dan cake Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Tried to watch Gladiator 2 today, got about halfway then lost the will to live. A CGI borefest that really didn’t need to be made, sharks in the fighting arena 😂 Quote
ger intae them Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Carry-On ……. more holes in it than a holy thing……. but quite watchable, and Sofia Carson very watchable. Quote
Fairbairn Posted January 9, 2025 Posted January 9, 2025 Really enjoyed Heretic. Excellent performance from Shug Grant. Probably loses it's way in the last 20 minutes or so but overall it's very good. Carry-On is good if you want something you can just switch your brain off and watch. Doesn't do anything particularly new but good at what it does. Quote
ThistleWhistle Posted January 9, 2025 Posted January 9, 2025 Best film seen in yonks - guilty if anything of trying to cram too much in and surprised Netflix didn't turn it into a 6 part mini-series instead. Quote
vanderark14 Posted January 10, 2025 Posted January 10, 2025 On 1/2/2025 at 8:44 PM, dan cake said: Tried to watch Gladiator 2 today, got about halfway then lost the will to live. A CGI borefest that really didn’t need to be made, sharks in the fighting arena 😂 Gladiator is a film that didn't need a sequel or prequel. Its was fine as it was and if someone had to make a sequel, it has to be done right. I haven't watched it but have read the plot and its not for me Quote
Fairbairn Posted January 10, 2025 Posted January 10, 2025 10 hours ago, vanderark14 said: Gladiator is a film that didn't need a sequel or prequel. Its was fine as it was and if someone had to make a sequel, it has to be done right. I haven't watched it but have read the plot and its not for me If you think that’s bad, try and find the plot for the sequel Nick Cave wrote about 20 years ago! Quote
kumnio Posted January 12, 2025 Posted January 12, 2025 Gladiator is one of the best films ever made. That's possibly a wee bit over the top, but it definitely has one of the best final 20 minutes of a film. Gladiator 2, Jesus, what can I say. I can only assume that the directors main instructions to the cast were that they had to be camper than Alan Carr on laughing gas, which was bad enough, but when they started riding rhinoceros' as if it were a tame Blackpool beach donkey, thats the point that it really jumped the shark, something that they literally did later in the film. Ive only ever walked out of a cinema once, this was nearly a second. Quote
McTeeko Posted January 31, 2025 Posted January 31, 2025 Flight Risk - quite possibly the biggest pile of utter shite I’ve ever seen. First time we’ve been at the pictures for ages a’naw. Was looking forward to it. Came oot in a huff due to the utter shiteness of that. Don’t think I’ve enjoyed a film in the last few years since Top Gun - Maverick. Quote
Fairbairn Posted February 1, 2025 Posted February 1, 2025 Really enjoyed A Complete Unknown last night. Timothee Chalomet is excellent as Dylan and it helps that the music is great too! Quote
dan cake Posted February 1, 2025 Author Posted February 1, 2025 Kneecap is a good watch if not exactly a blockbuster, sort of Irish Twin Town/Trainspotting/Human Traffic Quote
TDYER63 Posted February 1, 2025 Posted February 1, 2025 13 hours ago, McTeeko said: Flight Risk - quite possibly the biggest pile of utter shite I’ve ever seen. First time we’ve been at the pictures for ages a’naw. Was looking forward to it. Came oot in a huff due to the utter shiteness of that. Don’t think I’ve enjoyed a film in the last few years since Top Gun - Maverick. Almost went to see that film last weekend as been trying to do dry January so looking for non bevvy activities. But I was put off by the reviews. There was not one film out just now that got decent reviews, except the Bob Dylan movie but neither of us are fans. We haven’t been to the cinema in ages. Last film was Oppenheimer which was massively overhyped IMO. Before that it was the war film 1917. Watched Top Gum Maverick on TV. It was ok but think it would have been better on a big screen Quote
Toepoke Posted February 7, 2025 Posted February 7, 2025 Went to an IMAX showing of the Led Zeppelin documentary last night. Took a bit of getting used to the screen size, especially when faced with extreme close ups of Sonny Boy Williamson's teeth for example. But some of the restored concert footage looked and sounded phenomenal. Quote
Alibi Posted February 7, 2025 Posted February 7, 2025 (edited) Went to see Conclave last night. Started off slowly and I was nearly falling asleep at one point but then it suddenly picked up pace and ended with a superb plot twist that nobody saw coming - the entire audience (there were only about 30 folk in the cinema) gasped audibly. I won't spoil it for you by revealing anything about the story but overall it's well worth seeing. Edited February 7, 2025 by Alibi Quote
Auchinyell Sox Change Posted February 7, 2025 Posted February 7, 2025 On 1/31/2025 at 11:59 PM, Fairbairn said: Really enjoyed A Complete Unknown last night. Timothee Chalomet is excellent as Dylan and it helps that the music is great too! last film i went to see too ; Tim C is very good ; Edward Norton decent think the whole music film bio is tough one to follow though ; as they obviously get a bit samey with the typical trajectory/evolution of a musical career Queen,Elvis ,etc ; the elton john one stood out a bit though as almost like a musical Bob Dylan one was by far the deepest one though ----- just finished watching a film on Prime " the order " starring Jude Law , bit of a drag tbh , but gets great review - lot of arty scenery shots - picked up right away was filmed locally here in Calgary Quote
StirlingEgg Posted February 7, 2025 Posted February 7, 2025 1 hour ago, Auchinyell Sox Change said: last film i went to see too ; Tim C is very good ; Edward Norton decent think the whole music film bio is tough one to follow though ; as they obviously get a bit samey with the typical trajectory/evolution of a musical career Queen,Elvis ,etc ; the elton john one stood out a bit though as almost like a musical Bob Dylan one was by far the deepest one though ----- just finished watching a film on Prime " the order " starring Jude Law , bit of a drag tbh , but gets great review - lot of arty scenery shots - picked up right away was filmed locally here in Calgary That's good to know 👍I'm a big fan so looking forward to seeing it on Wed. A grandpa at the school gates gave it 8/10 but said the Joan Baez voice wasn't the best...She is quite distinctive I suppose to try and copy. Quote
Auchinyell Sox Change Posted March 28, 2025 Posted March 28, 2025 watched "Last Breath" yesterday - is okay ; if youve seen the documentary though has a lot of spoilers : ) if your local to Aberdeen , you may notice a few continuity / geography type errors .... never thought id seen torry/balnagask look amazing on the silver screen ! ( the Norwegian film "The dive " from early 90s ? way more exciting i recall though ) Quote
StirlingEgg Posted April 3, 2025 Posted April 3, 2025 24 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Quite fancy that even though could be terrible! 😄 Has Liam Neeson done comedy before? Can't think... Quote
Toepoke Posted April 3, 2025 Posted April 3, 2025 1 hour ago, StirlingEgg said: Quite fancy that even though could be terrible! 😄 Has Liam Neeson done comedy before? Can't think... The Lego Movie couldn't be described as serious drama for one thing. Turned up in Derry Girls too didn't he? Quote
dan cake Posted April 3, 2025 Author Posted April 3, 2025 2 hours ago, StirlingEgg said: Quite fancy that even though could be terrible! 😄 the trailer isn’t even funny, the kiss of death for any comedy surely Quote
StirlingEgg Posted April 3, 2025 Posted April 3, 2025 1 hour ago, Toepoke said: The Lego Movie couldn't be described as serious drama for one thing. Turned up in Derry Girls too didn't he? I've not seen those I'm afraid...😬 I think Leslie Nielsen had mainly been a straight actor too before though that might have been up until Airplane if I remember right. He's just got that amusing face without really trying, like Chevy Chase or Bill Murray. Liam Neeson a bit more intense! 31 minutes ago, dan cake said: the trailer isn’t even funny, the kiss of death for any comedy surely Sometimes the trailer has half the gags so maybe this is the exception 😋 Quote
Fairbairn Posted April 4, 2025 Posted April 4, 2025 14 hours ago, StirlingEgg said: Quite fancy that even though could be terrible! 😄 Has Liam Neeson done comedy before? Can't think... He was in A Million Days to Die In The West which was written and directed by Seth McFarlane, who produces this, and it was absolutely howling. And I say that as a big fan of Family Guy. Quote
StirlingEgg Posted April 4, 2025 Posted April 4, 2025 43 minutes ago, Fairbairn said: He was in A Million Days to Die In The West which was written and directed by Seth McFarlane, who produces this, and it was absolutely howling. And I say that as a big fan of Family Guy. Just had a look at the trailer for that one and perhaps he shouldn't have cast himself! Wiki says he worked on Cow & Chicken, one of my favourite cartoons, "Mama had a chicken, Mama had a cow, dad was proud, he didn't care how..." 😳🤣 Quote
Ally Bongo Posted June 3, 2025 Posted June 3, 2025 I saw an advertisement for The Black Phone 2 so i tried to find the first film online & got it here https://www.bilibili.tv/en/video/2040492765 It was quite good if you don't think too hard about the supernatural After watching it i looked up the trailer for the second film and think it will be shite as it takes the supernatural to Friday the 13th and Halloween levels Quote
Fairbairn Posted June 3, 2025 Posted June 3, 2025 7 hours ago, Ally Bongo said: I saw an advertisement for The Black Phone 2 so i tried to find the first film online & got it here https://www.bilibili.tv/en/video/2040492765 It was quite good if you don't think too hard about the supernatural After watching it i looked up the trailer for the second film and think it will be shite as it takes the supernatural to Friday the 13th and Halloween levels First film was excellent but having watched the trailer I can't help but feel a sequel is ripping the arse out of it somewhat. Watched Sinners the other night with Michael B. Jordan(s) and Hailee Stanfield. Thought it was excellent and probably the best film I've seen this year. Quote
vanderark14 Posted June 13, 2025 Posted June 13, 2025 Rick Moranis, Mel Brooks, Daphne Zunga and Bull Pullman are getting back together for Spaceballs 2 Quote