Toepoke Posted August 6, 2024 Author Posted August 6, 2024 32 minutes ago, phart said: New PB great run just 10m too long. What a race. National record in an Olympic final, hard to ask for more. Neil Gourley's time would have won gold every year up to 2020!
StirlingEgg Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 2 hours ago, Goozay said: There's an organisation planning an "Enhanced Games" in 2025, if you're interested: https://enhanced.org/ I wasn't being entirely serious! That sounds like it could turn a bit sinister, a bit Boys From Brazil...According to that link 44% of Olympians used performance enhancements in the last year. Sounds a lot, unless that refers to anything, like the latest running shoes!
Hertsscot Posted August 6, 2024 Posted August 6, 2024 One of the things I like about the athletics is the camaraderie. However it makes it even more obvious when people don't get on. When Yavi, the Bahraini athlete wins the women's steeplechase absolutely no one congratulates her. Similarly, although neither got a medal, I don't think Dina Asher Smith and Daryll Neita are on one another's Christmas card list!
Orraloon Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 On 8/5/2024 at 9:52 PM, Hertsscot said: Incredible. I love the camaraderie in these types of event, genuine desire from other vaulters that Duplantis would get a new world record. Incidentally have any TAMBers ever done the pole vault? I guess it's the sort of event you learn at an athletics club - certainly didn't do it at school. You must have tried it as a wean? No? I thought everybody did. Looking back on it now, I'm surprised more kids didn't end up impaled on the end of a broken stick, right enough.
Hertsscot Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 5 hours ago, Orraloon said: You must have tried it as a wean? No? I thought everybody did. Looking back on it now, I'm surprised more kids didn't end up impaled on the end of a broken stick, right enough. No Pole Vault where I went to school but of course they did let us loose with javelins. I wonder what the PE Dept. write in their risk assessments?
Orraloon Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 1 hour ago, Hertsscot said: No Pole Vault where I went to school but of course they did let us loose with javelins. I wonder what the PE Dept. write in their risk assessments? We didn't do pole vault at school. We had to find our own long sticks and walls to jump over. We did get to try the javelins once at school though. The PE teachers never made that mistake again. It was more like medieval jousting than anybody trying to throw the things. Once you got hold of one of them it was a wise move not to let go of it. Doing the discus with old plates was quite good fun, although that game tended not to last very long.
Hertsscot Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 35 minutes ago, Orraloon said: We did get to try the javelins once at school though. The PE teachers never made that mistake again. It was more like medieval jousting than anybody trying to throw the things. Jousting? Did you have horses? Or did you improvise, one kid gets on all fours and another gets on their back with a javelin being used as a lance?
Orraloon Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 17 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: Jousting? Did you have horses? Or did you improvise, one kid gets on all fours and another gets on their back with a javelin being used as a lance? You don't need a horse to do some jousting. The ones who do have horses tend to have a wee bit of an advantage, right enough.
Hertsscot Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 24 minutes ago, Orraloon said: You don't need a horse to do some jousting. The ones who do have horses tend to have a wee bit of an advantage, right enough. 😀😀😀😀
StirlingEgg Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 (edited) Eilish McColgan quite far back now in 10,000m final with 4 laps to go. Megan Keith has been lapped 😕 *Greetin' a wee bit now at their finish Edited August 9, 2024 by StirlingEgg
Hertsscot Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 34 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: Eilish McColgan quite far back now in 10,000m final with 4 laps to go. Megan Keith has been lapped 😕 *Greetin' a wee bit now at their finish I have so much respect for Eilish. I would think it's hard growing up with such a famous mum and she's had so many setbacks with injury. She really should have been a contender for SPOTY in 2022 and it was a complete travesty that she wasn't even nominated. This year she's had to cope with the unexpected death of her stepdad, the loss of her grandmother and also serious injury. Sometimes you win just by getting to the start line.
Hertsscot Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 On 8/3/2024 at 9:28 PM, Hertsscot said: Away from the boxing. Femke Bol=Superwoman of the track. After seeing Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone win the 400m hurdles, she must be in the category of Super Superwoman!
StirlingEgg Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 26 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: I have so much respect for Eilish. I would think it's hard growing up with such a famous mum and she's had so many setbacks with injury. She really should have been a contender for SPOTY in 2022 and it was a complete travesty that she wasn't even nominated. This year she's had to cope with the unexpected death of her stepdad, the loss of her grandmother and also serious injury. Sometimes you win just by getting to the start line. When you see the pics of her knee after the op it's amazing anyone can return to running those distances.
StirlingEgg Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 26 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: After seeing Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone win the 400m hurdles, she must be in the category of Super Superwoman! Felt bad for Bol last night, she looked gutted after her race and bronze.
Hertsscot Posted August 9, 2024 Posted August 9, 2024 1 hour ago, StirlingEgg said: Felt bad for Bol last night, she looked gutted after her race and bronze. I think we get so used to the likes of Warholm and Bol winning comfortably that it comes as a shock to see that they're not invincible. I simply don't see as much of the US athletes compete because the likes of McLaughlin don't race in Europe. I've been particularly sensitive this year to a growing emotional maturity in some athletes who haven't come away with their hoped for colour of medal but have nonetheless been proud of their achievement. I'm thinking particularly of KJT and Adam Peaty. As an athlete to define your self worth by your achievement on the track or in the pool is to build your life upon a foundation of sand, sooner or later you're going to get beat.
Toepoke Posted August 10, 2024 Author Posted August 10, 2024 Laura Muir runs a PB in the 1500 and finishes 5th. Georgia Bell breaks Laura's British record to get bronze.
Hertsscot Posted August 10, 2024 Posted August 10, 2024 56 minutes ago, Toepoke said: Laura Muir runs a PB in the 1500 and finishes 5th. Georgia Bell breaks Laura's British record to get bronze. I'm pleased for Bell who was nearly lost to athletics.There was a discussion earlier about supporting Team GB if you support independence. Part of the reason I'll support some GB athletes is because I know their backstory, their stories, their progress, their injuries. Of course that may be true of other athletes from other nations but am not as aware of them.
StirlingEgg Posted August 10, 2024 Posted August 10, 2024 50 minutes ago, Hertsscot said: I'm pleased for Bell who was nearly lost to athletics.There was a discussion earlier about supporting Team GB if you support independence. Part of the reason I'll support some GB athletes is because I know their backstory, their stories, their progress, their injuries. Of course that may be true of other athletes from other nations but am not as aware of them. Just catching up now as not long in. Pity about Laura Muir there but got the impression she wasn't expecting or expected to be in the medals beforehand? Back to what you said before, I find Adam Peaty speaks a bit too full of motivational quotes. Maybe that helps the mindset to do well though...along with having a big lion tattoo on the shoulder! 😋 Supposedly all the bravado from the sprinters is a big part of them performing well or at least trying to put off their opponents. I know what you mean about the Team GB competitors; not keen on all the gushing but sometimes someone clicks for you and you end up cheering them on! Tend to mute the tv for over analysis, over gushiness and for GSTK 😃 Discovered this evening that Michael Johnson has only ever won gold.
Hertsscot Posted August 10, 2024 Posted August 10, 2024 3 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: Just catching up now as not long in. Pity about Laura Muir there but got the impression she wasn't expecting or expected to be in the medals beforehand? Back to what you said before, I find Adam Peaty speaks a bit too full of motivational quotes. Maybe that helps the mindset to do well though...along with having a big lion tattoo on the shoulder! 😋 Supposedly all the bravado from the sprinters is a big part of them performing well or at least trying to put off their opponents. I know what you mean about the Team GB competitors; not keen on all the gushing but sometimes someone clicks for you and you end up cheering them on! Tend to mute the tv for over analysis, over gushiness and for GSTK 😃 Discovered this evening that Michael Johnson has only ever won gold. Yeah, I'm not really into the medal table. I understand that it may be significant for funding etc but smaller nations medalling or even getting to finals is just as exciting. Countries with large populations, a culture supporting a range of sports and the money to back athletes (e.g. USA, China, UK) are always going to be bringing home the most medals. GSTK is a hideous dirge and wrong in some many levels but it has amused me as this time round as I'm pretty sure that some British winners get the words wrong and sing 'Queen' instead of 'King'!
kumnio Posted August 11, 2024 Posted August 11, 2024 https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/olympics/articles/c2dgxp5n3rlo I think thats the most embarrassing thing that Ive ever seen. Her dance is only slightly more embarrassing than the Aussie coach twat trying to defend her. It's the Olympics FFS, not some who wants to be a celebrity pish where a sad backstory will get some pity votes.
StirlingEgg Posted August 11, 2024 Posted August 11, 2024 9 minutes ago, kumnio said: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/olympics/articles/c2dgxp5n3rlo I think thats the most embarrassing thing that Ive ever seen. Her dance is only slightly more embarrassing than the Aussie coach twat trying to defend her. It's the Olympics FFS, not some who wants to be a celebrity pish where a sad backstory will get some pity votes. It's such a weird loop though, this kind of thing. They put a story up to say the trolling is sad but then that's just adding to it because it widens the audience then feeds the ridicule. It must be horrendous having the world laughing at you or bluntly debating whether you're a man or a woman. Not much can be done now though re the way the internet operates. Maybe they thought it would be an Eddie the Eagle thing but must have known the standard of other competitors?
kumnio Posted August 11, 2024 Posted August 11, 2024 7 minutes ago, StirlingEgg said: It's such a weird loop though, this kind of thing. They put a story up to say the trolling is sad but then that's just adding to it because it widens the audience then feeds the ridicule. It must be horrendous having the world laughing at you or bluntly debating whether you're a man or a woman. Not much can be done now though re the way the internet operates. Maybe they thought it would be an Eddie the Eagle thing but must have known the standard of other competitors? If she gets ridiculed, she absolutely deserves it 100%. She must have some knowledge of what she was up against, and knowledge of what would happen. The Team Australia officials who picked her to go to the Olympics should all be sacked, what a waste of money and a national embarrassment. I cant imagine putting yourself and your country through that. Im not a breakdancing aficionado, I didn't even know it was an Olympic sport, but even I know that that was humiliating.
StirlingEgg Posted August 11, 2024 Posted August 11, 2024 4 hours ago, kumnio said: Im not a breakdancing aficionado, I didn't even know it was an Olympic sport, but even I know that that was humiliating. There can't be too many breakdancing aficionados on the Tamb!