Piraeus? - Greece v Scotland - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Night out? Spent most of that trapped in the stadium, buy aye we stayed in Piraeus 😋.

Was pretty quiet.   If you wanted to chill out even more there was a crackin' wee bar near our hotel, possibly called the Cafe of Senses ?, but was all Greek to me.   Good beer and played some great tunes too, varying for different for times of day & night.

The party must have been elsewhere though.

Come the autumn, it will hopefully be warmer for ice creams or seafood around the marinas if they take your fancy.   Had a three day ticket for public transport including to/from airport for around €20, so you could scoot into the city easily enough, though the door-to-door tram trip planned from the stadium was off by the time we got out 🫤

13 hours ago, Grim Jim said:

there was a crackin' wee bar near our hotel, possibly called the Cafe of Senses ?, but was all Greek to me.   Good beer and played some great tunes too, varying for different for times of day & night.

The party must have been elsewhere though.

Just Googled Cafe of Senses. Looks good.

Besides the marina's, I see there is a big cluster of bars/clubs on Filonos Street (only a 7 minute walk from the bigger of the two marina's).

I liked the feel of Piraeus during the afternoon. My trip was a brief one (no culture) so I'm planning on doing a week in November; cramming in the ancient Greek sights and all the stadiums bookended by a week in each (Athens and Piraeus). 

• 7 months later...
On 3/27/2025 at 2:29 PM, Rich NATA said:

Did any of you stay there?

I had a wander around in the afternoon and a few beers pre-match, but what was it like for a night out?

How did this work out for you   Booked a hotel thinking it was the Athens city centre not knowing Piraues was a city in its own right six miles from Athens. Does the train from the stadium and airport go this far?

4 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

How did this work out for you   Booked a hotel thinking it was the Athens city centre not knowing Piraues was a city in its own right six miles from Athens. Does the train from the stadium and airport go this far?

The Blue line goes from Airport to City Centre, to Piraues.

A lot of the blue trains terminate half way to the airport, so mind your time.

We had a ticket that did our return from/to the airport plus the couple of days in between hopping on and off trams+metro, which was handy for getting to/from Piraeus.

Mind pickpockets on busy escalators.

23 minutes ago, Grim Jim said:

We had a ticket that did our return from/to the airport plus the couple of days in between hopping on and off trams+metro, which was handy for getting to/from Piraeus.

What’s the colour/number of the metro that goes to the stadium, cheers

10 minutes ago, Broath Boy said:

What’s the colour/number of the metro that goes to the stadium, cheers

As well you asked, as I had blue/green mixed up in my head as they both go to Piraeus.

No1 green to the stadium. Download a handy map.

43 minutes ago, Grim Jim said:

As well you asked, as I had blue/green mixed up in my head as they both go to Piraeus.

No1 green to the stadium. Download a handy map.

Is the stadium metro stop the last one shown on the map, cheers.

3 hours ago, Grim Jim said:

Nae pockets in a kilt! 

7 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said:

if you only want to go to the stadium, catch the green metro line to Piraeus, but get off at the stadium stop shortly before Piraeus terminus.

If you want to visit/stay in Piraeus, catch the blue metro line to Domitiko Theatre. It's a couple of stops longer, but drops you closer to where you'd want to be. You come up in a square with a few bars/cafes around it. It's nothing amazing, but from there you can get your bearings and then walk to the first marina (the bigger of the two). Food? Walk to the second, smaller, marina (lots of restaurants) and from there you can walk to the stadium.

7 hours ago, Grim Jim said:

Yes, be careful folks.

I experienced this in Athens at the weekend; in one of the streets around the Cuba Libre bar. The guy engaged me in conversation and then reached around my waist to swipe my phone out of my back pocket (I wasn't kilted). Despite being 8 beers in, I noticed almost instantly and grabbed him by the front of his shirt and he immediately handed it back to me.

27 minutes ago, Rich NATA said:

if you only want to go to the stadium, catch the green metro line to Piraeus, but get off at the stadium stop shortly before Piraeus terminus.

If you want to visit/stay in Piraeus, catch the blue metro line to Domitiko Theatre. It's a couple of stops longer, but drops you closer to where you'd want to be. You come up in a square with a few bars/cafes around it. It's nothing amazing, but from there you can get your bearings and then walk to the first marina (the bigger of the two). Food? Walk to the second, smaller, marina (lots of restaurants) and from there you can walk to the stadium.

Thanks for that So I’ve lucked out getting a hotel that should be easy to get to the stadium from, thought I was miles away. 

43 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

Thanks for that So I’ve lucked out getting a hotel that should be easy to get to the stadium from, thought I was miles away. 

Last time, I walked: Piraeus terminal - Domitiko Theatre - Big Marina - Wee Marina - Stadium.

1 hour ago, ceudmilefailte said:

Where's the hotel?

2 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said:

Piraeus city centre is all it says. Hope it’s not too big a city. 😲 Never going anywhere without the kids again!

If you're near either of the marina's all should be well. I doubt anybody would be blown-away by Piraeus, but sometimes you can find wee gems in such places. A beautiful dinner in one of the posh restaurants in the wee'er marina with a few glasses of wine will be a pleasant waste of time.