Scottish Cup 2025/26 - Page 19 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

4 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

How many national finals have both of them been involved in in the history of Scottish football compared to the other clubs ?

One thing leads to another  

Word salad

• Replies 465

How many national finals have both of them been involved in in the history of Scottish football compared to the other clubs ?

Does this entitle them to preferential treatment?

Its a rhetorical question

Fine, do that that when they play each other. 

Why for ALL semi finals and finals are they given the same ends? Why for any other game is it a coin toss?

Tbf to Ally I suspect he is only playing devil's advocate here.

There isn't any logical reason why Celtic and Rangers should have their own special ends at Hampden. That they unofficially do is just another example of how they're pandered to by the authorities in this country like a couple of fat, overindulged weans. 

I mean, Liverpool and Man Utd have each featured at umpteen cup finals at Wembley, but there is never any talk of a Manchester end or a Liverpool end, that I know of!

Everyone seems to be ignoring the idiosyncrasy of Scottish Football with regards Rangers and Celtic that you wont find anywhere else 

We may not like it but it is there 

Everyone seems to be ignoring the idiosyncrasy of Scottish Football with regards Rangers and Celtic that you wont find anywhere else 

We may not like it but it is there 

I think you've missed the point being made

Does this entitle them to preferential treatment?

Its a rhetorical question

Why is it preferential? It bypasses normal process (for reasons not declared) but it gives zero advantage, just lets an old firm hampden goer have the same end everytime they go. Wow

4 hours ago, ger intae them said:

Why is it preferential? It bypasses normal process (for reasons not declared) but it gives zero advantage, just lets an old firm hampden goer have the same end everytime they go. Wow

It also breeds a sense of familiarity amongst the old firm playing staff that other teams don’t get the benefit of 

11 hours ago, ger intae them said:

It creates the sense of a home match for either side of the old firm unless they play each other. To be honest, you and possibly fairbairn are the only old firm fans on here,  I would've thought would understand the need for a neutral ground to be completely and totally neutral.

9 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

It also breeds a sense of familiarity amongst the old firm playing staff that other teams don’t get the benefit of 

It creates the sense of a home match for either side of the old firm unless they play each other. To be honest, you and possibly fairbairn are the only old firm fans on here,  I would've thought would understand the need for a neutral ground to be completely and totally neutral.

This is it. 

Might sound trivial to some but it's an advantage - albeit a small one. 

If it wasn't an advantage then why do Celtic/Rangers prefer to shoot into a specific end each home game when they've got their own fans behind both goals? It's because they are familiar with it.

This is it. 

Might sound trivial to some but it's an advantage - albeit a small one. 

If it wasn't an advantage then why do Celtic/Rangers prefer to shoot into a specific end each home game when they've got their own fans behind both goals? It's because they are familiar with it.

Exactly 

Hibs have traditionally always played ‘doon the slope’ in the second half for as long as I can remember but there’s the odd occasion where the opposition wins the toss and they opt to take advantage and create a wave uncertainty 

It might seem trivial but it certainly unerves a section of the crowd when you see them swapping halves before kick off so it’s only natural that will transfer from the stands to the pitch 

You may or may not have noticed it but Killie have tried it twice this season. First game of the season, Killie came from 2 down in the second half when Hibs were playing ‘up the slope’ then recently it backfired and Hibs scored in the first few seconds

It definitely plays a part

2 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Exactly 

Hibs have traditionally always played ‘doon the slope’ in the second half for as long as I can remember but there’s the odd occasion where the opposition wins the toss and they opt to take advantage and create a wave uncertainty 

It might seem trivial but it certainly unerves a section of the crowd when you see them swapping halves before kick off so it’s only natural that will transfer from the stands to the pitch 

You may or may not have noticed it but Killie have tried it twice this season. First game of the season, Killie came from 2 down in the second half when Hibs were playing ‘up the slope’ then recently it backfired and Hibs scored in the first few seconds

It definitely plays a part

Aye, i noticed it start of the season as we are usually shooting into the away fans 2nd half. Hadn't actually clicked about earlier this month!

5 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Aye, i noticed it start of the season as we are usually shooting into the away fans 2nd half. Hadn't actually clicked about earlier this month!

It definitely unsettled things because in both games after a great first half they came out after half time and were all at sixes and sevens

I suppose Dunfermline would be the more 'romantic' side to win the Cup. But might it be better for Scottish football if Hibs more likely to go further in Europe?

1 minute ago, RanelaghScot said:

As someone with a soft-spot for Dunfermline and Lennon (for his time at Hibs) I'd usually be backing the Pars but as a Hibs fan needs must and I'll be a Celtic supporter once again this season.

Win win situation IMO