Saying 'bye' to your pet(s) - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

What a fucker of a job / decision that isΒ 

Never gets any easier with age either....

*Apologies, there's probably a thread on this type of thing already, I just couldnae be fkd looking

5 hours ago, Och Aye said:

It's heartbreaking. Just remember the good life you gave them that they may never have had with someone else.

πŸ™‚πŸ‘

Torture

I had a dog that died when I was 9 ys old and swore I would never have a dog again, I can still remember the pain.Β 

My daughter had 2 guinea pigs , she was about 10 or 11 at the time so trusted her with feeding them which she did. Turns out though one of them was eating all the food and wouldn’t let the other one have any. When we realised it was too late, the wee thing was too weak . Remember going to work sobbing and my husband sitting with a plastic syringe feeding it water trying to help it. It died an hour later. It was only a wee guinea pig but I was absolutely devastated at how it had died.Β 
Β 

23 hours ago, TDYER63 said:

Torture

I had a dog that died when I was 9 ys old and swore I would never have a dog again, I can still remember the pain.Β 

My daughter had 2 guinea pigs , she was about 10 or 11 at the time so trusted her with feeding them which she did. Turns out though one of them was eating all the food and wouldn’t let the other one have any. When we realised it was too late, the wee thing was too weak . Remember going to work sobbing and my husband sitting with a plastic syringe feeding it water trying to help it. It died an hour later. It was only a wee guinea pig but I was absolutely devastated at how it had died.Β 
Β 

Aye, it's a right sair fecht for sure

Their love being unconditional is massive

There will be humans we've all met who get nowhere near close to being as loving as our pets....

We've a rescue greyhound that the vet reckons is about 12-13 so good age.Β  They were a family firm a few years back but the son took over and they're money grabbing bastards now.Β  After my folks dog costing a bloody fortune to keep going for 18 months that can't have been much pleasure for the dog itself I took the decision to cancel the insurance when ours hit 10.Β Β 

I've a price in my head I'm willing to fork out depending on the circumstances but there is no way our dog is getting milked like a cash cow.Β  You never get the same vet now and when a new one poked about at her annual check-up she wanted to test her shite because her weight had dropped 10%.Β Β 

When we returned without the sample had an entirely new vet and told him we hadn't got a sample but at that point dropped in she hadn't got insurance - 'She looks fine and so long as she's eating and keen for walks then wouldn't worry too much'.Β Β 

Β 

I didn'tΒ  want a dog but Mrs Alibi and my daughter (who had been adding "puppy"to shopping lists every time I went to the shops since she could write) just went ahead and bought one (aboutΒ  three and a half years ago) at an extortionate cost.Β  Naturally I have to look after her most of the time as I now work from home.Β  It's a bit of a nuisance sometimes as I don't like to leave her alone too long - Cockapoos don't really like being on their own, but she's a very affectionate and gentle dog and rarely interrupts me when I'm trying to discuss world affairs with her.Β  For some reason she now sleeps in our bed.Β  When I'm streaming a Morton game on the TV, she sits next to me on the sofa and when Morton score, she runs round the room barking.Β  Hasn't a clue about the offside rule, so she's in good company.Β  I used to take her out for long walks every afternoon but had to shorten them a bit for now as I need new hip joints and probably new knees and it gets too painful.Β  Despite that, I have never heard her suggest that I should be put to sleep.Β  I think I'll keep her.

And right on cue she appears making that doggy noise that indicates she wants to go for her afternoon walkies...

3 minutes ago, Alibi said:

I didn'tΒ  want a dog but Mrs Alibi and my daughter (who had been adding "puppy"to shopping lists every time I went to the shops since she could write) just went ahead and bought one (aboutΒ  three and a half years ago) at an extortionate cost.Β  Naturally I have to look after her most of the time as I now work from home.Β  It's a bit of a nuisance sometimes as I don't like to leave her alone too long - Cockapoos don't really like being on their own, but she's a very affectionate and gentle dog and rarely interrupts me when I'm trying to discuss world affairs with her.Β  For some reason she now sleeps in our bed.Β  When I'm streaming a Morton game on the TV, she sits next to me on the sofa and when Morton score, she runs round the room barking.Β  Hasn't a clue about the offside rule, so she's in good company.Β  I used to take her out for long walks every afternoon but had to shorten them a bit for now as I need new hip joints and probably new knees and it gets too painful.Β  Despite that, I have never heard her suggest that I should be put to sleep.Β  I think I'll keep her.

And right on cue she appears making that doggy noise that indicates she wants to go for her afternoon walkies...

My daughter was the same, constantly wanting a dog but we managed to stand our ground. Soon as she got her own house she got one, also a cockapoo. We have him stay over a lot, he sounds just like your wee dog. Husband goes mad that he sleeps on the bed but his cold heart is slowly melting 😊

The thought that he will possibly go before me is something I never want to consider. It is so easy to get attached. The dog I talked about when I was young, we stayed with my gran and grandpa at the time and my gran and mum had gone to a cat and dog home and brought her back. My grandpa went mad and said she had to go straight back. 2 days later he was smitten. Have still never seen a man more upset than he was when she had to be put down.Β 

Β 

3 hours ago, Redz said:

Aye, it's a right sair fecht for sure

Their love being unconditional is massive

There will be humans we've all met who get nowhere near close to being as loving as our pets....

πŸ‘β€οΈ

8 hours ago, ThistleWhistle said:

We've a rescue greyhound that the vet reckons is about 12-13 so good age.Β  They were a family firm a few years back but the son took over and they're money grabbing bastards now.Β  After my folks dog costing a bloody fortune to keep going for 18 months that can't have been much pleasure for the dog itself I took the decision to cancel the insurance when ours hit 10.Β Β 

I've a price in my head I'm willing to fork out depending on the circumstances but there is no way our dog is getting milked like a cash cow.Β  You never get the same vet now and when a new one poked about at her annual check-up she wanted to test her shite because her weight had dropped 10%.Β Β 

When we returned without the sample had an entirely new vet and told him we hadn't got a sample but at that point dropped in she hadn't got insurance - 'She looks fine and so long as she's eating and keen for walks then wouldn't worry too much'.Β Β 

Β 

All to common, I think

They (Mostly) appear to play at the heartstrings in the name of cash for sure

I've changed vets a few times over the years because of exactly this

Thankfully, our current vet is human. Doesn't bullshit. Takes his time and never ever rushes an appointment

Long may that continue

5 hours ago, Alibi said:

Love it! (The dog story, not your hip and knee issues!)

We have a Cockapoo as well - She's 8 now

You describe them perfectly

Apart from the 'Morton Fan' bit 😜

On 10/17/2024 at 1:54 PM, TDYER63 said:

My daughter was the same, constantly wanting a dog but we managed to stand our ground. Soon as she got her own house she got one, also a cockapoo. We have him stay over a lot, he sounds just like your wee dog. Husband goes mad that he sleeps on the bed but his cold heart is slowly melting 😊

The thought that he will possibly go before me is something I never want to consider. It is so easy to get attached. The dog I talked about when I was young, we stayed with my gran and grandpa at the time and my gran and mum had gone to a cat and dog home and brought her back. My grandpa went mad and said she had to go straight back. 2 days later he was smitten. Have still never seen a man more upset than he was when she had to be put down.Β 

Β 

Your husband or the dog? πŸ™ˆ

3 hours ago, dandydunn said:

Your husband or the dog? πŸ™ˆ

Both I suppose. Unless I can find someone will listen to all my shit AND  no read the Daily Mail 😁

We had the dog last weekend. Took him for a walk on Saturday and noticed my husband’s shoes were wrecked, the upper part were coming away from the sole. I told him he would need to get a new pair but he said they were expensive and he would fix them.Β 
Next day we were going for another walk and seen him super glueing his shoes in the kitchen . We were walking down the path and I looked down. He had put elastic bands round his shoes to keep them together πŸ™„

As a purveyor of fine footwear I thought you might appreciate it 😁

IMG_1045.thumb.jpeg.0e9f2ebddaa3f784d35f0569a1fcde55.jpeg

Β 

Both I suppose. Unless I can find someone will listen to all my shit AND  no read the Daily Mail 😁

We had the dog last weekend. Took him for a walk on Saturday and noticed my husband’s shoes were wrecked, the upper part were coming away from the sole. I told him he would need to get a new pair but he said they were expensive and he would fix them.Β 
Next day we were going for another walk and seen him super glueing his shoes in the kitchen . We were walking down the path and I looked down. He had put elastic bands round his shoes to keep them together πŸ™„

Β 

Where the effort is admirable, it’s lots more fun buying new ones πŸ˜‚

On 10/20/2024 at 12:42 PM, TDYER63 said:

Β 

He wont thank me for this, but......

@dandydunnΒ wore an identical pair in Frankfurt last season

I have a picture of him sleeping next to me on the plane with them on

Happy to negotiate a price that will cover my witness protection programme for uploading said pic 😁

2 hours ago, Redz said:

Happy to negotiate a price that will cover my witness protection programme for uploading said pic 😁

We both know that’s a lie.Β 
Β 

I was wearing these and they got absolutely battered in the rain walking through that forest after the game πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Β 

Β 

Β 

IMG_4463.jpeg

13 hours ago, dandydunn said:

We both know that’s a lie.Β 
Β 

I was wearing these and they got absolutely battered in the rain walking through that forest after the game πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Β 

Β 

Β 

IMG_4463.jpeg

πŸ˜‚ I think I would be less embarrassed being seen with the elastic bands.Β 

15 hours ago, Redz said:

I really had been hoping this was true. Sorry to derail the pets thread .Β 

9 hours ago, TDYER63 said:

πŸ˜‚ I think I would be less embarrassed being seen with the elastic bands.Β 

Β 

Watch it you, had many a compliment on those πŸ˜‚

On 10/22/2024 at 9:48 PM, TDYER63 said:

😁 who was it, Rupert Bear and his friends ? 

Dandydunn gives me a hard time and calls me a 14 year old as I wear Nike Air Max, yet he’s cutting about in those red abominations thinking they’re cool 🫣

On 10/26/2024 at 12:06 PM, McTeeko said:

Dandydunn gives me a hard time and calls me a 14 year old as I wear Nike Air Max, yet he’s cutting about in those red abominations thinking they’re cool 🫣

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ they are not even red , red , they are like an orangey red. I hope he has wee feet.Β 

On 10/22/2024 at 11:29 AM, TDYER63 said:

Β 

Sorry to derail the pets thread

No worries, only to be expected, usually happens in most threads anyway πŸ‘

Posted (edited)
On 10/26/2024 at 12:06 PM, McTeeko said:

I don’t think, I know.Β 
Β 

If you don’t like them, you would’ve hated the ones I was wearing on Saturday πŸ˜‚

And you are like a 14 year old child with those moon shoes on.Β