Greece v Scotland match thread - Page 4 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, noctonjock said:

He actually doesn't.  We need to get Doak on the ball more

I like Doak a lot but he’s like a wee boy lost. They’re running past him ant will and when he’s on the ball his end product is poor. Looks really off the boil to me. I’ll be very much delighted if he proves me wrong 

Edited by breeks_mctavish
  • Replies 373

How has this Greece side managed to fuck up qualifying so badly?

They look excellent at times. 

We have looked good in the last 5 -10 mins but i still doubt we get a draw out this game. 

Doak needs to do better with that chance.

Absolute shite. We’ve learned fuck all from the last two games. Watching the goal again and what an absolute farce at the back. Gordon keeping us in it. 

Didn't think I'd say this but could do with McLean (or Barron) on for Ferguson to try and get more possession and get the ball to Doak more. Can't risk going down to 10 and make it too difficult to get a result.

Drop Mctominay deeper into a midfield 3, he’s wandering about not getting involved in the game. I’d bring Dykes on for Adams. 

Doak as well. Holds onto the ball far too long and his chance just before ht where he takes an unnecessary touch to get it onto his right foot. Fuck me.

1 minute ago, duncan II said:

We've been crying out for a hero so much that we seriously overestimate how good Doak actually is.

I don't think we have. Hes pretty raw and needs to develop his game but he can still be an important player for us. 

I doubt he becomes world class but he should make it at a good level.

Posted (edited)

I don’t think anyone is overestimating Doak now, he scares opposition but doesn’t do too much damage. But would be great if he’d pokied that. Hope dykes on and Doak actually puts a few crosses in 2nd half.  Still in this…… surely pish can’t continue.

Edited by ger intae them
Just now, gkm_vancouver said:

Didn't think I'd say this but could do with McLean (or Barron) on for Ferguson to try and get more possession and get the ball to Doak more. Can't risk going down to 10 and make it too difficult to get a result.

Yes Ferguson is a red card candidate so I would sub him off.

Greeks seemed to fall apart after Pavlidis went off there.

Can anybody explain what our press is supposed to look like? Adams and McTominay are always at odds with each other and it just breaks open huge amounts space for the Greeks to play into.

2 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Absolute shite. We’ve learned fuck all from the last two games. Watching the goal again and what an absolute farce at the back. Gordon keeping us in it. 

Clarkie boy is always learning, but learns  nothing. Probably get a new contract at full time.  

2 minutes ago, breeks_mctavish said:

I like Doak a lot but he’s like a wee boy lost. They’re running past him ant will and when he’s on the ball his end product is poor. Looks really off the boil to me. I’ll be very much delighted if he proves me wrong 

The thing is he's a young lad and if he gets hooked at half time he would lose a bit of confidence.  I agree he's not so good at the defensive side but he's still learning. 

Keep him on and give him the ball more 

1 minute ago, gkm_vancouver said:

Ferguson needs taking off before he gets sent off. 

I would say Barron would be worth giving a try.

4 minutes ago, duncan II said:

We've been crying out for a hero so much that we seriously overestimate how good Doak actually is.

Compared to the young Greek player, Doak has a long, long way to go. 

Greeks knew how we were gonna play because Clarke picked the same team, Greece have been the better team over 90 minutes the 3 times we’ve played them even though we won 2 of them. Clarke has absolutely no idea how to change a team & surprise an opposition manager. 

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, noctonjock said:

The thing is he's a young lad and if he gets hooked at half time he would lose a bit of confidence.  I agree he's not so good at the defensive side but he's still learning. 

Keep him on and give him the ball more 

Gees a brek ffs. Will his feelings get hurt if he’s hooked like? Absolutely nae room for mollycoddling folk with a WC place at stake. 

2 minutes ago, breeks_mctavish said:

I wonder if he's been told not to run past defenders and get crosses in. He's certainly got the ability to do that.

6 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Doak as well. Holds onto the ball far too long and his chance just before ht where he takes an unnecessary touch to get it onto his right foot. Fuck me.

if he hits it with his left he scores 

1 minute ago, Burj_Alba said:

Compared to the young Greek player, Doak has a long, long way to go. 

1 minute ago, McTeeko said:

Gees a brek ffs. Will his feelings get hurt if he’s hooked like? Absolutely nae room for mollycuddling folk with a WC place at stake. 

Who do take on that would be an improvement?

Thing with doak is hes one of the few players we have who could make something happen from nothing.

22 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

The Greeks do play some nice attacking football but they do go down very easily. I'm concerned that the refs a bit card happy as well and am fearing that we might not end the match with 11 on the pitch 

I would take Ferguson off at halftime.