Stockholm, Helsinki & Tallinn - General Travel - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

I’ve booked a wee 3 centre trip as above in a few months. Flight out of Edinburgh to Stockholm for 3 nights. Then taking the overnight ferry to Helsinki for a couple of nights before the short ferry crossing to Tallinn. We’re spending 3 nights there before heading home or depending on flights might squeeze in another destination en route.

Has anyone done this trip or similar or has any insight into any of the three destinations? I’ve never been to any of them before. Any thoughts appreciated.

11 hours ago, slasher said:

I’ve booked a wee 3 centre trip as above in a few months. Flight out of Edinburgh to Stockholm for 3 nights. Then taking the overnight ferry to Helsinki for a couple of nights before the short ferry crossing to Tallinn. We’re spending 3 nights there before heading home or depending on flights might squeeze in another destination en route.

Has anyone done this trip or similar or has any insight into any of the three destinations? I’ve never been to any of them before. Any thoughts appreciated.

I've done the Helsinki to Stockholm leg - Viking Line - some years ago, it was very good. Arriving in Stockholm was quite memorable as you pass lots of little islands in the smooth clear water, in my case in the calm of the morning light, but I imagine it would be equally good at sunset. The Stockholm archipelago has thousands of islands, some of them have little holiday homes on them and quite pictureque.

Stockholm, there's lots to do and see, just walking around the old town and harbour area is an experience. I seem to remember going on a 'Viking' themed sailing boat that sailed out to some islands and came back (a bit like going doon the watter, but to the east). 

Helsinki, wasn't there very long but the central area and harbour were lively and interesting enough.

Posted (edited)

I hope you don’t mind me indulging my memories Slasher but I feel compelled to share. This was the last trip I took with my late wife and as such holds such special memories for me.

I found Stockholm to be quite wonderful, warm and welcoming and really quite beautiful. A trip around the archipelago is quite something whether at sunrise or sunset and is a must do. The rest of the city is walkable and fun to do. 
We took the ferry to Helsinki which was akin to a floating discotheque. I must confess we didn’t get much sleep that evening. Many young Swedes take this ferry for the duty free and cheap party so be prepared!

Helsinki was more modern and a little more reserved I would say, but the people were really nice. We had some interesting food experiences there as well.

I can’t tell you anything about Tallinn as we moved on to St Petersburg after that and that was also very special. Sadly my wife fell ill a short time later and passed away, but that whole trip will forever remain special to me for obvious reasons, I hope you enjoy as wonderful a trip as I did.

Edited by AncellotisEyebrow
14 hours ago, exile said:

I've done the Helsinki to Stockholm leg - Viking Line - some years ago, it was very good. Arriving in Stockholm was quite memorable as you pass lots of little islands in the smooth clear water, in my case in the calm of the morning light, but I imagine it would be equally good at sunset. The Stockholm archipelago has thousands of islands, some of them have little holiday homes on them and quite pictureque.

Stockholm, there's lots to do and see, just walking around the old town and harbour area is an experience. I seem to remember going on a 'Viking' themed sailing boat that sailed out to some islands and came back (a bit like going doon the watter, but to the east). 

Helsinki, wasn't there very long but the central area and harbour were lively and interesting enough.

Cheers bud. I think a wee boat trip around the archipelago seems like something I’ll need to pencil in. 👍

13 hours ago, AncellotisEyebrow said:

I hope you don’t mind me indulging my memories Slasher but I feel compelled to share. This was the last trip I took with my late wife and as such holds such special memories for me.

I found Stockholm to be quite wonderful, warm and welcoming and really quite beautiful. A trip around the archipelago is quite something whether at sunrise or sunset and is a must do. The rest of the city is walkable and fun to do. 
We took the ferry to Helsinki which was akin to a floating discotheque. I must confess we didn’t get much sleep that evening. Many young Swedes take this ferry for the duty free and cheap party so be prepared!

Helsinki was more modern and a little more reserved I would say, but the people were really nice. We had some interesting food experiences there as well.

I can’t tell you anything about Tallinn as we moved on to St Petersburg after that and that was also very special. Sadly my wife fell ill a short time later and passed away, but that whole trip will forever remain special to me for obvious reasons, I hope you enjoy as wonderful a trip as I did.

Aww Jeez! That’s very sad mate.

Sorry to hear about your good lady, that must have been horrendous for you. I can’t imagine life without Mrs Slasher and hope I never have to.

Anyhoo thanks for the info. I had heard that about the ferry to Helsinki but it’s better to have it confirmed from someone who’s done it! 👍

Helsinki on the surface might disappoint at first (most folk will say its as dull as dishwater) but I think its my favorite of the Scandinavian capitals.

Head out to the island fortress, as you can lose an entire day walking around there.

Also if the market is on at the harbour front, head down there and get some great street food. We got an massive bowl of Reindeer Meatballs for less than 5 Euros each and was basically our lunch/dinner for the day.

The Helsinki Tourist Card is a must get, as you get discounts and in some restaurants you get a free desert on top of your meal (we went to a kind of country style tractor restaurant opposite the main department store and got a free cake and ice cream).

Ferry to Tallinn is quite enjoyable.

Posting on here though, a lot of the Tallinn bars that have went down in Tartan Army legend I did not find all they were cracked up to be.... "Bar with No Name" was just a sport bar that was pretty lifeless I foiund.

On 8/25/2025 at 11:05 AM, wanderer said:

Helsinki on the surface might disappoint at first (most folk will say its as dull as dishwater) but I think its my favorite of the Scandinavian capitals.

Head out to the island fortress, as you can lose an entire day walking around there.

Also if the market is on at the harbour front, head down there and get some great street food. We got an massive bowl of Reindeer Meatballs for less than 5 Euros each and was basically our lunch/dinner for the day.

The Helsinki Tourist Card is a must get, as you get discounts and in some restaurants you get a free desert on top of your meal (we went to a kind of country style tractor restaurant opposite the main department store and got a free cake and ice cream).

Ferry to Tallinn is quite enjoyable.

Posting on here though, a lot of the Tallinn bars that have went down in Tartan Army legend I did not find all they were cracked up to be.... "Bar with No Name" was just a sport bar that was pretty lifeless I foiund.

Sounds good 👍 

There doesn’t seem to be a direct flight back from so looking at the train/bus to Riga and heading back from there after a wee stopover 🤔

I've only been to Stockholm but it's great. Transport is very well integrated and you can get around really easily. If you're there when there's a match on, go, we went to Hammarby and the atmosphere was excellent.

Loads of nice places to eat and drink, couple of good craft bars if that's your thing as well. We didn't do much in the way of museums, just the Vasa which is massive 17th century ship that sank in the harbour. It was fascinating.

Enjoy!

This has triggered memories for me of a trip to the northern Baltic coast of Finland.   Early spring, but still hunners of snow, cars on studded tyres for the icy roads, 2m long icicles hanging from the gutters of all the buildings.

The nearby ice hotel had melted by then, but my hotel room had its own sauna... not posh; just normal there. Everyone had one.    Had to try walking on the Baltic Sea, but the ice creaking underfoot had me heading for land pretty quickly (and gently).

Local bevvy seemed to be White Russians: i.e. vodka & long-life milk.   My favourite snack/starter was poromakkara... wee reindeer sausages with a yoghurt / sour cream dip or something.

Only saw Helsinki airport I'm afraid, so no idea what the outsides of it were like.

Poromakkara was the only Finnish I learned, so street signs didn't help with navigation when a blizzard blew in and the world disappeared.Directions.thumb.JPG.e44e44cff0d0d59d54bde554ca4ae987.JPG

I’ll definitely give reindeer sausages a go although I can’t see Mrs Slasher partaking. She’s spotted flights from Tallinn/ Barcelona on the way back which might be a good way to end things. Haven’t been to Barcelona in about 30 years!

On 10/2/2025 at 7:03 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

When?

I was in Stockholm a couple of years ago when there was highs of -19. I’d recommend an ice breaking winter boat tour if it’s as cold again 

We won’t be going in winter, neither of us are fans of winter weather. Although, the one year it got that cold here I found it a drier cold that didn’t get into your bones so much, if that makes sense?

• 3 months later...

I have been to all three, mostly for work on quick in and out trips so was mainly in the city centres

But also went to see Scotland get gubbed in Stockholm.

Stockholm is nice. I loved walking around the waterfront areas and taking it all in as it was nice weather. Last time though, was in late autumn and it was cold. Had a boat trip round the harbour and visited the Vasa museum which is worth a visit.

Helsinki was just as nice and the only place I have seen bear (yes bear) steaks on the menu. Couldn't bring myself to order it.

Tallin as some one said is more compact. First time I went was October and it started snowing. I asked how long it would last and they said until March! Lots of Finns use the ferry trip to get cheap booze and get absolutely hammered.

Main thing that struck me in all three was perfectly safe to stroll and very friendly people.

On 1/18/2026 at 2:38 PM, GLOSTA said:

I have been to all three, mostly for work on quick in and out trips so was mainly in the city centres

But also went to see Scotland get gubbed in Stockholm.

Stockholm is nice. I loved walking around the waterfront areas and taking it all in as it was nice weather. Last time though, was in late autumn and it was cold. Had a boat trip round the harbour and visited the Vasa museum which is worth a visit.

Helsinki was just as nice and the only place I have seen bear (yes bear) steaks on the menu. Couldn't bring myself to order it.

Tallin as some one said is more compact. First time I went was October and it started snowing. I asked how long it would last and they said until March! Lots of Finns use the ferry trip to get cheap booze and get absolutely hammered.

Main thing that struck me in all three was perfectly safe to stroll and very friendly people.

I’m really looking forward to this now. I think we are back a week from Boston then fly out to Stockholm. Obviously booked pre-qualification but all the ferries and hotels we’d booked were non refundable. I think we’ll be coming straight home from Tallin now though, it’s going to be an expensive summer as it is! 😳

4 hours ago, slasher said:

Now bussing it to Riga for two nights then home from there.

Riga as well as Tallinn?

if so how long are you in Tallinn for? Personally it’s not my favourite place so when I was there a few of years back I got the train to Narva which is right on the Russian border

You've got Narva castle on one side of the river and Ivangorod fortress on the other side

Its as close as you’ll get to the motherland for some time 

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Riga as well as Tallinn?

if so how long are you in Tallinn for? Personally it’s not my favourite place so when I was there a few of years back I got the train to Narva which is right on the Russian border

You've got Narva castle on one side of the river and Ivangorod fortress on the other side

Its as close as you’ll get to the motherland for some time 

You can still go to Russia via the Middle East or Bangkok. The type of thing I’d do if I was single, Mrs Slasher is an adventurer up to a point lol 🇷🇺

edit to say 2 nights in Tallin now 

8 minutes ago, slasher said:

You can still go to Russia via the Middle East or Bangkok. The type of thing I’d do if I was single, Mrs Slasher is an adventurer up to a point lol 🇷🇺

edit to say 2 nights in Tallin now 

Every couple of months I get the idea into my head to go over but then I think about the border. I’d be a fighting age male with a UK passport trying to get into Russia 

You can actually still get into Russia from Narva. The queue is hours long though but when I watch YouTube it seems to be the Estonians who cause the hold. They confiscate any euros you have and they can take you for questioning whereas the Russians pass foot travellers through fairly quickly 

Then there’s the issue of the sanctions blocking cards and accommodation and internal travel sites which make things more complicated 

The videos I’ve watched of people who have flown in are taken for questioning by the Russians

My passport has 2 years to run so this year or next year will be make or break for my trips to Russia and Iraq so those stamps don’t cause any issue in future 

On 2/13/2026 at 10:13 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

Every couple of months I get the idea into my head to go over but then I think about the border. I’d be a fighting age male with a UK passport trying to get into Russia 

You can actually still get into Russia from Narva. The queue is hours long though but when I watch YouTube it seems to be the Estonians who cause the hold. They confiscate any euros you have and they can take you for questioning whereas the Russians pass foot travellers through fairly quickly 

Then there’s the issue of the sanctions blocking cards and accommodation and internal travel sites which make things more complicated 

The videos I’ve watched of people who have flown in are taken for questioning by the Russians

My passport has 2 years to run so this year or next year will be make or break for my trips to Russia and Iraq so those stamps don’t cause any issue in future 

Probably easier just to go from Istanbul. 

I can't imagine the Russian's being too much bother as they're probably desperate for cash into the country. EU on the other hand keep cash out - hence what you describe at Estonian border. 

It's mad to think how quickly this has all changed. 

I was in Russia in 2014 and after Moscow, St. Petersburg, then got the train round the coast to Helsinki. Easy as anything at the time. Similarly went to Cuba around the same time and now that's another no-go.  

I desperately wanted to go to Lebanon at some point and probably Jordan and Israel - all of which are firmly off the table for the foreseeable.