Season 25/26 - Page 4 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On 7/20/2025 at 12:18 PM, Och Aye said:

Remember the the old days when we looked forward to a new football season. Motherwell could scupper your bet.  😉

I would like to officially retract this comment 😁😎

• Replies 2.8k

Explosive comments from the Rangers manager after the game yesterday. It was refreshing to hear a manager calling his under performing squad out though. Made me think that had Clement still been there he would have blamed Motherwell's pitch / the officials / the bottled water in Athens on Wednesday night / the humidity in North Lanarkshire yesterday - take your pick - for his team's shortcomings instead of calling it for what it is.

1 hour ago, morrie21 said:

Explosive comments from the Rangers manager after the game yesterday. It was refreshing to hear a manager calling his under performing squad out though. Made me think that had Clement still been there he would have blamed Motherwell's pitch / the officials / the bottled water in Athens on Wednesday night / the humidity in North Lanarkshire yesterday - take your pick - for his team's shortcomings instead of calling it for what it is.

I'm not impressed with managers throwing players under the bus. I don't think it will motivate players and just knocks value of anyone he's trying to sell. I thought it was a fairly typical Martin interview, where he didn't really accept blame. He's the manager, he signs players, he sets the team up.

1 hour ago, Hertsscot said:

I'm not impressed with managers throwing players under the bus. I don't think it will motivate players and just knocks value of anyone he's trying to sell. I thought it was a fairly typical Martin interview, where he didn't really accept blame. He's the manager, he signs players, he sets the team up.

Maybe if it's four months into the season and he's had a chance to put a team of players he has recommended to the footballing director on the pitch. As it stands he hasn't had enough time to do that yet. I thought he was using it as an ultimatum to the players there - shape up or ship out basically, not that any clubs would be interested in them anyway in the main. Your captain is a disgrace too - tolerating that level on the pitch then just saying "we need to go back and look at it, we need to do better" over and over again in his post match bit. No matter what team you play for, matching your opponents for work rate is bare minimum - from what I say Rangers didn't get close to doing that yesterday.

41 minutes ago, dan cake said:

Dundee are honking, happy to sit off Hibs for 85 minutes bizarre tactics when they were behind for most of the match. Cant see Presley lasting long 

Should have a sweep on who "loses the dressing room first" .....

15 minutes ago, kumnio said:

Games gone, imagine Celtic players not being allowed to freely hand ball it whenever they want.

St.Mirren has a handball in their box 2 minutes before Cal Mac scored, nothing done. Call it both ways FFS !!!

Did they score?

19 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Oh dear. It's a fuckin handball inside the box, Celtic should have had a penalty !! Do you know the rules???

Some team Celtic, winning despite the refs being against them. Maybe one day they will manage to win something despite the conspiracy against them. 

2 minutes ago, kumnio said:

Some team Celtic, winning despite the refs being against them. Maybe one day they will manage to win something despite the conspiracy against them. 

Congratulations! You are now a candidate for the dumbest post of the season award !! 👍

6 minutes ago, kumnio said:

Poor we souls being victimised again 😳

Kris Boyd !! Worst football pundit on earth !! How he is in a job is beyond me !! "Celtic were lucky today". Whit????? Look at the stats ya fat Hun bastard !!!

Calm down wee man, seasons only just started 🤯🤯🤯

Oh dear. It's a fuckin handball inside the box, Celtic should have had a penalty !! Do you know the rules???

Ramy, for a handball to be a penalty and for it to happen before a goal are 2 different things in the rules. 

For a penalty it either has to be deliberate or arm im un natural position. 

For a goal, if it hits the goalscorers arm immedietly before the goal then its a foul, regardless of whether it was deliberate or in an un natural position.

If the ball had hit McGregor in exactly the same way then he passed it to somebody else to score then it wouldnt have been a foul and the goal would have stood.

There was literally no other decison that the VAR team could make. It was a factual call like offside.

10 minutes ago, Diamond Scot said:

Ramy, for a handball to be a penalty and for it to happen before a goal are 2 different things in the rules. 

For a penalty it either has to be deliberate or arm im un natural position. 

For a goal, if it hits the goalscorers arm immedietly before the goal then its a foul, regardless of whether it was deliberate or in an un natural position.

If the ball had hit McGregor in exactly the same way then he passed it to somebody else to score then it wouldnt have been a foul and the goal would have stood.

There was literally no other decison that the VAR team could make. It was a factual call like offside.

So they have changed the rules again mate! Bernabeu had a ball hit his arm inside the box, he was facing the other way, no intent, and he was called for a penalty...

VAR is useless !!!

18 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

So they have changed the rules again mate! Bernabeu had a ball hit his arm inside the box, he was facing the other way, no intent, and he was called for a penalty...

VAR is useless !!!

The rules are useless. As a Rangers fan I'm not particular keen on Celtic scoring but it was farcical that MacGregors goal was disallowed. It would be much simpler if we went back to saying it's handball if it's intentional. I know some of these rules are meant to give greater objectivity but they don't.

On Saturday Killie lost a player and conceded a penalty that should never have been given. Muirhead starts fouling Stanger outside the box yet it's Stanger who gets sent off. Ref went over to VAR but still gets it wrong (in my opinion)

13 hours ago, dan cake said:

Trains from Aberdeen cancelled tomorrow due to the weather I believe, wonder if they’ll postpone the game 

Very much doubt it. 

We had to travel through danger to life travel warnings last year when we played in Perth. Motorway was literally folk doing U turns due to lorries etc being jackknifed etc. Think it took up 3.5hrs to travel from Killie to Perth when it normally takes about 1hrs 30 mins. 

SPFL will want the game on, as will Sky and that'll be the end of it. 

Think there was only 1800 at our game in Perth, which was very low even for St Johnstone. Half the away fans with tickets either couldn't get there or didn't want to risk it.