KENTTA Posted December 20, 2024 Posted December 20, 2024 Am I the only one going? Can't beat a bit of Gyros and Mythos, not to mention Ouzo and Mousaka and plate smashing and Metaxa 7* of course. Although 3*is OK Quote
GLOSTA Posted December 21, 2024 Posted December 21, 2024 12 hours ago, KENTTA said: Am I the only one going? Can't beat a bit of Gyros and Mythos, not to mention Ouzo and Mousaka and plate smashing and Metaxa 7* of course. Although 3*is OK No.... just taking ages to agree dates and flights... Quite a costly trip this one. Anyone any idea of good locations/areas to stay. Never been to Athens and looking forward to it. Quote
Silversand Posted December 22, 2024 Posted December 22, 2024 Have booked up 2 nights, flying via Heathrow, not cheap 🤬 Staying near the James Joyce bar, no idea what this part of town is called, but plenty cafes/restaurants. Near the Thiseio underground. Have previously stayed in Omonia which is good during the day, but apparently a bit rough at night Quote
CamBFTLS Posted December 23, 2024 Posted December 23, 2024 We have booked flights to go out for a weeks holiday. Flights out and back via Gatwick. only downside is the return is on day of the return game so be a long day. Not that expensive but prices go through the roof if you tried to do a 3 day trip. Staying near Monastiraki Metro station. never been to Athens but I think this will be popular area. Metro takes us to the stadium in about 15-20mins. If its the same stadium thats been used last few times. Quote
From_Dundee_to_Ancoats Posted December 24, 2024 Posted December 24, 2024 Turned into an expensive one this game. Flying Manchester to Athens Tues lunchtime. Got a stag do in Prague that weekend so flying Athens to Prague fri morning. Then God knows how I'm going to be in a fit state to make an 8am flight Prague to glasgow via Amsterdam to ensure home for 2nd leg. Staying at attalos hotel. Quote
GLOSTA Posted December 30, 2024 Posted December 30, 2024 Booked out from Heathrow on 18th back on 21st... prices have gone silly. Quote
RDFH64 Posted December 30, 2024 Posted December 30, 2024 2 of us taking strange but cheap flights & making a wee holiday out of it as well. Tuesday Edinburgh to Geneva. Wednesday Geneva to Athens. Friday Athens to Naples. Sunday Naples to Edinburgh then bus to Glasgow for return game & finally supporters bus hame 🥶😎😎🥶 Quote
Potted Heid Posted December 31, 2024 Posted December 31, 2024 Via Gatwick to Athens Week on a boat in Aegina. Night in Pireaus hotel for the game at Olympiacos' stadium. Athens flight to Manchester. Train back to Glasgow. Quote
Bzzzz Posted January 6, 2025 Posted January 6, 2025 On 12/20/2024 at 10:38 PM, KENTTA said: Am I the only one going? Can't beat a bit of Gyros and Mythos, not to mention Ouzo and Mousaka and plate smashing and Metaxa 7* of course. Although 3*is OK I think there might be a few others there too... Quote
wanderer Posted January 6, 2025 Posted January 6, 2025 Manchester - Athens with Easyjet Mon to Friday for me and the Mrs. Booked as soon Austria were drawn out the hat and it was only Greece left for us to draw 😂 Quote
GLOSTA Posted January 6, 2025 Posted January 6, 2025 On 12/22/2024 at 1:07 PM, Silversand said: Have booked up 2 nights, flying via Heathrow, not cheap 🤬 Staying near the James Joyce bar, no idea what this part of town is called, but plenty cafes/restaurants. Near the Thiseio underground. Have previously stayed in Omonia which is good during the day, but apparently a bit rough at night We've booked near Omonia Metro... Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted January 7, 2025 Posted January 7, 2025 Booked. Flying out Edinburgh-Budapest-Athens on the Tuesday teatime. Flying back into Manchester on the Friday via Copenhagen. Quote
Brydy Posted January 8, 2025 Posted January 8, 2025 Flying from Gatwick on the Tuesday. Flying back to Luton on Friday. Staying near Syntagma. Quote
GLOSTA Posted January 8, 2025 Posted January 8, 2025 On 1/6/2025 at 8:24 PM, GLOSTA said: We've booked near Omonia Metro... Having read a wide range of reviews and spoken to a pal in Athens am rearranging to a different area .. Quote
Bzzzz Posted January 8, 2025 Posted January 8, 2025 35 minutes ago, GLOSTA said: Having read a wide range of reviews and spoken to a pal in Athens am rearranging to a different area .. Aye, you wouldn't be going up that direction anyways as all the decent bars etc are to the south towards the Acropolis area and the M1 metro (from Monastiraki) goes straight to the area where the ground is! (Neo Faliro). 13mins journey time. Just stay awa fae dodgy c***s! Quote
GLOSTA Posted January 8, 2025 Posted January 8, 2025 7 hours ago, Bzzzz said: Aye, you wouldn't be going up that direction anyways as all the decent bars etc are to the south towards the Acropolis area and the M1 metro (from Monastiraki) goes straight to the area where the ground is! (Neo Faliro). 13mins journey time. Just stay awa fae dodgy c***s! I have been trying that for decades but they keep coming to the games Quote
Leg-End Posted January 12, 2025 Posted January 12, 2025 What’s the thoughts on allocation of tickets? I’ve booked travel and accommodation and am assuming my loyalty points (19) should get me a ticket. Thought it would have been announced by now. Quote
Squirrelhumper Posted January 12, 2025 Posted January 12, 2025 Going by points table and away section(1600l then I think 21 guarantees a ticket with some dropping to 20. I think you'll be fine on 19. Quote
Goozay Posted January 13, 2025 Posted January 13, 2025 On 1/12/2025 at 9:40 AM, Leg-End said: What’s the thoughts on allocation of tickets? I’ve booked travel and accommodation and am assuming my loyalty points (19) should get me a ticket. Thought it would have been announced by now. 18 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said: Going by points table and away section(1600l then I think 21 guarantees a ticket with some dropping to 20. I think you'll be fine on 19. The last three games away to Portugal, Croatia, and Poland all went down to 0 points. I know that won't last forever, but I'm hoping that most folk that want a ticket for this game will get one 🤞 Quote
CoventryTartanArmy Posted January 15, 2025 Posted January 15, 2025 Booked yesterday 17th to 21st Luton to Athens +return £129 each +luggage. After reading above comments have changed accommodation to Kallimarmaro area. Olympus Residence Quote
thesaint Posted January 17, 2025 Posted January 17, 2025 On 1/8/2025 at 11:47 AM, Bzzzz said: Aye, you wouldn't be going up that direction anyways as all the decent bars etc are to the south towards the Acropolis area and the M1 metro (from Monastiraki) goes straight to the area where the ground is! (Neo Faliro). 13mins journey time. Just stay awa fae dodgy c***s! Just looking at an Athens travel guide and the above mentioned Monastiraki is listed in the top five areas to avoid especially at night. Quote
Bzzzz Posted January 23, 2025 Posted January 23, 2025 On 1/17/2025 at 11:32 AM, thesaint said: Just looking at an Athens travel guide and the above mentioned Monastiraki is listed in the top five areas to avoid especially at night. Excellent! Quote
thesaint Posted January 23, 2025 Posted January 23, 2025 8 hours ago, Bzzzz said: Excellent! Certainly is. Can't think of anywhere i'd rather be late at night and full of drink than Monastariki. Great stuff. 😂😂 Quote
Bzzzz Posted January 27, 2025 Posted January 27, 2025 On 1/23/2025 at 7:33 PM, thesaint said: Certainly is. Can't think of anywhere i'd rather be late at night and full of drink than Monastariki. Great stuff. 😂😂 See you there pal 👍 Quote
drew Posted January 29, 2025 Posted January 29, 2025 On 1/12/2025 at 10:20 PM, Squirrelhumper said: Going by points table and away section(1600l then I think 21 guarantees a ticket with some dropping to 20. I think you'll be fine on 19. Where you seeing it as 1600? I'd imagine on 18 points and how previous games have gone I'll get a ticket. Quote