the other one for you to do your ablutions. That’s the rules 

On 12/6/2025 at 6:53 PM, TDYER63 said:

Definitely the most interesting reason for not going ! 😁

If you change your mind on the cost you might be surprised about the ESTA.  I know someone who expected to get rejected but got one a few months ago for NYC. And their misadventure was only about 10 yrs ago. 

I was shocked they let you in to be honest.

22 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Decided to go with Benidorm instead from Sat 13th June to Wed 1st July 

I've been to two World Cups and am now at the age where an adventure would just be an ordeal 

I would have to be guaranteed a ticket, be situated in the centre of the city where the game is and have someone organise me transport to the stadium and back - I used to do this thankless task myself 

Paying mega bucks to stay half an hour from Boston is not ideal 

Not to mention i would probably need to fly from anywhere other than Glasgow 

Flights from Glasgow with Easyjet and insurance paid for 

Would have been double that to get to Boston and then also fork out spending money 

Tdyer you can come if you want 

yeah, I’m the same. Can not be arsed with a difficult travel, organising it all, especially without the guarantee of a ticket.

if I had a direct flight and private transfer directly from hotel to game and a guaranteed ticket, that’s a different story
it sounds like these stadiums are in the middle of nowhere in some soulless highway. 

2 hours ago, Malcolm said:

yeah, I’m the same. Can not be arsed with a difficult travel, organising it all, especially without the guarantee of a ticket.

if I had a direct flight and private transfer directly from hotel to game and a guaranteed ticket, that’s a different story
it sounds like these stadiums are in the middle of nowhere in some soulless highway. 

Don't get me wrong, the nearer it gets the 20-30 year old daft laddy inside me will have massive FOMO and wishes he had just went - remembering all the other trips he had been on 

What he doesn't remember is that he is now 58 and the type of guy that has a couple of pints before flying then several halfs on the plane then wakes up the next day feeling like shit and is unable to shake it off the rest of the trip ! 

But like you, and as i said, i would need to be in the main hub and with a ticket or at the very least in a pub full of us watching the game knowing i dont have far to go to where i am staying 

I just think it would be too much of an ordeal and my time for a World Cup in USA was 1994 and we never made it 

Also FIFA seem to have shafted all the fans by design with the travelling involved and cost of everything  

9 hours ago, Malcolm said:

If you do the hard miles in qualifying you're guaranteed a ticket. Not everything in life is handed to you on a platte.

Its not been hard to organise and if yiu look hard enough its pretty affordable. 

If you do the hard miles in qualifying you're guaranteed a ticket. Not everything in life is handed to you on a platte.

Its not been hard to organise and if yiu look hard enough its pretty affordable. 

i don’t begrudge those that have done the hard yards at all, they deserve it.   My argument is that 3500 ticket allocation in a 60000 seater stadium is a joke.  Should 20k for each country and 20k for the host, or min 15k each country, 30k for host.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

i don’t begrudge those that have done the hard yards at all, they deserve it.   My argument is that 3500 ticket allocation in a 60000 seater stadium is a joke.  Should 20k for each country and 20k for the host, or min 15k each country, 30k for host.

Exactly. Say each association has until March to sell their tickets. Any left over goes back to FIFA to sell on their platform. Either way, their tickets get sold. Absolutely nae need for such a shite allocation 😡

I’ve been going through waves of I’m going then I’m not going then I’m going again

The biggest pull is the Haiti game because I simply don’t fancy staying up till 4 in the morning to watch our first World Cup game in 3 decades in my bed. It’ll be even later if you do a magaluf weekender on the continent 

I get dragged back to reality when I remember the fact the Boston stadium is nowhere near Boston and in the middle of nowhere. Thinking back to how poorly organised Germany was where the stadiums were fairly central (Munich excluded where it took over an hour to get into the ground) and that was bad enough trying to get back to the digs because of the extremely poor transport conditions. After Koln I bit the bullet and cancelled my Stuttgart hotel and rebooked right next to the ground 

Then the fact the draw was manipulated to avoid the big boys drawing each other till the semis and. Being midtable on the points ladder I’d be looking at FIFAs own resell site commission fees although I wouldn’t be surprised to see it go down to the lower points levels then having to buy tickets all the way up to the final if that’s the case would make it a no go

I might go. I might no. I’ll decide after the SSC ticket info and decide for definite after Christmas 

Calm doon Lee Anderson 

3 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

(Munich excluded where it took over an hour to get into the ground) and that was bad enough trying to get back to the digs because of the extremely poor transport conditions.

The journey back to Augsburg for us after that game was the stuff of nightmares and I’m fully anticipating it to be even worse in ‘Boston’ next summer. At least the Morocco game is a slightly earlier kick off. 

6 minutes ago, PSJ84 said:

The journey back to Augsburg for us after that game was the stuff of nightmares and I’m fully anticipating it to be even worse in ‘Boston’ next summer. At least the Morocco game is a slightly earlier kick off. 

I walked back to hotel after Cologne with a 2 cans of beer - 3 hours haha

Anyone who isn’t going is still going to have a great time watching and following us from home and perhaps if we get out of the groups people may go over then. Last 32 tickers (opponent dependant) you’d imagine will be very easy to come by as most of us will be at home. 

In today’s day and age social media takes you closer to the fans and the game than ever before. With it being 2am and 11pm kick offs I don’t think people will feel as left out as they would be with a 5pm. 

I can totally appreciate people feeling deflated by costs and distances. 

35 minutes ago, PSJ84 said:

It was a complete shambles. We left the centre of Munich about 4 hours before kick off and only got into our seats at 20:40

I lost count the number of times a train would stop midway and tell everyone to get off and you’d be left with no communication whatsoever and had to make your own way to the destination or turn back around. A 25 minute journey from Dusseldorf to Cologne on matchday ended up taking 3 hours with a €55 uber included

Then trains just wouldn’t appear and then there was times it would change platform with zero correspondence via email, app or departure boards. This wasn’t only on matchdays either

German efficiency is a myth

On 12/9/2025 at 9:56 AM, Malcolm said:

This idea of football for everyone is bollocks. The sport is based on the years of passion shown by both sets of supporters it’s part of what makes the game what it is. 
Personally think FIFA have screwed up big time here by missing the opportunity of selling most of the tickets at full price. 

Trump should have realised that the influx of visitors would be far greater if that was the case. 

51 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

This idea of football for everyone is bollocks. The sport is based on the years of passion shown by both sets of supporters it’s part of what makes the game what it is. 
Personally think FIFA have screwed up big time here by missing the opportunity of selling most of the tickets at full price. 

Trump should have realised that the influx of visitors would be far greater if that was the case. 

they might even be left with significant amount of empty stadiums if the locals dont fancy it

Unfortunately because of the costs won't be able to go but looking on the forum it doesn't look as if  Boston is a particulary conveinant area visa vie transport to and from the games unless you are staying in downtown Boston.Going by some of the talk it could be pretty difficult to navigate late at night.The travel infrastructure regarding  coming from outside Boston by all accounts seems pretty poor.Certainly looks like a lot of planning involved for anybody staying a bit out of Boston.

On 12/4/2025 at 5:18 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

I get you. Last year I had zero intentions of attending the USA leg of the World Cup if that maniac kiddy sniffer Biden or the unhinged bunny boiler took office

But by the grace of god the US election was too big to rig and the grown ups took charge in the Oval Office

I’m praying for the USA opener so I could be in the presence of greatness with President Donald J Trump at the US leg opening ceremony

You really try too hard with this stuff. 

Posted (edited)
On 12/9/2025 at 10:18 AM, DoonTheSlope said:

Calm doon Lee Anderson 

He's far more your cut of tea. 

Stand by what i said, we've Airbnb's for around $70-90 each per night for the duration of our stay. Hotels were wild prices but Airbnb's give you more flexibility, can cook your own meals if you want, have our our garden/pool, can watching non Scotland games in the apartment(s) with a cargo rather then spend 2 weeks in the pub and mate is a chef so all good 😎

13 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Boston is but Miami is not too far north of the city centre.

Aye we have based ourselves in Fort Lauderdale for the Brazil game. 

Far cheaper than Miami and as you say, stadium is north of Miami anyway. 

He's far more your cut of tea. 

Stand by what i said, we've Airbnb's for around $70-90 each per night for the duration of our stay. Hotels were wild prices but Airbnb's give you more flexibility, can cook your own meals if you want, have our our garden/pool, can watching non Scotland games in the apartment(s) with a cargo rather then spend 2 weeks in the pub and mate is a chef so all good 😎

Let’s play a game of spot Tory boys and girls! (Other genders aren’t available)

It must be great having so much disposable income that you’re so out of touch with reality that you can book a trip to the states then post throwaway comments like ‘Its not been hard to organise and if yiu look hard enough its pretty affordable’ to those also looking to go but are less fortunate than yourself

Quit while your behind