Medical, Health @ Welfare...... - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Brand new thread.... Thought I would start a thread on medical, health and welfare..

So i retired last year, always been in relatively good health. For some reason now my blood pressure has gone high, and has been for a while now. The doctors have put me on blood pressure medication. I did not take the tablets as I though I knew everything. Now my blood pressure is even higher, so I am taking the tablets now. I have to change my diet and exercise daily... So it's not a joke, when your doctor tells you to listen, you listen... 

• Replies 90

1 hour ago, exile said:

Apparently eating porridge every day can help reduce cholestorol. 👍

Mate, I ate porridge every morning for years, straight oot the crock pot !! 

I am using Ramys thread to remind folk to give blood if they are able to. I haven’t given blood for 18 yrs partly due to being a lazy bassa and partly due to the fact it was pretty difficult the last time I went,  and they had to give up on me.

However I got a text the other day saying they were short of my blood type so I made an appointment and went today. Nae bother at all this time. 
So, if you have been like me in the past, give it another go. You get a free biscuit. 

On 5/31/2024 at 1:19 AM, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Lower back pain now... FFS....😢

Seriously Ramy, your 50’s are a nightmare for health, everything starts to break down. The only positive is that as soon as another ailment comes along it takes the focus off the old one. 

3 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Seriously Ramy, your 50’s are a nightmare for health, everything starts to break down. The only positive is that as soon as another ailment comes along it takes the focus off the old one. 

That is so true.

I know mate, was at doctor this morning and he changed my BP medication, and now I have anti inflammatory tablets for me lower back.. Cannae wait till my 60s !! 👀👀👀😂

I am using Ramys thread to remind folk to give blood if they are able to. I haven’t given blood for 18 yrs partly due to being a lazy bassa and partly due to the fact it was pretty difficult the last time I went,  and they had to give up on me.

However I got a text the other day saying they were short of my blood type so I made an appointment and went today. Nae bother at all this time. 
So, if you have been like me in the past, give it another go. You get a free biscuit. 

👍👍👍👍. My wife gave blood last week as there is a shortage here...

29 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

I know mate, was at doctor this morning and he changed my BP medication, and now I have anti inflammatory tablets for me lower back.. Cannae wait till my 60s !! 👀👀👀😂

The dizzy spells have been a cunt for me when they’ve chopped and change my tablets

38 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

The dizzy spells have been a cunt for me when they’ve chopped and change my tablets

Yes mate, doctor warned me about that. So we will see what happens..

Well that's it troops !! Mrs.Ramy has put me on a diet. I have put on nearly 2 stone since I retired a year ago. No happy

She fed my yogurt and granola for breakfast this morning. I am no happy about this.. I want square sausage, eggs ham, tattie scones.... No ma fault I'm happily retired and a wee bit of a fat bastard....😂😂😂😂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Went for a Colonoscopy today. The worst part was the liquid you have to drink to empty yourself. 4 litres, it's honking. Anyhoo, glad it's over with, luckily I was asleep with anesthetic, so thank fuck for that...😂

14 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Went for a Colonoscopy today. The worst part was the liquid you have to drink to empty yourself. 4 litres, it's honking. Anyhoo, glad it's over with, luckily I was asleep with anesthetic, so thank fuck for that...😂

Just found out today you cant give blood for 4 months after having a colonoscopy. It was on the ‘ restrictions ‘ section of the form I was filling in for donating blood. Cant think why a colonoscopy would prevent you giving blood but there must be some reason. 

46 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Just found out today you cant give blood for 4 months after having a colonoscopy. It was on the ‘ restrictions ‘ section of the form I was filling in for donating blood. Cant think why a colonoscopy would prevent you giving blood but there must be some reason. 

It might be something to do with possible infections etc in the blood after a minor medical procedure.

I had a minor medical procedure earlier in the year and a few months later my dentist said they wouldn't do a certain bit of dental work until the hospital told me (and I then informed he dentist) it was ok to do so.

17 minutes ago, fringo said:

It might be something to do with possible infections etc in the blood after a minor medical procedure.

I had a minor medical procedure earlier in the year and a few months later my dentist said they wouldn't do a certain bit of dental work until the hospital told me (and I then informed he dentist) it was ok to do so.

That's interesting mate. Before my Colonoscopy, the doctor asked me if I had been to a dentist recently, I thought that an odd question. I replied I had a cleaning 6 weeks prior....

I have sleep Apnea, so that's why I was asleep for the colonoscopy l, no idea why? No gonnae argue though, small submarine up my arse I'd rather be asleep !! Just saying like...😳

2 hours ago, fringo said:

I hope they didn’t reuse the same endoscope to fit your new crown 😁

2 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Looked it up on google and it's because the endoscope is reusable

Still makes no sense to me unless the sterilisation is not 100% accurate

Yeah, it’s a bit extreme but I suppose they cant take any chances with blood given what has happened in the past. 

Posted (edited)

Apologies @Big Ramy 1314 I hadn't noticed this thread previously

Now that I have - I'm at a loss as to why such a mild mannered gent, one who regularly demonstrates being completely in control of his emotions, would suffer from high blood pressure 🙄

Edited by Redz
1 hour ago, Redz said:

Apologies @Big Ramy 1314 I hadn't noticed this thread previously

Now that I have - I'm at a loss as to why such a mild mannered gent, one who regularly demonstrates being completely in control of his emotions, would suffer from high blood pressure 🙄

Ask your shrink ? 🖕