English football 2024-5 - Page 3 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On 9/27/2025 at 2:23 PM, Och Aye said:

West Ham sack Potter. I've cashed out on my West Ham to be relegated bet. Nuno will get them out of trouble.

I'm regretting this already.

Wonder what price it was for the 3 promoted teams to stay up before the season started.

• Replies 96

11 minutes ago, ger intae them said:

Watching match of the day for first time in ages…….. fuck me, Rooney is unable to talk, he gives zero decent comment or incite….. he is totally thick. Licence money well spent there! Who sanctions that spend?!?!

I've not seen it tonight and not seen him much in studio but if I was being extremely kind I'd say he's average at best. If he's on big appearance money then someone at BBC sport needs sacked. 

1 minute ago, ger intae them said:

Danny Murphy? Would totally agree on  him being bang average…… but he towers over our wayne….. he makes Kris Boyd seem listenable 

That's the one. Danny Murphy and he is better than Wayne.  Kris Boyd is so painful mostly because of of hatred of so many things and chips on his shoulder. 

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, ger intae them said:

Watching match of the day for first time in ages…….. fuck me, Rooney is unable to talk, he gives zero decent comment or incite….. he is totally thick. Licence money well spent there! Who sanctions that spend?!?!

I had a few beers in me when I was channel hopping, thought for a second there was an orangutan on the couch. It’s like this version of Wayne Rooney has eaten the playing version of Wayne Rooney, none of these guys can compete with Clinton Morrison when it comes to being an absolute imposter tho Iv just googled spoken dyslexia it’s a thing so maybe he’s genuinely ill 

Edited by dan cake
10 hours ago, ger intae them said:

And to think clubs have employed the numpty as a manager 🤪🤪🤪

Just watched Macclesfield v Crystal Palace - pretty entertaining! The wee man wanted to watch FA Cup games today but could only watch this one without having TNT. Their captain scores a header with a bandage round his head and said he's 2 stone overweight! Rooney quite emotional for his brother so perhaps even less articulate 😄

18 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

Just watched Macclesfield v Crystal Palace - pretty entertaining! The wee man wanted to watch FA Cup games today but could only watch this one without having TNT. Their captain scores a header with a bandage round his head and said he's 2 stone overweight! Rooney quite emotional for his brother so perhaps even less articulate 😄

It looks like one member of the Rooney family is a good coach anyway 😄

Tremendous result for them. Shades of Sutton United and Coventry back in the '80s.

20 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

He certainly looks a better manager than his big brother 👍

7 minutes ago, scotlad said:

It looks like one member of the Rooney family is a good coach anyway 😄

Tremendous result for them. Shades of Sutton United and Coventry back in the '80s.

6 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

He certainly looks a better manager than his big brother 👍

😄

The possession stats were quite one sided but didn't seem too bad watching it. It's good when the crowd is about a metre from the pitch! 

Just now, StirlingEgg said:

😄

The possession stats were quite one sided but didn't seem too bad watching it. It's good when the crowd is about a metre from the pitch! 

I love an underdog winning, even when Darvel did it to Aberdeen. Think it’s rarely nowadays due to the money floating around in Englands top 2 or 3 leagues 🫩

1 hour ago, RDFH64 said:

I love an underdog winning, even when Darvel did it to Aberdeen. Think it’s rarely nowadays due to the money floating around in Englands top 2 or 3 leagues 🫩

It does totally draw you in, even though i don't normally follow much English football. We were rooting for Macclesfield for that last period when it just seemed like Crystal Palace putting balls in and time stretching out that weird way in injury time. Also nice to try and show the wee man that the best matches aren't always the rich flash teams 👍(he supports Hibs and Arsenal 😋

1 hour ago, StirlingEgg said:

It does totally draw you in, even though i don't normally follow much English football. We were rooting for Macclesfield for that last period when it just seemed like Crystal Palace putting balls in and time stretching out that weird way in injury time. Also nice to try and show the wee man that the best matches aren't always the rich flash teams 👍(he supports Hibs and Arsenal 😋

He needs educating, therapy or bribing to ween him off those teams 😜

51 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

He needs educating, therapy or bribing to ween him off those teams 😜

It could be worse i suppose! He likes Martinelli but partly i think because he likes his name 🙂 I'm not even sure if your team is set in stone at aged 7 🤔 How long have you supported Aberdeen? 

8 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

It could be worse i suppose! He likes Martinelli but partly i think because he likes his name 🙂 I'm not even sure if your team is set in stone at aged 7 🤔 How long have you supported Aberdeen? 

Seen my 1st game in 1972, was born in Aberdeen but lived abroad for 10 years, aye I’m an old git 👨🏻‍🦳

11 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

I posted in another thread that I used to watch Portsmouth & the 1st Scottish team I seen was Partick Thistle playing Portsmouth in a friendly just after they’d thrashed Celtic 4-1 in the league cup final 😁

8 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

I posted in another thread that I used to watch Portsmouth & the 1st Scottish team I seen was Partick Thistle playing Portsmouth in a friendly just after they’d thrashed Celtic 4-1 in the league cup final 😁

Did Portsmouth used to play in the top flight at that time? First game I went to might have been Clydebank v Dumbarton at Kilbowie Park with Wet Wet Wet played at half time as the sponsor 😄

13 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

Did Portsmouth used to play in the top flight at that time? First game I went to might have been Clydebank v Dumbarton at Kilbowie Park with Wet Wet Wet played at half time as the sponsor 😄

Portsmouth were in the old 2nd division then, I moved to Dumbarton in 1972, that’s where I saw Aberdeen play for the 1st time. Been to Old Kilbowie to see Clydebank v Dumbarton as well but long before Wet Wet Wet 😜

19 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

Portsmouth were in the old 2nd division then, I moved to Dumbarton in 1972, that’s where I saw Aberdeen play for the 1st time. Been to Old Kilbowie to see Clydebank v Dumbarton as well but long before Wet Wet Wet 😜

😄 wishing you were lucky! (😬

12 hours ago, RDFH64 said:

More grandad by Clive Dunn 🥴

🙂 Someone said to me once you feel the same age from about 26 onwards and that might be true! 

Will you watch Portsmouth v Arsenal on today? 

36 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said:

🙂 Someone said to me once you feel the same age from about 26 onwards and that might be true! 

Will you watch Portsmouth v Arsenal on today? 

Hopefully I’ll be on my way to pittodrie weather permitting, I don’t watch a lot of English football as I find it quite boring with one sided games & teams trying to pass each other into a coma (see enough of that wi Aberdeen) but I would’ve probably watched it out of nostalgia of going to Fratton Park & in the hope that the big team get a doing. 👍

1 hour ago, RDFH64 said:

Hopefully I’ll be on my way to pittodrie weather permitting, I don’t watch a lot of English football as I find it quite boring with one sided games & teams trying to pass each other into a coma (see enough of that wi Aberdeen) but I would’ve probably watched it out of nostalgia of going to Fratton Park & in the hope that the big team get a doing. 👍

Hope you get a result today then and the big team get a doing too 🤞🤪